$335 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 16, 2015 Check-out: Jul 19, 2015

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
306 out of 306
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Apr 21, 2011

Great place!

The hotel was amazing! I have stayed here many times, and all of the different types of rooms are beautiful. Located right on the beach, and right on the main Waikiki strip. The hotel gave us many options for activities, and we wanted to take advantage of as many of them as we could. We parasailed, scuba dived, hiked diamond head, went to the aquarium, lounged on the beach and drove to the North Shore. The hotel was extremely helpful with all of our needs. We loved sitting in front on the rocking chairs, and sitting at the beach bar under the banyan tree. The trip was amazing, and the beds in the hotel are a dream!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Try to plan your trip once you get there and have talked to other travelers. They are the ones that give great and helpful hints.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
coach legs
Business
wyoming
Apr 8, 2011

nice place

the hotel is great but a little snobish and many charges for all the little things the beach bar is awesome and all the bartenders have been there for nearly 30 years all of them call you by name and where you are from, from the time you give it to them and make for a good relaxing time. the restaurant is very very good but it is not cheap. there is more fun to be had next door at the outrigger (Dukes or Chucks) or at the royal hawaiian but being right on the beach is priceless and it is well worth getting the ocean view overall a great place and a great experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

we did many activities from snorkling to sunset cruises but you have to go parasailing and the helicopter tour definately amazing things to experience

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ama. tx
Apr 7, 2011

fantastic

visited as many things as we could.no, it was a great experience,didn't want to leave

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, Il
Apr 7, 2011

Great vacation

Great location...shoppings, restaurants, beachfront hotel. Breakfast was very good! Do not use activity(tour tickets/ program) agent in lobby. You can get better prices at streets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

International Market, Outlet Mall, and many other stores within walking distance.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
albany, ny
Apr 4, 2011

Poor value at the price charged

Room was very average for the price charged.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Call me Malea
Business
Hoffman Estates, IL
Mar 27, 2011

Fabulous!

Our stay at The Moana Surfrider was absolutely fabulous! It is elegant, intimate and yet close to everything--whether your shopping taste runs from high-end to bargain hunting or your eating preference runs from gourmet to casual. After a busy day of touring or shopping, there are several free hotel relaxation choices--sun yourself on the beach, sit in a comfortable rocking chair on the front veranda and people watch, or sit in a comfy chair on the very beautiful back veranda and gaze at the banyan tree and the ocean. Once rested, it's easy to find new friends at the Banyan Beach Bar with live music playing nightly. It makes for a such a lovely end to the day. During our stay we investigated several nearby hotels on Waikiki & decided, without a doubt, we will come back to the Surfrider each and every time. We had an ocean view room in the Banyan wing and were pleased with it, but the next time we want to stay in the Tower. We looked at the Diamond wing, but weren't very impressed--it's age is showing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wilmington, NC
Mar 26, 2011

March Hawaii Trip

Our first trip to Hawaii in March was for our sons wedding. The Moana Surf Rider was absolutely fabulous. Walk to everything, tours directly from the hotel, relaxing atmosphere, great service with polite staff. Wish we had asked for an ocean view room with balcony. Pricey restaurant but there are many others nearby. Would stay there again in a minute.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San francisco
Mar 23, 2011

Great location, beautiful and classy

Beautiful hotel, after pulling out the car, we were greeted with fresh orchid leis. Check in was fast, staff was courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Surfrider
Business
waikiki beach
Mar 20, 2011

The best getaway ever!

We had a friend take us all around the island so we got to see so much of everything. The hotel was the top of the line.The beds were awsome,the house keeping was every friendly and helpful.Pearl Harbor tour was ever educational we all enjoyed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Denny's was a short walk from hotel.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
IronJenny
Business
Medina MN
Mar 20, 2011

Worry free travel

Hotel staff very nice. There is a Resort Fee that you pay daily ($20) that covers you for a lot of stuff that you usually have to pay extra for. The 20 dollars includes free parking a block away, two free bottles of water per day, free wifi in the room, and common areas including the pool, and the kids under 12 eat free from the buffet when two adults eat from the buffet. But not if you order from the regular menu. The place is historical and gorgeous - plantation shutters, fluted columns, pendant lanterns, --- all beautifully restored -- it's a Westin now. I would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a lot to do - we swam with dolphins, snorkled, hiked 3 times, and just hung out at the beach at the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top