Kuhio Banyan Club

3 stars
2310 Kuhio Ave., Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
31 reviews
30th birthday

The staff was very friendly. They helped me get a discs for the luau on my 30th birthday. Only... See full review

  • Miss Lita
  • Dec 29, 2014
reasonable/comfortable

It's not a fancy hotel, but it was comfortable. Just a couple blocks from the beach, in the middle... See full review

  • Miss Lita
  • Jun 21, 2014
Kuhio Banyan Club is an all-kitchenette boutique resort located less than 1-1/2 blocks from spectacular Waikiki Beach, the International Market Place, the Royal Hawaii Shopping Center, many fine restaurants, discos, nightclubs, and exciting shows such as the legendary Society of Seven and The Magic of Polynesia. The Kuhio Banyan Club offers traditional Hawaiian hospitality and customer service, with complimentary flower-lei greeting and chocolates upon check-in. Beach towels, beach chairs, mats, umbrellas, coolers, boogie boards, irons, ironing boards, blow dryers, local calls, and in-room safe are provided free-of-charge. Our friendly staff will help you find all the fun our tropical paradise offers, from exotic out-of-the-way restaurants to the best spots for surfing, skin diving, and watching the sun set on a romantic, deserted beach. Make the Kuhio Banyan Club your home-away-from-home. Please Note- front desk hours are 7am-10pm. Please call before arrival for smoking room availability. A refundable USD 250.00 deposit is required at check-in. Our elevator is scheduled for repairs beginning on Monday,11/24/2014 and should be completed by Monday,12/22/2014 Front Desk Operations close at 10:00 PM, special arrangement may be made in advanced for arrivals after 10:00 PM. If advance arrangements have not been made it may not be possible to check-in and/or additional fees may apply. Unfortunately our elevator will be down during this time so our customers will have to take the stairs to get to and from their rooms.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kuhio Banyan Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Kuhio Banyan Club Rooms

Studio unit
Studio units offer cable TV, stereo, safe, AC, small refrigerator, two burner stove, microwave and breakfast bar. Unit bedding includes a sofa sleeper and a murphy bed. The max occupancy for this unit is 2.

Amenities

General
Concierge
Activities
Spa
Services
Business center

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.6 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.6 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.8 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.8 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.8 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.1 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.1 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.2 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.4 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.4 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.6 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.4 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.3 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.4 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.1 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.4 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (31)

Ratings and reviews for Kuhio Banyan Club

Overall score

2 / 5
5.01.0
4 out of 31
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2.8
Value:
2.8
Sort by:
Review of Kuhio Banyan Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gab0000
Business
Sydney, Australia
Aug 14, 2014

Older apartments

These units are circa 1970s but are cheap for 1 night if you can handle the air conditioner and street noise and neighbour noise.the ladies at reception are lovely though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kuhio Banyan Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Honeybookums
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Mar 17, 2014

Don't bother.

I rented this hotel room for my daughter for her 18th birthday. Although she had friends visiting throughout the night, I feel they were discriminated against and singled out as trouble-makers before their stay even began. The deposit they ask for is more than twice the amount of the room itself and is so not worth the trouble. It seems as though they will find any discrepancy to keep that ridiculous deposit so I warn you that you are better off spending your money at another hotel period! I have rented other rooms, at a higher price, and their deposit is not nearly that of this simple hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kuhio Banyan Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gigman
Business
Manitoba, Canada
Feb 25, 2013

Value and Location

Nothing pretty; but a reasonable rate in an adequate accommodation with kitchenette; Murphy bed and daybed. Staff were exceptional; courteous and friendly; provided us with a shower room to utilize later in the day; and bell service for our luggage after checkout as we had a late flight home. Excellent location near Waikiki beach and the retail strip including International marketplace.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Free WiFi at Starbucks across the street. Best seafood and breakfast at food-court of International marketplace.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kuhio Banyan Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Mar 22, 2011

Very mediocre experience

Upon arriving to the Hotel, we were first taken by its location - next door to a very loud, trashy club and many prostitutes. Our flight had taken longer than expected and we arrived after the office had closed - the door was locked. A security guard informed us that we needed to have called ahead of time if we were to be arriving late -[...] He proceeded to tell us that in order to be let in, we had to pay a cash-only non-refundable fee of $45 despite the fact that the room was paid in full weeks prior. Unable to go anywhere else and receive a refund for the hotel, we were forced to pay the $45 dollars to check into our room. After sifting through emails and links, I finally found the policy hidden on their website[...]The room claimed to sleep upwards of 4 guests (which we had), but the room only has one bed. The two couches had twin mattresses beneath the cushions, one of which had to be pulled out from under a table. Needless to say, it was a good thing we were all friends - it was a tight squeeze to get us all in there. The staff was mediocre, friendly on occasion, but nothing special and after charging me an extra $45, I was expecting at least decent service. The maid service only came around once in the 5 days we stayed, which was not expressed to us either. The maid told us that because she came around on Friday, that was all we got. The room was a cluttered mess by the end of the weekend and we had to request towels and toilet paper on more than one occasion.The only redeemable qualities were the kitchen, complete with burners, fridge, microwave, toaster, plates and utensils and it was very close to the beach. We were also allowed to stay in our hotel room an extra half day as our flight leaving HI didn't leave until 10pm. Other than that it was a very disappointing experience that was extremely frustrating at times. I will definitely not be returning to the Banyan Club and I urge you to ignore the decent price and move down the street for only a fraction more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top