$325 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2014 Check-out: Aug 24, 2014

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

4 stars
2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
400 reviews
Great location

Centrally located, historical site and our room was upgraded. See full review

  • Peewee
  • Jul 7, 2014
A great way to enjoy Honolulu

Even though we toured several parts of the area, we always looked forward to returning to our hotel See full review

  • Aloha Practician
  • May 25, 2014
'The First Lady of Waikiki' was constructed at the turn of the 20th century, and the Moana Surfrider lives up to her elegant name as a Waikiki beachfront property. Upon arrival, you'll be treated to a signature Westin elixir, a fragrant flower lei, and a refreshingly chilled towel. Catch a great night's sleep on your Westin Heavenly Bed, and soak up traditional Hawaiian healing techniques and treatments inside Waikiki's only beachfront spa. High-end toiletries, superior linens, and comfortable bathrobes adorn the accommodations, while the refurbished lobby features hardwood floors, along with new fixtures and fittings.
Key facts
  • Guestrooms inside three wings: Diamond Wing, Banyan Wing and Tower Wing
  • Moana Lani Spa
  • Bars and restaurants: Beachhouse at the Moana, Bin1901, Veranda at the Beachhouse, Beach Bar
  • Wedding venue facilities
  • Meeting spaces and conference area
  • Banyan Courtyard
Neighborhood
The central Waikiki location of the Moana Surfrider Westin Resort and Spa affords visitors easy access to a range of beach-related activities. Snorkeling adventures, surf lessons, and outrigger canoe rides can be experienced within steps of the resort. After riding the waves, enjoy six floors of retail therapy and eateries at the Waikiki Shopping Plaza down the street.
Hints and tips
The Banyan Courtyard is a popular place to relax under the trees while sipping umbrella drinks and enjoying live music, along with occasional hula dancing.

Book a room in the Tower Wing for balcony views.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa Rooms

Ocean View Room
Enjoy sweeping views of the Pacific Ocean from your spacious guest room. The contemporary Hawaiian decor is complemented by two double or king size Heavenly Beds, a 32 inch flat screen TV, a comfortable chair, a writing desk (with high-speed internet access available at an extra charge) and chair, and a hardwood dresser. The bathrooms feature Westin's Heavenly BathEamenities. Additional features include a coffee maker, cable TV, and a refrigerator.
City View Room
Enjoy sweeping views of Honolulu from your spacious and newly renovated guest room. The contemporary decor is complemented by a king size Heavenly Beds, Flat Screen 32 inch TV, a comfortable chair, a writing desk (with HSIA - surcharge) and chair, a hardwood dresser, and modern tile-floored baths with heavenly bath with granite counters - all accented in a Hawaiian motif. (264 square feet). Additional features include coffee maker, cable, and refrigerator.
Banyan Classic Ocean Club
All guests booking this category will have access to the Beach Club.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2765 -157.8265
Area served
Honolulu Oahu Hawaii. Waikiki Beach
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL 10 Miles
Area description
Waikiki Beach, International Market-225ft, Pearl Harbor-10mi, Honolulu Zoo-0.3mi, Kapiolani Park-0.4mi, Ala Moana Shopping Center-2mi,Aloha Tower-4mi, Aloha Stadium-10mi, Hanama Bay-12mi, North Shore 35mi

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.6 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.2 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.2 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.4 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.3 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.7 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.1 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Ballroom provides the flexibility to comfortably accommodate groups of up to 250. Our private beach area also allows you to have the perfect sunset Barbecue for a group of up to 75 persons.

Dining

The Veranda
Offering an oceanfront and guest-centric breakfast, Banyan Veranda also offers a traditional yet savvy during our Afternoon Tea in homage to a long established tradition here at the Moana. Breakfast will be available Monday-Friday from 6 - 11 am Afternoon Tea will be available Monday - Friday 12:00 - 3:00 pm
The Beach Bar
Located just steps away from the beautiful sands of Waikiki Beach, the oceanfront Beach Bar is an ideal setting for enjoying the Waikiki scenery while sipping on your favorite tropical beverage, or nibbling on delicious grilled pupus (appetizers).

Open from 10:30 a.m. to 12:00 a.m.; hot grilled appetizers and other selections available from 10:30 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.
beachhouse at the Moana
beachhouse is Moana's premier dinner concept a contemporary Island-style steakhouse. Guests will be treated to exceptional cuisine in an oceanfront surrounding that replenishes the spirit. Life, like food, usually needs a little spice. The menu at beachhouse delivers culinary delights for every palette. The top of the food chain starts here! Dinner service 5:30-10pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1202

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (400)

Ratings and reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
400 out of 400
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
colorado
Dec 12, 2010

Moana Surfrider

Hotel was great. It was very nice and the staff were very helpful. Location to the beach is great and the food is awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joyce the Organizer
Houston, TX
Dec 10, 2010

A Grand Hotel

A wonderful restoration of a beautiful historic hotel! The hotel is beautiful and the rocking chairs on the front porch were a treat for my sister and me and our 80 something father and step mother. The beauty cannot be surpassed and the location was perfect for shopping and walking to nearby attractions. The veranda in the back looks out over the ocean and the fabulous Banyan tree. We had the breakfast buffet every day and it just got better and better. We walked to the Royal Hawaiian for the Monday night luau, the international market across the street, the outrigger ride on the beach, and the lei making class in the Royal Hawaiian Center. The hotel staff was pleasant and friendly. Transportation to attractions was arranged through the hotel and was always reliable and friendly. We had a wonderful view of the beach and diamond head from our room and we went to sleep every night with the soothing sound of the surf. I would definitely go back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The breakfast buffet cannot be beat!

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
first class transient
Los Angeles, Ca
Dec 10, 2010

only hotel with real character

Beautiful hotel with actual charm in the best location on Oahu. A great place for your home base in Hawaii, everything that you could ever need is at your fingertips. Helpful, courteous staff and a super clean hotel. Not just another concrete building, this place has so much charm. Perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If your a first time visitor to Hawaii, do a helicopter tour as soon as you can. Not only is it a wonderful experience but it allows you early on to get your bearings of the island and all it has to offer

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
first class transient
Los Angeles, Ca
Dec 10, 2010

only hotel with real character

Beautiful hotel with actual charm in the best location on Oahu. A great place for your home base in Hawaii, everything that you could ever need is at your fingertips. Helpful, courteous staff and a super clean hotel. Not just another concrete building, this place has so much charm. Perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If your a first time visitor to Hawaii, do a helicopter tour as soon as you can. Not only is it a wonderful experience but it allows you early on to get your bearings of the island and all it has to offer

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Vacaville, Ca
Nov 23, 2010

Anniversary Trip

The location, which was right on the beach. It was awesome! The room was really small, had to call housekeeping at 4:00 PM to make our beds. Cleanliness was not its high point even though it is a well polished hotel. Stayed at the hotel 6 years ago and had a better experience (Peter M Lively was the name the hotel was booked under). Had problems with the toilet overflowing. Not the type of service that I expected in a hotel of this reputation. The Sunday Buffet has changed since last being in the hotel, the quality was not as good and the options were not as grand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Using [...] to set up our activities while on the island was key. We planned it so that we were never bored.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Vacaville, Ca
Nov 23, 2010

Anniversary Trip

The location, which was right on the beach. It was awesome! The room was really small, had to call housekeeping at 4:00 PM to make our beds. Cleanliness was not its high point even though it is a well polished hotel. Stayed at the hotel 6 years ago and had a better experience (Peter M Lively was the name the hotel was booked under). Had problems with the toilet overflowing. Not the type of service that I expected in a hotel of this reputation. The Sunday Buffet has changed since last being in the hotel, the quality was not as good and the options were not as grand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Using [...] to set up our activities while on the island was key. We planned it so that we were never bored.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Misfit1014
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 31, 2010

Best Honeymoon I could imagine

When we arrived at the Moana Surfrider, we could not have been more impressed with the buildings exterior and interior design. My wife wanted to stay there because it is the first hotel of Honolulu, built in 1901. While we were there, we went to the beach, of course, and had some drinks at their very nice bar. Be prepared to spend ten dollars for each drink though. The bartender was very nice and the drinks were top-notch. One draw back is having to pay an additional "resort fee" of twenty dollars to park a car in the garage which also includes internet in your room. We went on the Lost tour as well as the Ghosts of Oahu tour, both of which I highly recommend. The room we had overlooked the beach and a great view of Diamond Head. One thing I didn't like was that I told them beforehand this was our honeymoon trip. The person at the front desk said "ok" but never did anything for us. Most hotels will give you a little something, but here no such luck. Be prepared for a great hotel and good people, but remember to bring a lot of money for food and parking which is steep. We both loved the Moana Surfrider and would recommend it to anyone who wants to enjoy Hawaii in a highly touristy setting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eggs and Things, you have to try their breakfast. Short walk from the Moana Surfrider.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Melbourne
Oct 31, 2010

great location, but just okay

The location was fantastic and we had a great room, (although somewhat small). The cleaning staff, reception staff and concierge were all helpful and friendly, however the waiting and bar staff left a lot to be desired. Unfriendly, slow and often downright surly. It was a shame that the expectation is to leave 18-20% gratuities,as it more often that not, was not deserved. The hotel itself, uses every available opportunity to squeeze every cent out of the unkowing clientele. Daily rate for the internet was inordinately expensive. The price of hiring an umbrella for the beach was beyond ridiculous! That is if you could even rent the space. The pool was very small and they closed it at 6pm! The queue for breakfast every morning was worse than lining up for AFL Grand Final tickets. Although this is the best looking hotel in Honolulu, looks can be deceiving. Overall a disappointing experience from this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Most tourist attractions are a very short walk away.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Melbourne
Oct 31, 2010

great location, but just okay

The location was fantastic and we had a great room, (although somewhat small). The cleaning staff, reception staff and concierge were all helpful and friendly, however the waiting and bar staff left a lot to be desired. Unfriendly, slow and often downright surly. It was a shame that the expectation is to leave 18-20% gratuities,as it more often that not, was not deserved. The hotel itself, uses every available opportunity to squeeze every cent out of the unkowing clientele. Daily rate for the internet was inordinately expensive. The price of hiring an umbrella for the beach was beyond ridiculous! That is if you could even rent the space. The pool was very small and they closed it at 6pm! The queue for breakfast every morning was worse than lining up for AFL Grand Final tickets. Although this is the best looking hotel in Honolulu, looks can be deceiving. Overall a disappointing experience from this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Most tourist attractions are a very short walk away.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Misfit1014
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 31, 2010

Best Honeymoon I could imagine

When we arrived at the Moana Surfrider, we could not have been more impressed with the buildings exterior and interior design. My wife wanted to stay there because it is the first hotel of Honolulu, built in 1901. While we were there, we went to the beach, of course, and had some drinks at their very nice bar. Be prepared to spend ten dollars for each drink though. The bartender was very nice and the drinks were top-notch. One draw back is having to pay an additional "resort fee" of twenty dollars to park a car in the garage which also includes internet in your room. We went on the Lost tour as well as the Ghosts of Oahu tour, both of which I highly recommend. The room we had overlooked the beach and a great view of Diamond Head. One thing I didn't like was that I told them beforehand this was our honeymoon trip. The person at the front desk said "ok" but never did anything for us. Most hotels will give you a little something, but here no such luck. Be prepared for a great hotel and good people, but remember to bring a lot of money for food and parking which is steep. We both loved the Moana Surfrider and would recommend it to anyone who wants to enjoy Hawaii in a highly touristy setting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eggs and Things, you have to try their breakfast. Short walk from the Moana Surfrider.

Back to menu Return to top