$325 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2014 Check-out: Aug 24, 2014

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

4 stars
2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
400 reviews
Great location

Centrally located, historical site and our room was upgraded. See full review

  • Peewee
  • Jul 7, 2014
A great way to enjoy Honolulu

Even though we toured several parts of the area, we always looked forward to returning to our hotel See full review

  • Aloha Practician
  • May 25, 2014
'The First Lady of Waikiki' was constructed at the turn of the 20th century, and the Moana Surfrider lives up to her elegant name as a Waikiki beachfront property. Upon arrival, you'll be treated to a signature Westin elixir, a fragrant flower lei, and a refreshingly chilled towel. Catch a great night's sleep on your Westin Heavenly Bed, and soak up traditional Hawaiian healing techniques and treatments inside Waikiki's only beachfront spa. High-end toiletries, superior linens, and comfortable bathrobes adorn the accommodations, while the refurbished lobby features hardwood floors, along with new fixtures and fittings.
Key facts
  • Guestrooms inside three wings: Diamond Wing, Banyan Wing and Tower Wing
  • Moana Lani Spa
  • Bars and restaurants: Beachhouse at the Moana, Bin1901, Veranda at the Beachhouse, Beach Bar
  • Wedding venue facilities
  • Meeting spaces and conference area
  • Banyan Courtyard
Neighborhood
The central Waikiki location of the Moana Surfrider Westin Resort and Spa affords visitors easy access to a range of beach-related activities. Snorkeling adventures, surf lessons, and outrigger canoe rides can be experienced within steps of the resort. After riding the waves, enjoy six floors of retail therapy and eateries at the Waikiki Shopping Plaza down the street.
Hints and tips
The Banyan Courtyard is a popular place to relax under the trees while sipping umbrella drinks and enjoying live music, along with occasional hula dancing.

Book a room in the Tower Wing for balcony views.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.2765 -157.8265
Area served
Honolulu Oahu Hawaii. Waikiki Beach
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL 10 Miles
Area description
Waikiki Beach, International Market-225ft, Pearl Harbor-10mi, Honolulu Zoo-0.3mi, Kapiolani Park-0.4mi, Ala Moana Shopping Center-2mi,Aloha Tower-4mi, Aloha Stadium-10mi, Hanama Bay-12mi, North Shore 35mi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa Rooms

Ocean View Room
Enjoy sweeping views of the Pacific Ocean from your spacious guest room. The contemporary Hawaiian decor is complemented by two double or king size Heavenly Beds, a 32 inch flat screen TV, a comfortable chair, a writing desk (with high-speed internet access available at an extra charge) and chair, and a hardwood dresser. The bathrooms feature Westin's Heavenly BathEamenities. Additional features include a coffee maker, cable TV, and a refrigerator.
City View Room
Enjoy sweeping views of Honolulu from your spacious and newly renovated guest room. The contemporary decor is complemented by a king size Heavenly Beds, Flat Screen 32 inch TV, a comfortable chair, a writing desk (with HSIA - surcharge) and chair, a hardwood dresser, and modern tile-floored baths with heavenly bath with granite counters - all accented in a Hawaiian motif. (264 square feet). Additional features include coffee maker, cable, and refrigerator.
Banyan Classic Ocean Club
All guests booking this category will have access to the Beach Club.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.6 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.2 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.2 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.4 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.3 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.7 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.1 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.6 mi

Dining

The Veranda
Offering an oceanfront and guest-centric breakfast, Banyan Veranda also offers a traditional yet savvy during our Afternoon Tea in homage to a long established tradition here at the Moana. Breakfast will be available Monday-Friday from 6 - 11 am Afternoon Tea will be available Monday - Friday 12:00 - 3:00 pm
The Beach Bar
Located just steps away from the beautiful sands of Waikiki Beach, the oceanfront Beach Bar is an ideal setting for enjoying the Waikiki scenery while sipping on your favorite tropical beverage, or nibbling on delicious grilled pupus (appetizers).

Open from 10:30 a.m. to 12:00 a.m.; hot grilled appetizers and other selections available from 10:30 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.
beachhouse at the Moana
beachhouse is Moana's premier dinner concept a contemporary Island-style steakhouse. Guests will be treated to exceptional cuisine in an oceanfront surrounding that replenishes the spirit. Life, like food, usually needs a little spice. The menu at beachhouse delivers culinary delights for every palette. The top of the food chain starts here! Dinner service 5:30-10pm

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Ballroom provides the flexibility to comfortably accommodate groups of up to 250. Our private beach area also allows you to have the perfect sunset Barbecue for a group of up to 75 persons.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1202

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (400)

Ratings and reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
215 out of 400
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, Colorado
May 23, 2010

Best hotel on Waikiki

When we first arrived at the Moana we were absolutely taken away by the beauty of the entrance. It was built in 1901 and it has been recently updated but you can still feel how classic the hotel was. We could walk out to the beach from the pool which was wonderful and we were a street down from the international marketplace to do some shopping. The location was perfect. The beach bar that they have there was great, the drinks were obviously a little pricy but the atmosphere was amazing. They had a band and a hula girl every night starting form 6-8. I would absolutley recommend this hotel to any of my friends and if we went back to Oahu, this is where we would stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

You can take the bus for $2.25 basically anywhere. We took it to Hanama Bay to go snorkeling and you can also take it to Diamond Head. MUCH MUCH cheaper than taking a taxi.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Perogi
Colorado Springs, CO
Nov 13, 2011

40th Anniversary

WONDERFUL! Explain rewards program ay check-in no check out. wished we would of joined at check-in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Definitely Pearl Harbor

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pigeoneer
San Martiin, Ca
Jun 5, 2012

1st time Moana & 30 Years Later in Waikiki

The Westin Moana Surfrider fulfilled numerous expectations and provided incentive to return for a longer stay. She has a foot in the past and a foot in the now that will continue into the future for there is nothing like her on Waikiki. While the nightlife on Kalakaua has become more intense from what I recall 30 years past, the Surfrider maintains its charm and on the Beach comfort for relaxation. The staff is courteous, helpful and provides top-notch service. Arrival Manager Casey King was attentive to our needs and went over the top to assure our stay would be in his words “relaxing, refreshing and memorable.” Roxanne at the excursions desk, and Colin and Gloria at the pool and beach side service were fantastic. The Westin Moana Surfrider has a fabulous breakfast buffet, afternoon tea, and a classic veranda for dining. Fitness and Spa are conveniently accessible as with Yoga and Hula lessons for those wishing to experience diverse activities. Nightly entertainment in the Banyan Tree Beach Bar courtyard who's setting can't be compared to any other resort on Waikiki. The Moana Surfrider is a thriving resort whose energy flows like the breeze that carries the spirit of the Islands. We were loyal vacationers to Cancun but I think we've found a new home. Well done Moana Surfrider!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Hawaii has a passion for her unique lifestyle and good living, happy moments and calming of your spirit if you allow yourself to slow down and learn to enjoy what is there. The diversity of cultures in the islands provides foods from all around the world and some recipes are in a state of flavor fusion. Experiment and try small establishments. The name brand eateries are predictable and can be pricey. Entertainment is also a necessity for fine and enjoyable dining so seek out where the “Local” talents are jamming (Tiki's Grill & Bar). Don't forget to "suck-em up! It all works together. There’s everything you want by foot, public transportation, rental car or nearby hotels. If its to busy then head out to outer Islands. They are all good for what suits your temperment.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
oceanswimmer
Portland, Oregon
Mar 1, 2011

Best of the best

The hotel and its staff did everything possible to make it feel like home. As far as we are concerned, it is, our vacation home away from home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Evening meal at Duke's on the beach...the calamari were terrific. The sunsets, always spectacular.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Christybelly
Petaluma, CA
May 31, 2012

Fantastic Place!!

We really enjoyed the location of the hotel and the staff was extremely friendly. The room with the ocean view is great and the beds were comfortable. I recommend the buffet breakfast in the morning. Everything went was great and I would recommend the place to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sarasota, FL
Aug 2, 2011

Business/mini vacation

Clean, centrally located to everything, Westin did not disappoint!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cleveland, OH
Jul 14, 2010

Moana Surfrider review

It was right in the center of everything-shopping, restaurants and the beach. We couldn't have asked for a better hotel and location since it was our first trip to Waikiki. Addtionally, the staff was very pleasant,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We got to attend a luau and Pearl Harbour for free by attending a time share presentation. This saved us about $200.00. The 'go-getters' for the time share presenations are everywhere and they spot out couples and single females. They lure you in by asking you about the activities you'd like to do and offer them to you for free. We couldn't pass on the opportunity.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Josh Super Geo
Reno, NV
Jun 29, 2009

Great vacation

The only thing that we were dissapointed with was the quality of the food. For the high prices in most restaurants, we expected better quality and season. Otherwise, overall this was a gret trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 13, 2011

Beautiful Views and great staff

The main hotel was very relaxing and low key. It was perfect place to wind down after being out on the island and Waikiki all day. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for the relaxing side of Oahu. I think I found my "go to" hotel on Oahu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Liz-a-Poodle
Fresno, CA
Aug 10, 2009

The best place to stay in Waikiki!

So we splurged a little, but it was worth it! Right on the beach and shopping all around, beautifully appointed rooms and lobby. The atmosphere was laid back, but upscale... totally restful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't wear your lei to the International Market! The vendors will spot you a mile away as new in town and you won't get their best prices! Negotiation is key here!

Back to menu Return to top