$274 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 30, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
303 out of 303
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, Colorado
May 23, 2010

Best hotel on Waikiki

When we first arrived at the Moana we were absolutely taken away by the beauty of the entrance. It was built in 1901 and it has been recently updated but you can still feel how classic the hotel was. We could walk out to the beach from the pool which was wonderful and we were a street down from the international marketplace to do some shopping. The location was perfect. The beach bar that they have there was great, the drinks were obviously a little pricy but the atmosphere was amazing. They had a band and a hula girl every night starting form 6-8. I would absolutley recommend this hotel to any of my friends and if we went back to Oahu, this is where we would stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

You can take the bus for $2.25 basically anywhere. We took it to Hanama Bay to go snorkeling and you can also take it to Diamond Head. MUCH MUCH cheaper than taking a taxi.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
May 23, 2010

Worth the price?

Probably great for fun/vacation. It's right on the beach in the heart of Waikiki. HORRIBLE for business travel. You have to park at the Sheraton around the corner, which does not have an elevator. Very incovenient for hauling work stuff to and from. $25/day for self park $33/day for valet.I upgraded to an oceanview room. There was more of a view of other people's hotel rooms. I was tucked away in a corner. Maybe because I booked my travel on [...] and got a killer rate, I don't know. There was no insulation on my window, so I could hear a lot of noise coming from the Beach Bar, people talking and the band playing. I left the TV on at night to drowned out the noise.It was very small from what I am accustomed to. Plus there was no tub, just a shower. TV was mounted on a side wall in relation to the bed and did not swival out, so it seemed far away and at a bad angle. The mini fridge fan was making a VERY loud noise that kept me up the first night or so. I finally unplugged it until maintenance came and took care of it.I guess it was worth what I paid on [...] if I was vacationing. It's in the heart of Waikiki. I stay there, because it's safe and the hotels are the nicest in that area. However, if you are traveling for business I suggest you stay some place else. I'm still looking for my ideal location at the right price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
T K
Business
Honolulu
May 23, 2010

Hawaii Vacation 2010

Everything was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pasadena,ca
May 21, 2010

Thought we died and went to Heaven!

Great location! Short walking distance to everywhere. Sunset on the patio with live music and ocean views! Hawaii at it's best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

RumFire great happy hour, ocean views!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aloha from Lisa
Business
Longmeadow Massachusetts
May 20, 2010

Gorgeous hotel in beautiful area

On this trip to Hawaii, we stayed at the Moana Surf Rider. This has to be about one of the best hotels that I have ever syated at and is located in the absolute best area of Waikiki. As soon as you arrive, the valet took our luggage out of the car and delivered them to the room. Check in took under five minutes and the staff was extremely nice. The room was a little small but the bed was so comfortable. We are thinking about buying the matterss (the hotel sells them) for our house. The valet service was helpful but a little expensive. However, parking is at a premium in Waikiki. I loved the Honolulu Coffee company that is located in the front of the hotel. It is a small cafe, but perfect. The shopping was incredible. The international market which was right across the street was perfect for bringing home souveniers. There was also many upscale stores that I almost felt as if I were on Rodeo Drive in Beverly Hills. I would recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you get up early, before it gets too hot, I would suggest walking the bike path to Diamond Head. It is completely safe and great exercise. I would also like to suggest taking a ride to see other parts of O'ahu. My absolute favorite beach is Kailua Beach park. The North Shore is amazing, especially if you go in the winter. The waves really are huge! Waikiki Beach is beautiful, safe and a great time. If you are there long enough and have a car, I would suggest going to the Arizona Memorial and spending a day at Waimea Falls Park. The waterfall is incredible. I would also recommend seeing the Polynesian Cultural center. The maze at Dole plantation is great, especially for kids.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kaymarsha
Business
Tennessee
May 17, 2010

Heaven in Hawaii

Everything was perfect, I would definitely stay here again. It was in a great location and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The spa was a perfect addition to the vacation as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Hawaii-goer
Business
Washington
May 17, 2010

Most beautiful hotel on the strip

The hotel is absolutely GORGEOUS. I would definitely make reservations here again. The beach bar and proximity to local hot spots was fantastic! Duke's was just next door, catamarans were available just out front, and the only time it rained we hung out in the beach bar under the Banyan tree...completely out of the weather while still outside. I was surprised that this particular Westin's beds were not so "heavenly"... Even so, we didn't spend much time in the room. The staff was hospitable, welcoming, and extremely accomodating. Overall, it was a wonderful experience :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are looking for good, local food at a reasonabe price you have to check out Lulu's! Located in the Park Shore Waikiki across from the Honolulu Zoo at the end of the strip, it was our fav spot to grab a bite to eat. The stuffed french toast with pineapple marmalade, bananas and macadamia nuts was delicious; the pulled pork quesadilla was one of the best I've had; the nachos were heaping; and every piece of fish was perfectly prepared.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
thickest_hawaii
Business
Huntington Beach, CA
May 17, 2010

Great Location, Great Service!

Like many of you I searched the internet diligently for the best value for a hotel room. I finally settled on the Moana Surfrider and I couldn't be happier. I read complaints about noise and service and found them both unfounded. Of course it is noisey, it is downtown in the busiest place in Hawaii! You don't hear people complaning about staying in New York and hearing sirens all night. Outside of that the location was PERFECT! Right across the street from some great shopping and plenty of choices for food. You really don't need a car as they have shuttles/buses going to most locations. The beach is awesome right in front with surf rentals a short distance away and a catamaran right in front of the hotel. I highly recommend taking some surf lessons as you will not find an easier place to learn how to surf with the perfect waves for beginners. There is also some snorkeling with turtles that frequent the reef. Obviously there are better spots but right in front is plenty to see. The work out facility was top notch and we took advantage of it. We saved $5/day for not doing housekeeping and used the money to go to the bar grill at night and get some nice food while listening to live Hawaiian Music. A must do is the farmers market on Thursday at the International Market place and Friday at Kings Village. Enjoy some of the freshest fruits and deserts on the planet. Also, if you are into exercise a nice run to Diamond Head is a great way to start off the day. I frequent Hawaii on a yearly basis but this was my first time back to Oahu in 10 years. I was pleasantly surprised at the accomodations and staff, both have my vote of confidence. The new tower is better than the older hotel but to be honest, if you are spending too much time in your hotel room stay home and save the money. Hawaii is to be enjoyed outside!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of food choices outside of the restaurant. Right next door at the Outrigger you will find the Hula Grill and Dukes. Both have exceptional food with live Hawaiian music, highly recommended.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
TX
May 8, 2010

"Aloha" spirit

I was back to Hawaii for the honor to receive the "Hawaii Medal of Honor" in place of my late husband. I loved that the hotel gives you the feel to be set back in time. It reflects peace and the aloha spirit. The location is awesome and made it possible for me to catch up with the island visiting all the beautiful places and walking up and down the beach. The hotel made me feel being back home, I miss the island. Mahalo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DIscerning traveler.
Business
San Francisco, CA
May 2, 2010

Nice Bones.

Beautiful architecture, and wonderful banyan tree. Noon tea and food at restaurant were excellent although expensive. Evening music was the best thing. Housekeeping was poor, we stayed there a week and they did not change sheets or clean bathroom well. Staff were not unfriendly but definitely did not go out of their way to offer service, friendliness or amenities (with exception of porters). The location is amazing, although not clear that the exorbitant price is worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Get out of waikiki for good food at reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top