$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 1, 2015 Check-out: May 2, 2015

Hotel Renew

3 stars
View map of 129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Renew

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

99% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vadersblade
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 11, 2010

Great Location, Great Price

The Hotel Renew is very newly remodeled, and it shows. It is very clean, very trendy, and an all around great place to stay. The staff was very friendly. The wash cloth and juice at check in was a nice touch. Free Wi-Fi is also very nice. Also, being a smaller hotel, there is more attention given to each guest. The free continental breakfast was very good, which is a treat as they are hard to find on Waikiki Beach. There was toasts, yogurt, muffins, croissants, fresh fruits as well as fresh pineapple juice, coffee and tea.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Show Me State Couple
Business
St. Louis
Dec 12, 2009

Everything we hoped for and more

The location was great since we were only staying there for 2 days. Close to beach with towels and chairs provided by the hotel. The appearance and vibe feels like a "W" Hotel but not nearly as pretentious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Dec 11, 2009

Hidden gem

We travel to Hawaii a lot and have stayed at many different hotels. However, after this last visit, we will be returning to hotel renew. Its a small hotel, the rooms are quiet, but they are bigger than some of the large chain hotels. Don't get too excited, the rooms aren't huge; this is still Waikiki after all, space is limited. But, there was room for a king bed, a large desk, an armchair, and still room to walk around. There is free continental breakfast in the morning, which was wonderful, especially because most hotels in the area nickel and dime you for everything. The location is just off Kalakaua (i.e., the main drag), so you are not right on the beach (but you are literally half a block away). This also means that you should not be expecting a great view, but you should expect that the rooms will be quiet. This is a great boutique hotel that I would recommend to anyone coming to visit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
AZ, USA
Aug 16, 2009

Hotel Renew - Review

Excellent hotel staff - very responsive, very friendly. Hotel is very intimate so if you're looking to be amongst the anonymous masses, this is not the place. Breakfast was very good (fruits, breads, granola, yoghurt, juice, coffee, tea). Was not keen on the fact that one cannot take steps versus the elevator unless in an emergency. I mentioned (above) that the hotel is noisy but I should add that all of Waikiki is noisy; perhaps Hotel Renew is at a bit of a disadvantage since it has less floors and one cannot escape street noise by having a room on the 30th floor, for instance. Hotel generously and easily signed out beach towels and equipment. Rooms were nice - good lighting, modern, attractive, wifi (included) / TV / telephone. The double bed is a bit unfortunate; seems like a queen would be appropriate as a smallest option but... some of the rooms are small. The king room I stayed in had a clothesline in the shower - nice / practical touch. It did not exist in the double room I had although the addition of a lanai made up for it. I was disappointed that the room only had a "cooler" versus a fridge... very impractical for those who don't eat out at every turn. I do commend the hotel on caring about recycling / energy usage, however. That is a very refreshing attitude, and a long overdue one on the islands.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shaka Bra
Business
NYC, NY
Aug 6, 2009

Pleasant Stay

My wife and I went for our 1st anniversary and were greeted with a nice welcome drink, a free upgrade to a King Room (wasn't available through Orbitz) and a bottle of champagne with a personal note in the room...a nice beginning. Pros We stayed for 8 days, the staff was very kind and helpful. The hotel is beautiful but much smaller than I expected. A short walk to the beach and one block from cheaper parking :) (7 days for $60). Free surfboard storage. Comfy beds, nice bathroom, nice tv. All in all pleasant and without major problems. Cons Bathroom is nice, but there is no fan. :( We clogged the toilet 3 times and we didn't put that much down. Although the front desk was quick to send help, but still not fun. The breakfast was nice the first two days but got old fast, nothing really hot or salty. Don't expect it to satisfy. In the end, I have no real complaints and would stay there again. The car + room + $200 promo code from orbitz was hard to beat. Definitely nicer than other run down hotels that we have seen, for a better price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go jump off the rock at Weimea Bay, it is a nice little thrill, and then you can buy a $6 t-shirt that says you survived the jump, and the shirt is chalked full of typos and mispellings. :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madison, WI
Jul 26, 2009

as billed

Overall very nice and as described. No pool but the beach is just across the street. The hotel is in the middle of all the action of Wilkiki.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

House Without a Key and the Hulu Grill had very good food, right on the beach, with great sunsets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 26, 2009

Summer vacation

The customer service at this hotel was excellent. At the check-in counter, we were provided with wet hand towels and a glass of orange juice. The valet guy recommended a cheaper alternative to the valet parking at the hotel. The staff always greeted us when we walked through the lobby and held the front door for us upon entering/exiting. The rooms are great and modern looking even though it was an older hotel that was recently renovated. The hotel offers free beach towels and beach chairs for hotel guest use. There is a free continental breakfast, which is better than your typical continental breakfast and includes muffins, crossants, fresh fruit, cereal with regular or soy milk, and coffee/tea. The only downsides, which were relatively minor in nature, were 1) the website is a lot nicer looking than the hotel actually is inside. While the rooms do look like they do in the pictures, it's still not exactly at the level that the website depicts it to be, 2) the hotel is slightly further down the main street, Kalakaua Ave., than we would have preferred (further from the shopping and nicer part of Waikiki beach), however, this could be a good thing if you prefer being away from the crowds, and 3) the rooms only had these super thick comforters...unusual for a warm weather destination so you had to turn up the AC on high in order to compensate for the heavy blankets. We asked at the front desk and that was all they had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The valet parking at the hotel costs $22/night, but there is a $10/day covered parking lot just around the corner from Hotel Renew called the Waikiki Banyan off of the intersection of Kuhio and Paoakalani. If you park there, you'll save yourself a ton of money. Also, the $10 fee allows you unlimited "in/out" privileges throughout the day so you don't have to pay the $10 every time you park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jthoo
Business
Greensboro, NC
Jun 15, 2009

Great place to stay!!!

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Answered any questions that I had. Room was very comfortable and spacious. Great location. Beach is right across the street and many dining options within walking distance. Free breakfast every morning. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
california
Jun 12, 2009

Great hotel, but poor maid service!

It's a beautiful hotel, newly renovated. Very clean and nice rooms. The hotel staff was very freindly and helpful. Don't expect to find a gym, pool, or vending machines like a normal hotel though. The only downsides to the stay was the bad maid service and the noisy rooms (due to being close to Waikiki). Half the time, the maid forgot to give us pillow covers, shampoo, conditioner, wash clothes, etc. She also touched and moved our stuff around, which is unacceptable. Other than that, the stay was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sausalito, CA
Jun 2, 2009

GREAT Place

The staff at the hotel was great! They made me feel right at home and relaxed, assisted me with finding a local Kinkos for work, reviewed security tapes when I lost my credit card, they were great. They allowed me to look at other rooms to upgrade to and check in early so I could do some work. I loved the rooms, modern, clean, comfortable bed and quiet. The decor throughout the hotel and rooms was also great. The location was one block from the beach making it convenient to everything. There is no restaurant or room service, but plenty of places just outside the hotel. I would definately stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top