Kuhio Banyan Club

3 stars
2310 Kuhio Ave., Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.2
out of 5
30 reviews
reasonable/comfortable

It's not a fancy hotel, but it was comfortable. Just a couple blocks from the beach, in the middle... See full review

  • Miss Lita
  • Jun 21, 2014
Good location and good value,very short walk to beach

Good staff, careing and helpfull I will stay in that hotel again See full review

  • hassay
  • Dec 20, 2011
Kuhio Banyan Club is an all-kitchenette boutique resort located less than 1-1/2 blocks from spectacular Waikiki Beach, the International Market Place, the Royal Hawaii Shopping Center, many fine restaurants, discos, nightclubs, and exciting shows such as the legendary Society of Seven and The Magic of Polynesia. The Kuhio Banyan Club offers traditional Hawaiian hospitality and customer service, with complimentary flower-lei greeting and chocolates upon check-in. Beach towels, beach chairs, mats, umbrellas, coolers, boogie boards, irons, ironing boards, blow dryers, local calls, and in-room safe are provided free-of-charge. Our friendly staff will help you find all the fun our tropical paradise offers, from exotic out-of-the-way restaurants to the best spots for surfing, skin diving, and watching the sun set on a romantic, deserted beach. Make the Kuhio Banyan Club your home-away-from-home. Please Note- front desk hours are 7am-10pm. Please call before arrival for smoking room availability. A refundable USD 250.00 deposit is required at check-in. Our elevator is scheduled for repairs beginning on Monday,11/24/2014 and should be completed by Monday,12/22/2014 Front Desk Operations close at 10:00 PM, special arrangement may be made in advanced for arrivals after 10:00 PM. If advance arrangements have not been made it may not be possible to check-in and/or additional fees may apply. Unfortunately our elevator will be down during this time so our customers will have to take the stairs to get to and from their rooms.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kuhio Banyan Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Kuhio Banyan Club Rooms

Studio unit
Studio units offer cable TV, stereo, safe, AC, small refrigerator, two burner stove, microwave and breakfast bar. Unit bedding includes a sofa sleeper and a murphy bed.

Amenities

General
Concierge
Activities
Spa
Services
Business center

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.6 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.6 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.6 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.8 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.8 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.8 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.1 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.1 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.2 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.4 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.4 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.6 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.4 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.3 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.3 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.4 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.1 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.4 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.4 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (30)

Ratings and reviews for Kuhio Banyan Club

Overall score

2.2 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
2.2
Room cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
3.2
Value:
3

50% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kuhio Banyan Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pelvis boy
Business
Culiaca, Mexico
Jul 26, 2010

Kuhio Banyan Club, not worth it..

Scary hotel, location was perfect, beware of the prostitution in the street for those who travel with childrens

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Just walk around and you will see everything in Waikiki beach..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kuhio Banyan Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Allen C
Business
RI USA
Feb 25, 2011

Don't stay here

Bed folded into the wall, leg was broken and needed end tables to hold it up. Cleaned the room and changed the towels just once a week. View to a roof next door. Very noisy and hard to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Market place had the best deals and you can easily talk the price down on most items.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kuhio Banyan Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ano123456
Business
New York
Nov 26, 2012

Worst hotel experience ever

Don't stay in this hotel if you don't want to ruin your vacation. This is the worst hotel experience ever!!! Upon arriving to the Hotel, we found that the office had closed and the door was locked. We could not check in. A guy claimed that he is the security guard, and asked for $45 in cash to call someone to come to open the door. This is ridiculous. Plus he did not show any proof that he is associated with the hotel in any way. We could not trust him. We request a refund for the room that we were unable to use because the hotel was closed. They refused to refund and were very rude to us. BTW, the location is not that great. Very noisy. Does not look safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kuhio Banyan Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Honeybookums
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Mar 17, 2014

Don't bother.

I rented this hotel room for my daughter for her 18th birthday. Although she had friends visiting throughout the night, I feel they were discriminated against and singled out as trouble-makers before their stay even began. The deposit they ask for is more than twice the amount of the room itself and is so not worth the trouble. It seems as though they will find any discrepancy to keep that ridiculous deposit so I warn you that you are better off spending your money at another hotel period! I have rented other rooms, at a higher price, and their deposit is not nearly that of this simple hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kuhio Banyan Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LOST SOALS
Business
Calgary Alberta
Mar 20, 2014

UNSAFE

Arrived at 10.00 pm nite . No lobby open. No parking at entrance to unload. Lots people of nite at entrance. On door said lobby closed. Security in area said he might be able to get key for 45 dollars. Was most unsafe hotel we ever been near. Thank God we did not book our time share for week at this place. We were on road for 18 hours so we slept and very tired so slept in car till the next day Please help R+K

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kuhio Banyan Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travel Advisor 911
Business
Utah
Mar 23, 2014

Stay Far Far Away!

1st - Note the lobby hours are from 7am til 10pm. If your flying into Honolulu late, you'd be best to stay away from here. I arrived 15 minutes late, had to call around to find someone to open the lobby, paid an additional $45 for the person to come down, and was not greeted with a complimentary flower lei and chocolates but a disgruntled employee. The deposit is outrageous. The rooms are dated and dirty. The bed is like sleeping on the cardboard box. Oh, and did I mention,"there's no parking!" You have to park in a commercial loading zone to check in. I was so worried that they'd tow me. Then your choices are park at a garage that's a block a way for $15, park at a meter, or park 2 blocks away along the waterfront. Any way you look at it, the situation stinks! stinks! STINKS! STAY AWAY!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Stay AWAY!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kuhio Banyan Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TLovv
Business
San Diego
Jun 4, 2014

Suck

Never will I stay at this ghetto place again. Location was not good at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kuhio Banyan Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Mar 22, 2011

Very mediocre experience

Upon arriving to the Hotel, we were first taken by its location - next door to a very loud, trashy club and many prostitutes. Our flight had taken longer than expected and we arrived after the office had closed - the door was locked. A security guard informed us that we needed to have called ahead of time if we were to be arriving late -[...] He proceeded to tell us that in order to be let in, we had to pay a cash-only non-refundable fee of $45 despite the fact that the room was paid in full weeks prior. Unable to go anywhere else and receive a refund for the hotel, we were forced to pay the $45 dollars to check into our room. After sifting through emails and links, I finally found the policy hidden on their website[...]The room claimed to sleep upwards of 4 guests (which we had), but the room only has one bed. The two couches had twin mattresses beneath the cushions, one of which had to be pulled out from under a table. Needless to say, it was a good thing we were all friends - it was a tight squeeze to get us all in there. The staff was mediocre, friendly on occasion, but nothing special and after charging me an extra $45, I was expecting at least decent service. The maid service only came around once in the 5 days we stayed, which was not expressed to us either. The maid told us that because she came around on Friday, that was all we got. The room was a cluttered mess by the end of the weekend and we had to request towels and toilet paper on more than one occasion.The only redeemable qualities were the kitchen, complete with burners, fridge, microwave, toaster, plates and utensils and it was very close to the beach. We were also allowed to stay in our hotel room an extra half day as our flight leaving HI didn't leave until 10pm. Other than that it was a very disappointing experience that was extremely frustrating at times. I will definitely not be returning to the Banyan Club and I urge you to ignore the decent price and move down the street for only a fraction more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kuhio Banyan Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Aug 10, 2010

Worst hotel experience of my life

We arrived at 1015pm after a flight delay. One entrance was blocked with a metal fence. The other entrance was locked with a massive security guard in from of it. Very bad neigborhood at night. He told us we arrived to late and we could not check in unless he called someone in from home and we had to pay an extra $45.00 cash. I explained we were prepaid with [...], but he told us we could not get in without the extra $45.00 cash. With no other option we paid the extra money and waited 45 min in an unsafe nieghborhood for a clerk to arrive. The clerk said we had to pay an additional $250.00security deposit or she would not let us in. I again showed her the [...] pre-pay print out but she insisted on another $250.00. I did not have that much money on my person so she reluctantly let us in saying we would have to take care of it in the morning or leave. Our room did not have a regular bed, just one that folded down from the wall. The carpet was dirty. It was a key lock with no deadbolt so we slept with a chair in front of the door.In the morning they called and asked for the extra $250.00 again which I told them I was not going to pay as it was prepaid and I did not have the money. I called [...] who tried to assist, but was unable convince the clerk, and we agreed to talk to the manager when she arrived at 2pm. At 2 pm I worked with another [...] repreentative who was unable to rectify the situation and was given a supervisor. After 1 hour 20 min on the phone [...] guaranteed the extra 250.00, but that was a terrible interaction interferring with my vacation.I have done a lot of traveling in Europe, and the United states and have never had such poor customer service. I travel about 8 times a year and often prepay on line.I don't recommend this place to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Loud bar and strip joint within one half block. You can hear bottles clanging until 2 am.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kuhio Banyan Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston
Jun 13, 2010

Ugly !!!!

The staff was very helpfull but the room was not what I expected at all. Very loud late at night, very dirty carpet and when it was time to check out at 5am the office was closed...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top