$250 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 16, 2014 Check-out: May 17, 2014

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

4 stars
2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
259 reviews
beautiful hotel

Beautiful hotel on the best location in all of Waikiki. It may seem pricey, but having stayed at... See full review

  • ns1183
  • Mar 10, 2014
Room choice is key

We had two different rooms while we were there. Try to get the tower and not the main hotel rooms.... See full review

  • Rich and Alison
  • Mar 9, 2014
Old-world elegance on Waikiki's hottest strip

Graciously residing on prime oceanfront, the Moana Surfrider is a vision of luxury and relaxation. Opened in 1901 and listed in the National Register of Historic Places, the "First Lady of Waikiki" boasts a long registry of the rich and famous, including Frank Sinatra, Amelia Earhart, Prince Edward of England and Joe DiMaggio. Afternoon tea on the seaside veranda is a celebrated tradition. Trademark Westin amenities, fine dining and one of Waikiki's best spas create the total package.

Highlights

  • Westin's Heavenly Bed, Heavenly Bath and fine linens
  • Spend the day relaxing in the hotel's picturesque and historic banyan tree courtyard
  • Moana Lani Spa, ranked as one of the Top 50 Spas by Spas of America
Location

The hotel touches the sand, with some of Waikiki's best swimming and surfing directly offshore. It's midpoint along Kalakaua Ave., Waikiki's main dining and shopping strip, and the designer-boutique Royal Hawaiian Center and lively souvenir bazaar International Market Place are within a block's walk.

Rooms

The hotel features three distinct wings with a total of nearly 800 guest rooms. All rooms blend classic design with contemporary decor enhanced by luxurious Island-style details, signature Westin amenities, bathrobe and flat-screen TV. The Westin Heavenly Bed is a major draw, with custom pillowtop mattress and snuggly feather pillow. In-room Wi-Fi is available (fees apply).

Dining

Several excellent dining selections are on the property. The Veranda, overlooking the banyan courtyard, offers a buffet breakfast, while afternoon tea is a tradition dating back to the earliest days of the hotel. From midmorning until midnight, sashimi, wagyu beef burgers and mai tais are on order at the Beach Bar, beneath the historic banyan tree. Honolulu Coffee Co. is the place for Kona coffee and a gelato.  Beachhouse at the Moana, an oceanfront fine-dining oasis, serves up fresh Island cuisine and sunset views.

Recreation
  • Freshwater hotel pool on the beachfront
  • The new Moana Lani Spa, with 18,000 square feet of treatment and fitness activities
  • Free guided historic tour of the property
  • Surf lessons in front of the hotel and water sports equipment rentals onsite
Transportation
  • Honolulu International Airport (10.8 mi/17.4 km)
Attractions

  • Waikiki Beach (fronting hotel)
  • Royal Hawaiian Center (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Honolulu Zoo (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Waikiki Aquarium (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Hawaii Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Ala Moana Center (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Diamond Head Crater (2.7 mi/4.3 km)

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa Rooms

Ocean View Room
Enjoy sweeping views of the Pacific Ocean from your spacious guest room. The contemporary Hawaiian decor is complemented by two double or king size Heavenly Beds, a 32 inch flat screen TV, a comfortable chair, a writing desk (with high-speed internet access available at an extra charge) and chair, and a hardwood dresser. The bathrooms feature Westin's Heavenly BathEamenities. Additional features include a coffee maker, cable TV, and a refrigerator.
City View Room
Enjoy sweeping views of Honolulu from your spacious and newly renovated guest room. The contemporary decor is complemented by a king size Heavenly Beds, Flat Screen 32 inch TV, a comfortable chair, a writing desk (with HSIA - surcharge) and chair, a hardwood dresser, and modern tile-floored baths with heavenly bath with granite counters - all accented in a Hawaiian motif. (264 square feet). Additional features include coffee maker, cable, and refrigerator.
Banyan Classic Ocean Club
All guests booking this category will have access to the Beach Club.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2765 -157.8265
Area served
Honolulu Oahu Hawaii. Waikiki Beach
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL 10 Miles
Area description
Waikiki Beach, International Market-225ft, Pearl Harbor-10mi, Honolulu Zoo-0.3mi, Kapiolani Park-0.4mi, Ala Moana Shopping Center-2mi,Aloha Tower-4mi, Aloha Stadium-10mi, Hanama Bay-12mi, North Shore 35mi

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.6 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.2 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.2 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.4 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.3 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.7 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.1 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.6 mi

Dining

The Veranda
Offering an oceanfront and guest-centric breakfast, Banyan Veranda also offers a traditional yet savvy during our Afternoon Tea in homage to a long established tradition here at the Moana. Breakfast will be available Monday-Friday from 6 - 11 am Afternoon Tea will be available Monday - Friday 12:00 - 3:00 pm
The Beach Bar
Located just steps away from the beautiful sands of Waikiki Beach, the oceanfront Beach Bar is an ideal setting for enjoying the Waikiki scenery while sipping on your favorite tropical beverage, or nibbling on delicious grilled pupus (appetizers).

Open from 10:30 a.m. to 12:00 a.m.; hot grilled appetizers and other selections available from 10:30 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.
beachhouse at the Moana
beachhouse is Moana's premier dinner concept a contemporary Island-style steakhouse. Guests will be treated to exceptional cuisine in an oceanfront surrounding that replenishes the spirit. Life, like food, usually needs a little spice. The menu at beachhouse delivers culinary delights for every palette. The top of the food chain starts here! Dinner service 5:30-10pm

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Ballroom provides the flexibility to comfortably accommodate groups of up to 250. Our private beach area also allows you to have the perfect sunset Barbecue for a group of up to 75 persons.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1202

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (259)

Ratings and reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.3 / 5
259 out of 259
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
Single in Paradise
Houston, Texas
Sep 17, 2012

Best Place to Be !!!!!

The staff are freindly, the hotel is clean, the food and beverages are great! Great place to exscape from life and unwind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The Tours are great!!! It's very relaxing to let someone else drive. The Tour Guides are the best source of history.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
Gail49
Kalamazoo Mi
Mar 21, 2014

Moans Surfrider

The hotel was lovely. Rooms were very clean and the beds and linen were luxurious. The beach was amazing and the hotel was right in the middle of everything. There was a $30 per day "resort fee" that was tacked on per day that was not a value for me. All in all very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
Lozzy P
Sydney
Mar 15, 2014

The best hotel in Waikiki

We've just come back from 6 nights in Waikiki. I've stayed at a few hotels there now (this was my 6th visit) and you really can't go past this hotel. I looked everywhere before we left to get a good deal on a room at the Moana, knowing that it is the best hotel in the best location on the beach, and couldn't find anything below $600 per room per night for a partial ocean view, until I jumped on to this website and got a room for half this price. Wonderful! We were then upgraded to a full ocean view room in the Diamond Wing on the 5th floor which was sensational. The room looked newly refurbished and reminded me of a beach house with rocking chairs looking out onto the balcony which has full views of the beach up to diamond head. The room was clean and the beds and pillows are Heavenly.. literally! They pride themselves on their comfort and they are second only to your bed at home. This trip confirmed that the Moana is by far the best spot to stay in Waikiki. Worth noting I have stayed at the Outrigger on the beach (with Duke's), The Grand Hyatt and the Waikiki Parc before and the Moana trumps them all, easily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

When dining in the hotel for breakfast, when the buffet option is included, remember that you can ask the waiter to have the kitchen make you an omelette fresh - at no extra charge.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
ns1183
California
Mar 10, 2014

beautiful hotel

Beautiful hotel on the best location in all of Waikiki. It may seem pricey, but having stayed at most of the other beach front hotels in Waikiki, when comparing them to the Moana, the slight increase is more than worth it. The rooms are comfortable, the staff is kind , attentive and helpful. The old Hawaii feel embraces you from the minute you walk in. The location is the best in all of Waikiki. I go to Waikiki a lot, and hope I never have to stay anywhere else again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Sorabol Korean BBQ. 5 minute cab ride, open 24 hours. Full bar. Great food, great prices.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
Rich and Alison
San Francisco
Mar 9, 2014

Room choice is key

We had two different rooms while we were there. Try to get the tower and not the main hotel rooms. The tower is nicely upgraded. The rooms are bigger and even the TVs work better. If you are not traveling with children this is the spot! All the hotels in the area are the same except this one. It has charm and character. The service was exceptional. The hotel in the gym was good and served it purpose. I highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
Beach Mama Rob
Hermosa Beach, CA
Mar 7, 2014

A Perfect Mother/Daughter Get-Away

Sixth year heading to the Moana Surfrider for my daughter and I to spend special time together. We ALWAYS have the best time. Beautiful hotel, amazing location, and the staff remembers us each year with lovely "welcomes". Our room had two rocking chairs overlooking the beautiful beach and ocean....such tranquility. I can't wait until next year!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
Hang Loose 2
Seattle
Mar 1, 2014

High expectations - did not disappoint!

Always wanted to stay here since a vacation to HI on the Lurline! Yes, the Matson ship we traveled on when I was 12 yrs old. Beautiful building and setting. Absolutely first class, from the greeting with fresh leis as we dropped off our luggage to the Alohas and Mahalos as we we were leaving. Room was not ready at 3pm so the front desk manager took us to the beach bar and authorized what ever we wanted to drink while we enjoyed the view. 15 minutes later he came to tell us it was ready. Room was one of the less expensive, in the older part of hotel (which I remembered and liked) and very nice. The "resort fee" actually comes with value, especially if you have a rental car to park (included). The location is the heart of Waikiki. This was the first hotel, built 100 years ago. Stay here if it works with your budget. You will have fond memories!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lulu's restaurant for breakfast or lunch. We did not eat dinner there. It is on the second floor with open air, covered dining. Order a single breakfast to share plus a side of extra meat, fruit, or toast. It's plenty for two. Same with the lunch at the Cheesecake factory 'next door' to the Moana.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
Stacey Song YZ
CT
Feb 9, 2014

location is perfect

best location for visitors, room is fine but not perfect. additional charge $31.41 everyday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
Suzze q
Folsom, Pennsylvania
Feb 8, 2014

Beautiful hotel

This is a beautiful property inside and out. The front faces the street with a great view point for watching street performers. The back faces the ocean's spectacular views. The staff was more than pleasant at every encounter. The use of the hospitality room allowed for and an early arrival. The Hawaiian woman working the activities desk was informative and extremely helpful as well as congenial. Wish there had been a ceiling fan in the room, even though it was cool enough. Be prepared to pay for beach chairs and if you want something like tea in your room, you will need to ask daily. Overall a great place and we were very happy to have stayed here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Sea Side Grill is basic but clean. The food was graciously portioned and very good. More reasonably priced than most in the area. Don't bother with the popular place, "Eggs N Things", not worth the wait , food not so good.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
California2013
California
Jan 24, 2014

Perfect location

Location doesn't get better.. The spa is also great. Definitely worth the splurge

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
Miabs
Oregon
Dec 28, 2013

Beautiful!

This is exactly the type of hotel and experience that we love. True character in the building and the staff. While the location was a bit overwhelming, the hotel was a beautiful oasis. The hotel was the best part of our time in Honolulu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Talk with the staff...anything and everything, they will handle it for you.

Back to menu Return to top