$309 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 6, 2015 Check-out: Mar 9, 2015

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
276 reviews
Awesome Family Vacation

Love the hotel and the personal was the friendlies See full review

  • Robert H.
  • Feb 28, 2015
Moana Hawaii getaway

This is a hotel we always dreamed of staying at and be able to sit in the rocking chairs on the... See full review

  • MBZ rocking chair
  • Nov 23, 2014
'The First Lady of Waikiki' was constructed at the turn of the 20th century, and the Moana Surfrider lives up to her elegant name as a Waikiki beachfront property. Upon arrival, you'll be treated to a signature Westin elixir, a fragrant flower lei, and a refreshingly chilled towel. Catch a great night's sleep on your Westin Heavenly Bed, and soak up traditional Hawaiian healing techniques and treatments inside Waikiki's only beachfront spa. High-end toiletries, superior linens, and comfortable bathrobes adorn the accommodations, while the refurbished lobby features hardwood floors, along with new fixtures and fittings.
Key facts
  • Guestrooms inside three wings: Diamond Wing, Banyan Wing and Tower Wing
  • Moana Lani Spa
  • Bars and restaurants: Beachhouse at the Moana, Bin1901, Veranda at the Beachhouse, Beach Bar
  • Wedding venue facilities
  • Meeting spaces and conference area
  • Banyan Courtyard
Neighborhood
The central Waikiki location of the Moana Surfrider Westin Resort and Spa affords visitors easy access to a range of beach-related activities. Snorkeling adventures, surf lessons, and outrigger canoe rides can be experienced within steps of the resort. After riding the waves, enjoy six floors of retail therapy and eateries at the Waikiki Shopping Plaza down the street.
Hints and tips
The Banyan Courtyard is a popular place to relax under the trees while sipping umbrella drinks and enjoying live music, along with occasional hula dancing.

Book a room in the Tower Wing for balcony views.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa Rooms

Ocean View Room
Enjoy sweeping views of the Pacific Ocean from your spacious guest room. The contemporary Hawaiian decor is complemented by two double or king size Heavenly Beds, a 32 inch flat screen TV, a comfortable chair, a writing desk (with high-speed internet access available at an extra charge) and chair, and a hardwood dresser. The bathrooms feature Westin's Heavenly BathEamenities. Additional features include a coffee maker, cable TV, and a refrigerator.
City View Room
Enjoy sweeping views of Honolulu from your spacious and newly renovated guest room. The contemporary decor is complemented by a king size Heavenly Beds, Flat Screen 32 inch TV, a comfortable chair, a writing desk (with HSIA - surcharge) and chair, a hardwood dresser, and modern tile-floored baths with heavenly bath with granite counters - all accented in a Hawaiian motif. (264 square feet). Additional features include coffee maker, cable, and refrigerator.
Banyan Classic Ocean Club
All guests booking this category will have access to the Beach Club.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.6 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.2 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.2 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.4 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.3 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.7 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.1 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.6 mi

Dining

The Veranda
Offering an oceanfront and guest-centric breakfast, Banyan Veranda also offers a traditional yet savvy during our Afternoon Tea in homage to a long established tradition here at the Moana. Breakfast will be available Monday-Friday from 6 - 11 am Afternoon Tea will be available Monday - Friday 12:00 - 3:00 pm
The Beach Bar
Located just steps away from the beautiful sands of Waikiki Beach, the oceanfront Beach Bar is an ideal setting for enjoying the Waikiki scenery while sipping on your favorite tropical beverage, or nibbling on delicious grilled pupus (appetizers).

Open from 10:30 a.m. to 12:00 a.m.; hot grilled appetizers and other selections available from 10:30 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.
beachhouse at the Moana
beachhouse is Moana's premier dinner concept a contemporary Island-style steakhouse. Guests will be treated to exceptional cuisine in an oceanfront surrounding that replenishes the spirit. Life, like food, usually needs a little spice. The menu at beachhouse delivers culinary delights for every palette. The top of the food chain starts here! Dinner service 5:30-10pm

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Ballroom provides the flexibility to comfortably accommodate groups of up to 250. Our private beach area also allows you to have the perfect sunset Barbecue for a group of up to 75 persons.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:02 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (276)

Ratings and reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
276 out of 276
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
solowahine
Business
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Mar 24, 2012

it was exactly what I needed

From the time I arrived to when I left, it met all my expectations. Great breakfast on the veranda, lovely beach chairs, nice gym, beautiful spa and great service. A little noisy because you are ON THE OCEAN so hear crashing waves.....heaven

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jay Y.
Business
Cerritos, CA
Apr 5, 2012

Amazing vacation for two!

It was my girlfriend's first trip to Hawai'i and I wanted it to be a special one, so I made reservations at what I thought was THE best resort on O'ahu. I had stayed at the Moana Surfrider years ago and had a blast, so I booked it there once again. This time around was simply mind-blowing!! Beautiful weather and amazing views all from our hotel room. The hotel's decor and refreshing design really does make you feel like home. There were a few times during our stay when my girlfriend and I were discussing how it didn't feel like we were staying at a hotel; it felt like we were staying at someone's home and the feeling was awesome! The rear veranda is definitely the place to sit back, relax, and enjoy a nice meal. The hotel staff -- from the valet/bellhop to the turn-down service -- were super friendly and helpful. The amenities were probably the best out of ALL the resorts in O'ahu. The rear veranda has a good size restaurant called the Beachhouse; guests of the Moana Surfrider are offered "breakfast coupons" during their stay which give them access to a free breakfast buffet (one coupon per guest). The breakfast buffet alone is well worth the stay at the Moana Surfrider -- it's pretty large (for breakfast) -- it's paradise on a plate! The Moana Lani Spa costs extra, but they have some pretty amazing spa packages along with some pretty good products. The resort also has a gym available for guest use whenever, and is accessible with a room key-card. The resort pool is also available and is located in front of the rear veranda next to the resort's BeachBar. There is also a booth next to the pool that provides beach towels to guests and can be used at the pool or on the beach itself, which is just several feet away from the rear of the hotel. Overall, this hotel has it all! Amazing service, amazing amenities, amazing view, awesome food, friendly staff -- it's TRULY paradise. If you look up resort & spa in the dictionary, the Moana Surfrider is pictured right next to the definition because the Westin Moana Surfrider truly lives up to the definition of a resort & spa.. and then some! I will definitely be back.. in fact, we're already planning our next trip out to O'ahu early next year and we are definitely staying at the Moana Surfrider again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Save money and plan on having breakfast at the Beachhouse on the rear veranda! If you're a guest at the Moana Surfrider and you have the free voucher coupons for breakfast at the Beachhouse, take advantage of it. It's an awesome breakfast with an amazing view -- no need to go out and have breakfast else where, you'd just be wasting your money and missing out on a nice breakfast with a front row ocean view.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rinker
Business
Baytown, TX, USA
Apr 17, 2012

Westin Moana Surfrider Hotel

Great Hotel and Great location on Waikiki Beach. Tower Wing view could not be any better! Beach and DiamondHead. Across the street is the International Market Place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Forever Hawaiian
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Apr 22, 2012

5th trip to Moana Surhrider

This was our 5th trip to MS. Every time my family stays there, we fell like we are truly on vacation. The location can not be any better, center of Waikiki & all the shops and restaurants are within walking distance. We have stayed Halekulani, Kahala, & Ihilani, but this hotel beats them all. Some may say the hotel is a bit old & out dated, but that's the beauty of it. With over hundred year old banyan tree in the center of the bar, it is truly amazing. Unfortunately, Waikiki beach was up for a major sand overhaul, and we could not enjoy the beach enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RafaelaD
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
May 2, 2012

Honeymoon

It was a nice experience. The hotel was on the beach and close to all the shops!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Duke's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
santivalles
Business
los banos, ca
May 7, 2012

A peaceful stay

From the time I arrived at the hotel until the time i left, the staff made me feel really special. I got a nut lei greeting when i arrived, free breakfast daily at their reataurant, not a continental breakfast. a great breakfast with the whole works. The room was beautiful, as well as the view. It really could'nt get any better. unless it was free, but that is the only way. The hotel was more of a 6 star rating in my book. It was very beautiful and elegant. My stay was very peaceful and relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

rotating restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alexandcolleen
Business
Okinawa, Japan
May 13, 2012

Great, quiet, friendly hotel!

The Moana Surfrider is a great hotel and we will definitely stay there again. We spent 6 nights there for a babymoon and loved everything about it. The rooms are clean, updated, and very comfortable. You simply cannot beat the amaziog beds and bedding (even available for purchase!). We never heard a sound from any other room and as a result of booking online, got a free night and free breakfast every morning. The buffet is fantastic and was worth over $70 each morning and we got it for free. Huge benefit when you look at the price of similar hotels. The resort fee of $25 a day is a bit of a pain, but you get a huge list of benefits from water in your room every day, basic surf lessons, free self-parking, etc. and they don't nickle and dime you instead. We found the price of the hotel was great when you look at all the benefits you get. Free loaner towels for the beach, lots of chairs around the pool and by the beach, and its 50 feet to the water. The valet is $15 a day on top of the resort fee, but worth every penny. They are fast, efficient, friendly, and will gladly park and retrieve your car 50 times a day for the set price. Self-parking is only a block away, but valet is so worth it. One other great thing they have are "hospitality suites" at check-in that you can use to shower and change while waiting for your room to beceome available in case your flight gets you in way before 1500. Its free and they just recommend you use them for 45 minutes or less, so others can use them too. We got changed, gave them our bags, and hit the beach until check-in time. Our room turned out to be delayed by about 30 minutes, so they fixed it by upgrading the room and giving us free drink vouchers. Couldn't have asked for a better hotel experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach bar at the Westin is great for drinks and light food. Would highly recommend a short walk next door to the outrigger to eat at "Chuck's" or the "Hula Grill" for dinner. Short waits compared to other restaurants and excellent food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alohahoneymoon
Business
New York, Ny
May 19, 2012

Great resort

This hotel is such a valuable hotel with antique atmosphere. It is quite expensive to stay but it is worth to spend extra money. I will definitely visit surfrider in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pigeoneer
Business
San Martiin, Ca
Jun 5, 2012

1st time Moana & 30 Years Later in Waikiki

The Westin Moana Surfrider fulfilled numerous expectations and provided incentive to return for a longer stay. She has a foot in the past and a foot in the now that will continue into the future for there is nothing like her on Waikiki. While the nightlife on Kalakaua has become more intense from what I recall 30 years past, the Surfrider maintains its charm and on the Beach comfort for relaxation. The staff is courteous, helpful and provides top-notch service. Arrival Manager Casey King was attentive to our needs and went over the top to assure our stay would be in his words “relaxing, refreshing and memorable.” Roxanne at the excursions desk, and Colin and Gloria at the pool and beach side service were fantastic. The Westin Moana Surfrider has a fabulous breakfast buffet, afternoon tea, and a classic veranda for dining. Fitness and Spa are conveniently accessible as with Yoga and Hula lessons for those wishing to experience diverse activities. Nightly entertainment in the Banyan Tree Beach Bar courtyard who's setting can't be compared to any other resort on Waikiki. The Moana Surfrider is a thriving resort whose energy flows like the breeze that carries the spirit of the Islands. We were loyal vacationers to Cancun but I think we've found a new home. Well done Moana Surfrider!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Hawaii has a passion for her unique lifestyle and good living, happy moments and calming of your spirit if you allow yourself to slow down and learn to enjoy what is there. The diversity of cultures in the islands provides foods from all around the world and some recipes are in a state of flavor fusion. Experiment and try small establishments. The name brand eateries are predictable and can be pricey. Entertainment is also a necessity for fine and enjoyable dining so seek out where the “Local” talents are jamming (Tiki's Grill & Bar). Don't forget to "suck-em up! It all works together. There’s everything you want by foot, public transportation, rental car or nearby hotels. If its to busy then head out to outer Islands. They are all good for what suits your temperment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Christybelly
Business
Petaluma, CA
May 31, 2012

Fantastic Place!!

We really enjoyed the location of the hotel and the staff was extremely friendly. The room with the ocean view is great and the beds were comfortable. I recommend the buffet breakfast in the morning. Everything went was great and I would recommend the place to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top