$188 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2015 Check-out: Aug 11, 2015

Hotel Renew

3 stars
View map of 129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
68 reviews
Vacation

Great value and location. Not A lot of amenities but that is what I like about a boutique hotel. It... See full review

  • Yoshikuni C.
  • May 18, 2015
Honeymoon

The hotel was amazing, great rooms and great staff! There aren't a lot of amenities, but the bar... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Dec 29, 2014

Hotel Renew is Honolulu's first true designer boutique hotel. This intimate, eco-friendly gem half a block from the beach was designed by internationally-acclaimed San Francisco designer, Jiun Ho. Find a mod-Asiatic atmosphere that makes a sophisticated, minimalist statement. The artful lobby features a side nook serving organic teas by day and signature cocktails by night. Continental breakfast and 24-hour front desk service seal the deal. Hotel Renew is a perfect getaway for couples.

Location

Hotel Renew has an ideal and unobtrusive location in Waikiki. The hotel is less than a block from the best stretch of sand and swimming along Waikiki Beach, and the dining and shopping district of Kalakaua Avenue. The Honolulu Zoo, Waikiki Aquarium and Kapiolani Park are a 10-minute walk from the hotel.  

Dining

Take advantage of the hotel's continental breakfast and relax over evening cocktails at Lounge Renew. The hotel is surrounded by a variety of dining options, including casual eats at Teddy's Bigger Burgers and excellent mid-priced dining at Tiki's Grill & Bar, Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar and Arancino di Mare.

Rooms

This petite boutique hotel features only 72 rooms. The hotel boasts intimate attention to service and the details guests relish. Designer rooms are sleekly tailored in rich dark woods and graphic creams with red and black trim. Specialty spa amenities, free in-room Wi-Fi, light dimmers and 32- or 50-inch flat-screen HDTVs elevate the hip, upscale ambience.

Highlights
  • Atmospheric Lounge Renew serves organic tea and signature cocktails
  • Watch movies on 50-inch flat TVs in select rooms
  • Dogs up to 20 pounds are welcome
Nearby attractions
    • Waikiki Beach (next door)
    • Honolulu Zoo (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
    • Royal Hawaiian Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
    • Waikiki Aquarium (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
    • Hawaii Convention Center (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
    • Ala Moana Center (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
    • Diamond Head Crater (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
    Transportation
    • Honolulu International Airport (10.6 mi/17 km)
    Recreation
    • Half a block to Waikiki Beach

    Top hotels

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed Hotel Renew also booked these hotels.

    Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
    Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
    Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

    Hotel Renew Rooms

    City View King
    Newly renovated designer City View with King rooms offer sophisticated style, high-design and innovative technology. Features views of Waikiki and surrounding neighborhoods. 1 king platform bed, 32" LCD HDTV, in-room computer system offering Internet access, Netflix movies, satellite TV and radio, CD/DVD player, and iPod compatibility. WiFi throughout hotel, in-room safe (fits laptop), dimmable lighting system.
    Premier Ocean View Double/Double
    The Hotel Room Ocean View Premier category is located on the top 5 floors of the Hotel Renew and offers incredible views of Oahus famed Waikiki Beach with stunning views of the surf and beautiful blue Pacific. Units are equipped with two Double beds (1-2 guests/max. 3).
    Premier Ocean View King
    The Hotel Room Ocean View Premier category is located on the top 5 floors of the Hotel Renew and offers incredible views of Oahus famed Waikiki Beach with stunning views of the surf and beautiful blue Pacific. Units are equipped with one King bed (1-2 guests/max. 2).

    Amenities

    • High-speed internet
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Elevators
    Services
    In-Room Safe
    Internet
    High-speed internet
    Parking
    Parking

    Nearby points of interest

    • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
    • Honolulu Zoo: 0.3 mi
    • Waikiki Shell: 0.4 mi
    • Kapiolani Park: 0.5 mi
    • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
    • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1.1 mi
    • Ala Wai Park: 1.1 mi
    • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.5 mi
    • Ala Moana Beach: 2 mi
    • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.1 mi
    • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
    • The Contemporary Museum: 2.8 mi
    • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
    • Kawaiahao Church: 3.2 mi
    • Waialae Country Club: 3.2 mi
    • Damien Museum: 0.1 mi
    • Honolulu Zoo: 0.3 mi
    • Waikiki Shell: 0.4 mi
    • Kapiolani Park: 0.5 mi
    • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.9 mi
    • Waikiki Baptist Church: 1.1 mi
    • Ala Wai Park: 1.1 mi
    • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.5 mi
    • Ala Moana Beach: 2 mi
    • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.1 mi
    • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.7 mi
    • The Contemporary Museum: 2.8 mi
    • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 3.1 mi
    • Kawaiahao Church: 3.2 mi
    • Waialae Country Club: 3.2 mi
    • Kamehameha Statue: 3.3 mi
    • Iolani Palace: 3.3 mi
    • Washington Place: 3.3 mi
    • Irvin Park: 3.6 mi
    • Star Of Honolulu: 3.6 mi
    • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.7 mi
    • Aloha Tower: 3.7 mi
    • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.7 mi
    • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.9 mi
    • Mauna Ala: 4 mi
    • Honolulu Chinatown: 4.1 mi
    • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.5 mi
    • Pali Lookout: 4.6 mi
    • Bishop Museum: 5.2 mi
    • Koolau Golf Club: 7.3 mi
    • Hanauma Bay: 8.1 mi
    • Koko Head Park: 8.6 mi
    • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.1 mi
    • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
    • Halona Blow Hole: 9.4 mi
    • Sandy Beach: 9.6 mi
    • Aloha Stadium: 9.7 mi
    • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.9 mi
    • Wawamalu Beach: 9.9 mi
    • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 10.1 mi
    • USS Missouri: 10.5 mi
    • Kailua Beach: 10.6 mi
    • Sea Life Park Hawai: 10.6 mi
    • Makapuu Beach: 10.8 mi
    • Lanikai Beach: 10.8 mi

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    3:00 PM
    Check-out:
    12:00 PM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Ratings and reviews for Hotel Renew

    Overall score

    4.3 / 5
    5.01.0
    6 out of 68
    Amenities:
    3.5
    Cleanliness:
    4.7
    Hotel staff:
    4.8
    Comfort:
    4.3
    Location:
    4.8
    Value:
    4

    100% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Hotel Renew

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Dancing Sue
    Business
    Memphis, TN
    Mar 28, 2014

    Great time

    I spent most of my vacation with my son and grandson at the Hotel Renew by Aston. It was a great experience. Hotel staff were top notch all the way around. Hotel was convenient to the Wakiki beach and shopping. Would stay there again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

    If you like to walk or run, area is convenient for doing that either on the beach or up towards Diamond Head.

    Review of Hotel Renew

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Cili
    Business
    Los Angeles, CA, USA
    Sep 27, 2011

    Family vacation

    The location of the hotel was just amazing. Very close to the beach. I mean you could be at the beach in like 3-5 minutes on foot. Which was very convenient. The room was not big. But it was very comfortable for the two of us. I liked the contemporary style of the rooms and hotel. It was kind of spa like. The bathroom was very nice and clean too. Nice tiles good tub shower combination. I am very picky about that. It got my full approval. The beds were a little bit on the soft side. On the mattresses they had an extra feather filled paddings and down comforters, those felt really nice. The staff was very friendly too. The breakfast was good. We had a great time at this hotel. We would go back there.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Hotel Renew

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Cili
    Business
    Los Angeles, CA, USA
    Sep 27, 2011

    Family vacation

    The location of the hotel was just amazing. Very close to the beach. I mean you could be at the beach in like 3-5 minutes on foot. Which was very convenient. The room was not big. But it was very comfortable for the two of us. I liked the contemporary style of the rooms and hotel. It was kind of spa like. The bathroom was very nice and clean too. Nice tiles good tub shower combination. I am very picky about that. It got my full approval. The beds were a little bit on the soft side. On the mattresses they had an extra feather filled paddings and down comforters, those felt really nice. The staff was very friendly too. The breakfast was good. We had a great time at this hotel. We would go back there.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: In Hotel

    We didn't rent a car at the airport upon arrival. It was really hard to rent a car for a decent price in the city afterwards. We could only rent one for a day. We could not get a car again. We were at Waikiki. At the airport they had cars available for a lot lower price. Its worth to get it there and just pay for parking at the hotel.

    Review of Hotel Renew

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Oxford, OH
    Mar 21, 2011

    Hotel Renew

    It is a very warm and nice hotel. Although it is not a large hotel, the staff are nice. They provided me a lot of information about transportation, tourist attractions and restaurants. The hotel is also equipped the broadcast for the tsunami alarm which worked for the tsunami resulted from Japanese earthquake. The room is very clean, furnitures are in modern style,the television is very large in my double room. However, the sound of the air conditioning was so loud which made my mother hard to fall asleep.It is the only disappointed part. Overall, it is a nice place for couples and families. It is close to Waikiki Beach, close to bus stop and the city center.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

    If you want to go shopping, go to Ala Mona Shopping center. It combines all kinds of brands of clothing and shoes. I think the price there is cheaper than the city center near Waikiki. There are also a lot of restaurants in this shopping center. The Chinese restaurant there has lots of delicious dishes. I will go there if I go to Honolulu again!

    Review of Hotel Renew

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Eagan, MN
    Mar 4, 2011

    Nice hotel, and wonderful staff

    Hotel Renew was a lovely retreat. The rooms are a little small, but very cozy and well furnished. The staff made us feel very welcome and helped us with everything we needed. LOVED the breakfast!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Hotel Renew

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Olie_Mom
    Business
    San Jose, CA
    Aug 10, 2010

    What a nice surprise!

    We spent 5 nights at Hotel Renew in July. We were surprised by what a great value it was. The interior of the hotel is new and modern. We love the double-double rooms. Spacious and newly remodeled, with a huge flat screen TV. The one-double-bed room is a lot smaller than the double-double room. Free continental breakfast is as good as continental breakfast gets. Fresh fruit, coffee, juice, and good selections of pastry. The location is great. A short walk to the beach and the bus stops. What impressed us the most is their service. It is better than some of the 4-star and 5-star hotels we have stayed at in the past. Upon our arrival, the frontdesk served everyone with Pineapple juice and hand towels. Every staff was happy and helpful. The only thing missing is a swimming pool. But who needs it when right next to the beautiful, calm ocean. We will definitely come back to Hotel Renew when we come to Waikiki. I hope the price doesn't go up when we go back the next time.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Back to menu Return to top