$200 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2014 Check-out: Aug 29, 2014

Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

3 stars
2300 KALAKAUA AVENUE, HONOLULU, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
292 reviews
Nice stay at the Waikiki beachcomber

My wife and I had a very nice stay at the Holiday Inn Wakikik Beachcomber hotel. Although not right... See full review

  • JSandCJS
  • Feb 28, 2014
Great couples vacation

First let me start by thanking the manager that was on duty on 10/24/13, for upgrading our room... See full review

  • Zekalaka
  • Nov 7, 2013
Mid-priced favorite in the heart of Waikiki across from the beach

The Waikiki Beachcomber offers entertainment, spacious comfort and affordability on Waikiki's most exciting avenue. Take advantage of large-hotel conveniences like airport transfers, business services with small-hotel friendliness at this locally-owned hotel.

Highlights
  • Illusionist production, Magic of Polynesia, nightly at the hotel showroom
  • Free Honolulu Surfing Museum & Bar features surf history and vintage boards
  • Free in-room high-speed Internet access and long-distance calls (time limit)
Location

Waikiki Beachcomber is located midpoint on Waikiki's most exciting shopping and dining strip, Kalakaua Avenue. Walk a block to reach upscale shopping at Royal Hawaiian Center, souvenir shops at International Market Place and the festive mid-section of Waikiki Beach.

Rooms

Enjoy spacious, newly-renovated guest rooms decorated in soft tropical colors with private balcony. Some rooms have generous ocean views. All rooms include 32-inch flat screen TV, shower/tub with hand-held showerhead, refrigerator, safe, air-conditioning and phone with voice messaging.


Dining

Jimmy Buffett's at the Beachcomber, the hotel's star dining attraction, combines a festive collection of pan-island bites, drinks and décor. Go for the volcano nachos and stay for free live entertainment by local musicians. Find many other dining options on nearby Kalakaua Avenue.

Recreation
  • Magic of Polynesia, a full-stage illusionist extravaganza
  • Join Hawaii's favorite radio show, Perry and Price, for a live Saturday morning broadcast
  • Fitness center
  • Massage service upon request
Attractions
  • Royal Hawaiian Center (.1 mi/.2 km)
  • Waikiki Beach (.4 mi/.6 km)
  • U.S. Army Museum (.4 mi/.7 km)
  • Honolulu Zoo (.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Waikiki Aquarium (.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Hawaii Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Diamond Head Crater (1.2 mi/3.1 km)
  • Ala Moana Center (1.4 mi/2.3 km)

 

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Live entertainment
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Lounge
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Computer in Room
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2778 -157.8275
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport, (HNL), 12.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Resort, resort

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.6 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.6 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.8 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.8 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.1 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.1 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.2 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.4 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.5 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.6 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.1 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.5 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.9 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.4 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.3 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi

Dining

Jimmy Buffett's at the Beachcomber
Jimmy Buffett's at the Beachcomber features a full menu best described as "American" with hints of Hawaii. Jimmy Buffett's Restaurant and Bar is a mecca for "Parrotheads" and everyone else out to enjoy a great meal in a nautical setting. Nightly entertain
Honolulu Surfing Museum
For a hip and uniquely Hawaiian place to relax, head to our bar. Order a long, cool drink and peruse a world-class, unique collection of surfing artifacts, videos and memorabilia from around the world. Don't forget, there's also poolside service, too!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (292)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 292
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Benicia, California
Dec 16, 2009

Noisy!!!

The room I was given was extremely noisy...the 5th floor right about the international market place...the noisiest room I have ever had anywhere...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Benicia, California
Dec 16, 2009

Noisy!!!

The room I was given was extremely noisy...the 5th floor right about the international market place...the noisiest room I have ever had anywhere...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Walnut Creek, Ca
Sep 14, 2009

Hawaii trip

It was fine for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Walnut Creek, Ca
Sep 14, 2009

Hawaii trip

It was fine for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scanner11
Utica,NY
May 20, 2010

Hawaii Trip 2

The hotel is in a great location for all activities. The only draw back is none of the tours leave from this hotel which means having to find other locations for pick and return. The security is excellant and staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are making plans for tours, check with tour operator on where the hotal pickup is, especailly if traveling alone and have to walk in unfamilar street at night.

Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scanner11
Utica,NY
May 20, 2010

Hawaii Trip 2

The hotel is in a great location for all activities. The only draw back is none of the tours leave from this hotel which means having to find other locations for pick and return. The security is excellant and staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are making plans for tours, check with tour operator on where the hotal pickup is, especailly if traveling alone and have to walk in unfamilar street at night.

Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nizzle
Seattle, Washington
Dec 13, 2009

Most enjoyable

The Beachcomber was an unwittingly perfect choice for my vacation. In the thick of the Waikiki scene and a very short walk to the beautiful beach. Friendly staff and a clean hotel. My room didn't really have a view, but then I just slept in it so who cares? You don't go to Waikiki to spend time in your hotel room. You're in beautiful Hawaii! Another plus... all major transport runs by the front door. Tours, taxis, city buses, free trolleys and bike & moped rental just a couple blocks away. My only negative comment: Poor water pressure in the shower. I could live with it but I would have used less water to wash out the salty sea water from my many trips to the ocean. One suggestion for them: Install a rinse off area outside the hotel for beach goers to spray sand off their feet. I will definitely return to the Beachcomber ( unless I can afford the swanky beachfront hotels ) Mahalo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Make use of the trolley transport that take you around Waikiki and to the big mall where you can hook up with regional bus service. The trolley is free with your Hotel key card. Don't be in a rush. The trolley and buses make many stops. I also recommend renting a bike. The coast front parts of Honolulu are very flat and biking around is easy and relatively inexpensive.

Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nizzle
Seattle, Washington
Dec 13, 2009

Most enjoyable

The Beachcomber was an unwittingly perfect choice for my vacation. In the thick of the Waikiki scene and a very short walk to the beautiful beach. Friendly staff and a clean hotel. My room didn't really have a view, but then I just slept in it so who cares? You don't go to Waikiki to spend time in your hotel room. You're in beautiful Hawaii! Another plus... all major transport runs by the front door. Tours, taxis, city buses, free trolleys and bike & moped rental just a couple blocks away. My only negative comment: Poor water pressure in the shower. I could live with it but I would have used less water to wash out the salty sea water from my many trips to the ocean. One suggestion for them: Install a rinse off area outside the hotel for beach goers to spray sand off their feet. I will definitely return to the Beachcomber ( unless I can afford the swanky beachfront hotels ) Mahalo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Make use of the trolley transport that take you around Waikiki and to the big mall where you can hook up with regional bus service. The trolley is free with your Hotel key card. Don't be in a rush. The trolley and buses make many stops. I also recommend renting a bike. The coast front parts of Honolulu are very flat and biking around is easy and relatively inexpensive.

Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cleveland, OH
Dec 28, 2009

Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel

A very nice hotel to stay at. Jimmy Buffet's restaurant & bar has good food and nightly entertainment that plays the 60's and 70's music.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Joliet, IL
Nov 23, 2009

Excellant location, friendly staff

Quiet, was able to get work done on the computer without interruption. In-room safe was large enough to accomodate the laptop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you do not have a car, get a bus pass at the ABC store, a What's Happening booklet with the bus routes and let the bus do the driving while shopping, sightseeing nearby. Get on and off all you want.

Back to menu Return to top