$170 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 14, 2015 Check-out: Sep 15, 2015

Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

3 stars
View map of 2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815-2938

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
143 reviews
Great Expections

We were about 4 hrs late getting there, but they were there waiting on us. we did find out that if... See full review

  • Charles T.
  • Mar 16, 2015
Location.... Location......

Sam at check was the best! We asked for an upgrade and she said she would try and boy did she!!!... See full review

  • Jermar72
  • Oct 12, 2014

The Waikiki Beachcomber offers entertainment, spacious comfort and affordability on Waikiki's most exciting avenue. Take advantage of large-hotel conveniences like airport transfers, business services with small-hotel friendliness at this locally-owned hotel.

Location

Waikiki Beachcomber is located midpoint on Waikiki's most exciting shopping and dining strip, Kalakaua Avenue. Walk a block to reach upscale shopping at Royal Hawaiian Center, souvenir shops at International Market Place and the festive mid-section of Waikiki Beach.

Dining

Jimmy Buffett's at the Beachcomber, the hotel's star dining attraction, combines a festive collection of pan-island bites, drinks and décor. Go for the volcano nachos and stay for free live entertainment by local musicians. Find many other dining options on nearby Kalakaua Avenue.

Rooms

Enjoy spacious, newly-renovated guest rooms decorated in soft tropical colors with private balcony. Some rooms have generous ocean views. All rooms include 32-inch flat screen TV, shower/tub with hand-held showerhead, refrigerator, safe, air-conditioning and phone with voice messaging.


Highlights
  • Illusionist production, Magic of Polynesia, nightly at the hotel showroom
  • Free Honolulu Surfing Museum & Bar features surf history and vintage boards
  • Free in-room high-speed Internet access and long-distance calls (time limit)
Nearby attractions
  • Royal Hawaiian Center (.1 mi/.2 km)
  • Waikiki Beach (.4 mi/.6 km)
  • U.S. Army Museum (.4 mi/.7 km)
  • Honolulu Zoo (.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Waikiki Aquarium (.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Hawaii Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Diamond Head Crater (1.2 mi/3.1 km)
  • Ala Moana Center (1.4 mi/2.3 km)

 

Recreation
  • Magic of Polynesia, a full-stage illusionist extravaganza
  • Join Hawaii's favorite radio show, Perry and Price, for a live Saturday morning broadcast
  • Fitness center
  • Massage service upon request

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber also booked these hotels.

★★★
$148
3.7 / 5 402 reviews
★★★
$135
3.8 / 5 108 reviews
★★★★
$185
4.2 / 5 769 reviews
★★★
$159
4.2 / 5 52 reviews
★★★★
$209
4.2 / 5 161 reviews
★★★★
$229
4.3 / 5 354 reviews
★★★★
$179
4.1 / 5 258 reviews
★★★★
$168
3.9 / 5 1,083 reviews
★★★★
$149
4.0 / 5 115 reviews

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Live entertainment
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.6 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.8 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.6 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.8 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.8 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.1 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.1 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.2 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.4 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.5 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.6 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.1 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.5 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.9 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.4 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.3 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi
  • Lanikai Beach: 10.7 mi

Dining

Jimmy Buffett's at the Beachcomber
FEATURES FARM TO TABLE FOOD AND HANDCRAFTED COCKTAILS
Pool Bar Lounge
For a hip and uniquely Hawaiian place to relax, head to our bar. Order a long, cool drink and relax by the pool.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
143 out of 143
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
canderson
Family
Spokane, WA
Jun 17, 2012

excellent location

this was a wonderful "home" for our one week vacation - nice location in Waikiki - close to the beach, shopping, etc, and easy to get the highway to travel around the island as well. Wish there was a discount on the parking rate for hotel guests though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
WATEERPOLO MOM
Family
SIMI VALLEY
Aug 12, 2009

[...] the witch

[...] at the front desk was a rude wITCH!!!upon check-in askEd her a few questions, she was irritated. then she told me my room was not ready. 2 of my friends were checking it at same time. they each got their rooms, I sat there and waited, there was a line of guest she issued 6 more rooms. so I go ask "now ready?' she said no sit down, she handed out more rooms I asked again NO! she made me wait 1 1/2 hours. Then 2 days later I ask about the trolly and she is at the desk again, so she tells me all the pick ups, and said i don't know witch one you want I said well lets see you think may be I would want the closest one, she said, ok again I circled all the pick ups, I asked again which one is the closest, she sent me around the street, a long walk, come to find out the trolly stops right across the street, she could not just simply tell me that? I have a group of friends travling there in 3 months I told them DO NOT GO TO THE BEACHCOMBER

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Ontario, Canada
Mar 1, 2011

Holiday Inn Beachcomber

Very crowded, noisy drunken teens, balcony overlooking the clanging rooftop and vents, lousy view, will not book there again. Food was very expensive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The area for a crowded location was impressively clean, high end shopping malls, and very nice landscaping in on the surrounding hotels

Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Benicia, California
Dec 16, 2009

Noisy!!!

The room I was given was extremely noisy...the 5th floor right about the international market place...the noisiest room I have ever had anywhere...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kalakaua
Family
California
Jan 8, 2012

New Years 2012

The hotel is fine. Your price is directly related to your view. We paid Oorbits price and got an Oorbits view (Roof Fans). Location is great, just across the street from the beach and in the middle of the shopping madness. The pool area is kind of a bummer. It is run by the Jimmy Buffet restaurant bar and the whole pool area shuts down at 6. If you are not eating or drinking be prepared to get hassled. No place to hang out with family and play games or cards.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
darthtraveler
Family
Belmont, CA
Sep 2, 2010

Not exactly what we expected

The pros: Great location, right next to center of everything Friendly staff Great price Free Internet The cons: Very very small room, made just for sleeping not doing anything else. Noisy due to location next to main street. Partial view of ocean. Tiny pool. No room service We booked the hotel due to the star rating of 4+ and the great price. However the star rating was way over what it really was. We would say it was a 3 star hotel. Its just not close to 4 or 5 star hotels we have been in the past. Our expectations were pretty high based on star rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If one is looking for a inexpensive, yet clean hotel that is close to the strip, then this is the right hotel. If you are looking for a hotel with a great room, room service, big pool, this is not the hotel for you.

Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mad Madi
Family
Seattle, WA
Nov 9, 2010

You get what you pay for

We booked a standard room and the room does not have a view what so ever. Which I didn't mind much. But once we got in the room we realized that our balcony sat right on top of a roof where industrial size air conditioners were blowing. It was super noisy, especially for my 18 month baby. I requested to switch to another room away from the air conditioners and the front desk lady said that they were fully booked but I can pay an additional $25/night if i wanted to upgrade to a room higher up. I declined and just sucked it up. Just remember... you get what you pay for!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you make use of the Pink Trollies. It will save you money traveling to the Ala Moana Mall.

Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Stroudsburg, PA
Jun 4, 2011

Nice Vacations

Service was not excellent. Maids never retire the dirty towels, they just keep bringing clean ones. No much activities in the hotel and the only one was expensive. Good to stay only for sleeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Walnut Creek, Ca
Sep 14, 2009

Hawaii trip

It was fine for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
baltimore, md
Oct 1, 2009

Stay was fine

There weren't any problems with the hotel during our stay. The room was a bit smaller than I anticipated, and it was odd for us not having a tub- shower only- but otherwise everything was fine. Of course, I would have preferred free parking- not sure if I would consider four stars....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
a single mom w/ her children
Family
alb,nm
May 11, 2009

good with exceptions

The hotel staff was great, but some of the stores in the lobby had unfriendly staff. I paid cash for late check out and my card was also charged the fee which caused an overdraft. customers of hotel very rude and unfriendly.Could not wait to come home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top