$284 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
262 out of 262
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
thickest_hawaii
Business
Huntington Beach, CA
May 17, 2010

Great Location, Great Service!

Like many of you I searched the internet diligently for the best value for a hotel room. I finally settled on the Moana Surfrider and I couldn't be happier. I read complaints about noise and service and found them both unfounded. Of course it is noisey, it is downtown in the busiest place in Hawaii! You don't hear people complaning about staying in New York and hearing sirens all night. Outside of that the location was PERFECT! Right across the street from some great shopping and plenty of choices for food. You really don't need a car as they have shuttles/buses going to most locations. The beach is awesome right in front with surf rentals a short distance away and a catamaran right in front of the hotel. I highly recommend taking some surf lessons as you will not find an easier place to learn how to surf with the perfect waves for beginners. There is also some snorkeling with turtles that frequent the reef. Obviously there are better spots but right in front is plenty to see. The work out facility was top notch and we took advantage of it. We saved $5/day for not doing housekeeping and used the money to go to the bar grill at night and get some nice food while listening to live Hawaiian Music. A must do is the farmers market on Thursday at the International Market place and Friday at Kings Village. Enjoy some of the freshest fruits and deserts on the planet. Also, if you are into exercise a nice run to Diamond Head is a great way to start off the day. I frequent Hawaii on a yearly basis but this was my first time back to Oahu in 10 years. I was pleasantly surprised at the accomodations and staff, both have my vote of confidence. The new tower is better than the older hotel but to be honest, if you are spending too much time in your hotel room stay home and save the money. Hawaii is to be enjoyed outside!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of food choices outside of the restaurant. Right next door at the Outrigger you will find the Hula Grill and Dukes. Both have exceptional food with live Hawaiian music, highly recommended.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tanjusha
Business
Los Angeles
Apr 7, 2010

Vacation in Hawaii

Was grate!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pasadena, Ca
Jul 27, 2010

Excellent stay

I have always wanted to stay in this historic hotel in Waikiki. It was better than I expected with modern rooms, tasteful decor, and my room had a full on ocean view! The hotel is on the beach where I rented a surf board, took a surfing lesson; is a short drive to hike Diamond Head, close to all Waikiki restaurants and shops. There is also a high tea at the hotel which I enjoyed on the veranda. My niece tried to arrange for a Green Choice voucher for herself (she had her own room) but the guest service did not answer even though it was still within the hour before they closed. You have to call it in the night before. To make up for it, the hotel gave her a credit towards her hotel bill, which made her dad happy. The lobby was a nice to place to relax, rocking chairs on the front porch great for people watching and enjoying the breeze. Many couples had their wedding pictures taken in and around the hotel. The second floor has displays and information on the history of the hotel, that for me added more character to my stay. Even though it is owned by Westin, it did not have a hotel-chain like feel at all. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I have decided to try and stay here when I can as a treat to myself. It was really excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The Green Choice Program. Participate on a day by day basis on whether you want to have your linens changed. On the days you participate, you receive a voucher that can be used in the restaurant and maybe the spa. The vouchers can be accumulated and combined. I used two towards my high tea experience, so I enjoyed it at a lower cost, helped reduce my carbon footprint.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Jun 5, 2010

Waikiki Vacation

We were very please with our accomodations. We had stayed there in 2001. We were disappointed that there was no bbq in the Banyon court like it was in 2001. We still enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We had a great time at the Sealife Park.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston
Mar 15, 2010

Simply the Best on the Beach

The hotel is first class Westin-class. The stately historical manor-type accommodations, bedding, scenery, and cleanliness was as you would expect at the Westin properites that I have frequented. The only downside besides a minor door hinge issue in the 100 year old hotel was that the pool was a square, predictable design with little bar service and a hedge that blocked the view of Waikiki beach. I recommend that people rent the beach unbrellas and chairs on the sand to get the full experience. The bar under the Banyon Tree by the water and the live music are superb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't rent a car. Valet is expensive at $33/day. Driving is frustrating - traffic is nuts. If you want to get away, grap a cheap tour. Nightlife is an easy walk for a weeks' worth if you want to leave the hotel. The bus and taxi's are easy and cheap as well.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ogden, Utah
Aug 15, 2010

Great hotel on the beach

Location was great, staff was extremely friendly, very clean. I have no complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Barry's
Business
Costa Mesa Ca
Jul 10, 2010

Great Location, Beautiful view

Last year my husband and I stayed at another hotel but every night we would visit the Surfrider hotel and sit on their porch and people watch. We decided that this year we would stay there. It was everything we expected, great location and beautiful hotel. We were close to all the resteraunts and the shops. The staff are friendly, the room was clean and the beds are so comfy. We would stay there again for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Liz-a-Poodle
Business
Fresno, CA
Aug 10, 2009

The best place to stay in Waikiki!

So we splurged a little, but it was worth it! Right on the beach and shopping all around, beautifully appointed rooms and lobby. The atmosphere was laid back, but upscale... totally restful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't wear your lei to the International Market! The vendors will spot you a mile away as new in town and you won't get their best prices! Negotiation is key here!

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SO CAL
Apr 25, 2010

single celebration!!!!!

Awesome Hotel!! fantastic location love the beach!!!! perfect getaway!!! LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aloha from Lisa
Business
Longmeadow Massachusetts
May 20, 2010

Gorgeous hotel in beautiful area

On this trip to Hawaii, we stayed at the Moana Surf Rider. This has to be about one of the best hotels that I have ever syated at and is located in the absolute best area of Waikiki. As soon as you arrive, the valet took our luggage out of the car and delivered them to the room. Check in took under five minutes and the staff was extremely nice. The room was a little small but the bed was so comfortable. We are thinking about buying the matterss (the hotel sells them) for our house. The valet service was helpful but a little expensive. However, parking is at a premium in Waikiki. I loved the Honolulu Coffee company that is located in the front of the hotel. It is a small cafe, but perfect. The shopping was incredible. The international market which was right across the street was perfect for bringing home souveniers. There was also many upscale stores that I almost felt as if I were on Rodeo Drive in Beverly Hills. I would recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you get up early, before it gets too hot, I would suggest walking the bike path to Diamond Head. It is completely safe and great exercise. I would also like to suggest taking a ride to see other parts of O'ahu. My absolute favorite beach is Kailua Beach park. The North Shore is amazing, especially if you go in the winter. The waves really are huge! Waikiki Beach is beautiful, safe and a great time. If you are there long enough and have a car, I would suggest going to the Arizona Memorial and spending a day at Waimea Falls Park. The waterfall is incredible. I would also recommend seeing the Polynesian Cultural center. The maze at Dole plantation is great, especially for kids.

Back to menu Return to top