$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 17, 2015 Check-out: May 19, 2015

Kuhio Banyan Club

3 stars
View map of 2310 Kuhio Ave., Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
41 reviews
Clean

Little old, nice location ,friendly staff , room very clean See full review

  • Mekonen S.
  • Mar 19, 2015
Nice location

Affordable and close to the beach and shopping. Budget for your pocket. See full review

  • Ilovewaikiki
  • Feb 13, 2015
Kuhio Banyan Club is an all-kitchenette boutique resort located less than 1-1/2 blocks from spectacular Waikiki Beach, the International Market Place, the Royal Hawaii Shopping Center, many fine restaurants, discos, nightclubs, and exciting shows such as the legendary Society of Seven and The Magic of Polynesia. The Kuhio Banyan Club offers traditional Hawaiian hospitality and customer service, with complimentary flower-lei greeting and chocolates upon check-in. Beach towels, beach chairs, mats, umbrellas, coolers, boogie boards, irons, ironing boards, blow dryers, local calls, and in-room safe are provided free-of-charge. Our friendly staff will help you find all the fun our tropical paradise offers, from exotic out-of-the-way restaurants to the best spots for surfing, skin diving, and watching the sun set on a romantic, deserted beach. Make the Kuhio Banyan Club your home-away-from-home. Please Note- front desk hours are 7am-10pm. Please call before arrival for smoking room availability. A refundable USD 250.00 deposit is required at check-in. Our elevator is scheduled for repairs beginning on Monday,11/24/2014 and should be completed by Monday,12/22/2014 Front Desk Operations close at 10:00 PM, special arrangement may be made in advanced for arrivals after 10:00 PM. If advance arrangements have not been made it may not be possible to check-in and/or additional fees may apply. Unfortunately our elevator will be down during this time so our customers will have to take the stairs to get to and from their rooms.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kuhio Banyan Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Kuhio Banyan Club Rooms

Studio unit
Studio units offer cable TV, stereo, safe, AC, small refrigerator, two burner stove, microwave and breakfast bar. Unit bedding includes a sofa sleeper and a murphy bed. The max occupancy for this unit is 2.

Amenities

General
Concierge
Activities
Spa
Services
Business center

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.6 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.8 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.6 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.8 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.8 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.8 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.1 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.1 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.2 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.4 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.4 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.6 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.4 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.3 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.4 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.1 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.4 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.5 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
10:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Kuhio Banyan Club

Overall score

2.2 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 41
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
2.5
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.2

50% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kuhio Banyan Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sseeoonn
Business
Anahola, HI
Nov 5, 2014

Good value

Rooms were clean, Staff was friendly and helpful, but you really are just getting what you pay for in terms of location, amenities, room decor, views, etc. Over-all, for the price, was a good place to stay and we would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Legends Sports Club across the street to the SE (?) has pretty inexpensive drinks if you just want to watch a game without spending a bunch of money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kuhio Banyan Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jessibear
Business
San francisco
Jul 29, 2014

Great location, in need of up dateing

I have stayed here many times and its always been funky and nothing fancy but it seems to have gone down hill a bit in the last few years. You cant beat the price or location. If only the bed had been marginally more comfortable it would have made a world of difference. It was way too hard and slanted down so it was really hard to sleep through the night. I can only recommend this place with a warning that yes its a great location for Waikiki but be warned you may not sleep well and its not a good room to hang out in. only stay here if its all you can afford and bring your own pillow!!!! I really hope they remodel here since they are re doing the market place this place could really use a face lift!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

right in front of the banyan is this udon place that is to die for! when your staying at the banyan its easy to drop in when there's a short wait and even take it back to the room and enjoy the delicious udon in your ACed room as the restaurant is HOT.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kuhio Banyan Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Erik W
Business
Riverside, Ca
Apr 5, 2014

Good Price and Location

Not the Ritz Carlton But the Price is Right and its close to everything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to most everything. Beach, Food Entertainment

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kuhio Banyan Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LOST SOALS
Business
Calgary Alberta
Mar 20, 2014

UNSAFE

Arrived at 10.00 pm nite . No lobby open. No parking at entrance to unload. Lots people of nite at entrance. On door said lobby closed. Security in area said he might be able to get key for 45 dollars. Was most unsafe hotel we ever been near. Thank God we did not book our time share for week at this place. We were on road for 18 hours so we slept and very tired so slept in car till the next day Please help R+K

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kuhio Banyan Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hassay
Business
Newjersey USA
Dec 20, 2011

Good location and good value,very short walk to beach

Good staff, careing and helpfull I will stay in that hotel again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kuhio Banyan Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ushbebe2
Business
Molokai, Hawaii, USA
Dec 5, 2011

Perfect location... Could use some minor upgrades

The location was perfect... Walking to the beach. Night life action was great. The rooms could have been a little more up to date. The tv wasn't plugged in... Lol no iron... Other than that. It was ok. Thank u also, no maid service came to clean...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kuhio Banyan Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Allen C
Business
RI USA
Feb 25, 2011

Don't stay here

Bed folded into the wall, leg was broken and needed end tables to hold it up. Cleaned the room and changed the towels just once a week. View to a roof next door. Very noisy and hard to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Market place had the best deals and you can easily talk the price down on most items.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kuhio Banyan Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Allen C
Business
RI USA
Feb 25, 2011

Don't stay here

Bed folded into the wall, leg was broken and needed end tables to hold it up. Cleaned the room and changed the towels just once a week. View to a roof next door. Very noisy and hard to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Market place had the best deals and you can easily talk the price down on most items.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kuhio Banyan Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
on the john
Business
Salt Lake City
Nov 17, 2010

Pleasant Surprise

We couldn't find anything else at short notice, and we are glad because this place was better than we could have hoped for. Clean, friendly staff, the room had a mini kitchen in it too which was great. The beach, restaurants and shopping were all within walking distance. This will be our first choice next time we are in Waikiki.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kuhio Banyan Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Aug 10, 2010

Worst hotel experience of my life

We arrived at 1015pm after a flight delay. One entrance was blocked with a metal fence. The other entrance was locked with a massive security guard in from of it. Very bad neigborhood at night. He told us we arrived to late and we could not check in unless he called someone in from home and we had to pay an extra $45.00 cash. I explained we were prepaid with [...], but he told us we could not get in without the extra $45.00 cash. With no other option we paid the extra money and waited 45 min in an unsafe nieghborhood for a clerk to arrive. The clerk said we had to pay an additional $250.00security deposit or she would not let us in. I again showed her the [...] pre-pay print out but she insisted on another $250.00. I did not have that much money on my person so she reluctantly let us in saying we would have to take care of it in the morning or leave. Our room did not have a regular bed, just one that folded down from the wall. The carpet was dirty. It was a key lock with no deadbolt so we slept with a chair in front of the door.In the morning they called and asked for the extra $250.00 again which I told them I was not going to pay as it was prepaid and I did not have the money. I called [...] who tried to assist, but was unable convince the clerk, and we agreed to talk to the manager when she arrived at 2pm. At 2 pm I worked with another [...] repreentative who was unable to rectify the situation and was given a supervisor. After 1 hour 20 min on the phone [...] guaranteed the extra 250.00, but that was a terrible interaction interferring with my vacation.I have done a lot of traveling in Europe, and the United states and have never had such poor customer service. I travel about 8 times a year and often prepay on line.I don't recommend this place to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Loud bar and strip joint within one half block. You can hear bottles clanging until 2 am.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top