Ilima Hotel

2 stars
445 Nohonani, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
26 reviews
Great value for money

Friendly staff, great value and location, free parking! See full review

  • tri traveller
  • Oct 17, 2012
Retired Couple Holiday

We were very pleased with our stay at the Ilima. We had a Deluxe King Studio, which was spacious,... See full review

  • Busy retirees
  • Sep 20, 2012

The 'Ilima Hotel is centrally located in the heart of Waikiki. Value-minded travelers will find spacious 530 sq ft studios with a fully equipped kitchen, air conditioning, and daily maid service. The hotel has two rooftop sun decks, a cozy heated pool, sauna, and exercise room. Free high-speed cable internet access and Cal King beds in deluxe units only.

Limited Free Parking available, but not guaranteed

Hotel Map

21.2806 -157.8254
Area served
Honolulu - Central Waikiki
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport - 7 Miles-HNL
Area description
The international Market place and Royal Hawaiian Shopping centre, Movie theatres, Restaurants, Exciting nightlife, Kapi'olani Park, Honolulu Zoo, Duty free shopping, Ala Moana Shopping Center and 18 Hole Ala Wai Public Golf Course.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ilima Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Ilima Hotel Rooms

Standard Studio
Studio with 2 double beds includes a writing desk, dining table with 2 chairs, full kitchen, private lanai with table and 2 chairs. Located on floors 4 and 5. Includes free unlimited high speed internet.
Deluxe Studio
Studio with 1 king and 1 double bed includes a writing desk, dining table with 2 chairs, full kitchen, private lanai with table and 2 chairs. City and mountain views. Located on floors 10-16. Includes free unlimited high speed internet.
Superior Studio
Studio with 2 double beds includes a writing desk, dining table with 2 chairs, full kitchen, private lanai with table and 2 chairs. City and mountain views. Located on floors 6-9. Includes free unlimited high speed internet.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.2 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.5 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.8 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.1 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.6 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.6 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.7 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.8 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.8 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.8 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.1 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.1 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.2 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.2 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.4 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.4 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.5 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.5 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 3.9 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.8 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.4 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.8 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.1 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.2 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.3 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.4 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.5 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.6 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.8 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.1 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.3 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.4 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Fully equipped Conference Facilites for up to 50 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (26)

Ratings and reviews for Ilima Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 26
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ilima Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JOHNNY 70
UPPER MARLBORO MD
Jul 22, 2011

great place to stay

everyone in the hotel was very helpfull and made you feel very much at home and not as a quest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

plan your time the first day or before you get to your location

Review of Ilima Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
NH
May 29, 2011

Very Clean & Friendly

Nice location for shopping and restaurants, a little far from the beach. Loved the free parking. The hotel is showing it's age, the room was clean and the staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Ilima Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
West Orange, NJ
Jan 31, 2011

Good location for the price

This is a very good bargain for the price. Clean, convenient and centrally located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Ilima Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Virginia
Jan 23, 2011

Wonderful family getaway

Good location for shopping, sightsing, and beach going. The staff is very friendly and full of Aloha spirit. Lei making class was marvelous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Ilima Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SusJoy
Arlington, VA
Jan 18, 2011

Clean and functional

This hotel is in need of some updating but it served its purpose. We knew it was clean by the strong smell of bleach in the room which lingered the two days we were there. It's close to the dining and shopping of downtown Waikiki and a short walk to the beach, but far enough away from the action that it's quiet at night. The beds are comfortable and there was plenty of hot water. The pool is miniscule. It was nice to have towels and straw mats we could bring to the beach with us. I thought it to be a bit pricey to be off the main drag but overall it was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Ilima Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deb249
Pittsburgh, Pa.
Nov 30, 2010

Excellent choice

This is the second time we have stayed at the Ilima. The first time was about 15 years ago with our kids and the room was quite large to accomodate all the luggage and kids. We just got back from a second stay at the Ilima, and we were blown away. Granted this is an older hotel but the rooms are huge by comparasion to other downtown hotels. It is in a great location and the hotel was spotless. The housekeeping dept.is to be commended, you could eat off their floors. Would highly recommend staying here!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ilima Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
fantomfan
Pasadena California
Oct 14, 2009

Comfortable in Waikiki

Having stayed at the hotel many times I was not pleased with the Standard room; I have always stayed in a Deluxe room and was able to upgrade after a couple of days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking is free at the Ilima. A meaningful savings considering the cost of parking in Waikiki.

Review of Ilima Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michael
Not Provided
Oct 13, 2009

Room size with the added advantage

Room size with the added advantage of a small kitchen area is the best feature of this property. Found that service levels varied with each staff member. May consider staying again but would probably look elsewhere first

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Ilima Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Redondo Beach
Oct 6, 2009

Spacious affordable Waikiki room

The Ilima hotel is in a great location near the International Market Place and within a few minutes walking distance to the beach. The room was large and clean, the staff was friendly and knowledgable and it was great to save money by cooking some of our meals. Parking is also free. The pool and fitness room were samll but you do not need these amenities when you can swim and surf in the ocean or hike Diamond head. This h

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Free parking

Review of Ilima Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RobNLyn
Treasure Coast, FL
Sep 2, 2009

Great Vacation Location

We had a great time, and the Ilima Hotel was perfectly located. It was just a short walk to the beach, shops, restaurants etc, but far enough way to have very little street noise. The room we were in was clean and had everything we needed to cook our own meals. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We didn't read the welcome pack for the first few days, so didn't realise there was a sun deck on the 10th floor until then, and when we used it we were the only ones on it. Our only complaint would be that the bed was a little on the hard side for us, but I think that is because of what we are used to at home. There really isn't anything else we could say badly against this hotel. We had a wonderful time and the staff were very helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We wanted to go to Cheesecake Factory on the night of our anniversary, but there was an hour waiting time. One of the hostesses passed along this hint. They are busiest between 6-9pm every night, so if you don't want to wait go before 6pm or after 9pm. Better yet you can go and put your name on the waiting list and they'll give you a buzzer for when your table is ready. You can then go for a walk around or do some shopping until your table is ready.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search