$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

Hotel Renew

3 stars
View map of 129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Renew

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 68
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

99% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Clarita, CA
Mar 6, 2010

Very nice pace to stay

Very clean and friendly. Not a warehouse type resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to chinatown to eat and stroll.

Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
San Mateo
Mar 4, 2010

Very nice hotel, pleasant staff,

Former resident, here for 88th birthday party, spent all our time visiting relatives. Left in the morning and returned in the evening. Lemon flavored ice water set out near elevators each nite, wonderful. Wished the same available during breakfast. But, very nice breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Vancouver, BC
Feb 28, 2010

Fantastic vacation

A boutique hotel is perfect for the traveler who is looking for modern accommodations but with a personal feel. The staff was super helpful and friendly, in fact, the best customer service I have received at a hotel. Very personal service since there are only 70 rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
blazer fan
Couples
portland, or
Feb 9, 2010

Great staff and location

Loved the personal feeling of the service in this small hotel. We don't like the big, impersonal resorts, so this was a perfect place to stay for a week. Staff were friendly and remembered our preferences. The complimentary breakfast and daily happy hour in the small lobby bar area allowed us to get to know other guests and the hotel staff. One night there was a manager's reception with complimentary specialty cocktails for an hour. Our seventh floor room had an ocean view, but there was some street noise. We requested an accessible room, and ours was as nicely appointed as any other we have stayed in. They provided sand chairs and towels for the 1/2 block walk to the beach. Front desk made reservations, loaned us a laptop and generally made our visit comfortable and effortless. We would stay there again and recommend it to our friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Visit Shangri La, the late Doris Duke's beautiful home filled with world class Islamic art collection. Reserve early. One of the island's best treasures.

Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paula G.
Couples
Alberta, Canada.
Jan 26, 2010

Another lovely stay - I feel renewed!

It was my husband and I's second stay at the hotel. We like that the hotel is smaller and that it is less family centered than some of the larger hotels. Beds were huge and comfortable, staff is lovely and friendly, and the small breakfast in the morning saved us money and time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go off the main road which borders Waikiki beach to find great and less expensive meals. Eat where the locals eat.

Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vadersblade
Couples
Chicago, IL
Jan 11, 2010

Great Location, Great Price

The Hotel Renew is very newly remodeled, and it shows. It is very clean, very trendy, and an all around great place to stay. The staff was very friendly. The wash cloth and juice at check in was a nice touch. Free Wi-Fi is also very nice. Also, being a smaller hotel, there is more attention given to each guest. The free continental breakfast was very good, which is a treat as they are hard to find on Waikiki Beach. There was toasts, yogurt, muffins, croissants, fresh fruits as well as fresh pineapple juice, coffee and tea.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Show Me State Couple
Couples
St. Louis
Dec 12, 2009

Everything we hoped for and more

The location was great since we were only staying there for 2 days. Close to beach with towels and chairs provided by the hotel. The appearance and vibe feels like a "W" Hotel but not nearly as pretentious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
New York, NY
Dec 11, 2009

Hidden gem

We travel to Hawaii a lot and have stayed at many different hotels. However, after this last visit, we will be returning to hotel renew. Its a small hotel, the rooms are quiet, but they are bigger than some of the large chain hotels. Don't get too excited, the rooms aren't huge; this is still Waikiki after all, space is limited. But, there was room for a king bed, a large desk, an armchair, and still room to walk around. There is free continental breakfast in the morning, which was wonderful, especially because most hotels in the area nickel and dime you for everything. The location is just off Kalakaua (i.e., the main drag), so you are not right on the beach (but you are literally half a block away). This also means that you should not be expecting a great view, but you should expect that the rooms will be quiet. This is a great boutique hotel that I would recommend to anyone coming to visit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
AZ, USA
Aug 16, 2009

Hotel Renew - Review

Excellent hotel staff - very responsive, very friendly. Hotel is very intimate so if you're looking to be amongst the anonymous masses, this is not the place. Breakfast was very good (fruits, breads, granola, yoghurt, juice, coffee, tea). Was not keen on the fact that one cannot take steps versus the elevator unless in an emergency. I mentioned (above) that the hotel is noisy but I should add that all of Waikiki is noisy; perhaps Hotel Renew is at a bit of a disadvantage since it has less floors and one cannot escape street noise by having a room on the 30th floor, for instance. Hotel generously and easily signed out beach towels and equipment. Rooms were nice - good lighting, modern, attractive, wifi (included) / TV / telephone. The double bed is a bit unfortunate; seems like a queen would be appropriate as a smallest option but... some of the rooms are small. The king room I stayed in had a clothesline in the shower - nice / practical touch. It did not exist in the double room I had although the addition of a lanai made up for it. I was disappointed that the room only had a "cooler" versus a fridge... very impractical for those who don't eat out at every turn. I do commend the hotel on caring about recycling / energy usage, however. That is a very refreshing attitude, and a long overdue one on the islands.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shaka Bra
Couples
NYC, NY
Aug 6, 2009

Pleasant Stay

My wife and I went for our 1st anniversary and were greeted with a nice welcome drink, a free upgrade to a King Room (wasn't available through Orbitz) and a bottle of champagne with a personal note in the room...a nice beginning. Pros We stayed for 8 days, the staff was very kind and helpful. The hotel is beautiful but much smaller than I expected. A short walk to the beach and one block from cheaper parking :) (7 days for $60). Free surfboard storage. Comfy beds, nice bathroom, nice tv. All in all pleasant and without major problems. Cons Bathroom is nice, but there is no fan. :( We clogged the toilet 3 times and we didn't put that much down. Although the front desk was quick to send help, but still not fun. The breakfast was nice the first two days but got old fast, nothing really hot or salty. Don't expect it to satisfy. In the end, I have no real complaints and would stay there again. The car + room + $200 promo code from orbitz was hard to beat. Definitely nicer than other run down hotels that we have seen, for a better price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go jump off the rock at Weimea Bay, it is a nice little thrill, and then you can buy a $6 t-shirt that says you survived the jump, and the shirt is chalked full of typos and mispellings. :)

Back to menu Return to top