$284 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
262 out of 262
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
hawaii
Jun 28, 2010

Nice looking hotel in a good location

Everything was good except unfriendly staff at check in and a couple times when service was asked, very noisy, "partial ocean view" means bend over the railing to see a part of the ocean (or look at the tower right in front of you), expensive wi-fi (which I think should be free for a hotel of that price and that luxurious) and the room we had in the tower was only "ok" . Outrigger on the beach had much nicest room. Aloha , olivier...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

"Du vin" retaurant has amazing food and wine for super great prices.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
iowa
Jun 25, 2010

Fancy and Expensive

The hotel was okay, the rooms were small, but clean. The patio was filthy though. Be careful and make sure you look at your final bill from the hotel, we encountered extra charges from other people. Lucky for us we kept our receipts and it got corrected, but the hotel does not do a good job ensuring you are the correct person for the room you are charging items too.It is extremely expensive to eat and drink there, so we just walked to Denny's (a block away). For one the price of one person eating at the hotel we got two complete meals at Dennys!The one thing we did like about the hotel is that it had the beach right there with free towels to use, but if you wanted chairs you had to pay, we just laid out in the sand. We enjoyed Hawaii, but [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dont eat at the hotel, you can walk one block up and eat at Dennys for breakfast. There are tons of fast food restaurants around too as well as local dinning areas.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs. Aloha
Business
Ohio
Jun 23, 2010

Week in paradise

We spent the week relaxing on the beaches of Oahu--a different beach every day: two days on the North Shore, two days on Waikiki, and beaches on the East and West sides of the island. It was perfect. We couldn't have asked for a better trip. We thought staying in Waikiki would be expensive, but it turned out to be very affordable. We didn't want to leave!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Snorkel at Shark's Cove on the North Shore. It's free and really amazing. Stop and see the turtles on the way! Eat breakfast at the Hula Grill above Duke's. It's delicious and fairly priced.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jrule
Business
CT
Jun 22, 2010

Just OK

We stayed here for our daughter's wedding, which was held at the hotel. The old part of the hotel is clean, but the rooms are small; no bathtub, not much closet or drawer space. It's about the size of a New York hotel. Also, it's close to the street, so you hear all of the incessant traffic, street performers, neighboring hotel bands, etc. Food is overpriced; breakfast was NOT included (many hotels on Waikiki include breakfast in their packages). It was not a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like to shop, Waikiki is the place for you. It is not the restful beach scene you might imagine.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bakersfield, CA
Jun 21, 2010

Honeymoon at Waikiki

The location is awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach is out back!

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Naples, Florida
Jun 20, 2010

Old style charm makes this hotel unique

We love this place. It has a style all it's own. We had a nice room with a great Ocean view in the old south wing. Tiki Bar and Veranda outdoor dining are quite good . Our only complaint was the maid service. The cleaning was incomplete. We had to request that outdoor deck on our room be cleaned at all during our 10 day stay. The staff responded very well to all requests. That aside,it was great and we would rebook here over any other hotel on Waikiki

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Veranda -Breakfast is pricy . The continental buffet is quite nice if you can forgo your eggs and bacon.For dinner try the Japanese pork shank . Best meal we had in 10 days of dining .

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oahu
Business
Georgia
Jun 18, 2010

Moana Surfrider

Kids everywhere - Hustle/Bustle - high traffic -

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
waikiki, hawaii
Jun 15, 2010

Pleasant Trip

upgraded ocean view, beautiful view morning & evening of the waves crashing against the shore

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pasadena, Ca.
Jun 15, 2010

Very historical

Check in desk very efficient and welcoming. Pool attendants are exceptional. Housekeeping not up to par every day. One day very good and another sub standard. Same housekeeping person. Requests for item being delivered from housekeeping inconsistant. Equipment in Exercise room very good and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
takoyaki
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 9, 2010

Waikiki's most elegant property

Moana Surfrider offers its guests a beautiful beachfront property. The main lobby of this famous historic hotel is elegant and classy -- you will NOT find sandy, barefoot surfers traipsing through this lobby. The open air design allows for plenty of outdoor seating in the front and back of the open lobby. There's an outdoor bar with plenty of seating next to the pool. And the beach is just a few more paces beyond the pool. There are rooms in the main building and also in the Tower Wing. I liked staying in the main building because it's just more historic somehow. On the downside, the room didn't have a patio or balcony. My room was also facing Kalakaua Ave where many street artists show up in the evenings. Unfortunately there was a drum set across the street on 3 out of 5 nights which was really quite loud. Next time I will fork out the money for an ocean view room so I don't hear the Waikiki bustle at night. This was my first visit, and all in all I have to say that it's now among my favorite Waikiki hotels with Royal Hawaiian and Sheraton Waikiki.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top