$300 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 2, 2015 Check-out: Oct 3, 2015

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
267 out of 267
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Herndon, VA
Aug 17, 2009

Great place to stay on a budget!

Easy access to the beach and the hotel was kept very clean and very spacious modern rooms! Enjoyed our stay there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great resturants and shops walking distance!

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Farzan
Family
Fresno, CA, USA
Aug 19, 2011

excellent

everything was perfect, thanks for everything and ....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Dayton, OH
Aug 3, 2010

Great experience at the Moana Surfrider

The hotel and staff absolutely exceeded our expectations! They were always friendly and helpful and our room was always cleaned excellently. Our room was a beautiful ocean view, [...] was very quiet and comfortable. The hotel location was fantastic. Step out the back door and you are on the beach. Obviously, you are in the heart of Waikiki, so shopping and restaurants are plentiful. (Based on other reviews, we went the first night to the International Marketplace right across the street. We found the food and merchandise there to be mediocre at best.)Prices are high at or near the hotel as you would expect. Just walk or drive not far away for reasonably priced meals (we only ate at the hotel beach house one time). We rented a car so we drove and ate at very good and reasonable restaurants not far from the hotel. We also saved on breakfast and lunch by shopping at Safeway and keeping some food in the room refrigerator and in bags (cereal, snack bars, fruit). It costs $25 (or $33/day higher for valet service) for parking at the hotel. We debated it but we wanted the flexibility to do what we wanted when we wanted, so we rented a car. Local transportation options are plentiful. It was a great family vacation. If we ever come back to Oahu, I would want to stay at the Moana Surfrider.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great local food a short drive away at Mr. Ojisan (Japanese), Ono (sp?) for Hawaiian and Diamond Head Grill (we went there for lunch) for pretty reasonable prices. Don't discount the option of saving $ by shopping at local grocery stores and eating breakfast and lunches in the room.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs. Aloha
Couples
Ohio
Jun 23, 2010

Week in paradise

We spent the week relaxing on the beaches of Oahu--a different beach every day: two days on the North Shore, two days on Waikiki, and beaches on the East and West sides of the island. It was perfect. We couldn't have asked for a better trip. We thought staying in Waikiki would be expensive, but it turned out to be very affordable. We didn't want to leave!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Snorkel at Shark's Cove on the North Shore. It's free and really amazing. Stop and see the turtles on the way! Eat breakfast at the Hula Grill above Duke's. It's delicious and fairly priced.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Sarasota, FL
Aug 2, 2011

Business/mini vacation

Clean, centrally located to everything, Westin did not disappoint!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Philly
Jun 4, 2010

Perfection in Paradise

The historic hotel is centrally located in Wakiki. Nice access to beach, shops and excursions. The hotel helped with tours and has everything for all all types of stays (family, couples, friends) and budgets. Updated fitness center and pool is located just off beach but has privacy. Clean and comfortable rooms. The hotel had several weddings there and would consider it when I get married. It has its own indoor chapel, large patio/lanai for reception of outdoor ceremony and the hotel is perfect to takes pictures. As a photographer, it is ideal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The location of the hotel has many attractions within walking distance or a short city bus ride. Take the time to walk around and find out what is around first before booking tours.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Surfer Jeff
Family
San Jose, CA
Feb 27, 2011

A short walk to everything

Our plan was to go to the beach every day, and this was the ideal hotel to do it. It's literally about 10 feet from the beach, and there's an outdoor shower to rinse off the sand on your way back in. Paddleboards, surfboards, and the like can be rented about 20 feet down the beach. There are easily 20 restaurants and shops within walking distance. We got a room in the tower. It was spacious and clean and modern. It had a fridge, but no microwave. The balcony was big too. The Wifi network was unreliable. My wife's iPod touch and my Android phone were impossibly slow on the wifi. Next time, I'll bring a laptop and connect to network cable in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't rent a car: take a taxi. If you're traveling with two or more people, and you don't plan to visit the other side of Oahu, taxis are an affordable and stress-free way to get around. So much is within walking distance you'll rarely need a taxi anyway. Parking everywhere seemed to cost a lot.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
oceanswimmer
Couples
Portland, Oregon
Mar 1, 2011

Best of the best

The hotel and its staff did everything possible to make it feel like home. As far as we are concerned, it is, our vacation home away from home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Evening meal at Duke's on the beach...the calamari were terrific. The sunsets, always spectacular.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
San Jose
Mar 2, 2011

Awesome Family Hotel

A lot of the other hotels were very loud and "busy". The surfrider has a great atmosphere for relaxing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

"Top of Waikiki" restaurant, food was awesome and view is spectacular. The restaurant rotates and sits on the 18th floor.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Pasadena, Ca.
Jun 15, 2010

Very historical

Check in desk very efficient and welcoming. Pool attendants are exceptional. Housekeeping not up to par every day. One day very good and another sub standard. Same housekeeping person. Requests for item being delivered from housekeeping inconsistant. Equipment in Exercise room very good and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top