$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 30, 2015 Check-out: Jun 2, 2015

Hotel Renew

3 stars
View map of 129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Renew

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

99% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cili
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Sep 27, 2011

Family vacation

The location of the hotel was just amazing. Very close to the beach. I mean you could be at the beach in like 3-5 minutes on foot. Which was very convenient. The room was not big. But it was very comfortable for the two of us. I liked the contemporary style of the rooms and hotel. It was kind of spa like. The bathroom was very nice and clean too. Nice tiles good tub shower combination. I am very picky about that. It got my full approval. The beds were a little bit on the soft side. On the mattresses they had an extra feather filled paddings and down comforters, those felt really nice. The staff was very friendly too. The breakfast was good. We had a great time at this hotel. We would go back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

We didn't rent a car at the airport upon arrival. It was really hard to rent a car for a decent price in the city afterwards. We could only rent one for a day. We could not get a car again. We were at Waikiki. At the airport they had cars available for a lot lower price. Its worth to get it there and just pay for parking at the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
staycation808
Business
Wahiawa, HI, USA
Sep 25, 2011

Great Staycation

Booked the room after reading reviews online and saw the great reviews. I live locally but wanted to stay in town for a night. The location is great but was a little tricky to find because of the small front. I passed by it once and had to circle around because it is on a one-way street but it wasn't a big deal. Staff greeted me when I pulled up into garage and received a friendly reception with chilled juice and chilled face towel. Room was very clean and well laid out. I was very impressed with everything about the hotel and didn't have a single complaint. I will definitely be staying here for my future weekend "staycations".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jul 14, 2011

Almost....

So close to being a great hotel, but sadly not there yet. Relatively new, Hotel Renew tries to be a boutique hotel in a 1980's building. The facility itself is a little dated, and is isolated on the far end of Waikiki (which isn't in itself a bad thing). Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, but they don't have the same tools to work with as other places. On the plus side: Location (it's on one side, so crowds aren't as bad), staff (incredibly friendly and helpful), boutique crowd (fewer children, less commercial), free wifi and beach towels, and reasonably sized spaces (rooms are comfortable). On the negative side: Older facility (looks sad from the outside), lack of amenities (business center, health center/gym, hotel bar/restaurant), location (it's a walk to most things). As much as we enjoyed our experience with the people (or lack of tiny people), the facility needs some help. Overall, though, a nice place with great potential.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great places to try within walkable distance to this hotel: Bogart's Cafe for breakfast, Leonard's for malasadas, and Uncle Bo's for pupus and drinks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jul 14, 2011

Almost....

So close to being a great hotel, but sadly not there yet. Relatively new, Hotel Renew tries to be a boutique hotel in a 1980's building. The facility itself is a little dated, and is isolated on the far end of Waikiki (which isn't in itself a bad thing). Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, but they don't have the same tools to work with as other places. On the plus side: Location (it's on one side, so crowds aren't as bad), staff (incredibly friendly and helpful), boutique crowd (fewer children, less commercial), free wifi and beach towels, and reasonably sized spaces (rooms are comfortable). On the negative side: Older facility (looks sad from the outside), lack of amenities (business center, health center/gym, hotel bar/restaurant), location (it's a walk to most things). As much as we enjoyed our experience with the people (or lack of tiny people), the facility needs some help. Overall, though, a nice place with great potential.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great places to try within walkable distance to this hotel: Bogart's Cafe for breakfast, Leonard's for malasadas, and Uncle Bo's for pupus and drinks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tvoz
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 13, 2011

Great staff and service

Honestly, this hotel has the most helpful staff I have ever encountered. They arranged rental car, discount day pass to a nearby gym, and a room to shower in after we had checked out earlier in the morning. The hotel is in walking distance to Sans Souci beach (and many others), Diamond Head crater, shopping, and great restaurants. Don't miss the nightly happy hour in their lounge. We found it to be a great opportunity to get advice for the next day's plans, and they had some of the best drinks we had in the neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LP-Traveler
Business
El Paso, TX
Jun 13, 2011

Great location for the price

We spent a wonderful week in the Hotel Renew. The room was clean, as was the bathroom. Only the air conditioner is a little bit loud, dont worry if You are a good sleeper. The personnel (reception and valet) was always very friendly and helpful. To Waikiki Beach it is just 100 yards and they supply guests with all the beaching utilities one can think of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loved up Poms
Business
England UK
May 22, 2011

Hotel Renew Waikiki

Excellent location - just a two minute walk to the beach and beach and mountain views from our balcony. Buffet breakfast was good, though unable to obtain before 7am despite early airport pickup. Free wifi and beach towels. Rooms a little on the small size but the location made up for that. Staff fantastic and very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Buses to Pearl Harbor leave from just up the road and there is a shelter for those rainy days!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sirchubbalot
Business
Portland, ME
Apr 23, 2011

Fantastic small, modern, convinient hote

We were there for a wedding and were able to do many adventurous things because of the convinience of the hotel. It was small, quiet, clean and very modern. The staff was amazingly helpful and always happy to provide any service or help that was needed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It is a short walk to anything you may Wang to do in Waikiki.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oxford, OH
Mar 21, 2011

Hotel Renew

It is a very warm and nice hotel. Although it is not a large hotel, the staff are nice. They provided me a lot of information about transportation, tourist attractions and restaurants. The hotel is also equipped the broadcast for the tsunami alarm which worked for the tsunami resulted from Japanese earthquake. The room is very clean, furnitures are in modern style,the television is very large in my double room. However, the sound of the air conditioning was so loud which made my mother hard to fall asleep.It is the only disappointed part. Overall, it is a nice place for couples and families. It is close to Waikiki Beach, close to bus stop and the city center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to go shopping, go to Ala Mona Shopping center. It combines all kinds of brands of clothing and shoes. I think the price there is cheaper than the city center near Waikiki. There are also a lot of restaurants in this shopping center. The Chinese restaurant there has lots of delicious dishes. I will go there if I go to Honolulu again!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Eagan, MN
Mar 4, 2011

Nice hotel, and wonderful staff

Hotel Renew was a lovely retreat. The rooms are a little small, but very cozy and well furnished. The staff made us feel very welcome and helped us with everything we needed. LOVED the breakfast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top