$186 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 15, 2015 Check-out: Jan 18, 2015

Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

3 stars
2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815-2938
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
164 reviews
Location.... Location......

Sam at check was the best! We asked for an upgrade and she said she would try and boy did she!!!... See full review

  • Jermar72
  • Oct 12, 2014
Downtown Waikiki

Stayed at this hotel before - great central location and best value when you can book on line... See full review

  • Iain G
  • Oct 13, 2014
Mid-priced favorite in the heart of Waikiki across from the beach

The Waikiki Beachcomber offers entertainment, spacious comfort and affordability on Waikiki's most exciting avenue. Take advantage of large-hotel conveniences like airport transfers, business services with small-hotel friendliness at this locally-owned hotel.

Highlights
  • Illusionist production, Magic of Polynesia, nightly at the hotel showroom
  • Free Honolulu Surfing Museum & Bar features surf history and vintage boards
  • Free in-room high-speed Internet access and long-distance calls (time limit)
Location

Waikiki Beachcomber is located midpoint on Waikiki's most exciting shopping and dining strip, Kalakaua Avenue. Walk a block to reach upscale shopping at Royal Hawaiian Center, souvenir shops at International Market Place and the festive mid-section of Waikiki Beach.

Rooms

Enjoy spacious, newly-renovated guest rooms decorated in soft tropical colors with private balcony. Some rooms have generous ocean views. All rooms include 32-inch flat screen TV, shower/tub with hand-held showerhead, refrigerator, safe, air-conditioning and phone with voice messaging.


Dining

Jimmy Buffett's at the Beachcomber, the hotel's star dining attraction, combines a festive collection of pan-island bites, drinks and décor. Go for the volcano nachos and stay for free live entertainment by local musicians. Find many other dining options on nearby Kalakaua Avenue.

Recreation
  • Magic of Polynesia, a full-stage illusionist extravaganza
  • Join Hawaii's favorite radio show, Perry and Price, for a live Saturday morning broadcast
  • Fitness center
  • Massage service upon request
Attractions
  • Royal Hawaiian Center (.1 mi/.2 km)
  • Waikiki Beach (.4 mi/.6 km)
  • U.S. Army Museum (.4 mi/.7 km)
  • Honolulu Zoo (.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Waikiki Aquarium (.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Hawaii Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Diamond Head Crater (1.2 mi/3.1 km)
  • Ala Moana Center (1.4 mi/2.3 km)

 

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Live entertainment
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.6 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.6 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.8 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.8 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.1 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.1 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.2 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.4 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.5 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.6 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.1 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.5 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.9 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.4 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.3 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi

Dining

Jimmy Buffett's at the Beachcomber
Jimmy Buffett's at the Beachcomber features a full menu best described as "American" with hints of Hawaii. Jimmy Buffett's Restaurant and Bar is a mecca for "Parrotheads" and everyone else out to enjoy a great meal in a nautical setting. Nightly entertain

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (164)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
164 out of 164
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mililani, HI
Nov 1, 2009

Night on the town

Great place to enjoy night out on the town. My girlfriend and I got ready with the help of closet door mirrors and great lighting. The location was right in the middle of Waikiki, so we were able to enjoy the night and not worry about driving.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los altos,ca
Jan 20, 2011

good for short term stay .

very busy and noisy street in the heart of Waikiki.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
roxyvirginia
Business
washington state
Mar 23, 2010

if you want cheap you got it

the staff was not as friendly as a lot of other hotels we have been too. the jimmy buffet bar and resaurant was not as friendly as the other bar there i tnink it was called the land shark, over all i probley wont stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

ther are plenty bars and resuarant close by with in walking distance save your money and dont spend it at their place you are paying for the name and only that....jimmy buffett what a let down

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reno, NV
Mar 17, 2010

Convenient Beachcomber

This hotel advertised itself as 4-star but does not compare to other 4 star resorts I have stayed at--except in terms of exceptionally friendly, helpful and competent service (which was important for first-timer in Hawaii). For a 3 star hotel I would have given it a "5". It's got clean and decent decor/rooms. Fridge in room is helpful. Know that although the beach is indeed across the street, you cannot see it from your hotel--big buildings on other side of street block view. You go a block down, then down an alley for easy beach access though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tokyo, JP
Jul 31, 2009

Great spot for nightlife, not for quiet!

Staff was great, and was able to get what we thought was a quiet room. Unfortunately the pipes "sing", and it was about as loud as a fire alarm whenever someone near our room took a shower...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
darthtraveler
Business
Belmont, CA
Sep 2, 2010

Not exactly what we expected

The pros: Great location, right next to center of everything Friendly staff Great price Free Internet The cons: Very very small room, made just for sleeping not doing anything else. Noisy due to location next to main street. Partial view of ocean. Tiny pool. No room service We booked the hotel due to the star rating of 4+ and the great price. However the star rating was way over what it really was. We would say it was a 3 star hotel. Its just not close to 4 or 5 star hotels we have been in the past. Our expectations were pretty high based on star rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If one is looking for a inexpensive, yet clean hotel that is close to the strip, then this is the right hotel. If you are looking for a hotel with a great room, room service, big pool, this is not the hotel for you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mad Madi
Business
Seattle, WA
Nov 9, 2010

You get what you pay for

We booked a standard room and the room does not have a view what so ever. Which I didn't mind much. But once we got in the room we realized that our balcony sat right on top of a roof where industrial size air conditioners were blowing. It was super noisy, especially for my 18 month baby. I requested to switch to another room away from the air conditioners and the front desk lady said that they were fully booked but I can pay an additional $25/night if i wanted to upgrade to a room higher up. I declined and just sucked it up. Just remember... you get what you pay for!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you make use of the Pink Trollies. It will save you money traveling to the Ala Moana Mall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
a single mom w/ her children
Business
alb,nm
May 11, 2009

good with exceptions

The hotel staff was great, but some of the stores in the lobby had unfriendly staff. I paid cash for late check out and my card was also charged the fee which caused an overdraft. customers of hotel very rude and unfriendly.Could not wait to come home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
The Villages, FL
Jul 2, 2009

Good value!

CENTRAL LOCATION - everything within walking distance. GOOD SECURITY - elevators in particular. CLEAN - room, bath.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Deceived and DIsappointed
Business
Connecticut
Jul 31, 2010

Okay, but...

The hotel is decent, but a bit dated (1960s vintage in decor) and noisy. It is close to Waikiki, which makes it convenient. Staff are friendly. But that's about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Good locastion for night life.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top