$256 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 9, 2015 Check-out: Jan 10, 2015

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

4 stars
2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
270 reviews
Moana Hawaii getaway

This is a hotel we always dreamed of staying at and be able to sit in the rocking chairs on the... See full review

  • MBZ rocking chair
  • Nov 23, 2014
Honolulu at it's best

The Sheraton I want to Surfrider is the nicest hotel you could stay in! It's centered right in the... See full review

  • Kjmakai
  • Oct 7, 2014
'The First Lady of Waikiki' was constructed at the turn of the 20th century, and the Moana Surfrider lives up to her elegant name as a Waikiki beachfront property. Upon arrival, you'll be treated to a signature Westin elixir, a fragrant flower lei, and a refreshingly chilled towel. Catch a great night's sleep on your Westin Heavenly Bed, and soak up traditional Hawaiian healing techniques and treatments inside Waikiki's only beachfront spa. High-end toiletries, superior linens, and comfortable bathrobes adorn the accommodations, while the refurbished lobby features hardwood floors, along with new fixtures and fittings.
Key facts
  • Guestrooms inside three wings: Diamond Wing, Banyan Wing and Tower Wing
  • Moana Lani Spa
  • Bars and restaurants: Beachhouse at the Moana, Bin1901, Veranda at the Beachhouse, Beach Bar
  • Wedding venue facilities
  • Meeting spaces and conference area
  • Banyan Courtyard
Neighborhood
The central Waikiki location of the Moana Surfrider Westin Resort and Spa affords visitors easy access to a range of beach-related activities. Snorkeling adventures, surf lessons, and outrigger canoe rides can be experienced within steps of the resort. After riding the waves, enjoy six floors of retail therapy and eateries at the Waikiki Shopping Plaza down the street.
Hints and tips
The Banyan Courtyard is a popular place to relax under the trees while sipping umbrella drinks and enjoying live music, along with occasional hula dancing.

Book a room in the Tower Wing for balcony views.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa Rooms

Ocean View Room
Enjoy sweeping views of the Pacific Ocean from your spacious guest room. The contemporary Hawaiian decor is complemented by two double or king size Heavenly Beds, a 32 inch flat screen TV, a comfortable chair, a writing desk (with high-speed internet access available at an extra charge) and chair, and a hardwood dresser. The bathrooms feature Westin's Heavenly BathEamenities. Additional features include a coffee maker, cable TV, and a refrigerator.
City View Room
Enjoy sweeping views of Honolulu from your spacious and newly renovated guest room. The contemporary decor is complemented by a king size Heavenly Beds, Flat Screen 32 inch TV, a comfortable chair, a writing desk (with HSIA - surcharge) and chair, a hardwood dresser, and modern tile-floored baths with heavenly bath with granite counters - all accented in a Hawaiian motif. (264 square feet). Additional features include coffee maker, cable, and refrigerator.
Banyan Classic Ocean Club
All guests booking this category will have access to the Beach Club.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.6 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.2 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.2 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.4 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.3 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.7 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.1 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.6 mi

Dining

The Veranda
Offering an oceanfront and guest-centric breakfast, Banyan Veranda also offers a traditional yet savvy during our Afternoon Tea in homage to a long established tradition here at the Moana. Breakfast will be available Monday-Friday from 6 - 11 am Afternoon Tea will be available Monday - Friday 12:00 - 3:00 pm
The Beach Bar
Located just steps away from the beautiful sands of Waikiki Beach, the oceanfront Beach Bar is an ideal setting for enjoying the Waikiki scenery while sipping on your favorite tropical beverage, or nibbling on delicious grilled pupus (appetizers).

Open from 10:30 a.m. to 12:00 a.m.; hot grilled appetizers and other selections available from 10:30 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.
beachhouse at the Moana
beachhouse is Moana's premier dinner concept a contemporary Island-style steakhouse. Guests will be treated to exceptional cuisine in an oceanfront surrounding that replenishes the spirit. Life, like food, usually needs a little spice. The menu at beachhouse delivers culinary delights for every palette. The top of the food chain starts here! Dinner service 5:30-10pm

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Ballroom provides the flexibility to comfortably accommodate groups of up to 250. Our private beach area also allows you to have the perfect sunset Barbecue for a group of up to 75 persons.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1202

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (270)

Ratings and reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
270 out of 270
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AmberandThomas
Business
Texas
Mar 2, 2012

Awesome

This hotel is beautiful and the staff is friendly. I guess they better be for the price. The views were amazing. Perfect spot for a honeymoon. Parking is ok. You have to park at a hotel across the street. when I was walking back by myself at night I was a bit uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Be sure that the reservation says parking and breakfast included. That stuff adds up. The breakfast is super tasty but I wouldn't have paid their prices for it. Glad it was included. Also the parking would have been crazy expensive if we didn't get it included in the room. Endless in and out for free.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aunt Fannie
Business
Santa Barbara, CA, USA
Feb 28, 2012

Great destressor

I had last stayed at the Moana back in the 1960's. Coming back fifty years later brought back many memories. I remember sitting under the Banyan tree having pancakes with coconut syrup. I was able to do that once again. The old Hawaiian charm is as I remember. It was a wonderful experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

If you want to take a nice long walk, trek up to Diamond Head crater. Approximately 9 miles from the hotel. Takes about 3 hours. When you return enjoy a lovely breakfast on the veranda.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
daggr60
Business
Danville CA
Feb 27, 2012

Very Nice

I've been to Honolulu several times and have wanted to stay at this hotel because I like the location, lobby and feel, but I never got around to it. This time, I made it happen. Overall it did not disappoint. This was a great trip. We were upgraded from the diamond ocean view to the tower ocean view room on arrival which was very nice. That gave us a balcony that you could go out on. The view was great, over the pool and out to the ocean. The room was nice, not spectacular but nice. It had most of the things you could want but nothing truly special. It was spacious, but if felt as if it needed more furniture. I did long for two sinks in the bathroom. The bed and linens were nice but overall the room lacked that "wow" factor that you get when you walk in a really nice room. Room service the following morning was faster than expected. Room cleaning was adequate. A couple of little misses like not replenishing the cream after we used coffee and they did not put in an extra toilet paper so later we had to take one off a cart. The lobby and outdoor areas were beautiful. Eating at the casual restaurant under the banyon tree, breakfast outside, it was gorgeous. The lobby area is nice. They have good chairs to lounge in the lobby and on the back porch. A little odd that the rocking chairs are out front overlooking the street instead of out back to look at the banyon and the beach. The pool is nice in that it gets over 6 feet deep instead of being too shallow for the entire pool. That said, the pool is not a fancy one and not a lot of people seem to play in it, Of course it is only 100ft from there to the beach. Speaking of which, there's a nice area for the private beach where you can rent umbrellas and have beach chairs. It's serviced well. Also there are a fair number a lounges around the pool. The beach is at one of the narrower areas and can get crowded as it's close to a main access for the public beach. I don't know why the people coming to the public beach don't walk just a little bit further for more space. I love the hotel location and the easy access from the rooms to the beach. It wasn't one of those places that took a 15min walk to get to the water. I could be from door to sand in 3 min. Also step on the street side and you are right into nice shopping. Right across the street is the ubiquitous ABC store for all your basic and beach needs, and then up a block or so and you are at the super premium designer stores. Overall, I really liked the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
driftwood margo
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Feb 27, 2012

Sigh...

Really wanted to be able to write a good review here, especially since I love the history of the Moana Surfrider and its place in the early tourist days of Waikiki. Alas, I'm not able to do so. The location is great, but to a one the staff was harried, ungracious, unhelpful and often just totally absent. Questions to staff were more often answered with a disinterested shrug or vague non-information than anything remotely helpful, and I'm talking questions like, "Where can I rent a surfboard?" The gouging is incredible: $25 for 45 minutes of use for a beach chair at the end of the day; staff started stacking chairs as soon as we sat down and asked twice if we were ready to go before closing time at 5. We weren't offered bar service until our time was up and then it was offered with an ineffectual, "Everything okay here...?" I live in one of the most expensive cities in the US and I expected this to be an expensive to very expensive stay, but everything is way beyond overpriced, especially the food and alcoholic drinks. It was a big disappointment and we won't be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mhhua
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Feb 24, 2012

disappointed !

At check in, we were given 2 double beds rooms while we booked for one king bed room and one double beds room.. When we went to the room, we were very disappointed to find out the room is very OLD, the bathroom is old and the HVAC is super loud and we can't get a good night sleep. We went to the front desk to ask for an upgrade, planning to pay more money, and found out we should have been in a newer tower with partial ocean view.. we were given an upgrade by being put in very OLD rooms with full ocean views.. We prefer the new tower with partial views.. We were told we can move to the new tower 3 days later... after we asked to talk to a manager, we moved to the new tower the same day... POOR POOR service! there is always lots of tree droppings by the pool side.. they cleaned it and not often enough!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Iyasume Musubi is great !!! little place, great good, and great price!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kamaaina
Business
Hi.
Feb 23, 2012

FUN IN THE SUN

Awesome people, lots of free entertainment, hula shows, singing at the pool side bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Food court at the market place across the street was wonderful and affordable unlike the hotel .

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Adam R.
Business
Stockton, CA, USA
Feb 12, 2012

Perfect location and beautiful historic hotel.

The "first lady of Waikiki" has definitely earned her nickname. Gorgeous restored interior of the Victorian main building. The banyan tree in the courtyard is amazing. My only complaint is that the ocean view room was a little far back from the beach. But that's just luck. someone has to end up with those rooms. Parking is included at the hotel across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

All of the shopping in this area is Overpriced. Go to the Aloha Stadium swap meet if you need souvenirs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
badblzr
Business
Tulare, CA 93274, USA
Feb 7, 2012

beautiful clean

This place is awesome, one the few places you can bar service on the beach. Beach chair and umbrella cost $50.00 per day rental ( come on they already charge an additional 26.00 dollars per day resort fee) which includes 2 waters and internet REALLY! Other than that very nice historical place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dukes restaurant next door has a must have hula pie. Above dukes restaurant is hula grill, great view, well priced breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr Doc
Business
Fargo, ND, USA
Jan 28, 2012

winter getaway

we had the best time ever. The accomadations were excellent, the weather was great, the entire staff, treated us like royalty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beaches Girl
Business
Vernal, Utah
Jan 25, 2012

Wonderful vacation

We stayed at this Hotel 7 nights. Staff was very helpful, room was super clean. Its is right on the beach and you have easy access to trolley, taxi's and the city bus. Only two things I didn't love is they have a $25.00 per day charge after you get there. It covers breakfast and all local phone calls but they had removed the phone books in our room?? The breakfast was really good but it was the same food each day. I would have liked more choices. The pool is the other thing. You are expected to go down at 7:00 each morning and get your pool chair. Many chairs had towels on them but no one showed up all day to use them. Many people did not have access to a chair because of this. They had chairs on the beach for $25.00 per day. Other than that it was a great experience. I will go back again. the property is beautiful. They had music under the banion tree that was fun too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

ABC is accross the street. You can buy a chicken roll up for $7.00 for lunch and save money for dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top