$315 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 7, 2015

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
306 out of 306
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gail49
Business
Kalamazoo Mi
Mar 21, 2014

Moans Surfrider

The hotel was lovely. Rooms were very clean and the beds and linen were luxurious. The beach was amazing and the hotel was right in the middle of everything. There was a $30 per day "resort fee" that was tacked on per day that was not a value for me. All in all very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lozzy P
Business
Sydney
Mar 15, 2014

The best hotel in Waikiki

We've just come back from 6 nights in Waikiki. I've stayed at a few hotels there now (this was my 6th visit) and you really can't go past this hotel. I looked everywhere before we left to get a good deal on a room at the Moana, knowing that it is the best hotel in the best location on the beach, and couldn't find anything below $600 per room per night for a partial ocean view, until I jumped on to this website and got a room for half this price. Wonderful! We were then upgraded to a full ocean view room in the Diamond Wing on the 5th floor which was sensational. The room looked newly refurbished and reminded me of a beach house with rocking chairs looking out onto the balcony which has full views of the beach up to diamond head. The room was clean and the beds and pillows are Heavenly.. literally! They pride themselves on their comfort and they are second only to your bed at home. This trip confirmed that the Moana is by far the best spot to stay in Waikiki. Worth noting I have stayed at the Outrigger on the beach (with Duke's), The Grand Hyatt and the Waikiki Parc before and the Moana trumps them all, easily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

When dining in the hotel for breakfast, when the buffet option is included, remember that you can ask the waiter to have the kitchen make you an omelette fresh - at no extra charge.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ns1183
Business
California
Mar 10, 2014

beautiful hotel

Beautiful hotel on the best location in all of Waikiki. It may seem pricey, but having stayed at most of the other beach front hotels in Waikiki, when comparing them to the Moana, the slight increase is more than worth it. The rooms are comfortable, the staff is kind , attentive and helpful. The old Hawaii feel embraces you from the minute you walk in. The location is the best in all of Waikiki. I go to Waikiki a lot, and hope I never have to stay anywhere else again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Sorabol Korean BBQ. 5 minute cab ride, open 24 hours. Full bar. Great food, great prices.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rich and Alison
Business
San Francisco
Mar 9, 2014

Room choice is key

We had two different rooms while we were there. Try to get the tower and not the main hotel rooms. The tower is nicely upgraded. The rooms are bigger and even the TVs work better. If you are not traveling with children this is the spot! All the hotels in the area are the same except this one. It has charm and character. The service was exceptional. The hotel in the gym was good and served it purpose. I highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beach Mama Rob
Business
Hermosa Beach, CA
Mar 7, 2014

A Perfect Mother/Daughter Get-Away

Sixth year heading to the Moana Surfrider for my daughter and I to spend special time together. We ALWAYS have the best time. Beautiful hotel, amazing location, and the staff remembers us each year with lovely "welcomes". Our room had two rocking chairs overlooking the beautiful beach and ocean....such tranquility. I can't wait until next year!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hang Loose 2
Business
Seattle
Mar 1, 2014

High expectations - did not disappoint!

Always wanted to stay here since a vacation to HI on the Lurline! Yes, the Matson ship we traveled on when I was 12 yrs old. Beautiful building and setting. Absolutely first class, from the greeting with fresh leis as we dropped off our luggage to the Alohas and Mahalos as we we were leaving. Room was not ready at 3pm so the front desk manager took us to the beach bar and authorized what ever we wanted to drink while we enjoyed the view. 15 minutes later he came to tell us it was ready. Room was one of the less expensive, in the older part of hotel (which I remembered and liked) and very nice. The "resort fee" actually comes with value, especially if you have a rental car to park (included). The location is the heart of Waikiki. This was the first hotel, built 100 years ago. Stay here if it works with your budget. You will have fond memories!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lulu's restaurant for breakfast or lunch. We did not eat dinner there. It is on the second floor with open air, covered dining. Order a single breakfast to share plus a side of extra meat, fruit, or toast. It's plenty for two. Same with the lunch at the Cheesecake factory 'next door' to the Moana.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stacey Song YZ
Business
CT
Feb 9, 2014

location is perfect

best location for visitors, room is fine but not perfect. additional charge $31.41 everyday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Suzze q
Business
Folsom, Pennsylvania
Feb 8, 2014

Beautiful hotel

This is a beautiful property inside and out. The front faces the street with a great view point for watching street performers. The back faces the ocean's spectacular views. The staff was more than pleasant at every encounter. The use of the hospitality room allowed for and an early arrival. The Hawaiian woman working the activities desk was informative and extremely helpful as well as congenial. Wish there had been a ceiling fan in the room, even though it was cool enough. Be prepared to pay for beach chairs and if you want something like tea in your room, you will need to ask daily. Overall a great place and we were very happy to have stayed here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Sea Side Grill is basic but clean. The food was graciously portioned and very good. More reasonably priced than most in the area. Don't bother with the popular place, "Eggs N Things", not worth the wait , food not so good.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
California2013
Business
California
Jan 24, 2014

Perfect location

Location doesn't get better.. The spa is also great. Definitely worth the splurge

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Miabs
Business
Oregon
Dec 28, 2013

Beautiful!

This is exactly the type of hotel and experience that we love. True character in the building and the staff. While the location was a bit overwhelming, the hotel was a beautiful oasis. The hotel was the best part of our time in Honolulu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Talk with the staff...anything and everything, they will handle it for you.

Back to menu Return to top