Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
263 out of 263
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beach Mama Rob
Business
Hermosa Beach, CA
Mar 7, 2014

A Perfect Mother/Daughter Get-Away

Sixth year heading to the Moana Surfrider for my daughter and I to spend special time together. We ALWAYS have the best time. Beautiful hotel, amazing location, and the staff remembers us each year with lovely "welcomes". Our room had two rocking chairs overlooking the beautiful beach and ocean....such tranquility. I can't wait until next year!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hang Loose 2
Business
Seattle
Mar 1, 2014

High expectations - did not disappoint!

Always wanted to stay here since a vacation to HI on the Lurline! Yes, the Matson ship we traveled on when I was 12 yrs old. Beautiful building and setting. Absolutely first class, from the greeting with fresh leis as we dropped off our luggage to the Alohas and Mahalos as we we were leaving. Room was not ready at 3pm so the front desk manager took us to the beach bar and authorized what ever we wanted to drink while we enjoyed the view. 15 minutes later he came to tell us it was ready. Room was one of the less expensive, in the older part of hotel (which I remembered and liked) and very nice. The "resort fee" actually comes with value, especially if you have a rental car to park (included). The location is the heart of Waikiki. This was the first hotel, built 100 years ago. Stay here if it works with your budget. You will have fond memories!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lulu's restaurant for breakfast or lunch. We did not eat dinner there. It is on the second floor with open air, covered dining. Order a single breakfast to share plus a side of extra meat, fruit, or toast. It's plenty for two. Same with the lunch at the Cheesecake factory 'next door' to the Moana.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stacey Song YZ
Business
CT
Feb 9, 2014

location is perfect

best location for visitors, room is fine but not perfect. additional charge $31.41 everyday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Suzze q
Business
Folsom, Pennsylvania
Feb 8, 2014

Beautiful hotel

This is a beautiful property inside and out. The front faces the street with a great view point for watching street performers. The back faces the ocean's spectacular views. The staff was more than pleasant at every encounter. The use of the hospitality room allowed for and an early arrival. The Hawaiian woman working the activities desk was informative and extremely helpful as well as congenial. Wish there had been a ceiling fan in the room, even though it was cool enough. Be prepared to pay for beach chairs and if you want something like tea in your room, you will need to ask daily. Overall a great place and we were very happy to have stayed here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Sea Side Grill is basic but clean. The food was graciously portioned and very good. More reasonably priced than most in the area. Don't bother with the popular place, "Eggs N Things", not worth the wait , food not so good.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
California2013
Business
California
Jan 24, 2014

Perfect location

Location doesn't get better.. The spa is also great. Definitely worth the splurge

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Miabs
Business
Oregon
Dec 28, 2013

Beautiful!

This is exactly the type of hotel and experience that we love. True character in the building and the staff. While the location was a bit overwhelming, the hotel was a beautiful oasis. The hotel was the best part of our time in Honolulu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Talk with the staff...anything and everything, they will handle it for you.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BFSLDS
Business
Rochester, N.Y.
Dec 26, 2013

Moana

Except for tiny bathroom (leaky shower), we had a great time. Kudos to the concierge!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Roy's restaurant is worth the walk.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bus Driver Guy
Business
Surrey, BC, Canada
Dec 9, 2013

Another return visit

This was my fourth trip back to Hawaii and a repeat stay at the Moana Surfrider. On every trip, as well as this last visit, I've always found that the entire staff; from the bell/valet, front desk and housekeeping personnel to the restaurant/bar folks all go out of their way to make you feel cormfortable and welcome. It was a great feeling to see so many friendly faces all working to make you feel completely at home. That is the feeling I get everytime I stay at this hotel on my visits to Hawaii. I shall return again to experience more of their great hospitality! Don

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You can take advantage of dining at any of the Starwood group of hotels within walking distance and have the ability to charge all of your meals to your room at the Moana Surfrider.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Abermudez
Business
Houston, TX
Dec 2, 2013

Awesome Hotel!

Cannot say enough how awesome this hotel was. The staff was super friendly and any questions that we had were answered right away. The room was cleaned everyday. The hotel was situated right Waikiki Beach, so FYI there is a lot of people walking along the hotel. The front of the hotel faces the strip where are the high-end stores are located. Even the locals would tell us how they would like to stay there one day. Its a bit pricey but I think is well worth it. Also, our flight didn't leave until 7pm but they let us store our bags and gave us a courtesy room to shower and change well after check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PKER
Business
Austin, TX
Nov 14, 2013

Loved it

Beautiful property, very convenient location, good food and great rooms. Loved the festive atmosphere and friendly staff. Right on waikiki beach. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Duke's is right next door. Great food at a reasonable price, although the service could be better. The area is supberb for all kinds of shopping.

Back to menu Return to top