$232 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 5, 2015 Check-out: Jun 6, 2015

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
303 out of 303
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Audrey Leighton
Business
San Francisco, California
Aug 7, 2012

beach chairs

They don't have enough beach chairs. The policy of renting is awful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pompano joe
Business
abington, pa
Jul 25, 2012

family vacation

fabulous experience in every way except maid service could have been better when cleaning the room each day

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Morochita
Business
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Jul 10, 2012

The first Lady of Waikiki

From the time you arrive at the front entrance you are greeted by the truly friendly staff of the Moana. This hotel is Colonial style architecture situated on Waikiki beach. I have stayed here many times over the years and consider this to be my second home. I have stayed in the Tower wing as well as the Banyan Ocean view. The buffet breakfast in the dining room is great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Halekulani hotel has a lovely restaurant on the patio.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RMT Scotland
Business
Scotland
Jul 9, 2012

family holiday

All hotel staff are excellent. Wonderfull majestic building-oldest hotel on Waikiki. Great breakfast- best to choose complete breakfast option with lots of choice. Hotel pool is only negative which is too small as beach is not good to swim in with constant waves and some coral rock underfoot in places. Hotel charges 50 dollars for 4 chairs plus umbrella just in front of the free pool area on the strip of beach in front of hotel. There is not enough free pool loungers and so you often have to pay to sit on a beach chair. pool area is free. I liked resort charge for free innet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Monica957
Business
San Diego, CA
Jul 9, 2012

All Aloha

We arrived to paradise!!! When we arrived our room was not ready, but right away the front desk attendant was proactive and offered us to have our bags stored and gave us a free beverage. We immediately went to the "beach bar" and ordered some aloha juice. The room was always very clean and had a hint of floral aroma. We rented an umbrella on the beach and this was awesome. The pool attendants were helpful and very friendly, especially Mo. All in all, this was a great experience and allowed us to enjoy Hawaii better than ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Suntory Japanese

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
newlywed and happy
Business
pennsylvannia
Jul 4, 2012

Awesome!

Our room was upgraded from the one that we booked. We absolutely loved this hotel. It was the prettiest one on Waikiki. It would be great for international guests as well. The lobby was beautiful and smelled fantastic. Pick this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Duke's resturant next door is cheap and yummy!

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Engineering Artist
Business
Bellevue, WA
Jul 2, 2012

Pros and cons

Pros: Great location, great beach, great verandas/beach house. Food was very good in the restaurant but a little pricey. We had the buffet breakfast at $30 ea because omelettes alone were already $21! Beach was great considering that beach hotels west of us don't even have a beach! (washed away or something). Wonderful hotel, save for 3 items (cons): First, buying a package deal offers little to no options on room location. Luckily, we spent very little time in our room but our view was pretty bad. Second, it was difficult to get in and out of the room because the door barely clears the bed. Third, the shower leaked all over the bathroom floor because the glass wall or door was not properly caulked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Ask about the view in your room when you book, if possible, because package deals generally put you in rooms with no view.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel Eat Shop
Business
Vancouver. BC
Jun 30, 2012

Terrific holiday

Fifth time in Waikiki but first time at The Moana Surfrider. It was fantastic, love the history and the location on Kalakaua. Beach is shallow but rocky however almost worth the toe stubbing are the turtles coming up for air almost right beside you, feeding on the rocks below. Fantastic. Friendly and helpful staff though out the hotel. Would definitely choose Moana Surfrider again. As there are always the pool chair hoggers that just throw their towel down at 7am to "reserve" the chair, the pool staff actually check and enforce the unattended one hour rule! I love it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Marukame on Kuhio across from International Village. Always a line but so worth the short wait. It is the absolute freshest and best udon ever. So convenient and such good vaule!

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Clara, California
Jun 30, 2012

Could be great

I have spent a whole week at this hotel. I stayed in a room that was advertised as partial ocean view. I know what that means and I did not have any illusions. But this was a stretch even for me. The room was on the 18-th floor on the street facing end of the tower. Very noisy, there is a loading dock below, there was some construction on the roof of the next hotel and the street performers down below added to the commotion. Other than that the hotel is great. The staff is very helpful and friendly. When I arrived, I was dropped off in front of the hotel. As soon as I took 3 steps crossed the side walk and stepped on hotel property I had 3 people there to greet and assist me. One of them asked if I needed my luggage to be sent to my room,( I only had 1 small luggage) the other one greated me with a traditional hawaiian necklace, the third one... well he was just there. I was 3 hours before my checkin time, but my room was ready. I really enjoyed having breakfast in the morning on the veranda and looking out to the ocean. The hotel is right on the beach. This is very convenient and definetely a great aspect of the stay at this hotel. After breakfast I would walk to 24hr fitness, just 2 blocks away, for a quick morning workout. After that back to the hotel and hit the beach. The hotel offers beach umbrella rentals with up to 4 chairs. I took advantage of this since the lounge chairs filled up early. The beach towels that came with the umbrellas were soft, clean and looked practically new unlike the overwashed beach towels at some of the other hotels. With the umbrella rentals you also get drink and food service from the beach bar right on the beach. The surf and paddle board rentals just steps away. The prices are very reasonable. The pool looked small, but it did not really matter since I never had to use it. The ocean, steps away, was warm and clear great for many activities. Conveniently there were 1 hr sail boat tours available right from the beach. They would take you out to the edge of the reef and bring you back right to the sandy beach. The hotel is equally convenient if you want to get off the beach. The ABC store is just across the street. There are restaurants up and down the street. At night, after a day on the beach, I would walk to different restaurants for dinner. They also offer dinner at the hotel on the veranda. I ate dinner there once, but I found that the prices weren't worth the food. The ambience is great, but I had breakfast there every morning so I did not feel the need to have dinner there. If you want to do some shopping there are many high end retail stores within walking distance. For a more scaled back shopping you can hop on the Pink Trolley which will take you to the mall for $2. I have been to a number of comparable hotels on Waikiki. The list includes: Hilton Hawaiian Village, Sheraton, Outrigger On The Beach. Out of all, I like the Surfrider the most. Although my room was noisy that is something I can change next time. The rest was great. I think, I will definetely come back to the Surfrider, but I will get the room that is facing the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Uber picky traveler
Business
New York, NY
Jun 26, 2012

Excellent for all!

Excellent service, location, food! And right on the beach! My mother loved sitting on the over-sized porch in the rocking chairs. It is a very tranquil hotel. Breakfast buffet is amazing! Plenty of space to lay by the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top