$325 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 29, 2014 Check-out: Oct 31, 2014

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

4 stars
2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
269 reviews
Honolulu at it's best

The Sheraton I want to Surfrider is the nicest hotel you could stay in! It's centered right in the... See full review

  • Kjmakai
  • Oct 7, 2014
Amazing time with SO and friends

Celebrated anniversary/birthday there. Great experience. See full review

  • toolizzit2quit
  • Sep 16, 2014
'The First Lady of Waikiki' was constructed at the turn of the 20th century, and the Moana Surfrider lives up to her elegant name as a Waikiki beachfront property. Upon arrival, you'll be treated to a signature Westin elixir, a fragrant flower lei, and a refreshingly chilled towel. Catch a great night's sleep on your Westin Heavenly Bed, and soak up traditional Hawaiian healing techniques and treatments inside Waikiki's only beachfront spa. High-end toiletries, superior linens, and comfortable bathrobes adorn the accommodations, while the refurbished lobby features hardwood floors, along with new fixtures and fittings.
Key facts
  • Guestrooms inside three wings: Diamond Wing, Banyan Wing and Tower Wing
  • Moana Lani Spa
  • Bars and restaurants: Beachhouse at the Moana, Bin1901, Veranda at the Beachhouse, Beach Bar
  • Wedding venue facilities
  • Meeting spaces and conference area
  • Banyan Courtyard
Neighborhood
The central Waikiki location of the Moana Surfrider Westin Resort and Spa affords visitors easy access to a range of beach-related activities. Snorkeling adventures, surf lessons, and outrigger canoe rides can be experienced within steps of the resort. After riding the waves, enjoy six floors of retail therapy and eateries at the Waikiki Shopping Plaza down the street.
Hints and tips
The Banyan Courtyard is a popular place to relax under the trees while sipping umbrella drinks and enjoying live music, along with occasional hula dancing.

Book a room in the Tower Wing for balcony views.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.2765 -157.8265
Area served
Honolulu Oahu Hawaii. Waikiki Beach
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL 10 Miles
Area description
Waikiki Beach, International Market-225ft, Pearl Harbor-10mi, Honolulu Zoo-0.3mi, Kapiolani Park-0.4mi, Ala Moana Shopping Center-2mi,Aloha Tower-4mi, Aloha Stadium-10mi, Hanama Bay-12mi, North Shore 35mi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa Rooms

Ocean View Room
Enjoy sweeping views of the Pacific Ocean from your spacious guest room. The contemporary Hawaiian decor is complemented by two double or king size Heavenly Beds, a 32 inch flat screen TV, a comfortable chair, a writing desk (with high-speed internet access available at an extra charge) and chair, and a hardwood dresser. The bathrooms feature Westin's Heavenly BathEamenities. Additional features include a coffee maker, cable TV, and a refrigerator.
City View Room
Enjoy sweeping views of Honolulu from your spacious and newly renovated guest room. The contemporary decor is complemented by a king size Heavenly Beds, Flat Screen 32 inch TV, a comfortable chair, a writing desk (with HSIA - surcharge) and chair, a hardwood dresser, and modern tile-floored baths with heavenly bath with granite counters - all accented in a Hawaiian motif. (264 square feet). Additional features include coffee maker, cable, and refrigerator.
Banyan Classic Ocean Club
All guests booking this category will have access to the Beach Club.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.6 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.2 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.2 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.4 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.3 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.7 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.1 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Ballroom provides the flexibility to comfortably accommodate groups of up to 250. Our private beach area also allows you to have the perfect sunset Barbecue for a group of up to 75 persons.

Dining

The Veranda
Offering an oceanfront and guest-centric breakfast, Banyan Veranda also offers a traditional yet savvy during our Afternoon Tea in homage to a long established tradition here at the Moana. Breakfast will be available Monday-Friday from 6 - 11 am Afternoon Tea will be available Monday - Friday 12:00 - 3:00 pm
The Beach Bar
Located just steps away from the beautiful sands of Waikiki Beach, the oceanfront Beach Bar is an ideal setting for enjoying the Waikiki scenery while sipping on your favorite tropical beverage, or nibbling on delicious grilled pupus (appetizers).

Open from 10:30 a.m. to 12:00 a.m.; hot grilled appetizers and other selections available from 10:30 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.
beachhouse at the Moana
beachhouse is Moana's premier dinner concept a contemporary Island-style steakhouse. Guests will be treated to exceptional cuisine in an oceanfront surrounding that replenishes the spirit. Life, like food, usually needs a little spice. The menu at beachhouse delivers culinary delights for every palette. The top of the food chain starts here! Dinner service 5:30-10pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1202

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (269)

Ratings and reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
269 out of 269
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
California2013
Business
California
Jan 24, 2014

Perfect location

Location doesn't get better.. The spa is also great. Definitely worth the splurge

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hang Loose 2
Business
Seattle
Mar 1, 2014

High expectations - did not disappoint!

Always wanted to stay here since a vacation to HI on the Lurline! Yes, the Matson ship we traveled on when I was 12 yrs old. Beautiful building and setting. Absolutely first class, from the greeting with fresh leis as we dropped off our luggage to the Alohas and Mahalos as we we were leaving. Room was not ready at 3pm so the front desk manager took us to the beach bar and authorized what ever we wanted to drink while we enjoyed the view. 15 minutes later he came to tell us it was ready. Room was one of the less expensive, in the older part of hotel (which I remembered and liked) and very nice. The "resort fee" actually comes with value, especially if you have a rental car to park (included). The location is the heart of Waikiki. This was the first hotel, built 100 years ago. Stay here if it works with your budget. You will have fond memories!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lulu's restaurant for breakfast or lunch. We did not eat dinner there. It is on the second floor with open air, covered dining. Order a single breakfast to share plus a side of extra meat, fruit, or toast. It's plenty for two. Same with the lunch at the Cheesecake factory 'next door' to the Moana.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beach Mama Rob
Business
Hermosa Beach, CA
Mar 7, 2014

A Perfect Mother/Daughter Get-Away

Sixth year heading to the Moana Surfrider for my daughter and I to spend special time together. We ALWAYS have the best time. Beautiful hotel, amazing location, and the staff remembers us each year with lovely "welcomes". Our room had two rocking chairs overlooking the beautiful beach and ocean....such tranquility. I can't wait until next year!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ns1183
Business
California
Mar 10, 2014

beautiful hotel

Beautiful hotel on the best location in all of Waikiki. It may seem pricey, but having stayed at most of the other beach front hotels in Waikiki, when comparing them to the Moana, the slight increase is more than worth it. The rooms are comfortable, the staff is kind , attentive and helpful. The old Hawaii feel embraces you from the minute you walk in. The location is the best in all of Waikiki. I go to Waikiki a lot, and hope I never have to stay anywhere else again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Sorabol Korean BBQ. 5 minute cab ride, open 24 hours. Full bar. Great food, great prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rich and Alison
Business
San Francisco
Mar 9, 2014

Room choice is key

We had two different rooms while we were there. Try to get the tower and not the main hotel rooms. The tower is nicely upgraded. The rooms are bigger and even the TVs work better. If you are not traveling with children this is the spot! All the hotels in the area are the same except this one. It has charm and character. The service was exceptional. The hotel in the gym was good and served it purpose. I highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Juliette's mom
Business
Los Angeles, ca
Apr 19, 2014

Beautiful

The service is impeccable. Food is delicious. Hotel is breathtakingly beautiful. I won't stay anywhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Jun 23, 2009

Beautiful!

We loved it. It is the oldest hotel on wakiki beach. great location and the entertainment under the banyon tree was wonderful and relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Josh Super Geo
Business
Reno, NV
Jun 29, 2009

Great vacation

The only thing that we were dissapointed with was the quality of the food. For the high prices in most restaurants, we expected better quality and season. Otherwise, overall this was a gret trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Apr 27, 2010

Perfect Hotel!

This Hotel is near everything! It was so Perfect for me and my family! It is right on the beach and the the scenery was beautiful! I highly recommend the Moana Surfrider. After walking around and looking at other Hotels while we were in Waikiki, I don't think I could have picked a better hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rested and Relaxed Traveller
Business
Alameda, CA
Jul 12, 2010

Great service, great view and vacation

The hotel is located right across the street from the International Market. The International Market sells all different types of necklaces, bracelets, and things you can buy for family and friends at home. It is also located next door to Duke's Restaurant, which is very good. The valet service was very friendly and helpful, along with the cleaning staff. Our car was ready in about 10 minutes, which was very helpful. Sometimes the staff would knock on the door around 8am in the morning to clean the room, which wasn't that annoying, but did wake us up. The breakfast that came with the package was good, which included scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, fruits, hashed browns...let's just say the buffet had a lot of food! The wait time to be seated took about 5 - 15 minutes. Overall, the vacation was well worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure to pass by Mai Tai's located in the Ala Moana hotel. It is a bar/lounge, beautiful waitresses, great drinks, and a good time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top