$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 23, 2015 Check-out: Apr 25, 2015

Hotel Renew

3 stars
View map of 129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Renew

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

99% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Runner65
Business
Iowa
Dec 15, 2011

Great Value

Selected because of location near Honolulu Marathon finish line. But only one block from Waikiki Beach and a couple blocks from the Honolulu Zoo and Kapiolani Park. Staff extremely helpful. Room small but very clean and well appointed. Japanese style decor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Savannah Grace
Business
Greensboro, NC
May 17, 2012

AWESOME!!!!

I just looooovvveeeddd Hotel Renew! The continental breakfast was awesome. They had fresh fruit, granola, yogurt, pastries, coffee. Couldn't get any better. The rooms were super clean and comfy. It was super close to Waikiki Beach. Offered free beach towels and valet parking was awesome too. I wish I could go back now! I would highly recommend this place to ANYONE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alvinnn
Business
New York, NY
Jun 17, 2012

Paradise in Paradise

Renew was absolutely wonderful. The moment I arrived, I was greeted at the front desk with a glass of juice and warm towel. I was a little hesitant to stay at a boutique hotel, but it was definitely worthwhile. There aren't any huge amenities like a gym or swimming pool, but it is so close to the beach you can do without. The staff is EXCELLENT. I did not have a single negative encounter with any of the employees. Every time I came in or left the hotel, it was all smiles and a staff that was ready to meet whatever my needs were. Overall a very well run hotel that will only add onto a great vacation. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hawaiian Traveler 87
Business
Vancouver, Canada
Aug 12, 2012

Great Vacation!

Hotel Renew was great. Location was good as it was one block from Waikiki beach. Staff at the Hotel were amazing. They were very helpful and gave us great service. I would definitely recommend staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Robbo B
Business
Hermosa Beach, CA
Jan 16, 2013

Clean hotel - fantastic staff!

Everyone at this hotel was very helpful and accommodating. Wonderful attention to detail: helped me book reservations for my anniversary, suggested activities in the area, warm welcome with a glass of pineapple juice. Beach towels and accessories for free. Not able to help much in the area of late check-out, but the staff and hotel were exceptional!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
David Hawaii
Business
Montpellier, France
Apr 3, 2013

Great Hotel in Waikiki

This hotel is well located, closed to Kuhio Beach and near the Honolulu Zoo. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. Rooms are very confortable and clean. I do recommend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Katy the Lady
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 14, 2013

Hidden Gem

I frequent Oahu on business and this hotel is definitely the best for your money. Great location (on the far end of the tourist strip) perfect walking distance to waikiki attractions (diamond head,the aquarium, the zoo) and great local restaurants a little further north. And only a block from the beach!!! Cozy rooms and beds, nice aesthetic design. It's fancy without being over the top. I read several reviews complaining about the lack of lighting however I appreciated it. There are dimming switches to adjust the light as needed and that is a welcome difference from fluorescent chain hotel lighting. Also I read about the street noise being a problem or some people but they have wood shutters and a giant ac fan that makes nice white noise. I didn't have trouble sleeping at all. The best part though is the STAFF! They are so friendly and helpful and made me feel right at home. I didn't see one staff member without a smile on their face the entire time! It is refreshing to be treated as a valued customer and not as an inconvenience. Also, the valet parking is super helpful in this area of waikiki and it is only 25$ a day. I didn't have to wait for my car once! This is a wonderful small little hotel if you are looking for a personal experience and not a typical resort style vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LP-Traveler
Business
El Paso, TX
Jun 13, 2011

Great location for the price

We spent a wonderful week in the Hotel Renew. The room was clean, as was the bathroom. Only the air conditioner is a little bit loud, dont worry if You are a good sleeper. The personnel (reception and valet) was always very friendly and helpful. To Waikiki Beach it is just 100 yards and they supply guests with all the beaching utilities one can think of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr. and Mrs. Fozzie
Business
Sacramento
Apr 22, 2009

the VERY BEST!

We were totally amazed at how pleasant our stay was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 24, 2010

Best Hotel Experience in Years

Completely top-notch in every way. This is the last of our 5 nights here, and this has been one of the best vacation hotel experience we have ever had. When you factor in the excellent price, it's the best. Here are the ways it has been awesome: Very chic, contemporary rooms with plenty of space. Bathrooms are very nice with actual shower doors and plenty of space. Bed is very comfortable. Plenty of pillows. Housekeeping very thorough and efficient-- they even came up at 7pm to clean sand I had tracked in because I requested it. We parked our rental car the whole time--the hotel guys were SUPER FAST in getting our car out every time and we went in/out 2-3 times a day. I know the staff is in the hospitality business, and it is their job to be nice, but the Hotel Renew staff went above and beyond! They were incredibly welcoming, learned our name very quickly, and very sincere. Every time we walked out through the lobby they were attentive and offered us towels for the beach, and they were happy to provide advice on any questions we had. The owner of this hotel should be proud to have such a quality staff and good management. Every single employee on of the 7 or 8 employees I interacted with was helpful, warm, courteous, and efficient. I don't know what else to say except that you will not be sorry if you stay here. The only thing that some people might not like is that it is a small boutique hotel (72 rooms they told me), and therefore it does not have resort-type services or amenities, such as massage, pool, gym, etc. But you are in freaking Hawaii!! You should be climbing Diamond Head, taking surf lessons, or snorkeling!! You can always go grab piña colada at the Moana Surfrider if you want a taste of the fancy resort experience. Good luck!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top