$299 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
286 out of 286
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joyce the Organizer
Business
Houston, TX
Dec 10, 2010

A Grand Hotel

A wonderful restoration of a beautiful historic hotel! The hotel is beautiful and the rocking chairs on the front porch were a treat for my sister and me and our 80 something father and step mother. The beauty cannot be surpassed and the location was perfect for shopping and walking to nearby attractions. The veranda in the back looks out over the ocean and the fabulous Banyan tree. We had the breakfast buffet every day and it just got better and better. We walked to the Royal Hawaiian for the Monday night luau, the international market across the street, the outrigger ride on the beach, and the lei making class in the Royal Hawaiian Center. The hotel staff was pleasant and friendly. Transportation to attractions was arranged through the hotel and was always reliable and friendly. We had a wonderful view of the beach and diamond head from our room and we went to sleep every night with the soothing sound of the surf. I would definitely go back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The breakfast buffet cannot be beat!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
first class transient
Business
Los Angeles, Ca
Dec 10, 2010

only hotel with real character

Beautiful hotel with actual charm in the best location on Oahu. A great place for your home base in Hawaii, everything that you could ever need is at your fingertips. Helpful, courteous staff and a super clean hotel. Not just another concrete building, this place has so much charm. Perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If your a first time visitor to Hawaii, do a helicopter tour as soon as you can. Not only is it a wonderful experience but it allows you early on to get your bearings of the island and all it has to offer

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vacaville, Ca
Nov 23, 2010

Anniversary Trip

The location, which was right on the beach. It was awesome! The room was really small, had to call housekeeping at 4:00 PM to make our beds. Cleanliness was not its high point even though it is a well polished hotel. Stayed at the hotel 6 years ago and had a better experience (Peter M Lively was the name the hotel was booked under). Had problems with the toilet overflowing. Not the type of service that I expected in a hotel of this reputation. The Sunday Buffet has changed since last being in the hotel, the quality was not as good and the options were not as grand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Using [...] to set up our activities while on the island was key. We planned it so that we were never bored.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Melbourne
Oct 31, 2010

great location, but just okay

The location was fantastic and we had a great room, (although somewhat small). The cleaning staff, reception staff and concierge were all helpful and friendly, however the waiting and bar staff left a lot to be desired. Unfriendly, slow and often downright surly. It was a shame that the expectation is to leave 18-20% gratuities,as it more often that not, was not deserved. The hotel itself, uses every available opportunity to squeeze every cent out of the unkowing clientele. Daily rate for the internet was inordinately expensive. The price of hiring an umbrella for the beach was beyond ridiculous! That is if you could even rent the space. The pool was very small and they closed it at 6pm! The queue for breakfast every morning was worse than lining up for AFL Grand Final tickets. Although this is the best looking hotel in Honolulu, looks can be deceiving. Overall a disappointing experience from this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Most tourist attractions are a very short walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Misfit1014
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 31, 2010

Best Honeymoon I could imagine

When we arrived at the Moana Surfrider, we could not have been more impressed with the buildings exterior and interior design. My wife wanted to stay there because it is the first hotel of Honolulu, built in 1901. While we were there, we went to the beach, of course, and had some drinks at their very nice bar. Be prepared to spend ten dollars for each drink though. The bartender was very nice and the drinks were top-notch. One draw back is having to pay an additional "resort fee" of twenty dollars to park a car in the garage which also includes internet in your room. We went on the Lost tour as well as the Ghosts of Oahu tour, both of which I highly recommend. The room we had overlooked the beach and a great view of Diamond Head. One thing I didn't like was that I told them beforehand this was our honeymoon trip. The person at the front desk said "ok" but never did anything for us. Most hotels will give you a little something, but here no such luck. Be prepared for a great hotel and good people, but remember to bring a lot of money for food and parking which is steep. We both loved the Moana Surfrider and would recommend it to anyone who wants to enjoy Hawaii in a highly touristy setting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eggs and Things, you have to try their breakfast. Short walk from the Moana Surfrider.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bevelry Hills, CA
Oct 28, 2010

Very relaxing.

Calm, pleasant service. Beautiful views. Great public grounds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The street comes alive with all shapes, sizes and ages at night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bi
Oct 25, 2010

Good

Trip was good had. Fun shopped

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Barbara Grandma B
Business
Walnut Creek
Oct 24, 2010

Paradise Awaits

We attended a wedding at the hotel as well as staying there for a week. We had a lovely room looking over the pool and patio area. What a beautiful view. We watched the surfers while having our coffee on the deck. The wedding was done in the finest detail. The food was wonderful and the ambiance for the whole evening was fabulous. All the employees went out of their way with the Aloha spirit. We loved our trip and hope to return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Cheesecake Factory is always a hit and close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
On the ball Paul
Business
Palm Springs, CA
Sep 26, 2010

Great vacation

1st trip to Hawaii. Couldn't have picked a better location. Right on the beach. Nice turn of the century decor. Very relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sun motion
Business
georiga
Sep 22, 2010

Hotel has the potential to be excellent.

The outside of the hotel has an old southern charm feeling. Very unique looking structure and very pleasing to the eyes. I had paid for an ocean view room. However, when I entered my room, I noticed that I could not view the ocean, and the room was very small. Nonetheless, my wife called the front desk and asked that our room be changed to an ocean view--espcially since we had paid for an ocean view. The receptionist stated she could not offer us an upgrade until tomorrow--which I though was crazy since we had paid for an ocean view room. The next day we were moved to another room with an excellent view of diamond head and the ocean. My only compliant for my new room was that the fridge did not get cold. The room was clean daily. Overall, my experience was good. The food was good; however, it appeared to be overly priced. The location of the hotel was excellent. You are close to everything. The staff was friendly but struggled with the english language.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top