$209 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 24, 2015 Check-out: Jul 26, 2015

Hotel Renew

3 stars
View map of 129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
81 reviews
Vacation

Great value and location. Not A lot of amenities but that is what I like about a boutique hotel. It... See full review

  • Yoshikuni C.
  • May 18, 2015
Honeymoon

The hotel was amazing, great rooms and great staff! There aren't a lot of amenities, but the bar... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Dec 29, 2014

Hotel Renew is Honolulu's first true designer boutique hotel. This intimate, eco-friendly gem half a block from the beach was designed by internationally-acclaimed San Francisco designer, Jiun Ho. Find a mod-Asiatic atmosphere that makes a sophisticated, minimalist statement. The artful lobby features a side nook serving organic teas by day and signature cocktails by night. Continental breakfast and 24-hour front desk service seal the deal. Hotel Renew is a perfect getaway for couples.

Location

Hotel Renew has an ideal and unobtrusive location in Waikiki. The hotel is less than a block from the best stretch of sand and swimming along Waikiki Beach, and the dining and shopping district of Kalakaua Avenue. The Honolulu Zoo, Waikiki Aquarium and Kapiolani Park are a 10-minute walk from the hotel.  

Dining

Take advantage of the hotel's continental breakfast and relax over evening cocktails at Lounge Renew. The hotel is surrounded by a variety of dining options, including casual eats at Teddy's Bigger Burgers and excellent mid-priced dining at Tiki's Grill & Bar, Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar and Arancino di Mare.

Rooms

This petite boutique hotel features only 72 rooms. The hotel boasts intimate attention to service and the details guests relish. Designer rooms are sleekly tailored in rich dark woods and graphic creams with red and black trim. Specialty spa amenities, free in-room Wi-Fi, light dimmers and 32- or 50-inch flat-screen HDTVs elevate the hip, upscale ambience.

Highlights
  • Atmospheric Lounge Renew serves organic tea and signature cocktails
  • Watch movies on 50-inch flat TVs in select rooms
  • Dogs up to 20 pounds are welcome
Nearby attractions
    • Waikiki Beach (next door)
    • Honolulu Zoo (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Royal Hawaiian Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
    • Waikiki Aquarium (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
    • Hawaii Convention Center (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
    • Ala Moana Center (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
    • Diamond Head Crater (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
    Transportation
    • Honolulu International Airport (10.6 mi/17 km)
    Recreation
    • Half a block to Waikiki Beach

    Top hotels

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed Hotel Renew also booked these hotels.

    Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
    Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
    Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

    Hotel Renew Rooms

    City View King
    Newly renovated designer City View with King rooms offer sophisticated style, high-design and innovative technology. Features views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. 1 king platform bed, 32" LCD HDTV, in-room computer system offering Internet access, Netflix movies, satellite TV and radio, CD/DVD player, and iPod compatibility. WiFi throughout hotel, in-room safe (fits laptop), dimmable lighting system.
    Premier Ocean View Double/Double
    The Hotel Room Ocean View Premier category is located on the top 5 floors of the Hotel Renew and offers incredible views of Oahus famed Waikiki Beach with stunning views of the surf and beautiful blue Pacific. Units are equipped with two Double beds (1-2 guests/max. 3).
    Premier Ocean View King
    The Hotel Room Ocean View Premier category is located on the top 5 floors of the Hotel Renew and offers incredible views of Oahus famed Waikiki Beach with stunning views of the surf and beautiful blue Pacific. Units are equipped with one King bed (1-2 guests/max. 2).

    Amenities

    • High-speed internet
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Elevators
    Services
    In-Room Safe
    Internet
    High-speed internet
    Parking
    Parking

    Nearby points of interest

    • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
    • Honolulu Zoo: 0.3 mi
    • Waikiki Shell: 0.4 mi
    • Kapiolani Park: 0.5 mi
    • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
    • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1.1 mi
    • Ala Wai Park: 1.1 mi
    • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.5 mi
    • Ala Moana Beach: 2 mi
    • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.1 mi
    • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
    • The Contemporary Museum: 2.8 mi
    • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
    • Kawaiahao Church: 3.2 mi
    • Waialae Country Club: 3.2 mi
    • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
    • Honolulu Zoo: 0.3 mi
    • Waikiki Shell: 0.4 mi
    • Kapiolani Park: 0.5 mi
    • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
    • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1.1 mi
    • Ala Wai Park: 1.1 mi
    • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.5 mi
    • Ala Moana Beach: 2 mi
    • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.1 mi
    • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
    • The Contemporary Museum: 2.8 mi
    • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
    • Kawaiahao Church: 3.2 mi
    • Waialae Country Club: 3.2 mi
    • Kamehameha Statue: 3.3 mi
    • Iolani Palace: 3.3 mi
    • Washington Place: 3.3 mi
    • Irvin Park: 3.6 mi
    • Star Of Honolulu: 3.6 mi
    • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.7 mi
    • Aloha Tower: 3.7 mi
    • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.7 mi
    • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.9 mi
    • Mauna Ala: 4 mi
    • Honolulu Chinatown: 4.1 mi
    • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.5 mi
    • Pali Lookout: 4.6 mi
    • Bishop Museum: 5.2 mi
    • Koolau Golf Club: 7.3 mi
    • Hanauma Bay: 8.1 mi
    • Koko Head Park: 8.6 mi
    • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.1 mi
    • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
    • Halona Blow Hole: 9.4 mi
    • Sandy Beach: 9.6 mi
    • Aloha Stadium: 9.7 mi
    • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.9 mi
    • Wawamalu Beach: 9.9 mi
    • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 10.1 mi
    • USS Missouri: 10.5 mi
    • Kailua Beach: 10.6 mi
    • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.6 mi
    • Makapuu Beach: 10.8 mi
    • Lanikai Beach: 10.8 mi

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    3:00 PM
    Check-out:
    12:00 PM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Ratings and reviews for Hotel Renew

    Overall score

    4.4 / 5
    5.01.0
    48 out of 81
    Amenities:
    3.9
    Cleanliness:
    4.7
    Hotel staff:
    4.9
    Comfort:
    4.5
    Location:
    4.6
    Value:
    4.3

    100% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Hotel Renew

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    hinese
    Business
    Wilmington, NC
    Jan 16, 2014

    Aston Renew Wikiki

    Great staff. Clean comfortable room. Nice breakfast.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Mac 24/7 Wikiki

    Review of Hotel Renew

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Jan 17, 2010

    Great location! Beds are heavenly!

    Hotel Renew is only steps from the beach. We booked the double bed, and it was pretty small but it worked. The double bed rooms are on the corners and are the only ones with a balcony, and ours had an unexpected ocean and mountain view! The breakfast area is VERY small. There were times we had to stand to eat. Staying somewhere that had complimentary breakfast was on the top of our list, but the breakfast was all carb and sugar. We were under the impression that they would have hard boiled eggs and chicken (a Hawaiian thing) when we read other reviews. And we thought they had complimentary yoga (as stated on the webtsite) but this was also unture. They said they are under new ownership so watch out. There is no exercise or pool facilities, which is disappointing. If you're brave like us, you can sneek into the hotel across the street and use thier pool and hot tub. The employees all seemed pleasant. We used the "complimentary room" to freshen up in before we left the island and it was dirty from the people that used it before us. It would have been nice if it was cleaned. I know it's free, but we had just stayed there all week and spent a lot of money on the place. The beds are heavenly! Hip, chic rooms. Not very well lit in some places. Pros: Clean, excellent location, modern, heavely beds, nice staff, free 'breakfast' Cons: No pool or hot tub, no gym, some small rooms, not well lit rooms, high carb high sugar breakfast, small breakfast area

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    Don't buy your souvenirs at ABC or some similar store. There is an outdoor shopping center lined with kiosks near Honolulu Trade Center. They have all the same stuff as ABC and is 50 % or less.

    Review of Hotel Renew

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    YungWun
    Business
    Ottawa, ON, Canada
    Nov 5, 2011

    Honeymoon

    Hotel is pretty small compared to aston waikiki and other big hotels, but it looks very modern and the price is really good compared to the others. Staff is friendly and the free continental breakfast is good. Lots of restaurants and shopping along the beach walk which is located right across the street. One bad thing is you have to pay for valet parking which is $25 a night.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Hotel Renew

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    viewman86
    Business
    San Francisco CA
    Dec 2, 2012

    good hotel near beach

    This was a very nice hotel near the beach. The room is nicely decorated but on closer inspection it was not perfect. A few of the fluorescent lights in the bathroom were dim. Also the automatic light controller did not seem to work correctly. Overall it was a great hotel though and we really enjoyed our time there.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Hotel Renew

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Reviewer0
    Business
    San Diego, CA
    Dec 8, 2012

    Great stay in Waikiki

    I stayed at this hotel while on trip to Waikiki Beach in Oahu. Hotel was easy to find by bus and you get dropped off right at the corner. You are welcomed with cool towels and pineapple juice. The room with double bed is a little small and the rooms are decorated in modern décor but there is some wear and tear on walls. The cleaning staff prepares your room to immaculate condition everyday. Toiletries are excellent. Major flaw is lack of minirefrigerator in room in the room. Instead you have a beverage cooler but you will probably have a lot of leftovers after eating out in Waikiki everyday. The breakfast also only consists of breads and wish it included other things like fruits or cereals. The lady who runs the breakfast bar is very friendly and helpful. And the kona coffee and pineapple juice are delicious. The location is excellent at this end of Waikiki because its a few steps walk to the beach and is close to ABC store and multiple restaurants. You can head out and walk the length of Waikiki strip and even walk to Diamond Head crater.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

    Park on Montserrat Ave to avoid paying overnight parking fees.

    Review of Hotel Renew

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Hil
    Business
    Bend, OR
    Jan 8, 2013

    Happy overall

    We were greeted warmly by super fabulous staff & could not have asked for more in terms of the valet parking & bringing in our things while we were allowed to check-in two hours early & go enjoy time on the beach. Special touches: chilled lemongrass towels & pineapple juice while getting registered. Beach towels, chairs or mats are provided & it is a minute walk to be right on the beach. Also super central location to all great shops & dining. The room was very unique. Appreciate the lengths this hotel goes to when considering the environment. Some things I had never seen before. The decor was fantastic, I spent a matter of minutes just checking it out & appreciating the special touches. The part we did not appreciate was how tiny the room was. For one night that we spent most of along the beach, out shopping, eating & drinking...it was just fine. We knew we were flying out & leaving by 5am anyway. There's no way I could make several days to a week of being in such a cramped spot. The other difficulty was the bed seemed more like a full. It was quite cozy & comfortable for my husband & I but again...for one night. It was not a quiet setting, the fan running all night drown out the street noise & hustle/bustle...but that was keeping us up as well. Really that's the only negative feedback, we loved this unique hotel & more than anything felt treated like solid gold, felt like we were in a clean, well-cared for & thoughtful setting.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Hotel Renew

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    cfischer787
    Business
    Wilmington, Delaware
    Apr 14, 2013

    Great place

    We stayed at Hotel Renew before cruising the Hawaiian islands in the beginning of April. It was updated and very clean. It was a block from Waikiki beach and close to all of the action but since it was a block away it was more quiet. We got a great price on our stay there and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Hotel Renew

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    csr19us
    Business
    Noblesville, Indiana
    Nov 21, 2013

    Great little secret

    This was our 2nd time and we still like it. We generally felt very comfortable and safe staying here. The staff is very friendly and will go out of their way to help. When we first stayed here, it was a boutique hotel; but I think it's now owned by a larger chain (Aston). I don't really agree with the concept of the $15/night amenity fee, but in competitive Waikiki, what do you expect? That's really my only complaint about it. Other than that, I would've rated it higher, if the truly luxurious hotels of the world (that no real people can afford) didn't exist :)

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

    For the beach just down the block, ask the front desk for some beach chairs, etc. They loan them out as part of the amenities, so you don't need to bring or buy your own.

    Review of Hotel Renew

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Arcadia, CA
    Jun 22, 2010

    LOVE THIS HOTEL!

    The decor is not typical hawaiian which I really appreciated! The hotel has been recently remodeled and all the furniture and decor etc is very modern and relaxing. Also, the service is AMAZING and the hotel always smells clean and fresh. The bedrooms and bathrooms are a little on the smaller side, but I really didn't mind it that much. Also, no in-house restaurants or food service - but they make up for it with a simple and charming buffet breakfast

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Hotel Renew

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Beano, Canine Good Citizen
    Business
    Washington DC
    Oct 13, 2010

    Great vacation spot for the money

    Took a taxi from the airport (A little pricey considering the relatively short distance). I selected the hotel originally because it is one of the few hotels in Waikiki that accept pets. Hotel is situated near the south eastern end of Kalakaua Ave. (closer to Diamond Head) which is good in the sense that you don't have to decide which direction to walk since most of the activity is north and west of the hotel. Guests are greeted with fresh pineapple juice and wet towels at check in. Hotel staff are courteous and helpful. Hotel Renew does not have a pool or a resaurant but Waikiki Beach is LITERALLY less then a hundred yards from the entrance of the hotel....not waterfront....but close....and there is an abundant supply of restaurants within a VERY short walking distance. Room (I stayed in 208) has a designer appearance decor with contrasting dark wood and light laminate and tiles. Seemed to be a bit on the smaller side without being crowded. Touch control lighting controls allows the guest to vary the lighting from the door and the bedside but no way to control light shining through the frosted glass window between the bathroom and the bedroom. Flat screen TVs in each room with good reception. Beds had down and feather comforters and pillows.....good for non-allergy sufferers. Complimentary WiFi internet is worth every penny you paid for it; upload and download speed seemed slow in the afternoon and evenings; bandwidth seemed to improve in the mornings. Non-adjustable A/C seemed a bit on the cool side in the evenings (perhaps a reason they have down feather blankets) but was fine the rest of the day. Windows have blinds and sliding doors which helps to regulate the temperature as well as incoming light. Complimentary continental breakfast was available each morning at 7:30 but it tends to get crowded by 8:00 and the dining area can accommodate a maximum of eight to ten dining guests simultaneously. Free beach blankets, boogie boards, and chairs were readily available for the asking. The cleaning people were very diligent and efficient in fixing the rooms each day but the towels and robes seemed a bit coarse and the room had a strong smell of cleaning supplies each day when I returned. It was noticeable only for the first few minutes and was insignificant afterward. The Aston Waikiki Hotel next door had live music every night and the youth hostel adjacent to the hotel on Lemon Street caters to younger people so the area seemed kind of loud and had an abundance of people hanging out late in the evenings. Car rentals and island tours can be found at the Marriott across the street. There is no self parking at the hotel and the valet parking charge is $22/night with unlimited in and out. Parking spots in the garage seemed crowded most evenings when I returned. Access to and from H-1 can be congested at most times. Bus is the most cost effective means of getting around the island and the bus stop is about 30 yards the opposite direction of the beach at Kuhio and Paoakalani. While the location of Hotel Renew is not centrally located for walking, the bus routes heading west (to Ala Moana, downtown, Pearl Harbor, and Aloha Stadium) start here. Guests from Hotel Renew heading west get seated first which is important since the bus ride could take an hour or more. Hospitality room for guests departing on evening flights after they have officially "checked out" was provided free of charge. This allows guests to get a quick shower and freshen up before taking the long return flight home.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

    There are MANY sidewalk solicitors along Kalakaua Avenue offering discounts on tours, cruises, luaus, etc. They claim to not be selling timeshares but that is PRECISELY what they are doing. Your time is better spent paying for your own entertainment and not wasting valuable vacation time.

    Back to menu Return to top