$325 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 29, 2014 Check-out: Oct 31, 2014

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

4 stars
2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
269 reviews
Honolulu at it's best

The Sheraton I want to Surfrider is the nicest hotel you could stay in! It's centered right in the... See full review

  • Kjmakai
  • Oct 7, 2014
Amazing time with SO and friends

Celebrated anniversary/birthday there. Great experience. See full review

  • toolizzit2quit
  • Sep 16, 2014
'The First Lady of Waikiki' was constructed at the turn of the 20th century, and the Moana Surfrider lives up to her elegant name as a Waikiki beachfront property. Upon arrival, you'll be treated to a signature Westin elixir, a fragrant flower lei, and a refreshingly chilled towel. Catch a great night's sleep on your Westin Heavenly Bed, and soak up traditional Hawaiian healing techniques and treatments inside Waikiki's only beachfront spa. High-end toiletries, superior linens, and comfortable bathrobes adorn the accommodations, while the refurbished lobby features hardwood floors, along with new fixtures and fittings.
Key facts
  • Guestrooms inside three wings: Diamond Wing, Banyan Wing and Tower Wing
  • Moana Lani Spa
  • Bars and restaurants: Beachhouse at the Moana, Bin1901, Veranda at the Beachhouse, Beach Bar
  • Wedding venue facilities
  • Meeting spaces and conference area
  • Banyan Courtyard
Neighborhood
The central Waikiki location of the Moana Surfrider Westin Resort and Spa affords visitors easy access to a range of beach-related activities. Snorkeling adventures, surf lessons, and outrigger canoe rides can be experienced within steps of the resort. After riding the waves, enjoy six floors of retail therapy and eateries at the Waikiki Shopping Plaza down the street.
Hints and tips
The Banyan Courtyard is a popular place to relax under the trees while sipping umbrella drinks and enjoying live music, along with occasional hula dancing.

Book a room in the Tower Wing for balcony views.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.2765 -157.8265
Area served
Honolulu Oahu Hawaii. Waikiki Beach
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL 10 Miles
Area description
Waikiki Beach, International Market-225ft, Pearl Harbor-10mi, Honolulu Zoo-0.3mi, Kapiolani Park-0.4mi, Ala Moana Shopping Center-2mi,Aloha Tower-4mi, Aloha Stadium-10mi, Hanama Bay-12mi, North Shore 35mi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa Rooms

Ocean View Room
Enjoy sweeping views of the Pacific Ocean from your spacious guest room. The contemporary Hawaiian decor is complemented by two double or king size Heavenly Beds, a 32 inch flat screen TV, a comfortable chair, a writing desk (with high-speed internet access available at an extra charge) and chair, and a hardwood dresser. The bathrooms feature Westin's Heavenly BathEamenities. Additional features include a coffee maker, cable TV, and a refrigerator.
City View Room
Enjoy sweeping views of Honolulu from your spacious and newly renovated guest room. The contemporary decor is complemented by a king size Heavenly Beds, Flat Screen 32 inch TV, a comfortable chair, a writing desk (with HSIA - surcharge) and chair, a hardwood dresser, and modern tile-floored baths with heavenly bath with granite counters - all accented in a Hawaiian motif. (264 square feet). Additional features include coffee maker, cable, and refrigerator.
Banyan Classic Ocean Club
All guests booking this category will have access to the Beach Club.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.6 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.2 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.2 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.4 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.3 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.7 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.1 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.6 mi

Dining

The Veranda
Offering an oceanfront and guest-centric breakfast, Banyan Veranda also offers a traditional yet savvy during our Afternoon Tea in homage to a long established tradition here at the Moana. Breakfast will be available Monday-Friday from 6 - 11 am Afternoon Tea will be available Monday - Friday 12:00 - 3:00 pm
The Beach Bar
Located just steps away from the beautiful sands of Waikiki Beach, the oceanfront Beach Bar is an ideal setting for enjoying the Waikiki scenery while sipping on your favorite tropical beverage, or nibbling on delicious grilled pupus (appetizers).

Open from 10:30 a.m. to 12:00 a.m.; hot grilled appetizers and other selections available from 10:30 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.
beachhouse at the Moana
beachhouse is Moana's premier dinner concept a contemporary Island-style steakhouse. Guests will be treated to exceptional cuisine in an oceanfront surrounding that replenishes the spirit. Life, like food, usually needs a little spice. The menu at beachhouse delivers culinary delights for every palette. The top of the food chain starts here! Dinner service 5:30-10pm

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Ballroom provides the flexibility to comfortably accommodate groups of up to 250. Our private beach area also allows you to have the perfect sunset Barbecue for a group of up to 75 persons.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1202

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (269)

Ratings and reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
269 out of 269
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
no_idea
Business
Alberta, Canada
Feb 23, 2011

Relaxing

Take advantage of the free "classes" offered on weekdays, lei making, hula dancing, and others. Our 12 year old daughter loved these. There is also a historical tour of the hotel that I sadly missed out on. The service at the Moana was exceptional, I can't say enough about the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Apr 30, 2010

Five night stay at Moana Surfrider

You cannot get much better than this. Was there five days and sat on the beach for four of them. Getting back and forth from room to beach ws a snap! Concierge was big help in locating restaurants and getting a one day car rental. They were very knowledgeable. Staff was great from minute we checked in until we departed in shuttle back to airport. Breakfast buffet well worth the money. Only glitch was having to pay $5 for a bottle of water at snack bar by pool. Thought that was a little much. Went to ABC and bought my own and also realized there was water at the beach towel stand for free. Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Be prepared to spend a lot of money if you like good food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Soccer Wife
Business
Whittier, CA
Jun 10, 2009

waikiki trip

I never wanted to leave. We spent a lot of time poolside and had drinks while watching the ocean lap against the shore. There wasn't anything missing except more time to lounge and relax after the six days. And in all reality, this didn't compare to any other trip we've ever taken. To quote my husband, "this was the best trip ever!"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Beachhouse restaurant located in the hotel was outstanding! The filet mignon was the best we've ever had and the service was impecable

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
May 22, 2011

Best of the BEST !!!

Awesome hotel!! Location is prime, views are spectacular, we just didn't want to leave!! We loved the fact that there were so many areas to just sit back and watch the world go bye. You can sit in rocking chairs on the front patio/porch area during the evening with a cool breeze to watch all the street action and then walk a few steps through the lobby and be on the beach. We will most definately stay here again, this was a dream vacation and a large part of it was all the positives offered by the Moana Surfrider, two thumbs up !!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like to shop, you will be in paradise !! You will simply walk out the front lobby and be in a shopper's treasure trove in both directions and mere steps away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, Texas
Apr 8, 2010

Wow what an amazing hotel

This hotel has the charm and grace of an old southern mansion. I chose this hotel because it was completely different from anything on the island. The staff was amazing and I was impressed by the friendliness and caring that I received from everyone there. Excellent service, great rooms and a really great price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a ton of local and chain restaurants nearby. I highly recommend eating at those instead of the hotel. The pricing for in-hotel eating was astronomical.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kaymarsha
Business
Tennessee
May 17, 2010

Heaven in Hawaii

Everything was perfect, I would definitely stay here again. It was in a great location and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The spa was a perfect addition to the vacation as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Jul 14, 2010

Moana Surfrider review

It was right in the center of everything-shopping, restaurants and the beach. We couldn't have asked for a better hotel and location since it was our first trip to Waikiki. Addtionally, the staff was very pleasant,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We got to attend a luau and Pearl Harbour for free by attending a time share presentation. This saved us about $200.00. The 'go-getters' for the time share presenations are everywhere and they spot out couples and single females. They lure you in by asking you about the activities you'd like to do and offer them to you for free. We couldn't pass on the opportunity.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
thickest_hawaii
Business
Huntington Beach, CA
May 17, 2010

Great Location, Great Service!

Like many of you I searched the internet diligently for the best value for a hotel room. I finally settled on the Moana Surfrider and I couldn't be happier. I read complaints about noise and service and found them both unfounded. Of course it is noisey, it is downtown in the busiest place in Hawaii! You don't hear people complaning about staying in New York and hearing sirens all night. Outside of that the location was PERFECT! Right across the street from some great shopping and plenty of choices for food. You really don't need a car as they have shuttles/buses going to most locations. The beach is awesome right in front with surf rentals a short distance away and a catamaran right in front of the hotel. I highly recommend taking some surf lessons as you will not find an easier place to learn how to surf with the perfect waves for beginners. There is also some snorkeling with turtles that frequent the reef. Obviously there are better spots but right in front is plenty to see. The work out facility was top notch and we took advantage of it. We saved $5/day for not doing housekeeping and used the money to go to the bar grill at night and get some nice food while listening to live Hawaiian Music. A must do is the farmers market on Thursday at the International Market place and Friday at Kings Village. Enjoy some of the freshest fruits and deserts on the planet. Also, if you are into exercise a nice run to Diamond Head is a great way to start off the day. I frequent Hawaii on a yearly basis but this was my first time back to Oahu in 10 years. I was pleasantly surprised at the accomodations and staff, both have my vote of confidence. The new tower is better than the older hotel but to be honest, if you are spending too much time in your hotel room stay home and save the money. Hawaii is to be enjoyed outside!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of food choices outside of the restaurant. Right next door at the Outrigger you will find the Hula Grill and Dukes. Both have exceptional food with live Hawaiian music, highly recommended.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tanjusha
Business
Los Angeles
Apr 7, 2010

Vacation in Hawaii

Was grate!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pasadena, Ca
Jul 27, 2010

Excellent stay

I have always wanted to stay in this historic hotel in Waikiki. It was better than I expected with modern rooms, tasteful decor, and my room had a full on ocean view! The hotel is on the beach where I rented a surf board, took a surfing lesson; is a short drive to hike Diamond Head, close to all Waikiki restaurants and shops. There is also a high tea at the hotel which I enjoyed on the veranda. My niece tried to arrange for a Green Choice voucher for herself (she had her own room) but the guest service did not answer even though it was still within the hour before they closed. You have to call it in the night before. To make up for it, the hotel gave her a credit towards her hotel bill, which made her dad happy. The lobby was a nice to place to relax, rocking chairs on the front porch great for people watching and enjoying the breeze. Many couples had their wedding pictures taken in and around the hotel. The second floor has displays and information on the history of the hotel, that for me added more character to my stay. Even though it is owned by Westin, it did not have a hotel-chain like feel at all. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I have decided to try and stay here when I can as a treat to myself. It was really excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The Green Choice Program. Participate on a day by day basis on whether you want to have your linens changed. On the days you participate, you receive a voucher that can be used in the restaurant and maybe the spa. The vouchers can be accumulated and combined. I used two towards my high tea experience, so I enjoyed it at a lower cost, helped reduce my carbon footprint.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top