$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 30, 2015 Check-out: Jun 2, 2015

Hotel Renew

3 stars
View map of 129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Renew

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

99% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
blazer fan
Business
portland, or
Feb 9, 2010

Great staff and location

Loved the personal feeling of the service in this small hotel. We don't like the big, impersonal resorts, so this was a perfect place to stay for a week. Staff were friendly and remembered our preferences. The complimentary breakfast and daily happy hour in the small lobby bar area allowed us to get to know other guests and the hotel staff. One night there was a manager's reception with complimentary specialty cocktails for an hour. Our seventh floor room had an ocean view, but there was some street noise. We requested an accessible room, and ours was as nicely appointed as any other we have stayed in. They provided sand chairs and towels for the 1/2 block walk to the beach. Front desk made reservations, loaned us a laptop and generally made our visit comfortable and effortless. We would stay there again and recommend it to our friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Visit Shangri La, the late Doris Duke's beautiful home filled with world class Islamic art collection. Reserve early. One of the island's best treasures.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oxford, OH
Mar 21, 2011

Hotel Renew

It is a very warm and nice hotel. Although it is not a large hotel, the staff are nice. They provided me a lot of information about transportation, tourist attractions and restaurants. The hotel is also equipped the broadcast for the tsunami alarm which worked for the tsunami resulted from Japanese earthquake. The room is very clean, furnitures are in modern style,the television is very large in my double room. However, the sound of the air conditioning was so loud which made my mother hard to fall asleep.It is the only disappointed part. Overall, it is a nice place for couples and families. It is close to Waikiki Beach, close to bus stop and the city center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to go shopping, go to Ala Mona Shopping center. It combines all kinds of brands of clothing and shoes. I think the price there is cheaper than the city center near Waikiki. There are also a lot of restaurants in this shopping center. The Chinese restaurant there has lots of delicious dishes. I will go there if I go to Honolulu again!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Berkeley, CA
Jun 2, 2010

Renew Review

Amaying service, always with a smile. Very nicely designed rooms, decent breakfast (also only until 9:30). Price and location make this a winner in Waikiki!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver, BC
Feb 28, 2010

Fantastic vacation

A boutique hotel is perfect for the traveler who is looking for modern accommodations but with a personal feel. The staff was super helpful and friendly, in fact, the best customer service I have received at a hotel. Very personal service since there are only 70 rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shaka Bra
Business
NYC, NY
Aug 6, 2009

Pleasant Stay

My wife and I went for our 1st anniversary and were greeted with a nice welcome drink, a free upgrade to a King Room (wasn't available through Orbitz) and a bottle of champagne with a personal note in the room...a nice beginning. Pros We stayed for 8 days, the staff was very kind and helpful. The hotel is beautiful but much smaller than I expected. A short walk to the beach and one block from cheaper parking :) (7 days for $60). Free surfboard storage. Comfy beds, nice bathroom, nice tv. All in all pleasant and without major problems. Cons Bathroom is nice, but there is no fan. :( We clogged the toilet 3 times and we didn't put that much down. Although the front desk was quick to send help, but still not fun. The breakfast was nice the first two days but got old fast, nothing really hot or salty. Don't expect it to satisfy. In the end, I have no real complaints and would stay there again. The car + room + $200 promo code from orbitz was hard to beat. Definitely nicer than other run down hotels that we have seen, for a better price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go jump off the rock at Weimea Bay, it is a nice little thrill, and then you can buy a $6 t-shirt that says you survived the jump, and the shirt is chalked full of typos and mispellings. :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loved up Poms
Business
England UK
May 22, 2011

Hotel Renew Waikiki

Excellent location - just a two minute walk to the beach and beach and mountain views from our balcony. Buffet breakfast was good, though unable to obtain before 7am despite early airport pickup. Free wifi and beach towels. Rooms a little on the small size but the location made up for that. Staff fantastic and very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Buses to Pearl Harbor leave from just up the road and there is a shelter for those rainy days!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Show Me State Couple
Business
St. Louis
Dec 12, 2009

Everything we hoped for and more

The location was great since we were only staying there for 2 days. Close to beach with towels and chairs provided by the hotel. The appearance and vibe feels like a "W" Hotel but not nearly as pretentious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cashiusclay
Business
San Francisco, Ca
Jul 27, 2010

Cozy Little Place

Hotel Renew is a nice cozy little spot. It's built on the premise of being "green" which I liked. Also, the design and overall look and feel of the hotel was modern, new, and relaxing. Hotel service was great, nice continental breakfast (no hot foods), but enough to get started for the day. The hotel room itself is not huge, and while the concierge, or lack of one, might be missed by those who need to be more spoon-fed about travel plans and adventures, you can just go next door to the Aston for that. I don't know if it was the time we were there but I found the environment to be extremely noisy, contruction nearby or whatever, it just seemed to be loud every morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you really want true Hawaiian Cuisine, walk west a bit and find two places, both really cheap and delicious! Ono Seafood has the best Poke you'll ever eat in Honolulu and Ono Hawaiian food just nearby has everything you'll ever find at a Luau but 10 times better than the cheesy Luau buffets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Clarita, CA
Mar 6, 2010

Very nice pace to stay

Very clean and friendly. Not a warehouse type resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to chinatown to eat and stroll.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 26, 2009

Summer vacation

The customer service at this hotel was excellent. At the check-in counter, we were provided with wet hand towels and a glass of orange juice. The valet guy recommended a cheaper alternative to the valet parking at the hotel. The staff always greeted us when we walked through the lobby and held the front door for us upon entering/exiting. The rooms are great and modern looking even though it was an older hotel that was recently renovated. The hotel offers free beach towels and beach chairs for hotel guest use. There is a free continental breakfast, which is better than your typical continental breakfast and includes muffins, crossants, fresh fruit, cereal with regular or soy milk, and coffee/tea. The only downsides, which were relatively minor in nature, were 1) the website is a lot nicer looking than the hotel actually is inside. While the rooms do look like they do in the pictures, it's still not exactly at the level that the website depicts it to be, 2) the hotel is slightly further down the main street, Kalakaua Ave., than we would have preferred (further from the shopping and nicer part of Waikiki beach), however, this could be a good thing if you prefer being away from the crowds, and 3) the rooms only had these super thick comforters...unusual for a warm weather destination so you had to turn up the AC on high in order to compensate for the heavy blankets. We asked at the front desk and that was all they had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The valet parking at the hotel costs $22/night, but there is a $10/day covered parking lot just around the corner from Hotel Renew called the Waikiki Banyan off of the intersection of Kuhio and Paoakalani. If you park there, you'll save yourself a ton of money. Also, the $10 fee allows you unlimited "in/out" privileges throughout the day so you don't have to pay the $10 every time you park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top