$274 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 30, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
303 out of 303
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, Il
Apr 7, 2011

Great vacation

Great location...shoppings, restaurants, beachfront hotel. Breakfast was very good! Do not use activity(tour tickets/ program) agent in lobby. You can get better prices at streets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

International Market, Outlet Mall, and many other stores within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
albany, ny
Apr 4, 2011

Poor value at the price charged

Room was very average for the price charged.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Call me Malea
Business
Hoffman Estates, IL
Mar 27, 2011

Fabulous!

Our stay at The Moana Surfrider was absolutely fabulous! It is elegant, intimate and yet close to everything--whether your shopping taste runs from high-end to bargain hunting or your eating preference runs from gourmet to casual. After a busy day of touring or shopping, there are several free hotel relaxation choices--sun yourself on the beach, sit in a comfortable rocking chair on the front veranda and people watch, or sit in a comfy chair on the very beautiful back veranda and gaze at the banyan tree and the ocean. Once rested, it's easy to find new friends at the Banyan Beach Bar with live music playing nightly. It makes for a such a lovely end to the day. During our stay we investigated several nearby hotels on Waikiki & decided, without a doubt, we will come back to the Surfrider each and every time. We had an ocean view room in the Banyan wing and were pleased with it, but the next time we want to stay in the Tower. We looked at the Diamond wing, but weren't very impressed--it's age is showing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wilmington, NC
Mar 26, 2011

March Hawaii Trip

Our first trip to Hawaii in March was for our sons wedding. The Moana Surf Rider was absolutely fabulous. Walk to everything, tours directly from the hotel, relaxing atmosphere, great service with polite staff. Wish we had asked for an ocean view room with balcony. Pricey restaurant but there are many others nearby. Would stay there again in a minute.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San francisco
Mar 23, 2011

Great location, beautiful and classy

Beautiful hotel, after pulling out the car, we were greeted with fresh orchid leis. Check in was fast, staff was courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Surfrider
Business
waikiki beach
Mar 20, 2011

The best getaway ever!

We had a friend take us all around the island so we got to see so much of everything. The hotel was the top of the line.The beds were awsome,the house keeping was every friendly and helpful.Pearl Harbor tour was ever educational we all enjoyed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Denny's was a short walk from hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
IronJenny
Business
Medina MN
Mar 20, 2011

Worry free travel

Hotel staff very nice. There is a Resort Fee that you pay daily ($20) that covers you for a lot of stuff that you usually have to pay extra for. The 20 dollars includes free parking a block away, two free bottles of water per day, free wifi in the room, and common areas including the pool, and the kids under 12 eat free from the buffet when two adults eat from the buffet. But not if you order from the regular menu. The place is historical and gorgeous - plantation shutters, fluted columns, pendant lanterns, --- all beautifully restored -- it's a Westin now. I would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a lot to do - we swam with dolphins, snorkled, hiked 3 times, and just hung out at the beach at the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Surfrider
Business
waikiki beach
Mar 20, 2011

The best getaway ever!

We had a friend take us all around the island so we got to see so much of everything. The hotel was the top of the line.The beds were awsome,the house keeping was every friendly and helpful.Pearl Harbor tour was ever educational we all enjoyed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Denny's was a short walk from hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland OR
Mar 8, 2011

Beautiful, but they nickel and dime you

The best location for beach, shopping and dining in Honolulu. The hotel is gorgoues, grounds are lovely and the rooms are nice and clean. The pool staff and housekeepping staff are friendly and helpful. We did not eat at the hotel restaurant. Beautiful, but spendy. The front desk staff on the other hand are not so helpful and friendly. It is not the fault of the front desk that you are nickel and dimed, but they don't explain or answer questions very professionally, they are very vague. When I questioned them about some charges at the end of the stay, they acted put out. They did reverse the chg. in question that I felt should be covered under the $20 a night resort fee. But first they made me feel petty and they went to talk to the manager for 10 minutes while I waited and felt like I had asked them to cut off a hand or somethning. Anyway, if you don't mind spending a lot, you will love it. Just don't ask the front desk anything and don't argue charges. [...]I would call the hotel and put any special view/room requests with them. They will not guarantee your requests, but maybe you will get someone there in a good mood and they will help you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cheesecake Factory is the best bargain, just down the block. But go at off times, it is extremely popular. Buy your own booze and snacks to have in the room, you will save a ton and the balcony is a great place to enjoy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose
Mar 2, 2011

Awesome Family Hotel

A lot of the other hotels were very loud and "busy". The surfrider has a great atmosphere for relaxing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

"Top of Waikiki" restaurant, food was awesome and view is spectacular. The restaurant rotates and sits on the 18th floor.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top