$355 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

4 stars
2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
400 reviews
Great location

Centrally located, historical site and our room was upgraded. See full review

  • Peewee
  • Jul 7, 2014
A great way to enjoy Honolulu

Even though we toured several parts of the area, we always looked forward to returning to our hotel See full review

  • Aloha Practician
  • May 25, 2014
'The First Lady of Waikiki' was constructed at the turn of the 20th century, and the Moana Surfrider lives up to her elegant name as a Waikiki beachfront property. Upon arrival, you'll be treated to a signature Westin elixir, a fragrant flower lei, and a refreshingly chilled towel. Catch a great night's sleep on your Westin Heavenly Bed, and soak up traditional Hawaiian healing techniques and treatments inside Waikiki's only beachfront spa. High-end toiletries, superior linens, and comfortable bathrobes adorn the accommodations, while the refurbished lobby features hardwood floors, along with new fixtures and fittings.
Key facts
  • Guestrooms inside three wings: Diamond Wing, Banyan Wing and Tower Wing
  • Moana Lani Spa
  • Bars and restaurants: Beachhouse at the Moana, Bin1901, Veranda at the Beachhouse, Beach Bar
  • Wedding venue facilities
  • Meeting spaces and conference area
  • Banyan Courtyard
Neighborhood
The central Waikiki location of the Moana Surfrider Westin Resort and Spa affords visitors easy access to a range of beach-related activities. Snorkeling adventures, surf lessons, and outrigger canoe rides can be experienced within steps of the resort. After riding the waves, enjoy six floors of retail therapy and eateries at the Waikiki Shopping Plaza down the street.
Hints and tips
The Banyan Courtyard is a popular place to relax under the trees while sipping umbrella drinks and enjoying live music, along with occasional hula dancing.

Book a room in the Tower Wing for balcony views.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa Rooms

Ocean View Room
Enjoy sweeping views of the Pacific Ocean from your spacious guest room. The contemporary Hawaiian decor is complemented by two double or king size Heavenly Beds, a 32 inch flat screen TV, a comfortable chair, a writing desk (with high-speed internet access available at an extra charge) and chair, and a hardwood dresser. The bathrooms feature Westin's Heavenly BathEamenities. Additional features include a coffee maker, cable TV, and a refrigerator.
City View Room
Enjoy sweeping views of Honolulu from your spacious and newly renovated guest room. The contemporary decor is complemented by a king size Heavenly Beds, Flat Screen 32 inch TV, a comfortable chair, a writing desk (with HSIA - surcharge) and chair, a hardwood dresser, and modern tile-floored baths with heavenly bath with granite counters - all accented in a Hawaiian motif. (264 square feet). Additional features include coffee maker, cable, and refrigerator.
Banyan Classic Ocean Club
All guests booking this category will have access to the Beach Club.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2765 -157.8265
Area served
Honolulu Oahu Hawaii. Waikiki Beach
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL 10 Miles
Area description
Waikiki Beach, International Market-225ft, Pearl Harbor-10mi, Honolulu Zoo-0.3mi, Kapiolani Park-0.4mi, Ala Moana Shopping Center-2mi,Aloha Tower-4mi, Aloha Stadium-10mi, Hanama Bay-12mi, North Shore 35mi

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.6 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.2 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.2 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.4 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.3 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.7 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.1 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.6 mi

Dining

The Veranda
Offering an oceanfront and guest-centric breakfast, Banyan Veranda also offers a traditional yet savvy during our Afternoon Tea in homage to a long established tradition here at the Moana. Breakfast will be available Monday-Friday from 6 - 11 am Afternoon Tea will be available Monday - Friday 12:00 - 3:00 pm
The Beach Bar
Located just steps away from the beautiful sands of Waikiki Beach, the oceanfront Beach Bar is an ideal setting for enjoying the Waikiki scenery while sipping on your favorite tropical beverage, or nibbling on delicious grilled pupus (appetizers).

Open from 10:30 a.m. to 12:00 a.m.; hot grilled appetizers and other selections available from 10:30 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.
beachhouse at the Moana
beachhouse is Moana's premier dinner concept a contemporary Island-style steakhouse. Guests will be treated to exceptional cuisine in an oceanfront surrounding that replenishes the spirit. Life, like food, usually needs a little spice. The menu at beachhouse delivers culinary delights for every palette. The top of the food chain starts here! Dinner service 5:30-10pm

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Ballroom provides the flexibility to comfortably accommodate groups of up to 250. Our private beach area also allows you to have the perfect sunset Barbecue for a group of up to 75 persons.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1202

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (400)

Ratings and reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
215 out of 400
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aloha Practician
Massillon, OH
May 25, 2014

A great way to enjoy Honolulu

Even though we toured several parts of the area, we always looked forward to returning to our hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Try to set these up as far in advance as possible

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dafootdr
Maui, HI
Apr 21, 2014

On the BEACH!

Not many hotels can claim to be on the beach like this place. Its right in the middle of Waikiki. Right in the middle of all the shopping. The Hotel is old, but clean and nice. The beds and shower are awesome. Liked it a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lozzy P
Sydney
Mar 15, 2014

The best hotel in Waikiki

We've just come back from 6 nights in Waikiki. I've stayed at a few hotels there now (this was my 6th visit) and you really can't go past this hotel. I looked everywhere before we left to get a good deal on a room at the Moana, knowing that it is the best hotel in the best location on the beach, and couldn't find anything below $600 per room per night for a partial ocean view, until I jumped on to this website and got a room for half this price. Wonderful! We were then upgraded to a full ocean view room in the Diamond Wing on the 5th floor which was sensational. The room looked newly refurbished and reminded me of a beach house with rocking chairs looking out onto the balcony which has full views of the beach up to diamond head. The room was clean and the beds and pillows are Heavenly.. literally! They pride themselves on their comfort and they are second only to your bed at home. This trip confirmed that the Moana is by far the best spot to stay in Waikiki. Worth noting I have stayed at the Outrigger on the beach (with Duke's), The Grand Hyatt and the Waikiki Parc before and the Moana trumps them all, easily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

When dining in the hotel for breakfast, when the buffet option is included, remember that you can ask the waiter to have the kitchen make you an omelette fresh - at no extra charge.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rich and Alison
San Francisco
Mar 9, 2014

Room choice is key

We had two different rooms while we were there. Try to get the tower and not the main hotel rooms. The tower is nicely upgraded. The rooms are bigger and even the TVs work better. If you are not traveling with children this is the spot! All the hotels in the area are the same except this one. It has charm and character. The service was exceptional. The hotel in the gym was good and served it purpose. I highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hang Loose 2
Seattle
Mar 1, 2014

High expectations - did not disappoint!

Always wanted to stay here since a vacation to HI on the Lurline! Yes, the Matson ship we traveled on when I was 12 yrs old. Beautiful building and setting. Absolutely first class, from the greeting with fresh leis as we dropped off our luggage to the Alohas and Mahalos as we we were leaving. Room was not ready at 3pm so the front desk manager took us to the beach bar and authorized what ever we wanted to drink while we enjoyed the view. 15 minutes later he came to tell us it was ready. Room was one of the less expensive, in the older part of hotel (which I remembered and liked) and very nice. The "resort fee" actually comes with value, especially if you have a rental car to park (included). The location is the heart of Waikiki. This was the first hotel, built 100 years ago. Stay here if it works with your budget. You will have fond memories!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lulu's restaurant for breakfast or lunch. We did not eat dinner there. It is on the second floor with open air, covered dining. Order a single breakfast to share plus a side of extra meat, fruit, or toast. It's plenty for two. Same with the lunch at the Cheesecake factory 'next door' to the Moana.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stacey Song YZ
CT
Feb 9, 2014

location is perfect

best location for visitors, room is fine but not perfect. additional charge $31.41 everyday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Suzze q
Folsom, Pennsylvania
Feb 8, 2014

Beautiful hotel

This is a beautiful property inside and out. The front faces the street with a great view point for watching street performers. The back faces the ocean's spectacular views. The staff was more than pleasant at every encounter. The use of the hospitality room allowed for and an early arrival. The Hawaiian woman working the activities desk was informative and extremely helpful as well as congenial. Wish there had been a ceiling fan in the room, even though it was cool enough. Be prepared to pay for beach chairs and if you want something like tea in your room, you will need to ask daily. Overall a great place and we were very happy to have stayed here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Sea Side Grill is basic but clean. The food was graciously portioned and very good. More reasonably priced than most in the area. Don't bother with the popular place, "Eggs N Things", not worth the wait , food not so good.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BFSLDS
Rochester, N.Y.
Dec 26, 2013

Moana

Except for tiny bathroom (leaky shower), we had a great time. Kudos to the concierge!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Roy's restaurant is worth the walk.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bus Driver Guy
Surrey, BC, Canada
Dec 9, 2013

Another return visit

This was my fourth trip back to Hawaii and a repeat stay at the Moana Surfrider. On every trip, as well as this last visit, I've always found that the entire staff; from the bell/valet, front desk and housekeeping personnel to the restaurant/bar folks all go out of their way to make you feel cormfortable and welcome. It was a great feeling to see so many friendly faces all working to make you feel completely at home. That is the feeling I get everytime I stay at this hotel on my visits to Hawaii. I shall return again to experience more of their great hospitality! Don

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You can take advantage of dining at any of the Starwood group of hotels within walking distance and have the ability to charge all of your meals to your room at the Moana Surfrider.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Abermudez
Houston, TX
Dec 2, 2013

Awesome Hotel!

Cannot say enough how awesome this hotel was. The staff was super friendly and any questions that we had were answered right away. The room was cleaned everyday. The hotel was situated right Waikiki Beach, so FYI there is a lot of people walking along the hotel. The front of the hotel faces the strip where are the high-end stores are located. Even the locals would tell us how they would like to stay there one day. Its a bit pricey but I think is well worth it. Also, our flight didn't leave until 7pm but they let us store our bags and gave us a courtesy room to shower and change well after check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top