$209 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 7, 2015 Check-out: Jul 8, 2015

Hotel Renew

3 stars
View map of 129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
81 reviews
Vacation

Great value and location. Not A lot of amenities but that is what I like about a boutique hotel. It... See full review

  • Yoshikuni C.
  • May 18, 2015
Honeymoon

The hotel was amazing, great rooms and great staff! There aren't a lot of amenities, but the bar... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Dec 29, 2014

Hotel Renew is Honolulu's first true designer boutique hotel. This intimate, eco-friendly gem half a block from the beach was designed by internationally-acclaimed San Francisco designer, Jiun Ho. Find a mod-Asiatic atmosphere that makes a sophisticated, minimalist statement. The artful lobby features a side nook serving organic teas by day and signature cocktails by night. Continental breakfast and 24-hour front desk service seal the deal. Hotel Renew is a perfect getaway for couples.

Location

Hotel Renew has an ideal and unobtrusive location in Waikiki. The hotel is less than a block from the best stretch of sand and swimming along Waikiki Beach, and the dining and shopping district of Kalakaua Avenue. The Honolulu Zoo, Waikiki Aquarium and Kapiolani Park are a 10-minute walk from the hotel.  

Dining

Take advantage of the hotel's continental breakfast and relax over evening cocktails at Lounge Renew. The hotel is surrounded by a variety of dining options, including casual eats at Teddy's Bigger Burgers and excellent mid-priced dining at Tiki's Grill & Bar, Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar and Arancino di Mare.

Rooms

This petite boutique hotel features only 72 rooms. The hotel boasts intimate attention to service and the details guests relish. Designer rooms are sleekly tailored in rich dark woods and graphic creams with red and black trim. Specialty spa amenities, free in-room Wi-Fi, light dimmers and 32- or 50-inch flat-screen HDTVs elevate the hip, upscale ambience.

Highlights
  • Atmospheric Lounge Renew serves organic tea and signature cocktails
  • Watch movies on 50-inch flat TVs in select rooms
  • Dogs up to 20 pounds are welcome
Nearby attractions
    • Waikiki Beach (next door)
    • Honolulu Zoo (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Royal Hawaiian Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
    • Waikiki Aquarium (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
    • Hawaii Convention Center (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
    • Ala Moana Center (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
    • Diamond Head Crater (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
    Transportation
    • Honolulu International Airport (10.6 mi/17 km)
    Recreation
    • Half a block to Waikiki Beach

    Top hotels

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed Hotel Renew also booked these hotels.

    Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
    Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
    Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

    Hotel Renew Rooms

    City View King
    Newly renovated designer City View with King rooms offer sophisticated style, high-design and innovative technology. Features views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. 1 king platform bed, 32" LCD HDTV, in-room computer system offering Internet access, Netflix movies, satellite TV and radio, CD/DVD player, and iPod compatibility. WiFi throughout hotel, in-room safe (fits laptop), dimmable lighting system.
    Premier Ocean View Double/Double
    The Hotel Room Ocean View Premier category is located on the top 5 floors of the Hotel Renew and offers incredible views of Oahus famed Waikiki Beach with stunning views of the surf and beautiful blue Pacific. Units are equipped with two Double beds (1-2 guests/max. 3).
    Premier Ocean View King
    The Hotel Room Ocean View Premier category is located on the top 5 floors of the Hotel Renew and offers incredible views of Oahus famed Waikiki Beach with stunning views of the surf and beautiful blue Pacific. Units are equipped with one King bed (1-2 guests/max. 2).

    Amenities

    • High-speed internet
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Elevators
    Services
    In-Room Safe
    Internet
    High-speed internet
    Parking
    Parking

    Nearby points of interest

    • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
    • Honolulu Zoo: 0.3 mi
    • Waikiki Shell: 0.4 mi
    • Kapiolani Park: 0.5 mi
    • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
    • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1.1 mi
    • Ala Wai Park: 1.1 mi
    • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.5 mi
    • Ala Moana Beach: 2 mi
    • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.1 mi
    • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
    • The Contemporary Museum: 2.8 mi
    • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
    • Kawaiahao Church: 3.2 mi
    • Waialae Country Club: 3.2 mi
    • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
    • Honolulu Zoo: 0.3 mi
    • Waikiki Shell: 0.4 mi
    • Kapiolani Park: 0.5 mi
    • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
    • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1.1 mi
    • Ala Wai Park: 1.1 mi
    • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.5 mi
    • Ala Moana Beach: 2 mi
    • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.1 mi
    • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
    • The Contemporary Museum: 2.8 mi
    • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
    • Kawaiahao Church: 3.2 mi
    • Waialae Country Club: 3.2 mi
    • Kamehameha Statue: 3.3 mi
    • Iolani Palace: 3.3 mi
    • Washington Place: 3.3 mi
    • Irvin Park: 3.6 mi
    • Star Of Honolulu: 3.6 mi
    • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.7 mi
    • Aloha Tower: 3.7 mi
    • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.7 mi
    • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.9 mi
    • Mauna Ala: 4 mi
    • Honolulu Chinatown: 4.1 mi
    • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.5 mi
    • Pali Lookout: 4.6 mi
    • Bishop Museum: 5.2 mi
    • Koolau Golf Club: 7.3 mi
    • Hanauma Bay: 8.1 mi
    • Koko Head Park: 8.6 mi
    • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.1 mi
    • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
    • Halona Blow Hole: 9.4 mi
    • Sandy Beach: 9.6 mi
    • Aloha Stadium: 9.7 mi
    • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.9 mi
    • Wawamalu Beach: 9.9 mi
    • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 10.1 mi
    • USS Missouri: 10.5 mi
    • Kailua Beach: 10.6 mi
    • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.6 mi
    • Makapuu Beach: 10.8 mi
    • Lanikai Beach: 10.8 mi

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    3:00 PM
    Check-out:
    12:00 PM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Ratings and reviews for Hotel Renew

    Overall score

    4.3 / 5
    5.01.0
    81 out of 81
    Amenities:
    3.7
    Cleanliness:
    4.6
    Hotel staff:
    4.8
    Comfort:
    4.5
    Location:
    4.7
    Value:
    4.2

    99% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Hotel Renew

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Hawaiian Traveler 87
    Vancouver, Canada
    Aug 12, 2012

    Great Vacation!

    Hotel Renew was great. Location was good as it was one block from Waikiki beach. Staff at the Hotel were amazing. They were very helpful and gave us great service. I would definitely recommend staying here.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Review of Hotel Renew

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    single traveler
    Business
    bay area, ca
    Feb 9, 2010

    Nice hotel, friendly staff, very noisy

    This is a nice little hotel, and the rooms are spotless and very attractively furnished. The beds are really comfortable. The staff is super helpful and friendly. The location is great--very close to some of the nicest beach, and they will loan chairs and other equipment. Be aware: it is VERY noisy. I was on the 3rd floor with a balcony to Paoakalini Street. There are parking garages across the way, and the street is a major route for shuttles and trams and busses. I thought an interior room might be quieter, but I talked to other guests who said the interior was very noisy as well. Rooms on the higher floors could be quieter (and probably more expensive). I might stay again, but am not sure.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Wolfgang's, which is in the shopping center above the Royal Hawaiian, has delicious steaks.

    Review of Hotel Renew

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Seattle, WA
    Jul 14, 2011

    Almost....

    So close to being a great hotel, but sadly not there yet. Relatively new, Hotel Renew tries to be a boutique hotel in a 1980's building. The facility itself is a little dated, and is isolated on the far end of Waikiki (which isn't in itself a bad thing). Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, but they don't have the same tools to work with as other places. On the plus side: Location (it's on one side, so crowds aren't as bad), staff (incredibly friendly and helpful), boutique crowd (fewer children, less commercial), free wifi and beach towels, and reasonably sized spaces (rooms are comfortable). On the negative side: Older facility (looks sad from the outside), lack of amenities (business center, health center/gym, hotel bar/restaurant), location (it's a walk to most things). As much as we enjoyed our experience with the people (or lack of tiny people), the facility needs some help. Overall, though, a nice place with great potential.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Great places to try within walkable distance to this hotel: Bogart's Cafe for breakfast, Leonard's for malasadas, and Uncle Bo's for pupus and drinks.

    Review of Hotel Renew

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    jalyn
    Business
    sacramento, california
    May 19, 2013

    vacation/graduation

    The staff was amazing. They were all very helpful and went out of there way to make my stay enjoyable. They also made some great recommendations. The room was average, but the location was perfect. The beach is just 2 minutes from the hotel.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

    The beach is literally a 2 minute walk away, absolutely gorgeous!!

    Review of Hotel Renew

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Single Vacationeer
    Business
    New York, NY
    May 17, 2009

    Lovely little hotel

    All the staff was friendly, the room I was in was very restfully designed and pretty, and the morning continental breakfast had tasty pastries, fresh fruit, good juice, and some of the best granola I've ever had. On the other hand, the lighting in the room was extremely dim -- even at it's brightest, I felt like the room never reached well lit. The room was also very small (my fault -- I requested a double to save money). So small that there were no drawers for clothes -- instead there were some awkwardly shaped low shelves in the side of the poorly lit closet. The hotel is a very short walk from the beach, on the quieter and IMO nicer side of Waikiki, although of course, there's no part of Waikiki that's really quiet. It's close to a bunch of useful bus stops for getting around town, and only a 2 mile walk from the Diamond Head State Park. I didn't use them, but I'm told that the hotel had beach towels, beach mats and beach chairs to lend out. It did not have snorkeling gear to lend out, however, and there was no pool or fitness center in the hotel -- the only amenities were the pretty rooms, the friendly staff and the great breakfasts. They did have free wifi in the rooms, which I used, but it was very slow/spotty. This may be better in other parts of the hotel (I was in 801), but of course, I don't know. It's a no smoking hotel, and the fire alarm did go off several times one of the nights I was there -- reportedly someone was smoking in their room and spoiled the night for the rest of us, but I can't blame the hotel for that. Would I stay there again? Possibly. I'd want at least a king sized room and better lighting.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Hotel Renew

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    single traveler
    Business
    bay area, ca
    Feb 9, 2010

    Nice hotel, friendly staff, very noisy

    This is a nice little hotel, and the rooms are spotless and very attractively furnished. The beds are really comfortable. The staff is super helpful and friendly. The location is great--very close to some of the nicest beach, and they will loan chairs and other equipment. Be aware: it is VERY noisy. I was on the 3rd floor with a balcony to Paoakalini Street. There are parking garages across the way, and the street is a major route for shuttles and trams and busses. I thought an interior room might be quieter, but I talked to other guests who said the interior was very noisy as well. Rooms on the higher floors could be quieter (and probably more expensive). I might stay again, but am not sure.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Wolfgang's, which is in the shopping center above the Royal Hawaiian, has delicious steaks.

    Review of Hotel Renew

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Seattle, WA
    Jul 14, 2011

    Almost....

    So close to being a great hotel, but sadly not there yet. Relatively new, Hotel Renew tries to be a boutique hotel in a 1980's building. The facility itself is a little dated, and is isolated on the far end of Waikiki (which isn't in itself a bad thing). Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, but they don't have the same tools to work with as other places. On the plus side: Location (it's on one side, so crowds aren't as bad), staff (incredibly friendly and helpful), boutique crowd (fewer children, less commercial), free wifi and beach towels, and reasonably sized spaces (rooms are comfortable). On the negative side: Older facility (looks sad from the outside), lack of amenities (business center, health center/gym, hotel bar/restaurant), location (it's a walk to most things). As much as we enjoyed our experience with the people (or lack of tiny people), the facility needs some help. Overall, though, a nice place with great potential.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Great places to try within walkable distance to this hotel: Bogart's Cafe for breakfast, Leonard's for malasadas, and Uncle Bo's for pupus and drinks.

    Review of Hotel Renew

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    hinese
    Business
    Wilmington, NC
    Jan 16, 2014

    Aston Renew Wikiki

    Great staff. Clean comfortable room. Nice breakfast.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Mac 24/7 Wikiki

    Review of Hotel Renew

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Jan 17, 2010

    Great location! Beds are heavenly!

    Hotel Renew is only steps from the beach. We booked the double bed, and it was pretty small but it worked. The double bed rooms are on the corners and are the only ones with a balcony, and ours had an unexpected ocean and mountain view! The breakfast area is VERY small. There were times we had to stand to eat. Staying somewhere that had complimentary breakfast was on the top of our list, but the breakfast was all carb and sugar. We were under the impression that they would have hard boiled eggs and chicken (a Hawaiian thing) when we read other reviews. And we thought they had complimentary yoga (as stated on the webtsite) but this was also unture. They said they are under new ownership so watch out. There is no exercise or pool facilities, which is disappointing. If you're brave like us, you can sneek into the hotel across the street and use thier pool and hot tub. The employees all seemed pleasant. We used the "complimentary room" to freshen up in before we left the island and it was dirty from the people that used it before us. It would have been nice if it was cleaned. I know it's free, but we had just stayed there all week and spent a lot of money on the place. The beds are heavenly! Hip, chic rooms. Not very well lit in some places. Pros: Clean, excellent location, modern, heavely beds, nice staff, free 'breakfast' Cons: No pool or hot tub, no gym, some small rooms, not well lit rooms, high carb high sugar breakfast, small breakfast area

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    Don't buy your souvenirs at ABC or some similar store. There is an outdoor shopping center lined with kiosks near Honolulu Trade Center. They have all the same stuff as ABC and is 50 % or less.

    Review of Hotel Renew

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    First time Honolulu visitor
    Business
    West Hollywood, CA
    Mar 23, 2010

    Great Hotel

    The rooms were really small, but the decor was superb. I grow absolutely tired of the same, boring, hotel rooms everywhere you go. Its like every hotel abides by the same decor standards. The hotel renew was so much different. I will definitely be booking here again in the future, if I ever visit Waikiki again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Hotel Renew

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Cili
    Business
    Los Angeles, CA, USA
    Sep 27, 2011

    Family vacation

    The location of the hotel was just amazing. Very close to the beach. I mean you could be at the beach in like 3-5 minutes on foot. Which was very convenient. The room was not big. But it was very comfortable for the two of us. I liked the contemporary style of the rooms and hotel. It was kind of spa like. The bathroom was very nice and clean too. Nice tiles good tub shower combination. I am very picky about that. It got my full approval. The beds were a little bit on the soft side. On the mattresses they had an extra feather filled paddings and down comforters, those felt really nice. The staff was very friendly too. The breakfast was good. We had a great time at this hotel. We would go back there.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Back to menu Return to top