$250 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 16, 2014 Check-out: May 17, 2014

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

4 stars
2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
259 reviews
beautiful hotel

Beautiful hotel on the best location in all of Waikiki. It may seem pricey, but having stayed at... See full review

  • ns1183
  • Mar 10, 2014
Room choice is key

We had two different rooms while we were there. Try to get the tower and not the main hotel rooms.... See full review

  • Rich and Alison
  • Mar 9, 2014
Old-world elegance on Waikiki's hottest strip

Graciously residing on prime oceanfront, the Moana Surfrider is a vision of luxury and relaxation. Opened in 1901 and listed in the National Register of Historic Places, the "First Lady of Waikiki" boasts a long registry of the rich and famous, including Frank Sinatra, Amelia Earhart, Prince Edward of England and Joe DiMaggio. Afternoon tea on the seaside veranda is a celebrated tradition. Trademark Westin amenities, fine dining and one of Waikiki's best spas create the total package.

Highlights

  • Westin's Heavenly Bed, Heavenly Bath and fine linens
  • Spend the day relaxing in the hotel's picturesque and historic banyan tree courtyard
  • Moana Lani Spa, ranked as one of the Top 50 Spas by Spas of America
Location

The hotel touches the sand, with some of Waikiki's best swimming and surfing directly offshore. It's midpoint along Kalakaua Ave., Waikiki's main dining and shopping strip, and the designer-boutique Royal Hawaiian Center and lively souvenir bazaar International Market Place are within a block's walk.

Rooms

The hotel features three distinct wings with a total of nearly 800 guest rooms. All rooms blend classic design with contemporary decor enhanced by luxurious Island-style details, signature Westin amenities, bathrobe and flat-screen TV. The Westin Heavenly Bed is a major draw, with custom pillowtop mattress and snuggly feather pillow. In-room Wi-Fi is available (fees apply).

Dining

Several excellent dining selections are on the property. The Veranda, overlooking the banyan courtyard, offers a buffet breakfast, while afternoon tea is a tradition dating back to the earliest days of the hotel. From midmorning until midnight, sashimi, wagyu beef burgers and mai tais are on order at the Beach Bar, beneath the historic banyan tree. Honolulu Coffee Co. is the place for Kona coffee and a gelato.  Beachhouse at the Moana, an oceanfront fine-dining oasis, serves up fresh Island cuisine and sunset views.

Recreation
  • Freshwater hotel pool on the beachfront
  • The new Moana Lani Spa, with 18,000 square feet of treatment and fitness activities
  • Free guided historic tour of the property
  • Surf lessons in front of the hotel and water sports equipment rentals onsite
Transportation
  • Honolulu International Airport (10.8 mi/17.4 km)
Attractions

  • Waikiki Beach (fronting hotel)
  • Royal Hawaiian Center (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Honolulu Zoo (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Waikiki Aquarium (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Hawaii Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Ala Moana Center (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Diamond Head Crater (2.7 mi/4.3 km)

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa Rooms

Ocean View Room
Enjoy sweeping views of the Pacific Ocean from your spacious guest room. The contemporary Hawaiian decor is complemented by two double or king size Heavenly Beds, a 32 inch flat screen TV, a comfortable chair, a writing desk (with high-speed internet access available at an extra charge) and chair, and a hardwood dresser. The bathrooms feature Westin's Heavenly BathEamenities. Additional features include a coffee maker, cable TV, and a refrigerator.
City View Room
Enjoy sweeping views of Honolulu from your spacious and newly renovated guest room. The contemporary decor is complemented by a king size Heavenly Beds, Flat Screen 32 inch TV, a comfortable chair, a writing desk (with HSIA - surcharge) and chair, a hardwood dresser, and modern tile-floored baths with heavenly bath with granite counters - all accented in a Hawaiian motif. (264 square feet). Additional features include coffee maker, cable, and refrigerator.
Banyan Classic Ocean Club
All guests booking this category will have access to the Beach Club.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2765 -157.8265
Area served
Honolulu Oahu Hawaii. Waikiki Beach
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL 10 Miles
Area description
Waikiki Beach, International Market-225ft, Pearl Harbor-10mi, Honolulu Zoo-0.3mi, Kapiolani Park-0.4mi, Ala Moana Shopping Center-2mi,Aloha Tower-4mi, Aloha Stadium-10mi, Hanama Bay-12mi, North Shore 35mi

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.6 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.2 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.2 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.4 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.3 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.7 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.1 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Ballroom provides the flexibility to comfortably accommodate groups of up to 250. Our private beach area also allows you to have the perfect sunset Barbecue for a group of up to 75 persons.

Dining

The Veranda
Offering an oceanfront and guest-centric breakfast, Banyan Veranda also offers a traditional yet savvy during our Afternoon Tea in homage to a long established tradition here at the Moana. Breakfast will be available Monday-Friday from 6 - 11 am Afternoon Tea will be available Monday - Friday 12:00 - 3:00 pm
The Beach Bar
Located just steps away from the beautiful sands of Waikiki Beach, the oceanfront Beach Bar is an ideal setting for enjoying the Waikiki scenery while sipping on your favorite tropical beverage, or nibbling on delicious grilled pupus (appetizers).

Open from 10:30 a.m. to 12:00 a.m.; hot grilled appetizers and other selections available from 10:30 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.
beachhouse at the Moana
beachhouse is Moana's premier dinner concept a contemporary Island-style steakhouse. Guests will be treated to exceptional cuisine in an oceanfront surrounding that replenishes the spirit. Life, like food, usually needs a little spice. The menu at beachhouse delivers culinary delights for every palette. The top of the food chain starts here! Dinner service 5:30-10pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1202

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (259)

Ratings and reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Overall score

3.9 / 5
7 out of 259
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.1

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
Kharisma
Business
greer, sc
Jan 11, 2012

Very Satisfied!!!!!!

very comfortable all the way will probably go back to the hotel on our next visit as well!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

most of the places near waikiki could be reached within minutes....

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
Purple woman
Business
Anchorage, Alaska
Jun 30, 2010

Elegance and Class

This Westin Resort is a sure thing. Elegant, Classy, Beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Business
McLean, VA
Aug 2, 2011

Elegantly comfortable hotel

My stay was business and vacation combined. Hotel personel were very accomodating when I requested to change the room I was first ushered, to the old section, because that was the very reason I chose the Moana Surfrider; to enjoy the old charm of the "First Lady of Waikiki." The concierges were also very courteous and helpful. The Moana Surfrider has quiet, subtle elegance and hospitality, not shouting, showy tourist-oriented attitude. Coming back to the hotel at the day's end, I felt as if I were at home. I would definitely go back to the hotel when I visit Honolulu next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Business
Aliso Viejo, Ca.
Nov 20, 2009

Well worth the money

Hotel has lots of character, great location, and fast friendly service. The hotel is a century old but very well maintained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
May 23, 2010

Worth the price?

Probably great for fun/vacation. It's right on the beach in the heart of Waikiki. HORRIBLE for business travel. You have to park at the Sheraton around the corner, which does not have an elevator. Very incovenient for hauling work stuff to and from. $25/day for self park $33/day for valet.I upgraded to an oceanview room. There was more of a view of other people's hotel rooms. I was tucked away in a corner. Maybe because I booked my travel on [...] and got a killer rate, I don't know. There was no insulation on my window, so I could hear a lot of noise coming from the Beach Bar, people talking and the band playing. I left the TV on at night to drowned out the noise.It was very small from what I am accustomed to. Plus there was no tub, just a shower. TV was mounted on a side wall in relation to the bed and did not swival out, so it seemed far away and at a bad angle. The mini fridge fan was making a VERY loud noise that kept me up the first night or so. I finally unplugged it until maintenance came and took care of it.I guess it was worth what I paid on [...] if I was vacationing. It's in the heart of Waikiki. I stay there, because it's safe and the hotels are the nicest in that area. However, if you are traveling for business I suggest you stay some place else. I'm still looking for my ideal location at the right price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
joemama11
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Mar 25, 2012

overrated

nice, but not worth it. the view is better across from the beach and the hotels are cheaper there also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
Travel to Honolulu at least once a year.
Business
Salt Lake City
Aug 9, 2010

Previously impressed - not this time.

[...] We were stuck in the non-remodeled wing of the hotel in a converted room (5th floor wing 3). The hallway floors and walls were dirty, the air conditioning did not work well, and the sofa in the room was unconfortably dirty. Not what I had expected from a well known Honolulu darling

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Italian restraunt @ the Marriott down the street. Easy to get in even on a Friday night without reservations.

Back to menu Return to top