$340 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 17, 2014 Check-out: Sep 18, 2014

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

4 stars
2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
265 reviews
Perfect honeymoon

It was the best experience for a honeymoon. We really enjoyed our stay. See full review

  • Proud mom and wife
  • Sep 9, 2014
Great location

Centrally located, historical site and our room was upgraded. See full review

  • Peewee
  • Jul 7, 2014
'The First Lady of Waikiki' was constructed at the turn of the 20th century, and the Moana Surfrider lives up to her elegant name as a Waikiki beachfront property. Upon arrival, you'll be treated to a signature Westin elixir, a fragrant flower lei, and a refreshingly chilled towel. Catch a great night's sleep on your Westin Heavenly Bed, and soak up traditional Hawaiian healing techniques and treatments inside Waikiki's only beachfront spa. High-end toiletries, superior linens, and comfortable bathrobes adorn the accommodations, while the refurbished lobby features hardwood floors, along with new fixtures and fittings.
Key facts
  • Guestrooms inside three wings: Diamond Wing, Banyan Wing and Tower Wing
  • Moana Lani Spa
  • Bars and restaurants: Beachhouse at the Moana, Bin1901, Veranda at the Beachhouse, Beach Bar
  • Wedding venue facilities
  • Meeting spaces and conference area
  • Banyan Courtyard
Neighborhood
The central Waikiki location of the Moana Surfrider Westin Resort and Spa affords visitors easy access to a range of beach-related activities. Snorkeling adventures, surf lessons, and outrigger canoe rides can be experienced within steps of the resort. After riding the waves, enjoy six floors of retail therapy and eateries at the Waikiki Shopping Plaza down the street.
Hints and tips
The Banyan Courtyard is a popular place to relax under the trees while sipping umbrella drinks and enjoying live music, along with occasional hula dancing.

Book a room in the Tower Wing for balcony views.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.2765 -157.8265
Area served
Honolulu Oahu Hawaii. Waikiki Beach
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL 10 Miles
Area description
Waikiki Beach, International Market-225ft, Pearl Harbor-10mi, Honolulu Zoo-0.3mi, Kapiolani Park-0.4mi, Ala Moana Shopping Center-2mi,Aloha Tower-4mi, Aloha Stadium-10mi, Hanama Bay-12mi, North Shore 35mi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa Rooms

Ocean View Room
Enjoy sweeping views of the Pacific Ocean from your spacious guest room. The contemporary Hawaiian decor is complemented by two double or king size Heavenly Beds, a 32 inch flat screen TV, a comfortable chair, a writing desk (with high-speed internet access available at an extra charge) and chair, and a hardwood dresser. The bathrooms feature Westin's Heavenly BathEamenities. Additional features include a coffee maker, cable TV, and a refrigerator.
City View Room
Enjoy sweeping views of Honolulu from your spacious and newly renovated guest room. The contemporary decor is complemented by a king size Heavenly Beds, Flat Screen 32 inch TV, a comfortable chair, a writing desk (with HSIA - surcharge) and chair, a hardwood dresser, and modern tile-floored baths with heavenly bath with granite counters - all accented in a Hawaiian motif. (264 square feet). Additional features include coffee maker, cable, and refrigerator.
Banyan Classic Ocean Club
All guests booking this category will have access to the Beach Club.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.6 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.2 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.2 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.4 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.3 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.7 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.1 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.6 mi

Dining

The Veranda
Offering an oceanfront and guest-centric breakfast, Banyan Veranda also offers a traditional yet savvy during our Afternoon Tea in homage to a long established tradition here at the Moana. Breakfast will be available Monday-Friday from 6 - 11 am Afternoon Tea will be available Monday - Friday 12:00 - 3:00 pm
The Beach Bar
Located just steps away from the beautiful sands of Waikiki Beach, the oceanfront Beach Bar is an ideal setting for enjoying the Waikiki scenery while sipping on your favorite tropical beverage, or nibbling on delicious grilled pupus (appetizers).

Open from 10:30 a.m. to 12:00 a.m.; hot grilled appetizers and other selections available from 10:30 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.
beachhouse at the Moana
beachhouse is Moana's premier dinner concept a contemporary Island-style steakhouse. Guests will be treated to exceptional cuisine in an oceanfront surrounding that replenishes the spirit. Life, like food, usually needs a little spice. The menu at beachhouse delivers culinary delights for every palette. The top of the food chain starts here! Dinner service 5:30-10pm

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Ballroom provides the flexibility to comfortably accommodate groups of up to 250. Our private beach area also allows you to have the perfect sunset Barbecue for a group of up to 75 persons.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1202

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (265)

Ratings and reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
265 out of 265
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RafaelaD
San Jose, CA, USA
May 2, 2012

Honeymoon

It was a nice experience. The hotel was on the beach and close to all the shops!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Duke's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Forever Hawaiian
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Apr 22, 2012

5th trip to Moana Surhrider

This was our 5th trip to MS. Every time my family stays there, we fell like we are truly on vacation. The location can not be any better, center of Waikiki & all the shops and restaurants are within walking distance. We have stayed Halekulani, Kahala, & Ihilani, but this hotel beats them all. Some may say the hotel is a bit old & out dated, but that's the beauty of it. With over hundred year old banyan tree in the center of the bar, it is truly amazing. Unfortunately, Waikiki beach was up for a major sand overhaul, and we could not enjoy the beach enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anne R.
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Apr 22, 2012

Beautiful, historic hotel

Beautiful, historic hotel in wonderful location. Minutes away from shopping and restaurants. We had a fantastic time! Would highly recommend the Moana's breakfast buffet -- wonderful food and great service. Hotel has many wonderful touches to make sure guests enjoy Hawaii, for example, lei making and crafts every day with local Hawaiian fellow named Nathan. Note to the Moana Surfrider: never discontinue the lei making and Hawaiian crafts with Nathan, because he absolutely made our trip -- the kids loved the leis and crafts! Nathan was also wonderful with giving us tips on things to do and see on the island (Nathan is a great ambassador for Oahu!). Would recommend taking the historic tour of the hotel, also. Would stay at the Moana Surfrider again in a heartbeat. Only critique: lack of hot tub (this is the only thing that we felt was missing).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rinker
Baytown, TX, USA
Apr 17, 2012

Westin Moana Surfrider Hotel

Great Hotel and Great location on Waikiki Beach. Tower Wing view could not be any better! Beach and DiamondHead. Across the street is the International Market Place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pearls
St Petersburg, Fl
Apr 8, 2012

Beautiful Hotel

Hotel is beautiful and you are not going to find a more comfortable bed. The only advice is bring money, things at hotel is very expensive. They say private beach, but it is not, and you are charged to use lounge chairs and umbrellas on the beach($50) Location could not be better, walk to all shopping areas and lots of eating places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

All high end shops, One or two stores for cheaper gifts

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pierrot 90064
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Apr 7, 2012

Great Getaway!

Perfect location in center of Waikiki. Nice Beach and great amenities. Great Buffet Breakfast. Nice Staff. Would definitely return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jay Y.
Cerritos, CA
Apr 5, 2012

Amazing vacation for two!

It was my girlfriend's first trip to Hawai'i and I wanted it to be a special one, so I made reservations at what I thought was THE best resort on O'ahu. I had stayed at the Moana Surfrider years ago and had a blast, so I booked it there once again. This time around was simply mind-blowing!! Beautiful weather and amazing views all from our hotel room. The hotel's decor and refreshing design really does make you feel like home. There were a few times during our stay when my girlfriend and I were discussing how it didn't feel like we were staying at a hotel; it felt like we were staying at someone's home and the feeling was awesome! The rear veranda is definitely the place to sit back, relax, and enjoy a nice meal. The hotel staff -- from the valet/bellhop to the turn-down service -- were super friendly and helpful. The amenities were probably the best out of ALL the resorts in O'ahu. The rear veranda has a good size restaurant called the Beachhouse; guests of the Moana Surfrider are offered "breakfast coupons" during their stay which give them access to a free breakfast buffet (one coupon per guest). The breakfast buffet alone is well worth the stay at the Moana Surfrider -- it's pretty large (for breakfast) -- it's paradise on a plate! The Moana Lani Spa costs extra, but they have some pretty amazing spa packages along with some pretty good products. The resort also has a gym available for guest use whenever, and is accessible with a room key-card. The resort pool is also available and is located in front of the rear veranda next to the resort's BeachBar. There is also a booth next to the pool that provides beach towels to guests and can be used at the pool or on the beach itself, which is just several feet away from the rear of the hotel. Overall, this hotel has it all! Amazing service, amazing amenities, amazing view, awesome food, friendly staff -- it's TRULY paradise. If you look up resort & spa in the dictionary, the Moana Surfrider is pictured right next to the definition because the Westin Moana Surfrider truly lives up to the definition of a resort & spa.. and then some! I will definitely be back.. in fact, we're already planning our next trip out to O'ahu early next year and we are definitely staying at the Moana Surfrider again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Save money and plan on having breakfast at the Beachhouse on the rear veranda! If you're a guest at the Moana Surfrider and you have the free voucher coupons for breakfast at the Beachhouse, take advantage of it. It's an awesome breakfast with an amazing view -- no need to go out and have breakfast else where, you'd just be wasting your money and missing out on a nice breakfast with a front row ocean view.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SFOMAK
San Francisco, CA, USA
Mar 31, 2012

Wonderful Hotel

Will definitely stay at this hotel again!!!! A++++

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
joemama11
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Mar 25, 2012

overrated

nice, but not worth it. the view is better across from the beach and the hotels are cheaper there also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
solowahine
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Mar 24, 2012

it was exactly what I needed

From the time I arrived to when I left, it met all my expectations. Great breakfast on the veranda, lovely beach chairs, nice gym, beautiful spa and great service. A little noisy because you are ON THE OCEAN so hear crashing waves.....heaven

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search