$315 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 7, 2015

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
306 out of 306
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BFSLDS
Business
Rochester, N.Y.
Dec 26, 2013

Moana

Except for tiny bathroom (leaky shower), we had a great time. Kudos to the concierge!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Roy's restaurant is worth the walk.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bus Driver Guy
Business
Surrey, BC, Canada
Dec 9, 2013

Another return visit

This was my fourth trip back to Hawaii and a repeat stay at the Moana Surfrider. On every trip, as well as this last visit, I've always found that the entire staff; from the bell/valet, front desk and housekeeping personnel to the restaurant/bar folks all go out of their way to make you feel cormfortable and welcome. It was a great feeling to see so many friendly faces all working to make you feel completely at home. That is the feeling I get everytime I stay at this hotel on my visits to Hawaii. I shall return again to experience more of their great hospitality! Don

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You can take advantage of dining at any of the Starwood group of hotels within walking distance and have the ability to charge all of your meals to your room at the Moana Surfrider.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Abermudez
Business
Houston, TX
Dec 2, 2013

Awesome Hotel!

Cannot say enough how awesome this hotel was. The staff was super friendly and any questions that we had were answered right away. The room was cleaned everyday. The hotel was situated right Waikiki Beach, so FYI there is a lot of people walking along the hotel. The front of the hotel faces the strip where are the high-end stores are located. Even the locals would tell us how they would like to stay there one day. Its a bit pricey but I think is well worth it. Also, our flight didn't leave until 7pm but they let us store our bags and gave us a courtesy room to shower and change well after check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PKER
Business
Austin, TX
Nov 14, 2013

Loved it

Beautiful property, very convenient location, good food and great rooms. Loved the festive atmosphere and friendly staff. Right on waikiki beach. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Duke's is right next door. Great food at a reasonable price, although the service could be better. The area is supberb for all kinds of shopping.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Miss Disapointed
Business
San Jse , California
Oct 29, 2013

Not family oriented

Carpet is filthy. Bathroom is about 35 square feet with shower stall only no bathtub. 90% of the common areas require you to buy a drink in order to sit. The lobby wood floor is being sanded during our stay. The in-room safe does not work. Night stand does not work. Hotel entrance is being painted at this moment. Stay if you are willing to pay a four-star hotel for a two and a half hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Collen
Business
Philadelphia
Oct 21, 2013

Honeymoon

The Moana Surfrider was a perfect location on the beach to see the sunset. Great facility and excellent service. Complimentary tour of the hotel, first glass of wine, and first breakfast were included. There was a resort fee of $30/day, but it was worth it because there of the free self-parking and free wifi. They also charge $2-3 for using the gym too. It is definitely one of the more popular resort on Waikiki. There's always people going in and out of the location. Weddings almost everyday. It was very convenient location for restaurants, market, and shopping. The only down side were that the elevator was out of order sometimes, the lobby was closed off for the first few days and no mention of it by the front desk when we first check-in (more detail from the staff about the closure would be appreciated on how to get around but we figured it out ourselves), and the wifi was down for the most part of the trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There's tons of designer shops everywhere.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Annie15
Business
Keauhou, HI 96739
Oct 16, 2013

WAIKIKI GRANDE DAME

This historic hotel is my Honolulu favorite! Unlike the concrete high-rises that flank it on either side, it feels like the real, true Hawai'i, as does its high level of hospitality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The chocolate-dipped tropical fruits in the candy store in the Sheraton Waikiki mall (left side after entrance) make perfect presents for family and friends.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ns1183
Business
California
Oct 15, 2013

Great Hotel - Perfectly located

Always a pleasant stay. The staff is great. They are over the top nice. The hotel is beautiful. It is perfectly located at the end of Waikiki. Easier to get in and out of than any of the other beach front hotels. Short walk away from everything in Waikiki. The only downside is the room rate, but for the level of comfort and luxury, it is equal to the other hotels in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid eating at the hotel, any of the hotels really. Go to any of the local food places instead. Right across the street they have regular farmer's markets in the evening with great local food at low prices.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
astridjazz
Business
San Francisco
Sep 11, 2013

Do not stay in this place!!

I booked a vacation package for me and my 12yo son.. Our flight from SF got delayed for 8hrs then eventually got cancelled and ended up sleeping at SF airport for the night. I called the hotel that flight got cancelled to let them know about our delayed arrival. Oh boy, when you experience cancelled flights the last thing you want is another hassle. The hotel put us in a tiny square room and only a king bed, although my reservation with says double beds. They would not give me a 2 bed room. The $30(not incl. tax) a night resort charge is ridiculous and for nothing really. The staff are bunch or robots who can't comprehend and always back and forth the closed door for the 'manager'. They lack the simplest common sense. I picked up groceries and asked my son to go up to the room to drop off so I can stay in the car because of terrible 45 minute wait for valet, the key didnt work so I gave him the 2nd key, the 2nd key didnt work so I asked him to get new keys in the front desk. They treated my 12 year old son like a crminal.. They will not give him a key although his name was in the registration.I was on the phone with the front desk person and told me to send my son back and he'd give him the key, to be rejected again the second time..Bunch of uneducated, no common sense staff.. they made my 12yo son feel like he didnt belong there. And their excuse: He could be a crminal or a thhief even if he's 12yo, what about the other guy on the phone?? The simplest grocery dropoff turned out to be a disaster emotional blowup, I've never seen my son cry like that from humiliation. To make the matters worse, they would charge me for the one night that I missed for the cancelled flight and would not extend an extra night to get the 4 night room that I originally booked. I had to spend a nearly whole day on the phone with Orbtz and hotel to take care of it. Hotel would not cooperate and I had to get an Orbtz manager to work things out and it took 6 hours to get the Hotel manager to not charge me the lost. The small square room stinks, it's so tiny that my shin bone hits all the possible corners and furniture as we got ready. There was always this constant toilet smell leaking in the bedroom, kinda gross for a 4 star resort. ugh. There's nothing fancy about this place but the front of the building and history. My tip: stay somewhere else and visit for a drink or dinner, dont let yourself experience the stench of their rooms and their management.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
San Diego Eran
Business
San Diego, California
Sep 10, 2013

great location for waikiki

Beautiful historic building in an ideal location in waikiki. Very romantic setting, and perfect for a couple get away (the hotel, not waikiki).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top