$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 28, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

Hotel Renew

3 stars
View map of 129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Renew

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

99% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CalGinn
Business
Eugene, OR
Jan 24, 2011

Great Place

I have spent two vacations at Hotel Renew and I like it because it is a small, boutique hotel as opposed to all of the huge hotels in Waikiki. They offer a nice, modest breakfast every morning and open their lobby in the evening for early drinks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The fantastic Waikiki Beach is a very short walk from the hotel and they have all the beach towels and accessories you would ever need!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shaky Jake
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Jan 16, 2011

Awesome hotel

-Beautiful decor and design scheme -Perfect location -Staff gave great advice about surf conditions at the North Shore, which saved us from wasting a day when it was bad. We went a few days later instead and saw Pipeline in all its glory.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking lot along Monsarrat Ave is free with no time limits. Since it's only a few minute's walk to Hotel Renew, we saved a lot of money by not paying for parking at all during our 12-day trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 24, 2010

Best Hotel Experience in Years

Completely top-notch in every way. This is the last of our 5 nights here, and this has been one of the best vacation hotel experience we have ever had. When you factor in the excellent price, it's the best. Here are the ways it has been awesome: Very chic, contemporary rooms with plenty of space. Bathrooms are very nice with actual shower doors and plenty of space. Bed is very comfortable. Plenty of pillows. Housekeeping very thorough and efficient-- they even came up at 7pm to clean sand I had tracked in because I requested it. We parked our rental car the whole time--the hotel guys were SUPER FAST in getting our car out every time and we went in/out 2-3 times a day. I know the staff is in the hospitality business, and it is their job to be nice, but the Hotel Renew staff went above and beyond! They were incredibly welcoming, learned our name very quickly, and very sincere. Every time we walked out through the lobby they were attentive and offered us towels for the beach, and they were happy to provide advice on any questions we had. The owner of this hotel should be proud to have such a quality staff and good management. Every single employee on of the 7 or 8 employees I interacted with was helpful, warm, courteous, and efficient. I don't know what else to say except that you will not be sorry if you stay here. The only thing that some people might not like is that it is a small boutique hotel (72 rooms they told me), and therefore it does not have resort-type services or amenities, such as massage, pool, gym, etc. But you are in freaking Hawaii!! You should be climbing Diamond Head, taking surf lessons, or snorkeling!! You can always go grab piña colada at the Moana Surfrider if you want a taste of the fancy resort experience. Good luck!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beano, Canine Good Citizen
Business
Washington DC
Oct 13, 2010

Great vacation spot for the money

Took a taxi from the airport (A little pricey considering the relatively short distance). I selected the hotel originally because it is one of the few hotels in Waikiki that accept pets. Hotel is situated near the south eastern end of Kalakaua Ave. (closer to Diamond Head) which is good in the sense that you don't have to decide which direction to walk since most of the activity is north and west of the hotel. Guests are greeted with fresh pineapple juice and wet towels at check in. Hotel staff are courteous and helpful. Hotel Renew does not have a pool or a resaurant but Waikiki Beach is LITERALLY less then a hundred yards from the entrance of the hotel....not waterfront....but close....and there is an abundant supply of restaurants within a VERY short walking distance. Room (I stayed in 208) has a designer appearance decor with contrasting dark wood and light laminate and tiles. Seemed to be a bit on the smaller side without being crowded. Touch control lighting controls allows the guest to vary the lighting from the door and the bedside but no way to control light shining through the frosted glass window between the bathroom and the bedroom. Flat screen TVs in each room with good reception. Beds had down and feather comforters and pillows.....good for non-allergy sufferers. Complimentary WiFi internet is worth every penny you paid for it; upload and download speed seemed slow in the afternoon and evenings; bandwidth seemed to improve in the mornings. Non-adjustable A/C seemed a bit on the cool side in the evenings (perhaps a reason they have down feather blankets) but was fine the rest of the day. Windows have blinds and sliding doors which helps to regulate the temperature as well as incoming light. Complimentary continental breakfast was available each morning at 7:30 but it tends to get crowded by 8:00 and the dining area can accommodate a maximum of eight to ten dining guests simultaneously. Free beach blankets, boogie boards, and chairs were readily available for the asking. The cleaning people were very diligent and efficient in fixing the rooms each day but the towels and robes seemed a bit coarse and the room had a strong smell of cleaning supplies each day when I returned. It was noticeable only for the first few minutes and was insignificant afterward. The Aston Waikiki Hotel next door had live music every night and the youth hostel adjacent to the hotel on Lemon Street caters to younger people so the area seemed kind of loud and had an abundance of people hanging out late in the evenings. Car rentals and island tours can be found at the Marriott across the street. There is no self parking at the hotel and the valet parking charge is $22/night with unlimited in and out. Parking spots in the garage seemed crowded most evenings when I returned. Access to and from H-1 can be congested at most times. Bus is the most cost effective means of getting around the island and the bus stop is about 30 yards the opposite direction of the beach at Kuhio and Paoakalani. While the location of Hotel Renew is not centrally located for walking, the bus routes heading west (to Ala Moana, downtown, Pearl Harbor, and Aloha Stadium) start here. Guests from Hotel Renew heading west get seated first which is important since the bus ride could take an hour or more. Hospitality room for guests departing on evening flights after they have officially "checked out" was provided free of charge. This allows guests to get a quick shower and freshen up before taking the long return flight home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

There are MANY sidewalk solicitors along Kalakaua Avenue offering discounts on tours, cruises, luaus, etc. They claim to not be selling timeshares but that is PRECISELY what they are doing. Your time is better spent paying for your own entertainment and not wasting valuable vacation time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Texas
Aug 25, 2010

Ubeatable location for the price

This was our first time to Hawaii and the experience was WONDERFUL. We researched multiple hotels and decided upon Hotel Renew due to it uniqueness. Over the years we have vactioned to various places and have seen all of your typical "tropical inspired" rooms,but Hotel Renew was far from that. It was Asian ispired and a welcomed change. The hotel itself and our room were small, but thats what made it so appealing and intimate. The staff was beyond FRIENDLY and very ACCOMADATING. Thank you Hotel Renew for making our vacation so special with great memories.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

When planning your itinerary to various attractions on the island please keep in mind that the city bus can take you to MOST of the same places. The price is $2.50 per person (exact change)verses the multiple dollars you pay when you schedule special transportation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Olie_Mom
Business
San Jose, CA
Aug 10, 2010

What a nice surprise!

We spent 5 nights at Hotel Renew in July. We were surprised by what a great value it was. The interior of the hotel is new and modern. We love the double-double rooms. Spacious and newly remodeled, with a huge flat screen TV. The one-double-bed room is a lot smaller than the double-double room. Free continental breakfast is as good as continental breakfast gets. Fresh fruit, coffee, juice, and good selections of pastry. The location is great. A short walk to the beach and the bus stops. What impressed us the most is their service. It is better than some of the 4-star and 5-star hotels we have stayed at in the past. Upon our arrival, the frontdesk served everyone with Pineapple juice and hand towels. Every staff was happy and helpful. The only thing missing is a swimming pool. But who needs it when right next to the beautiful, calm ocean. We will definitely come back to Hotel Renew when we come to Waikiki. I hope the price doesn't go up when we go back the next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cashiusclay
Business
San Francisco, Ca
Jul 27, 2010

Cozy Little Place

Hotel Renew is a nice cozy little spot. It's built on the premise of being "green" which I liked. Also, the design and overall look and feel of the hotel was modern, new, and relaxing. Hotel service was great, nice continental breakfast (no hot foods), but enough to get started for the day. The hotel room itself is not huge, and while the concierge, or lack of one, might be missed by those who need to be more spoon-fed about travel plans and adventures, you can just go next door to the Aston for that. I don't know if it was the time we were there but I found the environment to be extremely noisy, contruction nearby or whatever, it just seemed to be loud every morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you really want true Hawaiian Cuisine, walk west a bit and find two places, both really cheap and delicious! Ono Seafood has the best Poke you'll ever eat in Honolulu and Ono Hawaiian food just nearby has everything you'll ever find at a Luau but 10 times better than the cheesy Luau buffets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Jul 14, 2010

Great value and service, but small.

Great value hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful. Hotel room is a bit small (had to repeatedly ask companion, who was sitting at the desk, to move so that I could get by). No swimming pool - we didn't mind, but this may be important for others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel located near shops/restaurants/beach/other hotels.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jul 2, 2010

Fantastic!

Perfect for those that want a nice room in a good location, but don't need all the resort amenities. Staff was so nice and helpful. I will return, and I highly recommend Hotel Renew to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

If you want a nice dinner spot off the strip, try Uncle Bo's.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 28, 2010

Hawaii Honeymoon

The hotel provided exceptional service. We had a bottle of champagne in our hotel room when we arrived since the staff knew we were on our honeymoon. The rooms were clean and the lighting was awesome including bedside controls. Hotel provides free basic breakfast in the small lobby which can tend to feel crowded in the morning. The breakfast could also use more items. Overall our stay was exceptional. We will definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tasting menu at the Sansai Restaurant next door for $75 a couple is a great value and the food is amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top