Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
264 out of 264
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Morochita
Business
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Jul 10, 2012

The first Lady of Waikiki

From the time you arrive at the front entrance you are greeted by the truly friendly staff of the Moana. This hotel is Colonial style architecture situated on Waikiki beach. I have stayed here many times over the years and consider this to be my second home. I have stayed in the Tower wing as well as the Banyan Ocean view. The buffet breakfast in the dining room is great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Halekulani hotel has a lovely restaurant on the patio.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RMT Scotland
Business
Scotland
Jul 9, 2012

family holiday

All hotel staff are excellent. Wonderfull majestic building-oldest hotel on Waikiki. Great breakfast- best to choose complete breakfast option with lots of choice. Hotel pool is only negative which is too small as beach is not good to swim in with constant waves and some coral rock underfoot in places. Hotel charges 50 dollars for 4 chairs plus umbrella just in front of the free pool area on the strip of beach in front of hotel. There is not enough free pool loungers and so you often have to pay to sit on a beach chair. pool area is free. I liked resort charge for free innet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Monica957
Business
San Diego, CA
Jul 9, 2012

All Aloha

We arrived to paradise!!! When we arrived our room was not ready, but right away the front desk attendant was proactive and offered us to have our bags stored and gave us a free beverage. We immediately went to the "beach bar" and ordered some aloha juice. The room was always very clean and had a hint of floral aroma. We rented an umbrella on the beach and this was awesome. The pool attendants were helpful and very friendly, especially Mo. All in all, this was a great experience and allowed us to enjoy Hawaii better than ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Suntory Japanese

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
newlywed and happy
Business
pennsylvannia
Jul 4, 2012

Awesome!

Our room was upgraded from the one that we booked. We absolutely loved this hotel. It was the prettiest one on Waikiki. It would be great for international guests as well. The lobby was beautiful and smelled fantastic. Pick this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Duke's resturant next door is cheap and yummy!

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Engineering Artist
Business
Bellevue, WA
Jul 2, 2012

Pros and cons

Pros: Great location, great beach, great verandas/beach house. Food was very good in the restaurant but a little pricey. We had the buffet breakfast at $30 ea because omelettes alone were already $21! Beach was great considering that beach hotels west of us don't even have a beach! (washed away or something). Wonderful hotel, save for 3 items (cons): First, buying a package deal offers little to no options on room location. Luckily, we spent very little time in our room but our view was pretty bad. Second, it was difficult to get in and out of the room because the door barely clears the bed. Third, the shower leaked all over the bathroom floor because the glass wall or door was not properly caulked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Ask about the view in your room when you book, if possible, because package deals generally put you in rooms with no view.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel Eat Shop
Business
Vancouver. BC
Jun 30, 2012

Terrific holiday

Fifth time in Waikiki but first time at The Moana Surfrider. It was fantastic, love the history and the location on Kalakaua. Beach is shallow but rocky however almost worth the toe stubbing are the turtles coming up for air almost right beside you, feeding on the rocks below. Fantastic. Friendly and helpful staff though out the hotel. Would definitely choose Moana Surfrider again. As there are always the pool chair hoggers that just throw their towel down at 7am to "reserve" the chair, the pool staff actually check and enforce the unattended one hour rule! I love it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Marukame on Kuhio across from International Village. Always a line but so worth the short wait. It is the absolute freshest and best udon ever. So convenient and such good vaule!

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Uber picky traveler
Business
New York, NY
Jun 26, 2012

Excellent for all!

Excellent service, location, food! And right on the beach! My mother loved sitting on the over-sized porch in the rocking chairs. It is a very tranquil hotel. Breakfast buffet is amazing! Plenty of space to lay by the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alys and BR
Business
East Texas
Jun 11, 2012

Good value and amenities

The Moana Surfrider is a beautiful hotel and a good value for the money. The staff was friendly and the food very good. Our overall experience was very positive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

We enjoyed the International Market which was just across the street from the hotel.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pigeoneer
Business
San Martiin, Ca
Jun 5, 2012

1st time Moana & 30 Years Later in Waikiki

The Westin Moana Surfrider fulfilled numerous expectations and provided incentive to return for a longer stay. She has a foot in the past and a foot in the now that will continue into the future for there is nothing like her on Waikiki. While the nightlife on Kalakaua has become more intense from what I recall 30 years past, the Surfrider maintains its charm and on the Beach comfort for relaxation. The staff is courteous, helpful and provides top-notch service. Arrival Manager Casey King was attentive to our needs and went over the top to assure our stay would be in his words “relaxing, refreshing and memorable.” Roxanne at the excursions desk, and Colin and Gloria at the pool and beach side service were fantastic. The Westin Moana Surfrider has a fabulous breakfast buffet, afternoon tea, and a classic veranda for dining. Fitness and Spa are conveniently accessible as with Yoga and Hula lessons for those wishing to experience diverse activities. Nightly entertainment in the Banyan Tree Beach Bar courtyard who's setting can't be compared to any other resort on Waikiki. The Moana Surfrider is a thriving resort whose energy flows like the breeze that carries the spirit of the Islands. We were loyal vacationers to Cancun but I think we've found a new home. Well done Moana Surfrider!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Hawaii has a passion for her unique lifestyle and good living, happy moments and calming of your spirit if you allow yourself to slow down and learn to enjoy what is there. The diversity of cultures in the islands provides foods from all around the world and some recipes are in a state of flavor fusion. Experiment and try small establishments. The name brand eateries are predictable and can be pricey. Entertainment is also a necessity for fine and enjoyable dining so seek out where the “Local” talents are jamming (Tiki's Grill & Bar). Don't forget to "suck-em up! It all works together. There’s everything you want by foot, public transportation, rental car or nearby hotels. If its to busy then head out to outer Islands. They are all good for what suits your temperment.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Christybelly
Business
Petaluma, CA
May 31, 2012

Fantastic Place!!

We really enjoyed the location of the hotel and the staff was extremely friendly. The room with the ocean view is great and the beds were comfortable. I recommend the buffet breakfast in the morning. Everything went was great and I would recommend the place to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top