$325 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 26, 2014 Check-out: Sep 27, 2014

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

4 stars
2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
265 reviews
Amazing time with SO and friends

Celebrated anniversary/birthday there. Great experience. See full review

  • toolizzit2quit
  • Sep 16, 2014
possibly best value for money in Waikiki

Love this hotel. Would absolutely return. They got all the small details to make a vacation... See full review

  • gizmorules04
  • Sep 15, 2014
'The First Lady of Waikiki' was constructed at the turn of the 20th century, and the Moana Surfrider lives up to her elegant name as a Waikiki beachfront property. Upon arrival, you'll be treated to a signature Westin elixir, a fragrant flower lei, and a refreshingly chilled towel. Catch a great night's sleep on your Westin Heavenly Bed, and soak up traditional Hawaiian healing techniques and treatments inside Waikiki's only beachfront spa. High-end toiletries, superior linens, and comfortable bathrobes adorn the accommodations, while the refurbished lobby features hardwood floors, along with new fixtures and fittings.
Key facts
  • Guestrooms inside three wings: Diamond Wing, Banyan Wing and Tower Wing
  • Moana Lani Spa
  • Bars and restaurants: Beachhouse at the Moana, Bin1901, Veranda at the Beachhouse, Beach Bar
  • Wedding venue facilities
  • Meeting spaces and conference area
  • Banyan Courtyard
Neighborhood
The central Waikiki location of the Moana Surfrider Westin Resort and Spa affords visitors easy access to a range of beach-related activities. Snorkeling adventures, surf lessons, and outrigger canoe rides can be experienced within steps of the resort. After riding the waves, enjoy six floors of retail therapy and eateries at the Waikiki Shopping Plaza down the street.
Hints and tips
The Banyan Courtyard is a popular place to relax under the trees while sipping umbrella drinks and enjoying live music, along with occasional hula dancing.

Book a room in the Tower Wing for balcony views.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.2765 -157.8265
Area served
Honolulu Oahu Hawaii. Waikiki Beach
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL 10 Miles
Area description
Waikiki Beach, International Market-225ft, Pearl Harbor-10mi, Honolulu Zoo-0.3mi, Kapiolani Park-0.4mi, Ala Moana Shopping Center-2mi,Aloha Tower-4mi, Aloha Stadium-10mi, Hanama Bay-12mi, North Shore 35mi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa Rooms

Ocean View Room
Enjoy sweeping views of the Pacific Ocean from your spacious guest room. The contemporary Hawaiian decor is complemented by two double or king size Heavenly Beds, a 32 inch flat screen TV, a comfortable chair, a writing desk (with high-speed internet access available at an extra charge) and chair, and a hardwood dresser. The bathrooms feature Westin's Heavenly BathEamenities. Additional features include a coffee maker, cable TV, and a refrigerator.
City View Room
Enjoy sweeping views of Honolulu from your spacious and newly renovated guest room. The contemporary decor is complemented by a king size Heavenly Beds, Flat Screen 32 inch TV, a comfortable chair, a writing desk (with HSIA - surcharge) and chair, a hardwood dresser, and modern tile-floored baths with heavenly bath with granite counters - all accented in a Hawaiian motif. (264 square feet). Additional features include coffee maker, cable, and refrigerator.
Banyan Classic Ocean Club
All guests booking this category will have access to the Beach Club.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.6 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.2 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.2 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.4 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.3 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.7 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.1 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.6 mi

Dining

The Veranda
Offering an oceanfront and guest-centric breakfast, Banyan Veranda also offers a traditional yet savvy during our Afternoon Tea in homage to a long established tradition here at the Moana. Breakfast will be available Monday-Friday from 6 - 11 am Afternoon Tea will be available Monday - Friday 12:00 - 3:00 pm
The Beach Bar
Located just steps away from the beautiful sands of Waikiki Beach, the oceanfront Beach Bar is an ideal setting for enjoying the Waikiki scenery while sipping on your favorite tropical beverage, or nibbling on delicious grilled pupus (appetizers).

Open from 10:30 a.m. to 12:00 a.m.; hot grilled appetizers and other selections available from 10:30 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.
beachhouse at the Moana
beachhouse is Moana's premier dinner concept a contemporary Island-style steakhouse. Guests will be treated to exceptional cuisine in an oceanfront surrounding that replenishes the spirit. Life, like food, usually needs a little spice. The menu at beachhouse delivers culinary delights for every palette. The top of the food chain starts here! Dinner service 5:30-10pm

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Ballroom provides the flexibility to comfortably accommodate groups of up to 250. Our private beach area also allows you to have the perfect sunset Barbecue for a group of up to 75 persons.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1202

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (265)

Ratings and reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
265 out of 265
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wanttobe Hula Girl
Dana Point, CA
Aug 7, 2010

Amazing Hotel!

The Moana Surfrider was a wonderful place to stay except at night. If you stay there, don't take a room facing the street or you might be up late listening to the loud druming and bagpipes of street performers. In the beginning it is not too bad but night after night of the same drumming made it difficult to get to sleep. Not what we expected for paying top dollar for such a prestigious hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Envoyman
Toronto, Canada
Aug 4, 2010

Good value for this historic hotel

We had a full itinery for touring so we did not use the beach much. The drinks were pricey and nothing to rave about. Breakfast was way over priced. The ambience overall was very pleasant and restful. The staff was very accomodating. Comfortable matress and lots of pillows.We were on the streetside, so it was a bit noisey,but the street action and traffic died down before 11:00PM, not a problem unless you needed to get up at 3:00 AM for early tour pickups. Yes, I would still come back, despite sounding negative!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Better value could be had outside the hotel for dining, we particularly enjoyed the Aqua Cafe restuarant down the street and the Cheesecake factory for their Kobe Hamburger and their Luau salad.I would also recommend P. F. Changs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dayton, OH
Aug 3, 2010

Great experience at the Moana Surfrider

The hotel and staff absolutely exceeded our expectations! They were always friendly and helpful and our room was always cleaned excellently. Our room was a beautiful ocean view, [...] was very quiet and comfortable. The hotel location was fantastic. Step out the back door and you are on the beach. Obviously, you are in the heart of Waikiki, so shopping and restaurants are plentiful. (Based on other reviews, we went the first night to the International Marketplace right across the street. We found the food and merchandise there to be mediocre at best.)Prices are high at or near the hotel as you would expect. Just walk or drive not far away for reasonably priced meals (we only ate at the hotel beach house one time). We rented a car so we drove and ate at very good and reasonable restaurants not far from the hotel. We also saved on breakfast and lunch by shopping at Safeway and keeping some food in the room refrigerator and in bags (cereal, snack bars, fruit). It costs $25 (or $33/day higher for valet service) for parking at the hotel. We debated it but we wanted the flexibility to do what we wanted when we wanted, so we rented a car. Local transportation options are plentiful. It was a great family vacation. If we ever come back to Oahu, I would want to stay at the Moana Surfrider.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great local food a short drive away at Mr. Ojisan (Japanese), Ono (sp?) for Hawaiian and Diamond Head Grill (we went there for lunch) for pretty reasonable prices. Don't discount the option of saving $ by shopping at local grocery stores and eating breakfast and lunches in the room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pasadena, Ca
Jul 27, 2010

Excellent stay

I have always wanted to stay in this historic hotel in Waikiki. It was better than I expected with modern rooms, tasteful decor, and my room had a full on ocean view! The hotel is on the beach where I rented a surf board, took a surfing lesson; is a short drive to hike Diamond Head, close to all Waikiki restaurants and shops. There is also a high tea at the hotel which I enjoyed on the veranda. My niece tried to arrange for a Green Choice voucher for herself (she had her own room) but the guest service did not answer even though it was still within the hour before they closed. You have to call it in the night before. To make up for it, the hotel gave her a credit towards her hotel bill, which made her dad happy. The lobby was a nice to place to relax, rocking chairs on the front porch great for people watching and enjoying the breeze. Many couples had their wedding pictures taken in and around the hotel. The second floor has displays and information on the history of the hotel, that for me added more character to my stay. Even though it is owned by Westin, it did not have a hotel-chain like feel at all. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I have decided to try and stay here when I can as a treat to myself. It was really excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The Green Choice Program. Participate on a day by day basis on whether you want to have your linens changed. On the days you participate, you receive a voucher that can be used in the restaurant and maybe the spa. The vouchers can be accumulated and combined. I used two towards my high tea experience, so I enjoyed it at a lower cost, helped reduce my carbon footprint.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RexytheKing
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 23, 2010

Great location but some bad services

The hotel is really gorgerous and stands on the best location, middle of the Karakaua Ave. and the beach front. Our 12-mo son enjoyed the pool and the beach. Nice free breakfast for 4 days. There were a couple of negative comments: There were only two coin-operated washers and one was out of order, and we had to wait as the only one was in use. Can't believe that there was only one available for this huge hotel. Also, our room toilet was clogged (we didn't flush anything big). We asked to be fixed while we were out but when we returned, it was not fixed and they never fixed it until the checkout. We couldn't use our toilet so we had to go to the lobby to use the bathroom. Other than that, we really enjoyed the stay. The beach bar was quiet, romantic and very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Plumeria in Malibu
Malibu, Ca.
Jul 21, 2010

Banyan Paradise

The Hotel is beautiful and so is the location. - The food at the Banyan Tree Bar is not up to standard for this Hotel. The location is ideal,- right at the beach and great for drinks but not for the food. - I would recommend the Restaurant for breakfast, it is awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NC
Jul 15, 2010

Moana Surfrider, Westin Resort and Spa

Overall a wonderful experience. Many weddings held right outside the Diamond Head/Ocean view room were loud at times but the view of the ocean, surfers and Diamond Head was fantastic. No furniture on the small lanai distracted from fully enjoying the ocean. The spa was outstanding but expensive. Valet parking was high and sometimes staff stood around instead of providing keys to drivers. Free room safes, although mine stopped working the last 3 days of the trip and could not be repaired. A free desk safe was provided but this was not convenient. The breakfast bar was included and was wonderful. Views from the Veranda were great. Birds could be aggressive, however. Beds were comfortable although I requested 2 double beds and got a King instead. Coin operated laundry in the basement was convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Duke's and Hula Grill provided outstanding service and food at reasonable price. Best fish in Oahu. Great ocean view. Outrigger Waikiki.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cleveland, OH
Jul 14, 2010

Moana Surfrider review

It was right in the center of everything-shopping, restaurants and the beach. We couldn't have asked for a better hotel and location since it was our first trip to Waikiki. Addtionally, the staff was very pleasant,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We got to attend a luau and Pearl Harbour for free by attending a time share presentation. This saved us about $200.00. The 'go-getters' for the time share presenations are everywhere and they spot out couples and single females. They lure you in by asking you about the activities you'd like to do and offer them to you for free. We couldn't pass on the opportunity.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rested and Relaxed Traveller
Alameda, CA
Jul 12, 2010

Great service, great view and vacation

The hotel is located right across the street from the International Market. The International Market sells all different types of necklaces, bracelets, and things you can buy for family and friends at home. It is also located next door to Duke's Restaurant, which is very good. The valet service was very friendly and helpful, along with the cleaning staff. Our car was ready in about 10 minutes, which was very helpful. Sometimes the staff would knock on the door around 8am in the morning to clean the room, which wasn't that annoying, but did wake us up. The breakfast that came with the package was good, which included scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, fruits, hashed browns...let's just say the buffet had a lot of food! The wait time to be seated took about 5 - 15 minutes. Overall, the vacation was well worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure to pass by Mai Tai's located in the Ala Moana hotel. It is a bar/lounge, beautiful waitresses, great drinks, and a good time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Barry's
Costa Mesa Ca
Jul 10, 2010

Great Location, Beautiful view

Last year my husband and I stayed at another hotel but every night we would visit the Surfrider hotel and sit on their porch and people watch. We decided that this year we would stay there. It was everything we expected, great location and beautiful hotel. We were close to all the resteraunts and the shops. The staff are friendly, the room was clean and the beds are so comfy. We would stay there again for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search