$350 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 22, 2014 Check-out: Jul 23, 2014

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

4 stars
2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
400 reviews
Great location

Centrally located, historical site and our room was upgraded. See full review

  • Peewee
  • Jul 7, 2014
A great way to enjoy Honolulu

Even though we toured several parts of the area, we always looked forward to returning to our hotel See full review

  • Aloha Practician
  • May 25, 2014
'The First Lady of Waikiki' was constructed at the turn of the 20th century, and the Moana Surfrider lives up to her elegant name as a Waikiki beachfront property. Upon arrival, you'll be treated to a signature Westin elixir, a fragrant flower lei, and a refreshingly chilled towel. Catch a great night's sleep on your Westin Heavenly Bed, and soak up traditional Hawaiian healing techniques and treatments inside Waikiki's only beachfront spa. High-end toiletries, superior linens, and comfortable bathrobes adorn the accommodations, while the refurbished lobby features hardwood floors, along with new fixtures and fittings.
Key facts
  • Guestrooms inside three wings: Diamond Wing, Banyan Wing and Tower Wing
  • Moana Lani Spa
  • Bars and restaurants: Beachhouse at the Moana, Bin1901, Veranda at the Beachhouse, Beach Bar
  • Wedding venue facilities
  • Meeting spaces and conference area
  • Banyan Courtyard
Neighborhood
The central Waikiki location of the Moana Surfrider Westin Resort and Spa affords visitors easy access to a range of beach-related activities. Snorkeling adventures, surf lessons, and outrigger canoe rides can be experienced within steps of the resort. After riding the waves, enjoy six floors of retail therapy and eateries at the Waikiki Shopping Plaza down the street.
Hints and tips
The Banyan Courtyard is a popular place to relax under the trees while sipping umbrella drinks and enjoying live music, along with occasional hula dancing.

Book a room in the Tower Wing for balcony views.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa Rooms

Ocean View Room
Enjoy sweeping views of the Pacific Ocean from your spacious guest room. The contemporary Hawaiian decor is complemented by two double or king size Heavenly Beds, a 32 inch flat screen TV, a comfortable chair, a writing desk (with high-speed internet access available at an extra charge) and chair, and a hardwood dresser. The bathrooms feature Westin's Heavenly BathEamenities. Additional features include a coffee maker, cable TV, and a refrigerator.
City View Room
Enjoy sweeping views of Honolulu from your spacious and newly renovated guest room. The contemporary decor is complemented by a king size Heavenly Beds, Flat Screen 32 inch TV, a comfortable chair, a writing desk (with HSIA - surcharge) and chair, a hardwood dresser, and modern tile-floored baths with heavenly bath with granite counters - all accented in a Hawaiian motif. (264 square feet). Additional features include coffee maker, cable, and refrigerator.
Banyan Classic Ocean Club
All guests booking this category will have access to the Beach Club.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2765 -157.8265
Area served
Honolulu Oahu Hawaii. Waikiki Beach
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL 10 Miles
Area description
Waikiki Beach, International Market-225ft, Pearl Harbor-10mi, Honolulu Zoo-0.3mi, Kapiolani Park-0.4mi, Ala Moana Shopping Center-2mi,Aloha Tower-4mi, Aloha Stadium-10mi, Hanama Bay-12mi, North Shore 35mi

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.6 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.2 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.2 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.4 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.3 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.7 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.1 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Ballroom provides the flexibility to comfortably accommodate groups of up to 250. Our private beach area also allows you to have the perfect sunset Barbecue for a group of up to 75 persons.

Dining

The Veranda
Offering an oceanfront and guest-centric breakfast, Banyan Veranda also offers a traditional yet savvy during our Afternoon Tea in homage to a long established tradition here at the Moana. Breakfast will be available Monday-Friday from 6 - 11 am Afternoon Tea will be available Monday - Friday 12:00 - 3:00 pm
The Beach Bar
Located just steps away from the beautiful sands of Waikiki Beach, the oceanfront Beach Bar is an ideal setting for enjoying the Waikiki scenery while sipping on your favorite tropical beverage, or nibbling on delicious grilled pupus (appetizers).

Open from 10:30 a.m. to 12:00 a.m.; hot grilled appetizers and other selections available from 10:30 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.
beachhouse at the Moana
beachhouse is Moana's premier dinner concept a contemporary Island-style steakhouse. Guests will be treated to exceptional cuisine in an oceanfront surrounding that replenishes the spirit. Life, like food, usually needs a little spice. The menu at beachhouse delivers culinary delights for every palette. The top of the food chain starts here! Dinner service 5:30-10pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1202

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (400)

Ratings and reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
400 out of 400
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Three daughters and a mom
Surrey
Oct 15, 2012

Bad first night

We arrived to our hotel to be told that we would have one double bed per room even though we were guaranteed to have one king or TWO double beds. It was an extrememly small room. We were told the reason we had that room was that the hotel was over booked. I think that no hotel should be overbooked. Once a room type has been sold out that should be it. After many phoned calls to the front desk and then to the manager, we were upgraded and compensated for that first night, Therefore we ended up having a great experience but if we had of stayed the first night only, our experience would have been one star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rperd
Phoenix, Arizona
Sep 22, 2012

Amazing location & beds omg

The Moana is in the perfect shopping location & steps away from the beach. It was amazing. Staff was cool a couple girls were rude. Other then that great beds, pillows and location!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tomo
New York
Sep 19, 2012

Stay in Moana Surfrider

I stayed at Moana Surfrider for honeymoon for 6 nights. We stayed in a room with an ocean view. The view from the room was awesome!! Moana is a good place especially for couples.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Single in Paradise
Houston, Texas
Sep 17, 2012

Best Place to Be !!!!!

The staff are freindly, the hotel is clean, the food and beverages are great! Great place to exscape from life and unwind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The Tours are great!!! It's very relaxing to let someone else drive. The Tour Guides are the best source of history.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fun Couple Travelers
Los Angeles
Aug 27, 2012

Family Getaway

Loved this hotel. The location was ideally located ON the beach, though there were soooo many people on the private beach. I guess that's what's expected of Waikiki though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CBS1
Huntington Beach, CA
Aug 22, 2012

Great trip

We stayed for 6 nights in the Tower deluxe room. View was great even from the 3rd floor. Beds were comfortable. Location of hotel is perfect as long as you want to be in the middle of a very busy street and beach (which we did on this trip to Hawaii). Tons of shopping and great restaurants within walking distance. Restaurants at the hotel were very good! You can rent a surf or paddle board right at the hotel on the beach. Pool was tiny and nothing special but we were in the ocean most of the time anyway. We would certainly stay in this hotel again but upgrade to a suite!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

For a great dinner, eat right at the hotel. Awesome food!

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ws0478
Phoenix, az
Aug 19, 2012

Great location amazing views

We staid 4 days at this hotel...it was amazing. The hotel is bright and airy. The staff is very friendly and helpful. For 50 bucks you can rent a umbrella and two chairs for the day in a little roped off area. The only two downsides are the rooms were a little small ( in the original part of the hotel) and the hall on our floor had a odd odor. But overall a fantastic hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Audrey Leighton
San Francisco, California
Aug 7, 2012

beach chairs

They don't have enough beach chairs. The policy of renting is awful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pompano joe
abington, pa
Jul 25, 2012

family vacation

fabulous experience in every way except maid service could have been better when cleaning the room each day

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Morochita
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Jul 10, 2012

The first Lady of Waikiki

From the time you arrive at the front entrance you are greeted by the truly friendly staff of the Moana. This hotel is Colonial style architecture situated on Waikiki beach. I have stayed here many times over the years and consider this to be my second home. I have stayed in the Tower wing as well as the Banyan Ocean view. The buffet breakfast in the dining room is great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Halekulani hotel has a lovely restaurant on the patio.

Back to menu Return to top