$192 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 16, 2015 Check-out: Apr 19, 2015

Hyatt Regency Waikiki Beach Resort and Spa

4 stars
View map of 2424 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt Regency Waikiki Beach Resort and Spa

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
287 out of 287
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt Regency Waikiki Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Jul 19, 2011

Great!

The Hyatt is very "centrally located" in that it is very easy to walk to many, many places. The front desk was always very helpful and solved any problems or concerns quickly and efficiently. In fact, when our room wasn't cleaned, they sent up a bottle of wine and basket of fruit as a way to apologize.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are not prone to driving and exploring on your own, do not rent a car! Really, you don't need one. Almost anything you want to do has a tour bus or someone pick you up. It was nice having a car available, but there is a daily car parking fee that is quite exorbitant. Also, pay extra for an ocean view. It is worth it. Finally, the only downside to this hotel was that the fitness center and pool were closed (not disclosed [...] when we booked), so we had to walk 3 blocks to the Marriott for the hot tub and one block for the fitness center. Not bad, but not necessarily convenient, either.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Waikiki Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Smurffsmom
Business
Memphis, TN
Jul 14, 2011

Wonderful Hotel

The hotel was fabulous. We had an ocean front room on the 22nd floor. The view was wonderful while the balcony was still private. This was the largest hotel room I've ever had. The only drawbacks were the towels could have been a bit softer, and before we left they were remodeling their beautiful lobby which was an open atrium type with an open window to the ocean. I hope they are going to keep that view. Don't eat breakfast at the hotel. It was way overpriced. We were charges $57 for breakfast - way too much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you take a helicopter tour of Oahu find out how many people are on the ride. There were six of us crammed in and I and another lady were in the middle on the back. We could not really see and my husband, although on the outside of the seat was on the side opposite to what the helicopter pilot kept showing everyone. He did not turn the helicopter to the other side for my husband to see. This had nothing to do with the hotel, but we felt we did not get our money's worth on that excursion.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Waikiki Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Tupelo, Ms
Jul 13, 2011

It was a fantastic second honeymoon.

We visited the USS Arizona, USS missouri, Pearl Harbour, Polynesian Cultural Center, Germaine's Leui. We walked on the beach. We went to the International Market Center. The hotel was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Waikiki Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Redhead Rhonda
Business
Springfield, MO
Jul 13, 2011

Watch the over charges!

Good location for Waikiki action. Friendly staff, but not very knowledgable about some of the shuttle services available. The parking garage is expensive, packed and tight! We up graded to ocean side room for $15 a day. We paid parking and up grade charges when we checked out, but when checking charges on our credit card at home they placed 2 more unaurthorized charges on our card.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

International Marketplace good for shopping and skip the swap meet. Not much difference in price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Waikiki Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bruddah
Business
Fullerton, CA
Jul 13, 2011

Nice Location / Bad Timing

saw local attractions, lounged & went to beach had planned to use gym and enjoy pool, but we were not informed that it was under construction/renovation - BIG BUMMER locations is ideal, but "no pool? come on?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

hit Walmart on way in and load up on essentials (snacks & drinks+ other)- go at night because it is really crowded

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Waikiki Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 11, 2011

Pool Under Contruction

We checked into the Hyatt only to find out that the pool was closed due to contruction. This was not disclosed to us or we would not have booked at this hotel. The purpose of our trip was to relax by the pool all week. We checked out the next day. I'm very disappointed in the Hyatt for their lack of understanding [...]. This is a huge detail that was overlooked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Waikiki Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Davebear
Business
Escondido,ca
Jul 10, 2011

Great time to be had

Travel all over the island It a great time Going back next spring

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Waikiki Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit
Jul 9, 2011

Great beach location

The hotel decor is a bit dated, but overall it was great. It is right across the street from the beach and within walking distance from all the major restuarants we visited. The desk, bell, and housekeeping staff were very welcoming and helpful. Initially, we had a room right next to the elevator, which was very noisy. Avoid that if you can. We got moved after the first ight. We especially appreciated being able to store our bags after checkout. The pool is being renovated and they are doing the tile outside, which made for some construction noise the last day. Still, i would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Best mai tais are at Orchids in the Halekulani.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Waikiki Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RG4
Business
Annapolis, MD
Jul 8, 2011

Not Impressed

Located in crowded Waikiki. Construction was going on throughout the hotel which not only rendered the pool not usable, but resulted in construction noises and inconveniences throughout the building. The hotel will nickle and dime you at every turn; not surprised by that though. Quite frankly, the commercialization of Waikiki has rendered the area crowded, dirty and noisy. Hawaii is great, but stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

You can find better priced places to eat if you can venture away from Waikiki. The nature of the tourism industry near the beach results in high prices for food that may not be worth it. Head to the Ward Center for better value dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Waikiki Beach Resort and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Jul 8, 2011

Are you sure this is the Hyatt?!!

The hotel itself is very posh. However, the air conditioner wasn't working properly, making it very difficult to sleep when the room is not at a comfortable temperature; & the shower would make a creaking sound with every movement. Other than that, the room was very spacious and the view was breathtaking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top