Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa ★★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$269
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 25, 2016 Check-out: Feb 26, 2016
4.3 /5
Overall score
91%
Would recommend
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4
1 2 3 4 5

Select your room

Room types

Show Prices Premier - Beach View - Tower
  • Occupancy: 4
Show Prices Deluxe - City View - Tower
  • Occupancy: 4
Show Prices Tower Partial Ocean View Upgrade from Tower Deluxe City
  • Occupancy: 4
Show Prices Diamond Deluxe Ocean View
  • Occupancy: 4
Show Prices Diamond Deluxe Ocean Upgrade from Ocean View
  • Occupancy: 4
Show Prices Banyan Classic Ocean Upgrade from Tower Partial Ocean View
  • Occupancy: 4
Show Prices Tower City View Deluxe Upgrade From Diamond City
  • Occupancy: 4
Show Prices Banyan Deluxe City Upgrade from City View
  • Occupancy: 4
Show Prices Banyan Deluxe City View
  • Occupancy: 4
Show Prices Banyan Classic Beach View Club
  • Occupancy: 4
Show Prices Partial Ocean View - Tower
  • Occupancy: 4
Show Prices Tower Premier Ocean Upgrade from Ocean View
  • Occupancy: 4
Show Prices Diamond Deluxe Ocean Upgrade from Banyan Classic Ocean
  • Occupancy: 4
Show Prices Tower Deluxe Ocean Upgrade from Diamond Deluxe Ocean
  • Occupancy: 4
Show Prices Tower Deluxe City Upgrade from Diamond City
  • Occupancy: 4
Show Prices Diamond City
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Tower Partial Ocean Upgrade from Banyan Deluxe City View
  • Occupancy: 4
Show Prices Tower Ocean View Suite Diamond Head
  • Occupancy: 4
Show Prices Banyan Deluxe City Upgrade from Banyan City View
  • Occupancy: 4
Show Prices Banyan Classic City
  • Occupancy: 4
Show Prices Banyan City
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Deluxe - Ocean View - Tower
  • Occupancy: 4
Show Prices Tower Ocean Suite
  • Occupancy: 4

Overview

The First Lady of Waikiki was constructed at the turn of the 20th century and the Moana Surfrider certainly lives up to her name as a stately Waikiki beachfront property. At the time of her grand beginning, the resort and spa was privately owned but today this impressive Oahu hotel is a Westin property.

Upon arrival, you'll be treated to a signature Westin elixir, a fragrant flower lei and a refreshingly chilled towel to dab away any travel grime. Catch relaxing winks in the luxurious sheets on your Westin Heavenly Bed and soak up traditional Hawaiian healing techniques and treatments inside Waikiki s only beachfront spa. High-end toiletries, superior linens and comfortable bathrobes adorn the accommodations while the refurbished lobby features hardwood floors plus new fixtures and fittings.

Highlights

Key facts

  • Guest rooms inside three wings: Diamond Wing, Banyan Wing and Tower Wing
  • Moana Lani Spa
  • Bars and restaurants: beachhouse at the moana, bin1901, veranda at the beachhouse, Beach Bar
  • Wedding venue facilities
  • Meeting spaces and conference area
  • Banyan Courtyard

Hints and tips

The Banyan Courtyard is a popular place to relax under the trees while sipping umbrella drinks and enjoying live music. If you time it right, you'll be treated to hula dancing. Book a room in the Tower Wing for balcony views.

Nearby attractions

Neighborhood

The central Waikiki location of the Moana Surfrider Westin Resort and Spa affords visitors easy access to a range of beach-related activities. Snorkeling adventures, surf lessons and outrigger canoe rides can be experienced within steps of the resort. After riding the waves, enjoy six floors of retail therapy and eateries at the Waikiki Shopping Plaza down the street.

Dining

veranda at the beachhouse
Offering an oceanfront and guest-centric breakfast, the veranda at the beachhouse also offers a traditional yet savvy Afternoon Tea in homage to a long established tradition here at the Moana. Breakfast will be available Monday-Friday from 6:00am- 11:00am Afternoon Tea will be available Monday-Friday 12:00pm- 3:00pm.
The Beach Bar
Located just steps away from the beautiful sands of Waikiki Beach, the oceanfront Beach Bar is an ideal setting for enjoying the Waikiki scenery while sipping on your favorite tropical beverage, or nibbling on delicious grilled pupus (appetizers).

Open from 10:30am to 12:00am; hot grilled appetizers and other selections available from 10:30am to 10:00pm.
beachhouse at the Moana
beachhouse is Moana's premier dinner concept a contemporary Island-style steakhouse. Guests will be treated to exceptional cuisine in an oceanfront surrounding that replenishes the spirit. Life, like food, usually needs a little spice. The menu at beachhouse delivers culinary delights for every palette. The top of the food chain starts here! Dinner service 5:30pm-10:00pm

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Ballroom provides the flexibility to comfortably accommodate groups of up to 250. Our private beach area also allows you to have the perfect sunset Barbecue for a group of up to 75 persons.

Recommendations for you

Guest score 4.1 / 5
$199
Guest score 4.1 / 5
$199

The Modern Honolulu

★★★★★
Guest score 4.4 / 5
$269

Sheraton Waikiki

★★★★
Guest score 4.0 / 5
$202
Guest score 4.2 / 5
$189
Guest score 3.8 / 5
$148

Amenities

Featured

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking

General

  • Non Smoking
  • Concierge

Activities

  • Pool
  • Fitness Center
  • Spa

Dining

  • Restaurant
  • Room service

Services

  • Business center
  • Conference facilities

Internet

  • WiFi

Accessibility

  • Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Reviews

4.3 /5 Overall score

91% Would recommend

  • Amenities: 4.2/5
  • Cleanliness: 4.4/5
  • Hotel staff: 4.4/5
  • Comfort: 4.4/5
  • Location: 4.9/5
  • Value: 4/5

Wonderful place

Would recommend Thu, Dec 10, 2015
Ir's a wonderful building!!!! In the best location!

| N/A Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Wonderful hotel and staff

Would recommend Wed, Oct 7, 2015
the Moana Surfrider is a beautiful and wonder place to stay. the staff is very courteous and friendly. Especially craig the bartender at The Beach Bar and the hostess (didn't catch her name) they both went out of their way to help us. the location is good. It is situated toward the south end of Waikiki beach and is just about a block to the beach park. It is also right in the middle of the shopping district. If you travel to Oahu there are a few places that are a must. the Polynesian Cultural Center is unbelievable, Hanauma Bay is one of the most beautiful places in Hawaii. And of course, Pearl Harbor almost goes without saying. Now the negatives- We had a hard time with the in-room safe. It was placed on the floor where you have to crawl on the floor to access it. Most hotels put them on the shelf in a closet. Internet access was ok. The only down side was having to log in every time you left and came back. Also had to log in in the mornings. There was no internet in the laundry facility either(which is where it is needed the most). But it was free. The area the hotel is in was very, very busy. The traffic is horrible. I have never had to wait in line at a pedestrian crossing to walk across the street before. And this is supposed to be the less busy time of year. Overall the stay was awesome. we have always wanted to visit Oahu and we are glad we did. It is just too busy for us. Probably will not return.

| N/A Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Beautiful Waikiki Lady Hotel

Would recommend Mon, Sep 28, 2015
Hotel is the oldest in Waikiki, over 113 years old. We stayed in the oldest section, which had high ceilings and large mouldings around the doors. Very comfortable. Bathroom up to date, but no tub, with a generous shower. Single pane windows, which rattled some with the trade winds we did hear sirens for passing emergency vehicles on Kalakaua Ave. Housekeeping a little lakidasical, they did not refresh complimentary tea bags and hot drink sleeves and cream daily, twice I had to call for replenishments, which were brought up promptly. We had a wonderful time at the beach bar, located under a huge banyan tree. Pool area was nice, with large beach/pool towels for the asking. Many weddings at hotel daily, all day. Added to the charm of it all. Live Hawaiian music nightly. Prime location in Waikiki. One concern, we had a rental car across the street, and street was closed on our day of departure for the Huli Aloha day parade. I was somewhat disappointed, that no one had informed us of this event, not during check in. We found out about the previous afternoon from a traffic sign barricade. However the bellman I asked took care of it at departure, with no problems, and met us across the street with our luggage and waited while I got the car from parking. All in all, a beautiful hotel, great location, and we would have no qualms about staying there again.

| Pleasant Hill Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious!!!

Would recommend Mon, Sep 28, 2015
Mere words can't express the splendor of the Mona Surfrider. The resort and spa is in a class all by itself. There were only a couple of instances that happened one at the beach bar, and the other at dinner that would have wasted our precious time. When the middle age unhappy female bar server had to correct an order, it was down hill all the way. Also one night a younger female server on the veranda, gave us absolutely horrible service. There was a couple that was seated after us, we had ordered only two glasses of wine to go with our dinner. The table after us ordered a bottle, after that we no longer existed. But over all we had a wonderful time sightseeing, shopping and enjoying our vacation. We got a chance to visit Pearl Harbor, Dole, PPC, and enjoy the great mighty pacific ocean. Our amazing vacation was breath taking, looking forward in the near future on a return visit. Aloha and Malaho!

| N/A Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Hawaii trip!

Would recommend Sun, Sep 20, 2015
We've stayed at this hotel many times and have always had a wonderful time! This time we stayed in the Banyon side and our room was great! The hotel has the best location, the staff are always so nice and helpful with anything you may need. The amenities are wonderful and there is always something to do. The free yoga and water aerobics are just a couple of the things to take advantage of while you are here. The only thing I would say would need improvement would be the wifi. While it is ok there are a lot of times you get kicked off and have to re-connect to the network. There was an option for $14.99 extra to get a faster internet, but I think for the $35/day resort fee, a strong internet should be included. But other than this, I would definitely recommend the Moana Surfrider and I know we will be back!

| N/A Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Great family time!

Would recommend Sat, Sep 19, 2015
It was a great location - right at the beach! Plenty of food options within walking distance. Would stay there again!

| Ooltewah Family

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Absolutely the iconic view of Diamond Head

Would recommend Tue, Sep 15, 2015
The first room we were given wasn't up to my standard, so management gave us a room on the view side of Waikiki....I opened the French Doors to see the iconic view of Waikiki. Beautiful. Overall the hotel is beautiful old Waikiki, I would stay again, but to be truthful, the pool needs updating. My trip was 2013. This Hotel is close to everything.

| N/A Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

get away

Would recommend Wed, Sep 9, 2015
the hotel, location, and comfort are great i have stayed at this hotel many times - with family & friends only issue is that on this trip we noticed a decline in the service outdoors pool area, but mainly staff that would take care of you while you are on the beach - that was an issue we had to wait until any of the waiters will see you ..and that took a long while.

| N/A Friends

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Wedding Anniversary

Would recommend Tue, Sep 8, 2015
My stay was incredible. Hands down the best Hotel in Honolulu. The view from my room was breathtaking. I upgraded to beach view. Very well worth every penny. The rooms are bit small but we didn't mind. My husband and I were celebrating our 10 year wedding anniversary. When we arrived in our room we had a bottle of champagne and Chocolates waiting for us. The staff was incredibly kind and helpful. A+ 10 star Hotel in my opinion. Thank You :)

| N/A Family

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Great location

Would recommend Wed, Aug 26, 2015
Historic hotel in Great location! Nice beach but very small pool. Considering it was built in 1901.

| N/A Family

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Top hotels

Nearby points of interest

Damien Museum 0.3 mi
Fort Derussy Beach 0.5 mi
Honolulu Zoo 0.6 mi
Waikiki Baptist Church 0.7 mi
Ala Wai Park 0.8 mi
Waikiki Shell 0.8 mi
Kapiolani Park 0.9 mi
Stan Sheriff Center 1.3 mi
Ala Moana Beach 1.6 mi
Honolulu Academy of Arts 2.4 mi
Shangri La Islamic Art Museum 2.4 mi
The Contemporary Museum 2.5 mi
Kakaako Waterfront Park 2.7 mi
Kawaiahao Church 2.8 mi
Kamehameha Statue 2.9 mi
Iolani Palace 3 mi
Washington Place 3 mi
Irvin Park 3.2 mi
Star Of Honolulu 3.3 mi
Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal 3.3 mi
Aloha Tower 3.3 mi
Honolulu Botanical Gardens 3.3 mi
Waialae Country Club 3.5 mi
Hawaii Maritime Center 3.6 mi
Mauna Ala 3.6 mi
Honolulu Chinatown 3.7 mi
Queen Emma Summer Palace 4.2 mi
Pali Lookout 4.2 mi
Bishop Museum 4.9 mi
Koolau Golf Club 7.1 mi
Hanauma Bay 8.4 mi
Koko Head Park 8.8 mi
Aloha Stadium 9.3 mi
Koko Crater Botanical Gardens 9.4 mi
Bellows Beach 9.4 mi
USS Arizona Memorial 9.5 mi
Halona Blow Hole 9.7 mi
USS Bowfin Submarine Museum 9.7 mi
Sandy Beach 9.9 mi
USS Missouri 10.1 mi
Wawamalu Beach 10.2 mi
Pacific Aviation Museum 10.5 mi
Kailua Beach 10.5 mi
Pearl Harbor 10.6 mi
Lanikai Beach 10.8 mi

Hotel Policies

  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • Check-out: 12:02 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

$269
avg/night
Choose dates
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 25, 2016 Check-out: Feb 26, 2016