$315 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 18, 2014 Check-out: Jul 19, 2014

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

4 stars
2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
399 reviews
Great location

Centrally located, historical site and our room was upgraded. See full review

  • Peewee
  • Jul 7, 2014
A great way to enjoy Honolulu

Even though we toured several parts of the area, we always looked forward to returning to our hotel See full review

  • Aloha Practician
  • May 25, 2014
'The First Lady of Waikiki' was constructed at the turn of the 20th century, and the Moana Surfrider lives up to her elegant name as a Waikiki beachfront property. Upon arrival, you'll be treated to a signature Westin elixir, a fragrant flower lei, and a refreshingly chilled towel. Catch a great night's sleep on your Westin Heavenly Bed, and soak up traditional Hawaiian healing techniques and treatments inside Waikiki's only beachfront spa. High-end toiletries, superior linens, and comfortable bathrobes adorn the accommodations, while the refurbished lobby features hardwood floors, along with new fixtures and fittings.
Key facts
  • Guestrooms inside three wings: Diamond Wing, Banyan Wing and Tower Wing
  • Moana Lani Spa
  • Bars and restaurants: Beachhouse at the Moana, Bin1901, Veranda at the Beachhouse, Beach Bar
  • Wedding venue facilities
  • Meeting spaces and conference area
  • Banyan Courtyard
Neighborhood
The central Waikiki location of the Moana Surfrider Westin Resort and Spa affords visitors easy access to a range of beach-related activities. Snorkeling adventures, surf lessons, and outrigger canoe rides can be experienced within steps of the resort. After riding the waves, enjoy six floors of retail therapy and eateries at the Waikiki Shopping Plaza down the street.
Hints and tips
The Banyan Courtyard is a popular place to relax under the trees while sipping umbrella drinks and enjoying live music, along with occasional hula dancing.

Book a room in the Tower Wing for balcony views.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa Rooms

Ocean View Room
Enjoy sweeping views of the Pacific Ocean from your spacious guest room. The contemporary Hawaiian decor is complemented by two double or king size Heavenly Beds, a 32 inch flat screen TV, a comfortable chair, a writing desk (with high-speed internet access available at an extra charge) and chair, and a hardwood dresser. The bathrooms feature Westin's Heavenly BathEamenities. Additional features include a coffee maker, cable TV, and a refrigerator.
City View Room
Enjoy sweeping views of Honolulu from your spacious and newly renovated guest room. The contemporary decor is complemented by a king size Heavenly Beds, Flat Screen 32 inch TV, a comfortable chair, a writing desk (with HSIA - surcharge) and chair, a hardwood dresser, and modern tile-floored baths with heavenly bath with granite counters - all accented in a Hawaiian motif. (264 square feet). Additional features include coffee maker, cable, and refrigerator.
Banyan Classic Ocean Club
All guests booking this category will have access to the Beach Club.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2765 -157.8265
Area served
Honolulu Oahu Hawaii. Waikiki Beach
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL 10 Miles
Area description
Waikiki Beach, International Market-225ft, Pearl Harbor-10mi, Honolulu Zoo-0.3mi, Kapiolani Park-0.4mi, Ala Moana Shopping Center-2mi,Aloha Tower-4mi, Aloha Stadium-10mi, Hanama Bay-12mi, North Shore 35mi

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.6 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.2 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.2 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.4 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.3 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.7 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.1 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Ballroom provides the flexibility to comfortably accommodate groups of up to 250. Our private beach area also allows you to have the perfect sunset Barbecue for a group of up to 75 persons.

Dining

The Veranda
Offering an oceanfront and guest-centric breakfast, Banyan Veranda also offers a traditional yet savvy during our Afternoon Tea in homage to a long established tradition here at the Moana. Breakfast will be available Monday-Friday from 6 - 11 am Afternoon Tea will be available Monday - Friday 12:00 - 3:00 pm
The Beach Bar
Located just steps away from the beautiful sands of Waikiki Beach, the oceanfront Beach Bar is an ideal setting for enjoying the Waikiki scenery while sipping on your favorite tropical beverage, or nibbling on delicious grilled pupus (appetizers).

Open from 10:30 a.m. to 12:00 a.m.; hot grilled appetizers and other selections available from 10:30 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.
beachhouse at the Moana
beachhouse is Moana's premier dinner concept a contemporary Island-style steakhouse. Guests will be treated to exceptional cuisine in an oceanfront surrounding that replenishes the spirit. Life, like food, usually needs a little spice. The menu at beachhouse delivers culinary delights for every palette. The top of the food chain starts here! Dinner service 5:30-10pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1202

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (399)

Ratings and reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
399 out of 399
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr Doc
Fargo, ND, USA
Jan 28, 2012

winter getaway

we had the best time ever. The accomadations were excellent, the weather was great, the entire staff, treated us like royalty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beaches Girl
Vernal, Utah
Jan 25, 2012

Wonderful vacation

We stayed at this Hotel 7 nights. Staff was very helpful, room was super clean. Its is right on the beach and you have easy access to trolley, taxi's and the city bus. Only two things I didn't love is they have a $25.00 per day charge after you get there. It covers breakfast and all local phone calls but they had removed the phone books in our room?? The breakfast was really good but it was the same food each day. I would have liked more choices. The pool is the other thing. You are expected to go down at 7:00 each morning and get your pool chair. Many chairs had towels on them but no one showed up all day to use them. Many people did not have access to a chair because of this. They had chairs on the beach for $25.00 per day. Other than that it was a great experience. I will go back again. the property is beautiful. They had music under the banion tree that was fun too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

ABC is accross the street. You can buy a chicken roll up for $7.00 for lunch and save money for dinner.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
San Diego Traveler 101
San Diego, CA, USA
Jan 23, 2012

January Getaway

Fantastic stay. Although crowded the hotel is beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lsg from sp
San Pedro, Calif.
Jan 14, 2012

family getaway New Years Day

I have been to Oahu at least a dozen times and have always wanted to stay at the Moana. This year I decided to pull the trigger and stayed with my folks and sibs and their young adult children. Wonderful property but if this crowd assembles again for a getaway we weill book three rooms. my only peeve: the street musicians at the Market place across the street allowed to play past midnight was annoying but not the hotel's fault my advise get a room at oceanfront perhaps less noisy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

do not waste nyour money on Top of Waikiki for dinner. The view was spectacular but you can't eat the view and I couldn't eat my meal. Overrated for what is is.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kharisma
Business
greer, sc
Jan 11, 2012

Very Satisfied!!!!!!

very comfortable all the way will probably go back to the hotel on our next visit as well!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

most of the places near waikiki could be reached within minutes....

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
docrosco
Leduc, AB, Canada
Jan 6, 2012

Fantastic, the perfect family holiday!

The hotel, location, staff, rooms and food were all we were hoping for and more. I would not hesitate in recommending the Moana Surfrider to my family and friends as the perfect place to stay in Hawaii. Thanks to the hotel for making our holiday amazing. Mahalo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brocc
Texas
Dec 13, 2011

Over-priced and over-rated

The rooms did not have queen beds and were crowded with 2 single beds. The bathroom had only a narrow 6" shelf for placing and using toiletries. There was a "spa check-out fee" that was expensive and unexplainable. However, the entrance, foyer and veranda were charming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mike in LA
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Nov 28, 2011

NOT THE WESTIN I'M USED TO

Frankly, I was shocked that this hotel is called a "Starwood/Westin Resort Hotel". The hotel rooms, hallways, elevators, room interiors, showers and bathrooms could have ALL been mistaken for a Holiday Inn. I'm not kidding and I was shocked as a long time Starwood member. The exterior areas (pool area, lobby, restaurants and spa) are Westin quality, but you're not sleeping in the restaurant or pool area. Money spent renovating the wrong areas that definitely need to go to toward a complete and total room & bathroom renovation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Right in the middle of Waikiki Beach. No car needed, everything is walking distance.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PCho
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 22, 2011

Honeymoon

Upgraded to a 1 bedroom suite upon arrival and provided a bottle of champagne (Kenwood - terrible champagne but really appreciate the thought). We both loved the beach bar and the nightly entertainment which we could hear from our room very clearly on the 5th floor. We liked that, but some may not so would recommend the tower for those that want a more quiet experience. I prefer hotels that are more personalble and know you by name, but I guess for a 750 room hotel, that's just not possible. Overall great hotel, would definitely go back if I ever decide to go back to Waikiki - toooo busy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Iaysume Musubi - best musubi ever.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
arbsusie
Rural, KS, USA
Nov 19, 2011

Anniversary Dream!

This was a great location for first timers to Hawaii. The beach is literally right out the back door. The actual beach is rather small for such a large hotel - but we still enjoyed it every day. Our room was small and the bathroom even smaller but...that didn't stop us from having a great time. Not that much time spent in our room when the great outdoors was so inviting. My husband says the food and beer ($6.50) was over priced and all my fruity drinks were $10.50 or more at the hotel bar. The ABC Store is right across the street for beer/wine/sodas (better prices but still high) and blow-up rafts to float in the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

2 Blocks N (toward the mountain) a good breakfast cafe Keoni's. Just next door to Keoni's is the Round Pizza or something like that has all the games on TV that you might not want to miss. All your favorite chain restaurants are there too within walking distance.

Back to menu Return to top