Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

4 stars
2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
400 reviews
Great location

Centrally located, historical site and our room was upgraded. See full review

  • Peewee
  • Jul 7, 2014
A great way to enjoy Honolulu

Even though we toured several parts of the area, we always looked forward to returning to our hotel See full review

  • Aloha Practician
  • May 25, 2014
'The First Lady of Waikiki' was constructed at the turn of the 20th century, and the Moana Surfrider lives up to her elegant name as a Waikiki beachfront property. Upon arrival, you'll be treated to a signature Westin elixir, a fragrant flower lei, and a refreshingly chilled towel. Catch a great night's sleep on your Westin Heavenly Bed, and soak up traditional Hawaiian healing techniques and treatments inside Waikiki's only beachfront spa. High-end toiletries, superior linens, and comfortable bathrobes adorn the accommodations, while the refurbished lobby features hardwood floors, along with new fixtures and fittings.
Key facts
  • Guestrooms inside three wings: Diamond Wing, Banyan Wing and Tower Wing
  • Moana Lani Spa
  • Bars and restaurants: Beachhouse at the Moana, Bin1901, Veranda at the Beachhouse, Beach Bar
  • Wedding venue facilities
  • Meeting spaces and conference area
  • Banyan Courtyard
Neighborhood
The central Waikiki location of the Moana Surfrider Westin Resort and Spa affords visitors easy access to a range of beach-related activities. Snorkeling adventures, surf lessons, and outrigger canoe rides can be experienced within steps of the resort. After riding the waves, enjoy six floors of retail therapy and eateries at the Waikiki Shopping Plaza down the street.
Hints and tips
The Banyan Courtyard is a popular place to relax under the trees while sipping umbrella drinks and enjoying live music, along with occasional hula dancing.

Book a room in the Tower Wing for balcony views.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa Rooms

Ocean View Room
Enjoy sweeping views of the Pacific Ocean from your spacious guest room. The contemporary Hawaiian decor is complemented by two double or king size Heavenly Beds, a 32 inch flat screen TV, a comfortable chair, a writing desk (with high-speed internet access available at an extra charge) and chair, and a hardwood dresser. The bathrooms feature Westin's Heavenly BathEamenities. Additional features include a coffee maker, cable TV, and a refrigerator.
City View Room
Enjoy sweeping views of Honolulu from your spacious and newly renovated guest room. The contemporary decor is complemented by a king size Heavenly Beds, Flat Screen 32 inch TV, a comfortable chair, a writing desk (with HSIA - surcharge) and chair, a hardwood dresser, and modern tile-floored baths with heavenly bath with granite counters - all accented in a Hawaiian motif. (264 square feet). Additional features include coffee maker, cable, and refrigerator.
Banyan Classic Ocean Club
All guests booking this category will have access to the Beach Club.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

21.2765 -157.8265
Area served
Honolulu Oahu Hawaii. Waikiki Beach
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL 10 Miles
Area description
Waikiki Beach, International Market-225ft, Pearl Harbor-10mi, Honolulu Zoo-0.3mi, Kapiolani Park-0.4mi, Ala Moana Shopping Center-2mi,Aloha Tower-4mi, Aloha Stadium-10mi, Hanama Bay-12mi, North Shore 35mi

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.6 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.2 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.2 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.4 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.3 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.7 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.1 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.6 mi

Dining

The Veranda
Offering an oceanfront and guest-centric breakfast, Banyan Veranda also offers a traditional yet savvy during our Afternoon Tea in homage to a long established tradition here at the Moana. Breakfast will be available Monday-Friday from 6 - 11 am Afternoon Tea will be available Monday - Friday 12:00 - 3:00 pm
The Beach Bar
Located just steps away from the beautiful sands of Waikiki Beach, the oceanfront Beach Bar is an ideal setting for enjoying the Waikiki scenery while sipping on your favorite tropical beverage, or nibbling on delicious grilled pupus (appetizers).

Open from 10:30 a.m. to 12:00 a.m.; hot grilled appetizers and other selections available from 10:30 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.
beachhouse at the Moana
beachhouse is Moana's premier dinner concept a contemporary Island-style steakhouse. Guests will be treated to exceptional cuisine in an oceanfront surrounding that replenishes the spirit. Life, like food, usually needs a little spice. The menu at beachhouse delivers culinary delights for every palette. The top of the food chain starts here! Dinner service 5:30-10pm

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Ballroom provides the flexibility to comfortably accommodate groups of up to 250. Our private beach area also allows you to have the perfect sunset Barbecue for a group of up to 75 persons.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1202

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (400)

Ratings and reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
400 out of 400
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Annie15
Keauhou, HI 96739
Oct 16, 2013

WAIKIKI GRANDE DAME

This historic hotel is my Honolulu favorite! Unlike the concrete high-rises that flank it on either side, it feels like the real, true Hawai'i, as does its high level of hospitality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The chocolate-dipped tropical fruits in the candy store in the Sheraton Waikiki mall (left side after entrance) make perfect presents for family and friends.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ns1183
California
Oct 15, 2013

Great Hotel - Perfectly located

Always a pleasant stay. The staff is great. They are over the top nice. The hotel is beautiful. It is perfectly located at the end of Waikiki. Easier to get in and out of than any of the other beach front hotels. Short walk away from everything in Waikiki. The only downside is the room rate, but for the level of comfort and luxury, it is equal to the other hotels in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid eating at the hotel, any of the hotels really. Go to any of the local food places instead. Right across the street they have regular farmer's markets in the evening with great local food at low prices.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
astridjazz
San Francisco
Sep 11, 2013

Do not stay in this place!!

I booked a vacation package for me and my 12yo son.. Our flight from SF got delayed for 8hrs then eventually got cancelled and ended up sleeping at SF airport for the night. I called the hotel that flight got cancelled to let them know about our delayed arrival. Oh boy, when you experience cancelled flights the last thing you want is another hassle. The hotel put us in a tiny square room and only a king bed, although my reservation with says double beds. They would not give me a 2 bed room. The $30(not incl. tax) a night resort charge is ridiculous and for nothing really. The staff are bunch or robots who can't comprehend and always back and forth the closed door for the 'manager'. They lack the simplest common sense. I picked up groceries and asked my son to go up to the room to drop off so I can stay in the car because of terrible 45 minute wait for valet, the key didnt work so I gave him the 2nd key, the 2nd key didnt work so I asked him to get new keys in the front desk. They treated my 12 year old son like a crminal.. They will not give him a key although his name was in the registration.I was on the phone with the front desk person and told me to send my son back and he'd give him the key, to be rejected again the second time..Bunch of uneducated, no common sense staff.. they made my 12yo son feel like he didnt belong there. And their excuse: He could be a crminal or a thhief even if he's 12yo, what about the other guy on the phone?? The simplest grocery dropoff turned out to be a disaster emotional blowup, I've never seen my son cry like that from humiliation. To make the matters worse, they would charge me for the one night that I missed for the cancelled flight and would not extend an extra night to get the 4 night room that I originally booked. I had to spend a nearly whole day on the phone with Orbtz and hotel to take care of it. Hotel would not cooperate and I had to get an Orbtz manager to work things out and it took 6 hours to get the Hotel manager to not charge me the lost. The small square room stinks, it's so tiny that my shin bone hits all the possible corners and furniture as we got ready. There was always this constant toilet smell leaking in the bedroom, kinda gross for a 4 star resort. ugh. There's nothing fancy about this place but the front of the building and history. My tip: stay somewhere else and visit for a drink or dinner, dont let yourself experience the stench of their rooms and their management.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
San Diego Eran
San Diego, California
Sep 10, 2013

great location for waikiki

Beautiful historic building in an ideal location in waikiki. Very romantic setting, and perfect for a couple get away (the hotel, not waikiki).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TTN2013
Newport coast California
Sep 3, 2013

Fantastic short vacation

Hotel is at good location, very open air concept with touch of old time French colony. Highly recommend and definitely come back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
stano57
port townsend wash
Sep 3, 2013

freinds wedding

Had a great time, hotel took you back to the early days of great hotels. Great staff and location, will come back again maybe try to get a tower room with waterview

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great breakfast at a cheap price, on sunset blvd.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Danny Allen
Sydney, Australia
Aug 21, 2013

Dissapointing Spa Experience

After hiking throughout Kauai, my wife and I decided to recover and spoil ourselves by spending the day at the Moana Lani Spa (at the Waikiki Westin Moana Surfrider). What a mistake. Here’s why… 1. Despite $1000 in treatments, we were treated like second class citizens. We were flying out to LAX later that night so we weren’t guests of the hotel, though we had booked $1000 of spa treatments. But could I jump on Wi-Fi to check my work email while my wife did some quick shopping ahead of our appointment? No, sorry sir, that’s only for Moana Surfrider guests. Fair enough...I guess, so how much is it to pay extra for the privilege? No sir, that’s only for guests, despite your $10000 spend -- but you’re welcome to login to your sensitive work email using our freely available public computer over there, next to the kid about to spill his Fanta. 2. The above is a pretty absurd situation, and when we calmly (literally smiling dumbfounded; laughing) pointed this out to Sakura on the Moana Surfrider front desk, I really didn’t feel like the simple query was escalated in any real fashion. I ended walking 2 blocks to a Starbucks. And I had to ask for directions on the street. That’s some top-quality Westin customer service right there. I don’t know if it was because she had a cold (or allergies), but Sakura just felt off script. I do actually believe she genuinely cared, she seemed quite nice, but it felt like she had no script to work from in this situation and was lost. I don’t fault Sakura at all; it’s management. 3. Fun fact: Your SPG Starwood Preferred Guest number is almost useless. Outside of a nominal discount, you don’t accrue points on spa treatments. Allow me to point that out for you, because they won’t. 4. Would you like fries with that? At the very start of each treatment – before you’ve even disrobed – the treatment staff is apparently forced to try to upsell you to further treatments. Parafan wax hand creams, etc. I don’t know about you, but being nickel and dimed before the treatment has begun, when I’m already booked in for $1000 between my wife and I – is the opposite of relaxation. It sets an awkward tone. 5. I purposely chose the “Ikaika Sports” massage for its “range of motion stretches and deep tissue techniques”. However, there wasn’t much stretching at all. It was pretty much a deep tissue massage with some Thai elements thrown in. In fact, I’ve had more stretching in a Thai massage – which was a let-down. That said, Hakura is still a great masseuse and it still felt great. First world problems, right? 6. All the above aside, the spa staff is wonderful. My wife enjoyed Maria’s pedicure, Gilda’s massage and Denise’s facial. And Jessica was great talking me through my very first facial. We were pleasantly surprised to have booked in on 24-hours’ notice, and though I was a few minutes late for my appointment, it wasn’t subtracted from my time. Thank you for that. That said, I’d have been on time if I wasn’t forced to make my way back from Starbucks two blocks away. 7. Which, ultimately, is reflective of our entire Moana Lani Spa experience: The spa staff is great. The management of guest services at this particular hotel… not so much. I don’t normally write reviews, but as an SPG member, I’m still irked by the unpleasantness and felt compelled to share the experience to other travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
YUPpy Young Urban Profess
Marina Del Rey, California
Aug 3, 2013

Nice hotel

The hotel was in a good location and was clean but the size of the room was small. Also the noise level was high due to the location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
marissa cobb
scottsdale,arizona
Jul 22, 2013

perfect location

Excellent location, just in the heart of Waikiki best area. The pianist player at the lobby is fantastic. The atmosphere f the hotel is great, it is like leaving the past with the Lexus of the present. However the pool is not well maintain and the area on the beach is almost limited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trsh
seattle,wa
Jun 23, 2013

Overall, great place

This was a great experience. The only negative aspect was how my friend and I were treated once they knew we booked through a 3rd party travel agency/package deal. They saw that we were young (and assumed we had no money) and in combination with the package deal listed by our name, and gave us the smallest, hidden away room possible. But was still a nice place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Street food vendors come out on Thursday in the international market. Inexpensive, home made food!

Back to menu Return to top