$256 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 9, 2015 Check-out: Jan 10, 2015

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

4 stars
2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
270 reviews
Moana Hawaii getaway

This is a hotel we always dreamed of staying at and be able to sit in the rocking chairs on the... See full review

  • MBZ rocking chair
  • Nov 23, 2014
Honolulu at it's best

The Sheraton I want to Surfrider is the nicest hotel you could stay in! It's centered right in the... See full review

  • Kjmakai
  • Oct 7, 2014
'The First Lady of Waikiki' was constructed at the turn of the 20th century, and the Moana Surfrider lives up to her elegant name as a Waikiki beachfront property. Upon arrival, you'll be treated to a signature Westin elixir, a fragrant flower lei, and a refreshingly chilled towel. Catch a great night's sleep on your Westin Heavenly Bed, and soak up traditional Hawaiian healing techniques and treatments inside Waikiki's only beachfront spa. High-end toiletries, superior linens, and comfortable bathrobes adorn the accommodations, while the refurbished lobby features hardwood floors, along with new fixtures and fittings.
Key facts
  • Guestrooms inside three wings: Diamond Wing, Banyan Wing and Tower Wing
  • Moana Lani Spa
  • Bars and restaurants: Beachhouse at the Moana, Bin1901, Veranda at the Beachhouse, Beach Bar
  • Wedding venue facilities
  • Meeting spaces and conference area
  • Banyan Courtyard
Neighborhood
The central Waikiki location of the Moana Surfrider Westin Resort and Spa affords visitors easy access to a range of beach-related activities. Snorkeling adventures, surf lessons, and outrigger canoe rides can be experienced within steps of the resort. After riding the waves, enjoy six floors of retail therapy and eateries at the Waikiki Shopping Plaza down the street.
Hints and tips
The Banyan Courtyard is a popular place to relax under the trees while sipping umbrella drinks and enjoying live music, along with occasional hula dancing.

Book a room in the Tower Wing for balcony views.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa Rooms

Ocean View Room
Enjoy sweeping views of the Pacific Ocean from your spacious guest room. The contemporary Hawaiian decor is complemented by two double or king size Heavenly Beds, a 32 inch flat screen TV, a comfortable chair, a writing desk (with high-speed internet access available at an extra charge) and chair, and a hardwood dresser. The bathrooms feature Westin's Heavenly BathEamenities. Additional features include a coffee maker, cable TV, and a refrigerator.
City View Room
Enjoy sweeping views of Honolulu from your spacious and newly renovated guest room. The contemporary decor is complemented by a king size Heavenly Beds, Flat Screen 32 inch TV, a comfortable chair, a writing desk (with HSIA - surcharge) and chair, a hardwood dresser, and modern tile-floored baths with heavenly bath with granite counters - all accented in a Hawaiian motif. (264 square feet). Additional features include coffee maker, cable, and refrigerator.
Banyan Classic Ocean Club
All guests booking this category will have access to the Beach Club.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.6 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.2 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.2 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.4 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.3 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.7 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.1 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.6 mi

Dining

The Veranda
Offering an oceanfront and guest-centric breakfast, Banyan Veranda also offers a traditional yet savvy during our Afternoon Tea in homage to a long established tradition here at the Moana. Breakfast will be available Monday-Friday from 6 - 11 am Afternoon Tea will be available Monday - Friday 12:00 - 3:00 pm
The Beach Bar
Located just steps away from the beautiful sands of Waikiki Beach, the oceanfront Beach Bar is an ideal setting for enjoying the Waikiki scenery while sipping on your favorite tropical beverage, or nibbling on delicious grilled pupus (appetizers).

Open from 10:30 a.m. to 12:00 a.m.; hot grilled appetizers and other selections available from 10:30 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.
beachhouse at the Moana
beachhouse is Moana's premier dinner concept a contemporary Island-style steakhouse. Guests will be treated to exceptional cuisine in an oceanfront surrounding that replenishes the spirit. Life, like food, usually needs a little spice. The menu at beachhouse delivers culinary delights for every palette. The top of the food chain starts here! Dinner service 5:30-10pm

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Ballroom provides the flexibility to comfortably accommodate groups of up to 250. Our private beach area also allows you to have the perfect sunset Barbecue for a group of up to 75 persons.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1202

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (270)

Ratings and reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
270 out of 270
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1st Anniversary!
Business
San Francisco
Aug 17, 2010

Overall, It was Good!

First of all, I don't think it's Moana's fault, it's [...] fault that Moana cannot locate our booking reservation. It took them forever and freaked us out more by keep saying that they are fully booked. We thought we're not going to have a room. Apparently, when i booked from [...], the information wasn't transfered to the hotel. That sucks! We had to wait forever. 20 minutes later, they said our room will be ready in 45 min. It's nice of them though to let us stay in one of their hospitality rooms while waiting.The hotel was great, but again the rooms are pretty simple and it didn't feel like the other Westin Hotels I've stayed in, and to think they said we were upgraded for keeping us waiting. Where's the upgrade???? I went sun bathing, but had to fight for my spot in the beach. They charge $40 for the chairs with umbrellas which i think is a bit much, you're already staying in their hotel and they're just chairs not like super comfy chairs or cabanas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Menchanko Tei Ramen House has the best Kurobuta Pork Tonkatsu but the service can be a little slow especially when you're dying to go home but it takes them another 15-20 minutes just to give you your check.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ogden, Utah
Aug 15, 2010

Great hotel on the beach

Location was great, staff was extremely friendly, very clean. I have no complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travelin' Chick
Business
Modesto, CA
Aug 10, 2010

Tour,don't stay

Westin. Shouldn't that be equated with class? We've stayed in Westin's in the Boston, SF and LA areas. The hotels were excellent, classy, even luxurious. This one was not. It is a beautiful historic hotel. The lobby is grand, the porches and the old banyon trees are lovely. It is on Waikiki Beach. We prepaid with Orbitz for a week for a room with a king or 2 queen beds. When we arrived to our postage stamp sized room (very little walking space) it had one very small bed, I doubt was a queen -we were upset. We returned to the desk and were told they were sold out completely. The clerk/managers were very rude and kept trying to blame Orbitz or us until we showed them a printout. Still refusing to take any responsibility or apologize, they promised a new room the next day. We did get a larger room with a king bed for the rest of the week. I would tell visitors to Waikiki take a stroll through the lobby, walk on the back porch, but stay in one of the many nice hotels in the area with a polite staff. We took this trip in July of 2010.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travel to Honolulu at least once a year.
Business
Salt Lake City
Aug 9, 2010

Previously impressed - not this time.

[...] We were stuck in the non-remodeled wing of the hotel in a converted room (5th floor wing 3). The hallway floors and walls were dirty, the air conditioning did not work well, and the sofa in the room was unconfortably dirty. Not what I had expected from a well known Honolulu darling

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Italian restraunt @ the Marriott down the street. Easy to get in even on a Friday night without reservations.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wanttobe Hula Girl
Business
Dana Point, CA
Aug 7, 2010

Amazing Hotel!

The Moana Surfrider was a wonderful place to stay except at night. If you stay there, don't take a room facing the street or you might be up late listening to the loud druming and bagpipes of street performers. In the beginning it is not too bad but night after night of the same drumming made it difficult to get to sleep. Not what we expected for paying top dollar for such a prestigious hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Envoyman
Business
Toronto, Canada
Aug 4, 2010

Good value for this historic hotel

We had a full itinery for touring so we did not use the beach much. The drinks were pricey and nothing to rave about. Breakfast was way over priced. The ambience overall was very pleasant and restful. The staff was very accomodating. Comfortable matress and lots of pillows.We were on the streetside, so it was a bit noisey,but the street action and traffic died down before 11:00PM, not a problem unless you needed to get up at 3:00 AM for early tour pickups. Yes, I would still come back, despite sounding negative!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Better value could be had outside the hotel for dining, we particularly enjoyed the Aqua Cafe restuarant down the street and the Cheesecake factory for their Kobe Hamburger and their Luau salad.I would also recommend P. F. Changs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dayton, OH
Aug 3, 2010

Great experience at the Moana Surfrider

The hotel and staff absolutely exceeded our expectations! They were always friendly and helpful and our room was always cleaned excellently. Our room was a beautiful ocean view, [...] was very quiet and comfortable. The hotel location was fantastic. Step out the back door and you are on the beach. Obviously, you are in the heart of Waikiki, so shopping and restaurants are plentiful. (Based on other reviews, we went the first night to the International Marketplace right across the street. We found the food and merchandise there to be mediocre at best.)Prices are high at or near the hotel as you would expect. Just walk or drive not far away for reasonably priced meals (we only ate at the hotel beach house one time). We rented a car so we drove and ate at very good and reasonable restaurants not far from the hotel. We also saved on breakfast and lunch by shopping at Safeway and keeping some food in the room refrigerator and in bags (cereal, snack bars, fruit). It costs $25 (or $33/day higher for valet service) for parking at the hotel. We debated it but we wanted the flexibility to do what we wanted when we wanted, so we rented a car. Local transportation options are plentiful. It was a great family vacation. If we ever come back to Oahu, I would want to stay at the Moana Surfrider.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great local food a short drive away at Mr. Ojisan (Japanese), Ono (sp?) for Hawaiian and Diamond Head Grill (we went there for lunch) for pretty reasonable prices. Don't discount the option of saving $ by shopping at local grocery stores and eating breakfast and lunches in the room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pasadena, Ca
Jul 27, 2010

Excellent stay

I have always wanted to stay in this historic hotel in Waikiki. It was better than I expected with modern rooms, tasteful decor, and my room had a full on ocean view! The hotel is on the beach where I rented a surf board, took a surfing lesson; is a short drive to hike Diamond Head, close to all Waikiki restaurants and shops. There is also a high tea at the hotel which I enjoyed on the veranda. My niece tried to arrange for a Green Choice voucher for herself (she had her own room) but the guest service did not answer even though it was still within the hour before they closed. You have to call it in the night before. To make up for it, the hotel gave her a credit towards her hotel bill, which made her dad happy. The lobby was a nice to place to relax, rocking chairs on the front porch great for people watching and enjoying the breeze. Many couples had their wedding pictures taken in and around the hotel. The second floor has displays and information on the history of the hotel, that for me added more character to my stay. Even though it is owned by Westin, it did not have a hotel-chain like feel at all. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I have decided to try and stay here when I can as a treat to myself. It was really excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The Green Choice Program. Participate on a day by day basis on whether you want to have your linens changed. On the days you participate, you receive a voucher that can be used in the restaurant and maybe the spa. The vouchers can be accumulated and combined. I used two towards my high tea experience, so I enjoyed it at a lower cost, helped reduce my carbon footprint.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RexytheKing
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 23, 2010

Great location but some bad services

The hotel is really gorgerous and stands on the best location, middle of the Karakaua Ave. and the beach front. Our 12-mo son enjoyed the pool and the beach. Nice free breakfast for 4 days. There were a couple of negative comments: There were only two coin-operated washers and one was out of order, and we had to wait as the only one was in use. Can't believe that there was only one available for this huge hotel. Also, our room toilet was clogged (we didn't flush anything big). We asked to be fixed while we were out but when we returned, it was not fixed and they never fixed it until the checkout. We couldn't use our toilet so we had to go to the lobby to use the bathroom. Other than that, we really enjoyed the stay. The beach bar was quiet, romantic and very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Plumeria in Malibu
Business
Malibu, Ca.
Jul 21, 2010

Banyan Paradise

The Hotel is beautiful and so is the location. - The food at the Banyan Tree Bar is not up to standard for this Hotel. The location is ideal,- right at the beach and great for drinks but not for the food. - I would recommend the Restaurant for breakfast, it is awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top