$284 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 3, 2015 Check-out: Jul 4, 2015

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
306 out of 306
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bakersfield, CA
Jun 21, 2010

Honeymoon at Waikiki

The location is awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach is out back!

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Naples, Florida
Jun 20, 2010

Old style charm makes this hotel unique

We love this place. It has a style all it's own. We had a nice room with a great Ocean view in the old south wing. Tiki Bar and Veranda outdoor dining are quite good . Our only complaint was the maid service. The cleaning was incomplete. We had to request that outdoor deck on our room be cleaned at all during our 10 day stay. The staff responded very well to all requests. That aside,it was great and we would rebook here over any other hotel on Waikiki

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Veranda -Breakfast is pricy . The continental buffet is quite nice if you can forgo your eggs and bacon.For dinner try the Japanese pork shank . Best meal we had in 10 days of dining .

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oahu
Business
Georgia
Jun 18, 2010

Moana Surfrider

Kids everywhere - Hustle/Bustle - high traffic -

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
waikiki, hawaii
Jun 15, 2010

Pleasant Trip

upgraded ocean view, beautiful view morning & evening of the waves crashing against the shore

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pasadena, Ca.
Jun 15, 2010

Very historical

Check in desk very efficient and welcoming. Pool attendants are exceptional. Housekeeping not up to par every day. One day very good and another sub standard. Same housekeeping person. Requests for item being delivered from housekeeping inconsistant. Equipment in Exercise room very good and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
takoyaki
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 9, 2010

Waikiki's most elegant property

Moana Surfrider offers its guests a beautiful beachfront property. The main lobby of this famous historic hotel is elegant and classy -- you will NOT find sandy, barefoot surfers traipsing through this lobby. The open air design allows for plenty of outdoor seating in the front and back of the open lobby. There's an outdoor bar with plenty of seating next to the pool. And the beach is just a few more paces beyond the pool. There are rooms in the main building and also in the Tower Wing. I liked staying in the main building because it's just more historic somehow. On the downside, the room didn't have a patio or balcony. My room was also facing Kalakaua Ave where many street artists show up in the evenings. Unfortunately there was a drum set across the street on 3 out of 5 nights which was really quite loud. Next time I will fork out the money for an ocean view room so I don't hear the Waikiki bustle at night. This was my first visit, and all in all I have to say that it's now among my favorite Waikiki hotels with Royal Hawaiian and Sheraton Waikiki.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Jun 5, 2010

Waikiki Vacation

We were very please with our accomodations. We had stayed there in 2001. We were disappointed that there was no bbq in the Banyon court like it was in 2001. We still enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We had a great time at the Sealife Park.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philly
Jun 4, 2010

Perfection in Paradise

The historic hotel is centrally located in Wakiki. Nice access to beach, shops and excursions. The hotel helped with tours and has everything for all all types of stays (family, couples, friends) and budgets. Updated fitness center and pool is located just off beach but has privacy. Clean and comfortable rooms. The hotel had several weddings there and would consider it when I get married. It has its own indoor chapel, large patio/lanai for reception of outdoor ceremony and the hotel is perfect to takes pictures. As a photographer, it is ideal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The location of the hotel has many attractions within walking distance or a short city bus ride. Take the time to walk around and find out what is around first before booking tours.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arizona
Jun 2, 2010

Moana Surfrider

Enjoyed the easy access to beach and pool as well as the street. Rooms were large and very clean. Partial ocean rooms have view as described. Front desk staff is friendly, however, disorganized, and did not make any attempt to tell us anything about the property. We did not get the promised lei greeting upon check in. And they refused late check out. There is no bell hop service for luggage transport unless you come by car through valet. Pool staff was always available. This is a bustling, high energy hotel in the center of everything. We personally enjoy, but someone looking for a quiet Hawaii, "Maui-like" experience, this would not be ideal. I would stay again due to location and easy accessibility to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Jun 1, 2010

Amazing place

Definitively, this hotel is the best one to enjoy and stay in the Waikiki Beach. Moana Surfrider is placed in the same beach, so you don't need cross any street or leave the hotel. You can drink your cocktails or eat something in the beach bar listening live-music while you are seeing the sea with a special atmosphere. Also you have a cafeteria in the street side if you prefer don't walk anything. The room is really comfortable with LCD TV and everything is in very good conditions with beautiful views.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping, dinning, music, beach, surfing, everything

Back to menu Return to top