$270 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 9, 2015 Check-out: Jan 10, 2015

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

4 stars
2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
271 reviews
Moana Hawaii getaway

This is a hotel we always dreamed of staying at and be able to sit in the rocking chairs on the... See full review

  • MBZ rocking chair
  • Nov 23, 2014
Honolulu at it's best

The Sheraton I want to Surfrider is the nicest hotel you could stay in! It's centered right in the... See full review

  • Kjmakai
  • Oct 7, 2014
'The First Lady of Waikiki' was constructed at the turn of the 20th century, and the Moana Surfrider lives up to her elegant name as a Waikiki beachfront property. Upon arrival, you'll be treated to a signature Westin elixir, a fragrant flower lei, and a refreshingly chilled towel. Catch a great night's sleep on your Westin Heavenly Bed, and soak up traditional Hawaiian healing techniques and treatments inside Waikiki's only beachfront spa. High-end toiletries, superior linens, and comfortable bathrobes adorn the accommodations, while the refurbished lobby features hardwood floors, along with new fixtures and fittings.
Key facts
  • Guestrooms inside three wings: Diamond Wing, Banyan Wing and Tower Wing
  • Moana Lani Spa
  • Bars and restaurants: Beachhouse at the Moana, Bin1901, Veranda at the Beachhouse, Beach Bar
  • Wedding venue facilities
  • Meeting spaces and conference area
  • Banyan Courtyard
Neighborhood
The central Waikiki location of the Moana Surfrider Westin Resort and Spa affords visitors easy access to a range of beach-related activities. Snorkeling adventures, surf lessons, and outrigger canoe rides can be experienced within steps of the resort. After riding the waves, enjoy six floors of retail therapy and eateries at the Waikiki Shopping Plaza down the street.
Hints and tips
The Banyan Courtyard is a popular place to relax under the trees while sipping umbrella drinks and enjoying live music, along with occasional hula dancing.

Book a room in the Tower Wing for balcony views.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa Rooms

Ocean View Room
Enjoy sweeping views of the Pacific Ocean from your spacious guest room. The contemporary Hawaiian decor is complemented by two double or king size Heavenly Beds, a 32 inch flat screen TV, a comfortable chair, a writing desk (with high-speed internet access available at an extra charge) and chair, and a hardwood dresser. The bathrooms feature Westin's Heavenly BathEamenities. Additional features include a coffee maker, cable TV, and a refrigerator.
City View Room
Enjoy sweeping views of Honolulu from your spacious and newly renovated guest room. The contemporary decor is complemented by a king size Heavenly Beds, Flat Screen 32 inch TV, a comfortable chair, a writing desk (with HSIA - surcharge) and chair, a hardwood dresser, and modern tile-floored baths with heavenly bath with granite counters - all accented in a Hawaiian motif. (264 square feet). Additional features include coffee maker, cable, and refrigerator.
Banyan Classic Ocean Club
All guests booking this category will have access to the Beach Club.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.6 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.2 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.2 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.4 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.3 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.7 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.1 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.6 mi

Dining

The Veranda
Offering an oceanfront and guest-centric breakfast, Banyan Veranda also offers a traditional yet savvy during our Afternoon Tea in homage to a long established tradition here at the Moana. Breakfast will be available Monday-Friday from 6 - 11 am Afternoon Tea will be available Monday - Friday 12:00 - 3:00 pm
The Beach Bar
Located just steps away from the beautiful sands of Waikiki Beach, the oceanfront Beach Bar is an ideal setting for enjoying the Waikiki scenery while sipping on your favorite tropical beverage, or nibbling on delicious grilled pupus (appetizers).

Open from 10:30 a.m. to 12:00 a.m.; hot grilled appetizers and other selections available from 10:30 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.
beachhouse at the Moana
beachhouse is Moana's premier dinner concept a contemporary Island-style steakhouse. Guests will be treated to exceptional cuisine in an oceanfront surrounding that replenishes the spirit. Life, like food, usually needs a little spice. The menu at beachhouse delivers culinary delights for every palette. The top of the food chain starts here! Dinner service 5:30-10pm

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Ballroom provides the flexibility to comfortably accommodate groups of up to 250. Our private beach area also allows you to have the perfect sunset Barbecue for a group of up to 75 persons.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1202

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (271)

Ratings and reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
271 out of 271
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Fe
Mar 30, 2010

great place

great place restaurant was pricey but very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston
Mar 15, 2010

Simply the Best on the Beach

The hotel is first class Westin-class. The stately historical manor-type accommodations, bedding, scenery, and cleanliness was as you would expect at the Westin properites that I have frequented. The only downside besides a minor door hinge issue in the 100 year old hotel was that the pool was a square, predictable design with little bar service and a hedge that blocked the view of Waikiki beach. I recommend that people rent the beach unbrellas and chairs on the sand to get the full experience. The bar under the Banyon Tree by the water and the live music are superb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't rent a car. Valet is expensive at $33/day. Driving is frustrating - traffic is nuts. If you want to get away, grap a cheap tour. Nightlife is an easy walk for a weeks' worth if you want to leave the hotel. The bus and taxi's are easy and cheap as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
aptos,ca
Jan 27, 2010

Great location

Location was everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Aliso Viejo, Ca.
Nov 20, 2009

Well worth the money

Hotel has lots of character, great location, and fast friendly service. The hotel is a century old but very well maintained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gaya
Business
Mission Viejo, CA
Nov 2, 2009

Great place if choose rooms carefully

The room I booked through [...] (Waikiki city view, double occupancy or king) was tiny. I couldn't even walk into it; in addition to that there was no balcony. I felt dissapointed. We were told at the front desk that we need to pay extra if we want a bigger room. So, we agreed to pay more and negotiated the price, so that the hotel and I shared the responsibility for the additional charge. When I got back, I checked on-line and saw that the room we were given originally was just 264 sq. ft, so be careful with your selection and make sure you get a room in the Tower which were constructed later in the day. Overall it's a beautiful hotel and my mom and I enjoyed our stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great bakery called Saint Germaine not far from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Skyze
Business
Memphis, TN
Sep 30, 2009

Very Impressive -but it will cost you

The Moana Surfrider is an impressive and beautiful hotel (resort). The staff was freindly, helpful and very attentive even though they were very busy. The pool is very small but the beach is what is important and it was beautiful. The bad thing was not the cost of the room but having to pay for every little thing like parking ($25 per day), umbrella on the beach ($20 for 1/2 day), internet ($14+ each day), use of the safe in your room, even the continental breakfast which was VERY expensive ($22). Don't expect any perks for staying there, but it is one of the nicest places I've ever stayed while traveling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure to go to the North Shore Beaches. Rent a car and spend a day on Sunset beach or any of the beautiful beaches on the North Shore. Big Waves, incredibly beautiful and only about an hour away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cjarleston, SC
Sep 20, 2009

Great location, very impressive hotel

This is a gorgeous hotel, great location, great courtyard in the back with a pool, beach chairs, live music every night, bar, open air restaurant, and the ocean is 20 feet from the courtyard. There is a huge very old tree in the courtyard. look like you are in a jungle. very nice. Make sure you get a balcony room. We got a room in the old building it was very tiny and the view out the window was ok, we were on the 2nd floor so we could barely see the courtyard. Good thing we were just sleeping there. I would do it again but I would get a room with a balcony, they have much better views. I did not like that I had to pay for internet. 14 bucks a day, also the valet parking is $25 per day. No microwave in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
waikikiwahine
Business
jardines lookout, hong kong
Sep 16, 2009

great hotel!!!

we stayed for 2 nights and it was a heavenly experience. we loved the verandah where you can gaze out to the waikiki beach. i wish it wasn't so expensive, usd 220 per night, otherwise we would have stayed here for our entire 3 week holiday!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
demanding traveller
Business
Toronto, Canada
Sep 16, 2009

Wonderful experience!

It was a special occaision for us and we loved every minute - we stayed for 4 nights and wish it could have been longer. Location is amazing, hotel is top-nothc - we are very picky and like the finer things in live and the hotel was great. We have no compalints, pool is small but why be at a pool when you have the beautifu ocean. Veranda and porch areas are just as everyone one says - relaxing and great for people watching while enjoying a drink.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Sep 12, 2009

Service average at best

For a top rate hotel, the service score comes in at average. I witnessed two customer complaints to the front desk and the employee response was hostile each time. No desire by employees to be helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top