$325 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 25, 2014 Check-out: Sep 28, 2014

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

4 stars
2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
282 reviews
Great location

Centrally located, historical site and our room was upgraded. See full review

  • Peewee
  • Jul 7, 2014
A great way to enjoy Honolulu

Even though we toured several parts of the area, we always looked forward to returning to our hotel See full review

  • Aloha Practician
  • May 25, 2014
'The First Lady of Waikiki' was constructed at the turn of the 20th century, and the Moana Surfrider lives up to her elegant name as a Waikiki beachfront property. Upon arrival, you'll be treated to a signature Westin elixir, a fragrant flower lei, and a refreshingly chilled towel. Catch a great night's sleep on your Westin Heavenly Bed, and soak up traditional Hawaiian healing techniques and treatments inside Waikiki's only beachfront spa. High-end toiletries, superior linens, and comfortable bathrobes adorn the accommodations, while the refurbished lobby features hardwood floors, along with new fixtures and fittings.
Key facts
  • Guestrooms inside three wings: Diamond Wing, Banyan Wing and Tower Wing
  • Moana Lani Spa
  • Bars and restaurants: Beachhouse at the Moana, Bin1901, Veranda at the Beachhouse, Beach Bar
  • Wedding venue facilities
  • Meeting spaces and conference area
  • Banyan Courtyard
Neighborhood
The central Waikiki location of the Moana Surfrider Westin Resort and Spa affords visitors easy access to a range of beach-related activities. Snorkeling adventures, surf lessons, and outrigger canoe rides can be experienced within steps of the resort. After riding the waves, enjoy six floors of retail therapy and eateries at the Waikiki Shopping Plaza down the street.
Hints and tips
The Banyan Courtyard is a popular place to relax under the trees while sipping umbrella drinks and enjoying live music, along with occasional hula dancing.

Book a room in the Tower Wing for balcony views.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.2765 -157.8265
Area served
Honolulu Oahu Hawaii. Waikiki Beach
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL 10 Miles
Area description
Waikiki Beach, International Market-225ft, Pearl Harbor-10mi, Honolulu Zoo-0.3mi, Kapiolani Park-0.4mi, Ala Moana Shopping Center-2mi,Aloha Tower-4mi, Aloha Stadium-10mi, Hanama Bay-12mi, North Shore 35mi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa Rooms

Ocean View Room
Enjoy sweeping views of the Pacific Ocean from your spacious guest room. The contemporary Hawaiian decor is complemented by two double or king size Heavenly Beds, a 32 inch flat screen TV, a comfortable chair, a writing desk (with high-speed internet access available at an extra charge) and chair, and a hardwood dresser. The bathrooms feature Westin's Heavenly BathEamenities. Additional features include a coffee maker, cable TV, and a refrigerator.
City View Room
Enjoy sweeping views of Honolulu from your spacious and newly renovated guest room. The contemporary decor is complemented by a king size Heavenly Beds, Flat Screen 32 inch TV, a comfortable chair, a writing desk (with HSIA - surcharge) and chair, a hardwood dresser, and modern tile-floored baths with heavenly bath with granite counters - all accented in a Hawaiian motif. (264 square feet). Additional features include coffee maker, cable, and refrigerator.
Banyan Classic Ocean Club
All guests booking this category will have access to the Beach Club.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.6 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.7 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.8 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 0.9 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.4 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 3 mi
  • Washington Place: 3 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.2 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.3 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.3 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.5 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.6 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.7 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.2 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.2 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.4 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.3 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.7 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10.1 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Ballroom provides the flexibility to comfortably accommodate groups of up to 250. Our private beach area also allows you to have the perfect sunset Barbecue for a group of up to 75 persons.

Dining

The Veranda
Offering an oceanfront and guest-centric breakfast, Banyan Veranda also offers a traditional yet savvy during our Afternoon Tea in homage to a long established tradition here at the Moana. Breakfast will be available Monday-Friday from 6 - 11 am Afternoon Tea will be available Monday - Friday 12:00 - 3:00 pm
The Beach Bar
Located just steps away from the beautiful sands of Waikiki Beach, the oceanfront Beach Bar is an ideal setting for enjoying the Waikiki scenery while sipping on your favorite tropical beverage, or nibbling on delicious grilled pupus (appetizers).

Open from 10:30 a.m. to 12:00 a.m.; hot grilled appetizers and other selections available from 10:30 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.
beachhouse at the Moana
beachhouse is Moana's premier dinner concept a contemporary Island-style steakhouse. Guests will be treated to exceptional cuisine in an oceanfront surrounding that replenishes the spirit. Life, like food, usually needs a little spice. The menu at beachhouse delivers culinary delights for every palette. The top of the food chain starts here! Dinner service 5:30-10pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1202

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (282)

Ratings and reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
282 out of 282
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Peewee
Business
Manhattan beach, ca
Jul 7, 2014

Great location

Centrally located, historical site and our room was upgraded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Public transportation is really good.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aloha Practician
Massillon, OH
May 25, 2014

A great way to enjoy Honolulu

Even though we toured several parts of the area, we always looked forward to returning to our hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Try to set these up as far in advance as possible

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dafootdr
Maui, HI
Apr 21, 2014

On the BEACH!

Not many hotels can claim to be on the beach like this place. Its right in the middle of Waikiki. Right in the middle of all the shopping. The Hotel is old, but clean and nice. The beds and shower are awesome. Liked it a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Juliette's mom
Los Angeles, ca
Apr 19, 2014

Beautiful

The service is impeccable. Food is delicious. Hotel is breathtakingly beautiful. I won't stay anywhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gail49
Kalamazoo Mi
Mar 21, 2014

Moans Surfrider

The hotel was lovely. Rooms were very clean and the beds and linen were luxurious. The beach was amazing and the hotel was right in the middle of everything. There was a $30 per day "resort fee" that was tacked on per day that was not a value for me. All in all very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lozzy P
Sydney
Mar 15, 2014

The best hotel in Waikiki

We've just come back from 6 nights in Waikiki. I've stayed at a few hotels there now (this was my 6th visit) and you really can't go past this hotel. I looked everywhere before we left to get a good deal on a room at the Moana, knowing that it is the best hotel in the best location on the beach, and couldn't find anything below $600 per room per night for a partial ocean view, until I jumped on to this website and got a room for half this price. Wonderful! We were then upgraded to a full ocean view room in the Diamond Wing on the 5th floor which was sensational. The room looked newly refurbished and reminded me of a beach house with rocking chairs looking out onto the balcony which has full views of the beach up to diamond head. The room was clean and the beds and pillows are Heavenly.. literally! They pride themselves on their comfort and they are second only to your bed at home. This trip confirmed that the Moana is by far the best spot to stay in Waikiki. Worth noting I have stayed at the Outrigger on the beach (with Duke's), The Grand Hyatt and the Waikiki Parc before and the Moana trumps them all, easily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

When dining in the hotel for breakfast, when the buffet option is included, remember that you can ask the waiter to have the kitchen make you an omelette fresh - at no extra charge.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ns1183
California
Mar 10, 2014

beautiful hotel

Beautiful hotel on the best location in all of Waikiki. It may seem pricey, but having stayed at most of the other beach front hotels in Waikiki, when comparing them to the Moana, the slight increase is more than worth it. The rooms are comfortable, the staff is kind , attentive and helpful. The old Hawaii feel embraces you from the minute you walk in. The location is the best in all of Waikiki. I go to Waikiki a lot, and hope I never have to stay anywhere else again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Sorabol Korean BBQ. 5 minute cab ride, open 24 hours. Full bar. Great food, great prices.

Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rich and Alison
San Francisco
Mar 9, 2014

Room choice is key

We had two different rooms while we were there. Try to get the tower and not the main hotel rooms. The tower is nicely upgraded. The rooms are bigger and even the TVs work better. If you are not traveling with children this is the spot! All the hotels in the area are the same except this one. It has charm and character. The service was exceptional. The hotel in the gym was good and served it purpose. I highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beach Mama Rob
Hermosa Beach, CA
Mar 7, 2014

A Perfect Mother/Daughter Get-Away

Sixth year heading to the Moana Surfrider for my daughter and I to spend special time together. We ALWAYS have the best time. Beautiful hotel, amazing location, and the staff remembers us each year with lovely "welcomes". Our room had two rocking chairs overlooking the beautiful beach and ocean....such tranquility. I can't wait until next year!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hang Loose 2
Seattle
Mar 1, 2014

High expectations - did not disappoint!

Always wanted to stay here since a vacation to HI on the Lurline! Yes, the Matson ship we traveled on when I was 12 yrs old. Beautiful building and setting. Absolutely first class, from the greeting with fresh leis as we dropped off our luggage to the Alohas and Mahalos as we we were leaving. Room was not ready at 3pm so the front desk manager took us to the beach bar and authorized what ever we wanted to drink while we enjoyed the view. 15 minutes later he came to tell us it was ready. Room was one of the less expensive, in the older part of hotel (which I remembered and liked) and very nice. The "resort fee" actually comes with value, especially if you have a rental car to park (included). The location is the heart of Waikiki. This was the first hotel, built 100 years ago. Stay here if it works with your budget. You will have fond memories!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lulu's restaurant for breakfast or lunch. We did not eat dinner there. It is on the second floor with open air, covered dining. Order a single breakfast to share plus a side of extra meat, fruit, or toast. It's plenty for two. Same with the lunch at the Cheesecake factory 'next door' to the Moana.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search