$180 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

3 stars
2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815-2938
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
164 reviews
Location.... Location......

Sam at check was the best! We asked for an upgrade and she said she would try and boy did she!!!... See full review

  • Jermar72
  • Oct 12, 2014
Downtown Waikiki

Stayed at this hotel before - great central location and best value when you can book on line... See full review

  • Iain G
  • Oct 13, 2014
Mid-priced favorite in the heart of Waikiki across from the beach

The Waikiki Beachcomber offers entertainment, spacious comfort and affordability on Waikiki's most exciting avenue. Take advantage of large-hotel conveniences like airport transfers, business services with small-hotel friendliness at this locally-owned hotel.

Highlights
  • Illusionist production, Magic of Polynesia, nightly at the hotel showroom
  • Free Honolulu Surfing Museum & Bar features surf history and vintage boards
  • Free in-room high-speed Internet access and long-distance calls (time limit)
Location

Waikiki Beachcomber is located midpoint on Waikiki's most exciting shopping and dining strip, Kalakaua Avenue. Walk a block to reach upscale shopping at Royal Hawaiian Center, souvenir shops at International Market Place and the festive mid-section of Waikiki Beach.

Rooms

Enjoy spacious, newly-renovated guest rooms decorated in soft tropical colors with private balcony. Some rooms have generous ocean views. All rooms include 32-inch flat screen TV, shower/tub with hand-held showerhead, refrigerator, safe, air-conditioning and phone with voice messaging.


Dining

Jimmy Buffett's at the Beachcomber, the hotel's star dining attraction, combines a festive collection of pan-island bites, drinks and décor. Go for the volcano nachos and stay for free live entertainment by local musicians. Find many other dining options on nearby Kalakaua Avenue.

Recreation
  • Magic of Polynesia, a full-stage illusionist extravaganza
  • Join Hawaii's favorite radio show, Perry and Price, for a live Saturday morning broadcast
  • Fitness center
  • Massage service upon request
Attractions
  • Royal Hawaiian Center (.1 mi/.2 km)
  • Waikiki Beach (.4 mi/.6 km)
  • U.S. Army Museum (.4 mi/.7 km)
  • Honolulu Zoo (.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Waikiki Aquarium (.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Hawaii Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Diamond Head Crater (1.2 mi/3.1 km)
  • Ala Moana Center (1.4 mi/2.3 km)

 

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Live entertainment
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.6 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.6 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.8 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.8 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.1 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.1 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.2 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.4 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.5 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.6 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.1 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.5 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.9 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.4 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.3 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi

Dining

Jimmy Buffett's at the Beachcomber
Jimmy Buffett's at the Beachcomber features a full menu best described as "American" with hints of Hawaii. Jimmy Buffett's Restaurant and Bar is a mecca for "Parrotheads" and everyone else out to enjoy a great meal in a nautical setting. Nightly entertain

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (164)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
164 out of 164
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Derek traveler
Business
mcalester oklahoma
May 2, 2009

great location and hotel

central location got on the tour bus right around the corner. nice room shower but no bath tub. excellent location great restaurant at hotel (jimmy buffet's).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DblA
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Jan 16, 2011

Good hotel and location

We just returned from a very nice stay at the Beachcomber. It is located in central Waikiki, within easy walking distance from dozens of restaurants and shops. The beach is also very close - you just cross the street and then walk about 100 yards. We had a standard room which was nothing fancy but had everything we needed. We were initially given a room with two double beds but the staff were helpful in switching us to a king bed room after the first night. The first room was a little noisy due to the elevators and some outdoor air conditioning units. The second room was very quiet even though it faced Kalakaua Ave. Overall, it was an enjoyable stay and I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a good value close to everything in Waikiki. Pros: clean rooms, central location in Waikiki, close to beach, good value Cons: parking is valet only and expensive ($30/day), only one internet connection per room (it is wired)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 17, 2007

Very friendly hotel

I arrived 2 hours early to the hotel. The room was not ready yet, so the girl at the counter gave my friend and I a room to stay in until they can give us a room. I thought that was nice of them. They told us to call them at 3pm and they will give our rooms for our stay. It turns out their computers were down when we first arrived so it took a while until the computers worked again. Other than mishap, our rooms were clean and the pool was nice! Great location for the hotel because you are in the middle of the stripe

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Since the hotel is located in the middle of the stripe, it is not a long walk to the resturants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Jan 6, 2010

"Great location for respectible pricing"

By far the best trip destination I've ever experienced. Ohana Beachcomber is centrally located in Waikiki or you could say, "Tropical Las Vegas". Right out your front door you have one of two options: 1) Waikiki Beach (amazing) within a 2 minute walk 2)or the action of the Las Vegas strip with all the shopping and restaurants/bars all within walking distance I really don't have a bad thing to say and would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Only a two minute walk away into paradise is Waikiki beach where the water is crystal blue/green and the sands are white and soft as can be.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bangor, ME
Feb 22, 2011

Great value and location

All of the staff at the Beachcomber were very nice and attentive to our needs. We got a great price for a hotel in Waikiki area, and only had to walk a short distance to get to the beach and transportation. The rooms were clean and updated. My only negative was that we got a room with two beds and we would have prefered one king, but it was so busy that week there were no single bed rooms available with an ocean view. We had a great stay even with the two double beds though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Healy Ks
Feb 19, 2011

Nice hotel with great location

We have stayed at this hotel twice and love the location. The hotel is nice for the price and the staff is pleasant and attentive. The only down side is valet parking with can be very expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ryo
Business
UT
Jul 14, 2009

Nice hotel for stay at Waikiki

The location of hotel is super. Close to dining, so many options around. Close to the beach, shopping center, car rental, almost everything you need. The only BAD experience is the ORBITZ service. ORBITZ agent told me that the stand-room is larger than the aloha-stand room and asked me to pay over $100 more money to get a stand room. And when I checked in at the hotel, I found out that they are the same room. And Orbitz refused to refund me the difference. I spent over 5 hours to talk with Orbitz. And still can not get my money back!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KatieKins
Business
Bakersfield, CA
May 11, 2010

Nice and Clean

It was really nice...relaxing...great food...service. Only problem was that the elevators took forever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1st Timer to Oahu
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 29, 2010

Good Value and Location

The price was decent and the location was very close to the beach. I would definitely stay at this hotel again if I visit Oahu in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jayne S
Business
Brownsvile, TX
Apr 2, 2010

Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber

We really enjoyed our stay. Location was wonderful and there was so much to see and do within walking distance. Tours were available for pickup at hotel curbside. Would stay here again! City View looks over rooftops and we wish we would have spent a little more for ocean view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Food Court available right across the street at more reasonable costs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top