$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 9, 2015 Check-out: Apr 12, 2015

Hotel Renew

3 stars
View map of 129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Renew

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

99% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LP-Traveler
Business
El Paso, TX
Jun 13, 2011

Great location for the price

We spent a wonderful week in the Hotel Renew. The room was clean, as was the bathroom. Only the air conditioner is a little bit loud, dont worry if You are a good sleeper. The personnel (reception and valet) was always very friendly and helpful. To Waikiki Beach it is just 100 yards and they supply guests with all the beaching utilities one can think of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loved up Poms
Business
England UK
May 22, 2011

Hotel Renew Waikiki

Excellent location - just a two minute walk to the beach and beach and mountain views from our balcony. Buffet breakfast was good, though unable to obtain before 7am despite early airport pickup. Free wifi and beach towels. Rooms a little on the small size but the location made up for that. Staff fantastic and very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Buses to Pearl Harbor leave from just up the road and there is a shelter for those rainy days!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sirchubbalot
Business
Portland, ME
Apr 23, 2011

Fantastic small, modern, convinient hote

We were there for a wedding and were able to do many adventurous things because of the convinience of the hotel. It was small, quiet, clean and very modern. The staff was amazingly helpful and always happy to provide any service or help that was needed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It is a short walk to anything you may Wang to do in Waikiki.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oxford, OH
Mar 21, 2011

Hotel Renew

It is a very warm and nice hotel. Although it is not a large hotel, the staff are nice. They provided me a lot of information about transportation, tourist attractions and restaurants. The hotel is also equipped the broadcast for the tsunami alarm which worked for the tsunami resulted from Japanese earthquake. The room is very clean, furnitures are in modern style,the television is very large in my double room. However, the sound of the air conditioning was so loud which made my mother hard to fall asleep.It is the only disappointed part. Overall, it is a nice place for couples and families. It is close to Waikiki Beach, close to bus stop and the city center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want to go shopping, go to Ala Mona Shopping center. It combines all kinds of brands of clothing and shoes. I think the price there is cheaper than the city center near Waikiki. There are also a lot of restaurants in this shopping center. The Chinese restaurant there has lots of delicious dishes. I will go there if I go to Honolulu again!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Eagan, MN
Mar 4, 2011

Nice hotel, and wonderful staff

Hotel Renew was a lovely retreat. The rooms are a little small, but very cozy and well furnished. The staff made us feel very welcome and helped us with everything we needed. LOVED the breakfast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CalGinn
Business
Eugene, OR
Jan 24, 2011

Great Place

I have spent two vacations at Hotel Renew and I like it because it is a small, boutique hotel as opposed to all of the huge hotels in Waikiki. They offer a nice, modest breakfast every morning and open their lobby in the evening for early drinks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The fantastic Waikiki Beach is a very short walk from the hotel and they have all the beach towels and accessories you would ever need!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shaky Jake
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Jan 16, 2011

Awesome hotel

-Beautiful decor and design scheme -Perfect location -Staff gave great advice about surf conditions at the North Shore, which saved us from wasting a day when it was bad. We went a few days later instead and saw Pipeline in all its glory.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking lot along Monsarrat Ave is free with no time limits. Since it's only a few minute's walk to Hotel Renew, we saved a lot of money by not paying for parking at all during our 12-day trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 24, 2010

Best Hotel Experience in Years

Completely top-notch in every way. This is the last of our 5 nights here, and this has been one of the best vacation hotel experience we have ever had. When you factor in the excellent price, it's the best. Here are the ways it has been awesome: Very chic, contemporary rooms with plenty of space. Bathrooms are very nice with actual shower doors and plenty of space. Bed is very comfortable. Plenty of pillows. Housekeeping very thorough and efficient-- they even came up at 7pm to clean sand I had tracked in because I requested it. We parked our rental car the whole time--the hotel guys were SUPER FAST in getting our car out every time and we went in/out 2-3 times a day. I know the staff is in the hospitality business, and it is their job to be nice, but the Hotel Renew staff went above and beyond! They were incredibly welcoming, learned our name very quickly, and very sincere. Every time we walked out through the lobby they were attentive and offered us towels for the beach, and they were happy to provide advice on any questions we had. The owner of this hotel should be proud to have such a quality staff and good management. Every single employee on of the 7 or 8 employees I interacted with was helpful, warm, courteous, and efficient. I don't know what else to say except that you will not be sorry if you stay here. The only thing that some people might not like is that it is a small boutique hotel (72 rooms they told me), and therefore it does not have resort-type services or amenities, such as massage, pool, gym, etc. But you are in freaking Hawaii!! You should be climbing Diamond Head, taking surf lessons, or snorkeling!! You can always go grab piña colada at the Moana Surfrider if you want a taste of the fancy resort experience. Good luck!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beano, Canine Good Citizen
Business
Washington DC
Oct 13, 2010

Great vacation spot for the money

Took a taxi from the airport (A little pricey considering the relatively short distance). I selected the hotel originally because it is one of the few hotels in Waikiki that accept pets. Hotel is situated near the south eastern end of Kalakaua Ave. (closer to Diamond Head) which is good in the sense that you don't have to decide which direction to walk since most of the activity is north and west of the hotel. Guests are greeted with fresh pineapple juice and wet towels at check in. Hotel staff are courteous and helpful. Hotel Renew does not have a pool or a resaurant but Waikiki Beach is LITERALLY less then a hundred yards from the entrance of the hotel....not waterfront....but close....and there is an abundant supply of restaurants within a VERY short walking distance. Room (I stayed in 208) has a designer appearance decor with contrasting dark wood and light laminate and tiles. Seemed to be a bit on the smaller side without being crowded. Touch control lighting controls allows the guest to vary the lighting from the door and the bedside but no way to control light shining through the frosted glass window between the bathroom and the bedroom. Flat screen TVs in each room with good reception. Beds had down and feather comforters and pillows.....good for non-allergy sufferers. Complimentary WiFi internet is worth every penny you paid for it; upload and download speed seemed slow in the afternoon and evenings; bandwidth seemed to improve in the mornings. Non-adjustable A/C seemed a bit on the cool side in the evenings (perhaps a reason they have down feather blankets) but was fine the rest of the day. Windows have blinds and sliding doors which helps to regulate the temperature as well as incoming light. Complimentary continental breakfast was available each morning at 7:30 but it tends to get crowded by 8:00 and the dining area can accommodate a maximum of eight to ten dining guests simultaneously. Free beach blankets, boogie boards, and chairs were readily available for the asking. The cleaning people were very diligent and efficient in fixing the rooms each day but the towels and robes seemed a bit coarse and the room had a strong smell of cleaning supplies each day when I returned. It was noticeable only for the first few minutes and was insignificant afterward. The Aston Waikiki Hotel next door had live music every night and the youth hostel adjacent to the hotel on Lemon Street caters to younger people so the area seemed kind of loud and had an abundance of people hanging out late in the evenings. Car rentals and island tours can be found at the Marriott across the street. There is no self parking at the hotel and the valet parking charge is $22/night with unlimited in and out. Parking spots in the garage seemed crowded most evenings when I returned. Access to and from H-1 can be congested at most times. Bus is the most cost effective means of getting around the island and the bus stop is about 30 yards the opposite direction of the beach at Kuhio and Paoakalani. While the location of Hotel Renew is not centrally located for walking, the bus routes heading west (to Ala Moana, downtown, Pearl Harbor, and Aloha Stadium) start here. Guests from Hotel Renew heading west get seated first which is important since the bus ride could take an hour or more. Hospitality room for guests departing on evening flights after they have officially "checked out" was provided free of charge. This allows guests to get a quick shower and freshen up before taking the long return flight home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

There are MANY sidewalk solicitors along Kalakaua Avenue offering discounts on tours, cruises, luaus, etc. They claim to not be selling timeshares but that is PRECISELY what they are doing. Your time is better spent paying for your own entertainment and not wasting valuable vacation time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Renew

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Texas
Aug 25, 2010

Ubeatable location for the price

This was our first time to Hawaii and the experience was WONDERFUL. We researched multiple hotels and decided upon Hotel Renew due to it uniqueness. Over the years we have vactioned to various places and have seen all of your typical "tropical inspired" rooms,but Hotel Renew was far from that. It was Asian ispired and a welcomed change. The hotel itself and our room were small, but thats what made it so appealing and intimate. The staff was beyond FRIENDLY and very ACCOMADATING. Thank you Hotel Renew for making our vacation so special with great memories.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

When planning your itinerary to various attractions on the island please keep in mind that the city bus can take you to MOST of the same places. The price is $2.50 per person (exact change)verses the multiple dollars you pay when you schedule special transportation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top