$209 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2014 Check-out: Aug 23, 2014

Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

3 stars
2300 KALAKAUA AVENUE, HONOLULU, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
292 reviews
Nice stay at the Waikiki beachcomber

My wife and I had a very nice stay at the Holiday Inn Wakikik Beachcomber hotel. Although not right... See full review

  • JSandCJS
  • Feb 28, 2014
Great couples vacation

First let me start by thanking the manager that was on duty on 10/24/13, for upgrading our room... See full review

  • Zekalaka
  • Nov 7, 2013
Mid-priced favorite in the heart of Waikiki across from the beach

The Waikiki Beachcomber offers entertainment, spacious comfort and affordability on Waikiki's most exciting avenue. Take advantage of large-hotel conveniences like airport transfers, business services with small-hotel friendliness at this locally-owned hotel.

Highlights
  • Illusionist production, Magic of Polynesia, nightly at the hotel showroom
  • Free Honolulu Surfing Museum & Bar features surf history and vintage boards
  • Free in-room high-speed Internet access and long-distance calls (time limit)
Location

Waikiki Beachcomber is located midpoint on Waikiki's most exciting shopping and dining strip, Kalakaua Avenue. Walk a block to reach upscale shopping at Royal Hawaiian Center, souvenir shops at International Market Place and the festive mid-section of Waikiki Beach.

Rooms

Enjoy spacious, newly-renovated guest rooms decorated in soft tropical colors with private balcony. Some rooms have generous ocean views. All rooms include 32-inch flat screen TV, shower/tub with hand-held showerhead, refrigerator, safe, air-conditioning and phone with voice messaging.


Dining

Jimmy Buffett's at the Beachcomber, the hotel's star dining attraction, combines a festive collection of pan-island bites, drinks and décor. Go for the volcano nachos and stay for free live entertainment by local musicians. Find many other dining options on nearby Kalakaua Avenue.

Recreation
  • Magic of Polynesia, a full-stage illusionist extravaganza
  • Join Hawaii's favorite radio show, Perry and Price, for a live Saturday morning broadcast
  • Fitness center
  • Massage service upon request
Attractions
  • Royal Hawaiian Center (.1 mi/.2 km)
  • Waikiki Beach (.4 mi/.6 km)
  • U.S. Army Museum (.4 mi/.7 km)
  • Honolulu Zoo (.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Waikiki Aquarium (.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Hawaii Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Diamond Head Crater (1.2 mi/3.1 km)
  • Ala Moana Center (1.4 mi/2.3 km)

 

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Live entertainment
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Lounge
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Computer in Room
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2778 -157.8275
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport, (HNL), 12.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Resort, resort

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.6 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.6 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.8 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.8 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.1 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.1 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.2 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.4 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.5 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.6 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.1 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.5 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.9 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.4 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.3 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi

Dining

Jimmy Buffett's at the Beachcomber
Jimmy Buffett's at the Beachcomber features a full menu best described as "American" with hints of Hawaii. Jimmy Buffett's Restaurant and Bar is a mecca for "Parrotheads" and everyone else out to enjoy a great meal in a nautical setting. Nightly entertain
Honolulu Surfing Museum
For a hip and uniquely Hawaiian place to relax, head to our bar. Order a long, cool drink and peruse a world-class, unique collection of surfing artifacts, videos and memorabilia from around the world. Don't forget, there's also poolside service, too!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (292)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
292 out of 292
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hawaii2009
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 24, 2009

Great Location and friendly staff

It was a great location. Beautiful view from the top floors. Very Friendly staff. Anything you needed, they were happy to help. Always had fresh flowers at the front desk to put in your hair. Close to International Market Place, high-end shopping and across the street from Cheesecake Factory, Duke's, Senor Frogs, and Level 4. I was there for 11 days, and I was very happy with the service at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
California
Oct 14, 2009

Nice accomodations

We had a great stay. Most everything was within walking distance. We tried several restaurants that were close by. The Rum Fire was our favorite, but we enjoyed several meals at Jimmy Buffets, which was located at the hotel. It was great watching the games on the big screen TV. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The Dole Pineapple Plantation and Hunama Bay were our favorite attractions. The plantation is on the north side of the island and takes about 3 hours to walk through it. They serve a great lunch. The bay was best for snorkling.

Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Katy, Texas
Nov 9, 2010

Exceeded Expectations! Now Holiday Inn!

My wife and I spent 8 nights (10/30 - 11/7)in this hotel on the 7th floor. We had a letter at checkout that starting on 11/9 it will be a Holiday Inn and not an Ohana hotel. My parents went with us and stayed in the adjacent room. We rented a car and easily found the hotel and the attendants parked our car in the hotel garage. Every time during our stay that we needed the car they retrieved it within 2 -3 minutes so coming and going was a breeze. When we checked in they assigned rooms on the 3rd floor. These rooms were just above the roof and had a poor veiw and were noisy from the air handling units.We went back down and asked if they had any other choices. They said we could upgrade to much nicer views for a $50/night increase and we decided not to do that. They checked their bookings and offered rooms on the 7th floor for the original booked price and we accepted assuming they would be better than the 3rd floor rooms. We went up and were completely satisfied. These rooms looked toward Pearl Harbor and we could see the ocean between the hotels on the beach side, we could see the mountains on the opposite side and we could see Kalakaua down below. The rooms smelled good, looked freshly painted and the tub/shower/bath was clean and fresh with no mould or stains. The bedding was clean and fresh and the housekeeping was excellent all week. My parents did have an issue with their toilet tank continually running but my Dad fixed it without any tools - he's quite the handyman. The room was quiet from inside the hotel. We were not too far from the elevator but could not hear bells or doors. We very rarely heard noise from the floor above but occasion heard folks out on their balcony when they go pretty loud. We did hear lots of street noise down on Kalakaua till about midnight but we slept through it without much problem. Saturday and Sunday (Halloween) were loud until daylight. Halloween there is a huge event and worth seeing if you get the chance!It would have been nice to be higher up with better views but we didn't spend much time in the room anyway and for just over $100/night I can't complain. The normal rate on the room was $319. Some rooms are $1700/night according to the notice on the room door. I don't have any complaints about the staff, accommodations, parking or pricing. A microwave would have been nice but we ate out since there is anything you could ever want within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Jimmy Buffet's in the Beachcomber was pretty good for the price. Our favorite places were Duke's & Hula Grill across the street. The food quality was excellent and they had entrees from $15 -$30 and great breakfast for $8 - $12 and you can't beat the view looking at the ocean and beach from the balcony seating. Chuck's steakhouse is good also but a little more expensive. Teddy's Bigger Burger is must for hamburger lovers. Cheeseburger on Beachwalk is really good and inexpensive also. They have Baskin & Robbins, about 5 Starbucks, Denny's, Jack in the Box, Smoothie places and just about anything else you could want within walking distance. The pricing for all food is about 15% higher than in Katy, Texas but we don't have the most famous beach in the world in Katy! This hotel puts you right in the middle of shopping, eating, the beach and night life. There are tons of buses, trolleys and cabs if you don't want to walk far or rent a car. Note that there are quite a few street people in the Waikiki area just like there are in any other big city. They sleep in the parks, on the sidewalks of Kalakaua and on the beach. They didn't ever ask us for anything and seemed to be fairly self-sufficient.

Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix, AZ
Jan 10, 2010

Super Deal!

The Beachcomber is centrally located along the strip of Waikiki hotels and stores and has very easy, short access to the beach. Jimmy Buffet's restaurant, which is part of the hotel, overlooks all of the action of the strip and offers great food and tropical ambience. Even though we would have preferred 2 queen beds vs. 2 doubles, our accommodations were spotless and quiet -- perfect after a long flight from the mainland. We highly recommend the Beachcomber! It was a great value for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oxnard, CA
Jul 25, 2009

Our Perfect Getaway

This was my first time to Hawaii. i loved how relaxing the hotel was but also how nice it was. Our room was beautiful, and our view was amazing! We would just walk right out the hotel and we were right in the middle of all the fun and the water in Waikiki.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, OR
Jul 24, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

Hotel was great, perfect location, affordable rooms, comfortable king bed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Jan 7, 2010

Nice location and service.

Nice breakfast buffet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KatieKins
Bakersfield, CA
May 11, 2010

Nice and Clean

It was really nice...relaxing...great food...service. Only problem was that the elevators took forever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ellsworth
Maui
Jun 22, 2010

Good location for the price

Renovated and clean. Would recommend to family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jasper, AL
Dec 16, 2009

OHANA Waikiki Beachcomber

We did not stay in the hotel very much. The staff was extremely nice. The pool was beautiful. It was a great place to start excursions into Oahu. Not a family friendly hotel if you have small children. There is not alot for them to do at this hotel. However, who wants to just stay in a hotel with all the beautiful scenery of Hawaii!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Hanuama Bay for snorkeling. You can rent the snorkel gear across the street at the Outrigger Waikiki for a small fee with a big pay-off.

Back to menu Return to top