$186 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 15, 2015 Check-out: Jan 18, 2015

Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

3 stars
2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815-2938
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
164 reviews
Location.... Location......

Sam at check was the best! We asked for an upgrade and she said she would try and boy did she!!!... See full review

  • Jermar72
  • Oct 12, 2014
Downtown Waikiki

Stayed at this hotel before - great central location and best value when you can book on line... See full review

  • Iain G
  • Oct 13, 2014
Mid-priced favorite in the heart of Waikiki across from the beach

The Waikiki Beachcomber offers entertainment, spacious comfort and affordability on Waikiki's most exciting avenue. Take advantage of large-hotel conveniences like airport transfers, business services with small-hotel friendliness at this locally-owned hotel.

Highlights
  • Illusionist production, Magic of Polynesia, nightly at the hotel showroom
  • Free Honolulu Surfing Museum & Bar features surf history and vintage boards
  • Free in-room high-speed Internet access and long-distance calls (time limit)
Location

Waikiki Beachcomber is located midpoint on Waikiki's most exciting shopping and dining strip, Kalakaua Avenue. Walk a block to reach upscale shopping at Royal Hawaiian Center, souvenir shops at International Market Place and the festive mid-section of Waikiki Beach.

Rooms

Enjoy spacious, newly-renovated guest rooms decorated in soft tropical colors with private balcony. Some rooms have generous ocean views. All rooms include 32-inch flat screen TV, shower/tub with hand-held showerhead, refrigerator, safe, air-conditioning and phone with voice messaging.


Dining

Jimmy Buffett's at the Beachcomber, the hotel's star dining attraction, combines a festive collection of pan-island bites, drinks and décor. Go for the volcano nachos and stay for free live entertainment by local musicians. Find many other dining options on nearby Kalakaua Avenue.

Recreation
  • Magic of Polynesia, a full-stage illusionist extravaganza
  • Join Hawaii's favorite radio show, Perry and Price, for a live Saturday morning broadcast
  • Fitness center
  • Massage service upon request
Attractions
  • Royal Hawaiian Center (.1 mi/.2 km)
  • Waikiki Beach (.4 mi/.6 km)
  • U.S. Army Museum (.4 mi/.7 km)
  • Honolulu Zoo (.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Waikiki Aquarium (.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Hawaii Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Diamond Head Crater (1.2 mi/3.1 km)
  • Ala Moana Center (1.4 mi/2.3 km)

 

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Live entertainment
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.6 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.6 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.8 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.8 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.1 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.1 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.2 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.4 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.5 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.6 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.1 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.5 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.9 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.4 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.3 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi

Dining

Jimmy Buffett's at the Beachcomber
Jimmy Buffett's at the Beachcomber features a full menu best described as "American" with hints of Hawaii. Jimmy Buffett's Restaurant and Bar is a mecca for "Parrotheads" and everyone else out to enjoy a great meal in a nautical setting. Nightly entertain

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (164)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
164 out of 164
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Julie the traveller
Business
Vancouver, BC, Canada
May 10, 2009

Fantastic location!|

First time in Waikiki and we loved it! The hotel is centrally located, close to everything you need: beach acess, great restaurants, fabulous shopping, etc...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Snokelling and sunbathing at Nanauma Bay. Accessible by bus.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
thebluejay
Business
Montreal QC
Feb 12, 2011

Simply amazing!

I am actually at this hotel as I write this and I couldn't wait to get back home to do this review! When I booked the Waikiki Beachcomber, my daughter (who is a platinum card member at Westin) said I was making a mistake since there was no way that Holiday Inn could ever compete with Westin. Well, THIS hotel meets the challenge and comes out a winner. We have visited Waikiki a number of times and were usually disappointed by the average 3 star hotels. This time, however, we were delighted to find that this 3½ star hotel ranked right up there with the 4½ star hotels as far as we were concerned. The room is very large by Waikiki standards, about 360 square feet. It has a very comfortable king size bed with lots of room on all sides to move around without bumping into things. The bathroom area is separated into two: 1)sink (sunk into a granite counter top) and 2)toilet and stall shower. Very convenient. Everything was sparkling clean in the entire hotel including the bathroom. No mold, bugs, peeling paint or bad smells anywhere. The room also boasted a decent sized lanai and great amenities including hair dryer, safe, ironing board, iron, coffee maker with free tea and coffee every day and a good size LCD TV. And listen to this: as an added plus there is not only free local telephone calling but also free calls to Canada and the US mainland! The hotel also provides unlimited free rides on the Waikiki Trolley which covers most of the best of Waikiki. Outstanding! We should also mention noise, because this is a serious issue in Waikiki which is a VERY busy place. Machines, cars, buses, garbage trucks, giant air conditioners, emergency vehicles, people partying, music blaring--all standard fare everywhere in Waikiki. But we are on the 11th floor of the hotel and when we close the lanai door, there is soothing quiet because of the good soundproofing in the room. Unexpectedly good considering the environment in which the hotel finds itself. We also found the air conditioning to be quiet and effective. No groans, shrieks, bangs or clunks from the unit. Then there was the staff. Wow! best describes them. Friendly, courteous, efficient they really go out of their way to make you feel like they want you there. When we had a problem with a squeaking sliding bathroom door and asked that it be lubricated, maintenance quickly went one better and replaced the rollers on the door. The only thing that the hotel did not provide was good weather, but thankfully the good Lord has been taking care of that for us. It's been simply gorgeous every day so far. Does it sound like we love this place? We do!!! I give this hotel an unqualified five-star rating and could not recommend it more highly. Simply the best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Waikiki Lau Yee Chai Chinese restaurant is a sweet find. It serves lunch only but is definitely worth a visit. There is a special at only $7.50 per person for a full lunch including soup, salad, main course with two items and bowl of rice and desert. Food, service and ambiance are fantastic. A real treasure.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, Oregon
May 9, 2009

Can't beat the location

This hotel is very nice, close to everything and just a short distance to the beach. We are going to stay here again on our next trip. Very nice and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Very nice hotel with dining, shopping, and entertainment all close by. The zoo is approx. a 15 minute walk from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Union City, CA
Aug 29, 2010

Great price and location

The hotel is located in good place. Staff are very friendly and services are fantastic. Very confort and price is right for visitors. I rate this hotel the perfect one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

All dinning, shopping and entertainment areas are just a walk distance and save times for the visitors.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brenda Lou
Business
Cheyenne, WY
Aug 25, 2010

We enjoyed our stay!

The service was great and friendly. Our room was right next to the elevator so I was concerned about noise but it was quiet. We had no issues and the location was great. Easy access to the beach and shopping!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

As you walk out of the hotel, beach access is about a 1/2 block to the left. We didn't find this for a couple days and walked around other buildings to get to the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jan 31, 2008

Great value and pleansant stay

This hotel, the Waikiki Beachcomber is located in one of the best positions for enjoying Waikiki. It is central to everything in the area,easy walking distance to the beach, and is also home for one of the best shows on the Island. The room ihad was well arranged, with a desk, chair, wonderful bed and nice balconey and a large bathroom. The closet was large enough to accomodate your clothing without any problems. I recommend it without any qualifications whatsoever. I have stayed there several times and will do so again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

International Market place is located just a few steps away from the hotel, and there are numerous eating places within a very reasonable walking distance. Entertainment at the Royal Hawaiian Mall across the street in the early evening is great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
badbrad
Business
tennessee
Jun 15, 2010

Nice Stay

Really great hotel! Margaritaville is right downstairs and even a great pool bar! Very helpful staff!! Next door to the international shopping mall and on the strip of some of the best shopping anywhere!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

actually so many gret places to eat!! too many to list!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Apr 10, 2009

Great value in best location

My husband and I had our honeymoon in Honolulu, and we spent our entire time (6 nights) at this hotel. We booked a standard room with a king size bed, our room was on the 6th floor, facing, north, northwest with what would best be described as a city view. We had a partial ocean view as well as a city and mountain view from our balcony. The view was okay, but we didn’t spend much time in the room. This was actually the second room we were in, we had some issues with the bathroom in the first room, but when our bellhop arrived with our luggage, he quickly called down to the front desk and escorted us to another room. Our room was very spacious and very clean. Needless to say, the staff was friendly and always helpful. The hotel served as a good base for us as we rented a car and spent the majority of our days exploring the island. At night, we took advantage of the location as we were in the middle of all the action in Waikiki, we had great dining options within walking distance at various price points. At night we could hear the live music from Jimmy Buffet’s restaurant, but it didn’t bother us, we were in Hawaii!!! We loved the complimentary, wired internet access in the room which helped in our daily “road trips” around the island. Parking was valet only, I can’t say enough how friendly the staff was. For the value and the location, we would definitely stay at the Beachcomber again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Great breakfast specials can be found at Galaxy Steakhouse one block from the hotel. Definitely recommend renting a car, beaches on the leeward side and the north shore were beautiful and less crowded than Waikiki.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lone Star Rambler
Business
Dallas, Texas
Jun 3, 2010

Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber

We stayed a the Beachcomber before getting on a cruise ship. Our stay was great and the staff was wonderful. The next time I'm in Hawaii the Beachcomber will be my first choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joel Kaui "Big Hapa" Harris
Business
Kaysville, Utah
Apr 29, 2010

Very relaxing, stress melted away

Never have stayed here before. Last condo we stayed in on Waikiki was not clean and this hotel room one ranks super clean with me. Believe me I have HIGH clean standards and expectations for a room and this hotel met them all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

This is the best local dive you will eat at it's called Mitsu-Ken it is a short drive from Waikiki over in Kalihi it is locaited on School street across from Misuba Bakery. It is easy to find using your GPS location device and order up, get to this place earliy or the food is gone! Yes gone it is that good! Parking is ruff you need to park on the street and walk up no drive up service, and order the Garlic Chicken Breakfast Plate it is SPECTACULAR ! Yes this is worth finding and Dinning at Food Network need's this place on the SHOW !!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top