$200 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 12, 2014 Check-out: Nov 13, 2014

Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

3 stars
2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815-2938
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
164 reviews
Location.... Location......

Sam at check was the best! We asked for an upgrade and she said she would try and boy did she!!!... See full review

  • Jermar72
  • Oct 12, 2014
Downtown Waikiki

Stayed at this hotel before - great central location and best value when you can book on line... See full review

  • Iain G
  • Oct 13, 2014
Mid-priced favorite in the heart of Waikiki across from the beach

The Waikiki Beachcomber offers entertainment, spacious comfort and affordability on Waikiki's most exciting avenue. Take advantage of large-hotel conveniences like airport transfers, business services with small-hotel friendliness at this locally-owned hotel.

Highlights
  • Illusionist production, Magic of Polynesia, nightly at the hotel showroom
  • Free Honolulu Surfing Museum & Bar features surf history and vintage boards
  • Free in-room high-speed Internet access and long-distance calls (time limit)
Location

Waikiki Beachcomber is located midpoint on Waikiki's most exciting shopping and dining strip, Kalakaua Avenue. Walk a block to reach upscale shopping at Royal Hawaiian Center, souvenir shops at International Market Place and the festive mid-section of Waikiki Beach.

Rooms

Enjoy spacious, newly-renovated guest rooms decorated in soft tropical colors with private balcony. Some rooms have generous ocean views. All rooms include 32-inch flat screen TV, shower/tub with hand-held showerhead, refrigerator, safe, air-conditioning and phone with voice messaging.


Dining

Jimmy Buffett's at the Beachcomber, the hotel's star dining attraction, combines a festive collection of pan-island bites, drinks and décor. Go for the volcano nachos and stay for free live entertainment by local musicians. Find many other dining options on nearby Kalakaua Avenue.

Recreation
  • Magic of Polynesia, a full-stage illusionist extravaganza
  • Join Hawaii's favorite radio show, Perry and Price, for a live Saturday morning broadcast
  • Fitness center
  • Massage service upon request
Attractions
  • Royal Hawaiian Center (.1 mi/.2 km)
  • Waikiki Beach (.4 mi/.6 km)
  • U.S. Army Museum (.4 mi/.7 km)
  • Honolulu Zoo (.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Waikiki Aquarium (.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Hawaii Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Diamond Head Crater (1.2 mi/3.1 km)
  • Ala Moana Center (1.4 mi/2.3 km)

 

Hotel Map

21.2778 -157.8275
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport, (HNL), 12.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Resort, resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Live entertainment
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.6 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.6 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.8 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.8 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.1 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.1 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.2 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.4 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.5 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.6 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.1 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.5 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.9 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.4 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.3 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi

Dining

Jimmy Buffett's at the Beachcomber
Jimmy Buffett's at the Beachcomber features a full menu best described as "American" with hints of Hawaii. Jimmy Buffett's Restaurant and Bar is a mecca for "Parrotheads" and everyone else out to enjoy a great meal in a nautical setting. Nightly entertain

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (164)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
164 out of 164
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Toe-Ya
Lake Quinault, WA
Jul 21, 2011

fun in the sun

I've been to Hawaii 14 times already. All of the hotels do not compare to this one. It is very clean, and the employees who work there are very nice and helpful. It's in an awesome location, right across the street from the beach and the very famous Cheesecake Factory, and right next to the International Market Place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The International Market Place

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SJ Shark
Business
San Jose, Ca
Aug 23, 2010

NO ROOM SERVICE?!

The Rooms were decent, I traveled for many years during the military days and out. Never did I stay at a hotel with no room service!! Body hair in the sink in TWO separate rooms. No free Wi-Fi? Come on even Motels give free Wi-Fi. Staff was very friendly, elevators the waits were bad!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get a rental car!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
WATEERPOLO MOM
Business
SIMI VALLEY
Aug 12, 2009

[...] the witch

[...] at the front desk was a rude wITCH!!!upon check-in askEd her a few questions, she was irritated. then she told me my room was not ready. 2 of my friends were checking it at same time. they each got their rooms, I sat there and waited, there was a line of guest she issued 6 more rooms. so I go ask "now ready?' she said no sit down, she handed out more rooms I asked again NO! she made me wait 1 1/2 hours. Then 2 days later I ask about the trolly and she is at the desk again, so she tells me all the pick ups, and said i don't know witch one you want I said well lets see you think may be I would want the closest one, she said, ok again I circled all the pick ups, I asked again which one is the closest, she sent me around the street, a long walk, come to find out the trolly stops right across the street, she could not just simply tell me that? I have a group of friends travling there in 3 months I told them DO NOT GO TO THE BEACHCOMBER

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ontario, Canada
Mar 1, 2011

Holiday Inn Beachcomber

Very crowded, noisy drunken teens, balcony overlooking the clanging rooftop and vents, lousy view, will not book there again. Food was very expensive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The area for a crowded location was impressively clean, high end shopping malls, and very nice landscaping in on the surrounding hotels

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Benicia, California
Dec 16, 2009

Noisy!!!

The room I was given was extremely noisy...the 5th floor right about the international market place...the noisiest room I have ever had anywhere...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hawaii
Aug 23, 2010

Good Stay

The room was neat and clean. The view was nice. The location was the best part about the hotel, I also liked that there was security. The pool is small and kept playing country music.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cheesecake Factory was very good, but a long wait. It is just across the street from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Karl W
Business
Indianapolis In
May 11, 2011

Bang for the Buck!!!

For the price this hotel was a great deal. Very clean and well kept. Location was perfect right in the heart of Waikiki... Our rooms were on the 6th floor with a partial view of the strip. 5 min walk to beach was cool. Parking $30 per night was a little steep but the valet guys were awesome. Jimmy Buffets in lobby was really convienent. I would def stay there again, unless money was no object....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

When i say this place is in the HEART of Waikiki.... I mean the CENTER of everything the strip has to offer....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
May 23, 2011

may2011

Great maid and maintenance staff. Computer was slow and faulted often, had to get my credit back twice after it went away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Along the beach at night - great entertainment everywhere

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sunwave
Business
KS
May 27, 2011

nice but very simple

This hotel is nice but very simple. There are no extras for guests...at all. In addition, the staff is very friendly but not very knowledge-able about ongoing events or surrounding activities. We felt uninformed about what the hotel had to offer. We found out that there was a gym and massage room on the 2nd floor.....the last night we were there and happened to see it while getting ice. In addtion, the hotel sits across the street from the beach but it is a very busy area with little beach. In order to find some real beach and space to lay out on the sand ... you must walk a little ways south. FYI - there are no microwaves in the rooms or anywhere for that matter. Looks like you have to eat those yummy leftovers from Cheesecake Factory "cold" :( . No free internet ... must pay a minimum of $5.00 to utilize the lobby internet and printing is an additional cost. Lastly, the pool closes at 8pm...what a bummer. Would have liked to have been able to come back to our hotel at night and enjoy the hot tub while listening to music and enjoying the hawaiian night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Hanauma Bay and experience an exciting day of snorkeling and sun bathing on a beautiful beach. I suggest taking the city bus or driving yourself....although the city bus can take some time. Doing this will allow you to make your own time schedule and spend as much or as little time at the Bay as you would like, instead of having to watch the time in order to catch your shuttle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Elk Grove , CA
Jul 25, 2011

Tuck away Hotel

Hotel itself is right off the main street however, even though you may have reservations at the hotel it still will cost you $30.00 a day to have your car parked on site. Bathrooms are really small with a shower and toilet. You have a safe and a small fridge in the room which helped since we found a walmart and bought soda and water and sandwich items for the beach. Beware if you leave anything out I found that nice bugs would show up, which is not uncommon for the tropics. Pool is very small and it's right outside Jimmy Buffet Restaurant. Staff was great helping in any way they could to make things right. You can get towels to take to the beach from poolside and they give you a cinch bag upon check in. Very expensive for eating out even places like McDonalds and I-Hop. Though the fast food establishments are cheaper than resturanuts. Sometimes the International Market Place food court has some really good deals with the Farmers Market coming once a week. They offer also meals which were really reasonable and fed the entire family for half the cost!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

International Market Place

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kalakaua
Business
California
Jan 8, 2012

New Years 2012

The hotel is fine. Your price is directly related to your view. We paid Oorbits price and got an Oorbits view (Roof Fans). Location is great, just across the street from the beach and in the middle of the shopping madness. The pool area is kind of a bummer. It is run by the Jimmy Buffet restaurant bar and the whole pool area shuts down at 6. If you are not eating or drinking be prepared to get hassled. No place to hang out with family and play games or cards.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top