Ilima Hotel

2 stars
View map of 445 Nohonani, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ilima Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 18
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ilima Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Jan 23, 2011

Wonderful family getaway

Good location for shopping, sightsing, and beach going. The staff is very friendly and full of Aloha spirit. Lei making class was marvelous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ilima Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SusJoy
Business
Arlington, VA
Jan 18, 2011

Clean and functional

This hotel is in need of some updating but it served its purpose. We knew it was clean by the strong smell of bleach in the room which lingered the two days we were there. It's close to the dining and shopping of downtown Waikiki and a short walk to the beach, but far enough away from the action that it's quiet at night. The beds are comfortable and there was plenty of hot water. The pool is miniscule. It was nice to have towels and straw mats we could bring to the beach with us. I thought it to be a bit pricey to be off the main drag but overall it was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ilima Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deb249
Business
Pittsburgh, Pa.
Nov 30, 2010

Excellent choice

This is the second time we have stayed at the Ilima. The first time was about 15 years ago with our kids and the room was quite large to accomodate all the luggage and kids. We just got back from a second stay at the Ilima, and we were blown away. Granted this is an older hotel but the rooms are huge by comparasion to other downtown hotels. It is in a great location and the hotel was spotless. The housekeeping dept.is to be commended, you could eat off their floors. Would highly recommend staying here!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ilima Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
fantomfan
Business
Pasadena California
Oct 14, 2009

Comfortable in Waikiki

Having stayed at the hotel many times I was not pleased with the Standard room; I have always stayed in a Deluxe room and was able to upgrade after a couple of days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking is free at the Ilima. A meaningful savings considering the cost of parking in Waikiki.

Review of Ilima Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Redondo Beach
Oct 6, 2009

Spacious affordable Waikiki room

The Ilima hotel is in a great location near the International Market Place and within a few minutes walking distance to the beach. The room was large and clean, the staff was friendly and knowledgable and it was great to save money by cooking some of our meals. Parking is also free. The pool and fitness room were samll but you do not need these amenities when you can swim and surf in the ocean or hike Diamond head. This h

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Free parking

Review of Ilima Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RobNLyn
Business
Treasure Coast, FL
Sep 2, 2009

Great Vacation Location

We had a great time, and the Ilima Hotel was perfectly located. It was just a short walk to the beach, shops, restaurants etc, but far enough way to have very little street noise. The room we were in was clean and had everything we needed to cook our own meals. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We didn't read the welcome pack for the first few days, so didn't realise there was a sun deck on the 10th floor until then, and when we used it we were the only ones on it. Our only complaint would be that the bed was a little on the hard side for us, but I think that is because of what we are used to at home. There really isn't anything else we could say badly against this hotel. We had a wonderful time and the staff were very helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We wanted to go to Cheesecake Factory on the night of our anniversary, but there was an hour waiting time. One of the hostesses passed along this hint. They are busiest between 6-9pm every night, so if you don't want to wait go before 6pm or after 9pm. Better yet you can go and put your name on the waiting list and they'll give you a buzzer for when your table is ready. You can then go for a walk around or do some shopping until your table is ready.

Review of Ilima Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cihcago, IL
Jul 29, 2009

it's an okay stay

The location is good: next to the river and three blocks to the beach and close to bus stops. The hotel room is big with full kitchen with full size freezer and microwave. You only need cooking oil and seasonings...if plan to cook. They have everything. Free wired internet (not wireless, but no need to bring cable). Flat screen TV. Good room service. The hotel room is little worn and not clean. My child walked on the carpet with bare feet. After a few minute, the feet turned "black". The carpet is very dirty and has been cleaned for very long time (two rooms we stayed have same problem). The first two days we found live cockroachers in the kitchen area. The safe in the room does not work ($2.75 daily charge for using safe). The standard room is on 4-5 floor, just above the parking garage. So the view from the balcony is the whole roof of the closed 2-story hotel next to Ilima Hotel and view of roofs of cars. It is very noisy and not worth of $150 per night. Also the bed is not very comfortable, and I can feel the spring. We chose this hotel only because of the kitchen. My child is very picky on food (we have to cook for our child). We won't recommend it to the family with small children, since it is not clean (unless you want to use kitchen). I'm a little regret to give up Hilton Village and choose Ilima Hotel at last minute.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ilima Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alpharetta, Ga
May 17, 2009

A great little hotel and great value.

The best value for your money. The Ilima is centrally located, and within walkin distance from the beaches, the international market place, shopping, and eating. The best thing is that it is tucked away on a side street so you do not hear all the noise and activities from the main street. Great customer servie, the rooms are large, beds are comfortable, and the hotel is very clean. I would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top