$170 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

3 stars
View map of 2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815-2938

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
187 out of 187
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rosa the Realtor
Business
Downey
Jul 10, 2011

Ok for the price

Hotel was ok, We did not like all the construction going on.we like that was a church close by and we were able to attend services, music was beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Deceived and DIsappointed
Business
Connecticut
Jul 31, 2010

Okay, but...

The hotel is decent, but a bit dated (1960s vintage in decor) and noisy. It is close to Waikiki, which makes it convenient. Staff are friendly. But that's about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Good locastion for night life.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sunbuns
Business
Vancouver Island, Canada
Aug 23, 2009

Great local/rooms - staffing flaws

The hotel is located across the street from the Outrigger and had a pass through to the beach - which was very handy. Our first room was small/cramped and had a Queen bed. We asked to be moved to another room It was located on the opposite side of the building overlooking the International Market and had a peek-a-boo ocean view. The room was almost twice the size of our previous room and had a king size bed. This room was great and we were very pleased with it. We enjoyed sitting outside on our lanai. Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, in our 8 night stay, we were awakened on two seperate nights by fire alarms. The first night at around 3 am the alarm went off and on for a period of time and guests were unsure whether to evacuate or stay. We couldn't get through to the front desk -lines were busy. We made the decision to be safe and leave. When we got to the front desk, security were heavy in discussions with police. There was nobody at the bottom of the emergency stair exit to assist or inform guests what was happening or where to go - it was disorienting. It wasn't until we went to the front of the building we were informed by other guests that it was a false alarm. There were persons staying in the hotel with disabilities as well as those with children who had to make their way down the stairs and if the hotel staff knew it was a false alarm, should have notified these guests. The second night when the alarm went off again around midnight, awaking us. This time they made an announcement through the PA system outside in the hallway informing guests it was a false alarm. This should have been done the first night. The guests comments we overheard were very negative towards staff and management with regard to procedure/protocol. Except for these incidents, we enjoyed visiting Jimmy Buffet's Margueritaville located in the hotel. I would still recommend the hotel and stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Jimmy Buffet's Margueritaville

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DC
Jul 14, 2011

Good location, nice rooms

Overall this was a nice stay - the hotel is well located on Waikiki a few blocks from the beach. The hotel itself is nothing special, though the balconies offer some nice views if you choose to pay the extra for it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Sadly, there is not a ton of the late night life around

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arizona
Apr 16, 2010

Great location!

The location and the accomodations were great. But $19 per day for valet parking was a bit hard to take when I could see my car less than 30 feet away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
HI
Nov 2, 2009

OK

Very unhappy that the parking lot if for anyone and everyone making it hard for guest to park. I had to drive around the corner, than I came back at 2am to park in the garage. The hotel was clean, and very comfortable. I would suggest the hotel the parking was the only problem, I had. Very nice location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mililani, HI
Nov 1, 2009

Night on the town

Great place to enjoy night out on the town. My girlfriend and I got ready with the help of closet door mirrors and great lighting. The location was right in the middle of Waikiki, so we were able to enjoy the night and not worry about driving.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los altos,ca
Jan 20, 2011

good for short term stay .

very busy and noisy street in the heart of Waikiki.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
roxyvirginia
Business
washington state
Mar 23, 2010

if you want cheap you got it

the staff was not as friendly as a lot of other hotels we have been too. the jimmy buffet bar and resaurant was not as friendly as the other bar there i tnink it was called the land shark, over all i probley wont stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

ther are plenty bars and resuarant close by with in walking distance save your money and dont spend it at their place you are paying for the name and only that....jimmy buffett what a let down

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reno, NV
Mar 17, 2010

Convenient Beachcomber

This hotel advertised itself as 4-star but does not compare to other 4 star resorts I have stayed at--except in terms of exceptionally friendly, helpful and competent service (which was important for first-timer in Hawaii). For a 3 star hotel I would have given it a "5". It's got clean and decent decor/rooms. Fridge in room is helpful. Know that although the beach is indeed across the street, you cannot see it from your hotel--big buildings on other side of street block view. You go a block down, then down an alley for easy beach access though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top