$161 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2014 Check-out: Apr 22, 2014

Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

3 stars
2300 KALAKAUA AVENUE, HONOLULU, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
162 reviews
Completely as advertised

The Premium King Ocean view room was great .Perfect view from the balcony. The convient location... See full review

  • Kansas Travellers
  • Jan 4, 2013
Nice stay at the Waikiki beachcomber

My wife and I had a very nice stay at the Holiday Inn Wakikik Beachcomber hotel. Although not right... See full review

  • JSandCJS
  • Feb 28, 2014
Mid-priced favorite in the heart of Waikiki across from the beach

The Waikiki Beachcomber offers entertainment, spacious comfort and affordability on Waikiki's most exciting avenue. Take advantage of large-hotel conveniences like airport transfers, business services with small-hotel friendliness at this locally-owned hotel.

Highlights
  • Illusionist production, Magic of Polynesia, nightly at the hotel showroom
  • Free Honolulu Surfing Museum & Bar features surf history and vintage boards
  • Free in-room high-speed Internet access and long-distance calls (time limit)
Location

Waikiki Beachcomber is located midpoint on Waikiki's most exciting shopping and dining strip, Kalakaua Avenue. Walk a block to reach upscale shopping at Royal Hawaiian Center, souvenir shops at International Market Place and the festive mid-section of Waikiki Beach.

Rooms

Enjoy spacious, newly-renovated guest rooms decorated in soft tropical colors with private balcony. Some rooms have generous ocean views. All rooms include 32-inch flat screen TV, shower/tub with hand-held showerhead, refrigerator, safe, air-conditioning and phone with voice messaging.


Dining

Jimmy Buffett's at the Beachcomber, the hotel's star dining attraction, combines a festive collection of pan-island bites, drinks and décor. Go for the volcano nachos and stay for free live entertainment by local musicians. Find many other dining options on nearby Kalakaua Avenue.

Recreation
  • Magic of Polynesia, a full-stage illusionist extravaganza
  • Join Hawaii's favorite radio show, Perry and Price, for a live Saturday morning broadcast
  • Fitness center
  • Massage service upon request
Attractions
  • Royal Hawaiian Center (.1 mi/.2 km)
  • Waikiki Beach (.4 mi/.6 km)
  • U.S. Army Museum (.4 mi/.7 km)
  • Honolulu Zoo (.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Waikiki Aquarium (.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Hawaii Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Diamond Head Crater (1.2 mi/3.1 km)
  • Ala Moana Center (1.4 mi/2.3 km)

 

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Live entertainment
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Lounge
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Computer in Room
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

21.2778 -157.8275
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport, (HNL), 12.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Resort, resort

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.6 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.6 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.8 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.8 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.1 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.1 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.2 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.4 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.5 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.6 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.1 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.5 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.9 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.4 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.3 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi

Dining

Jimmy Buffett's at the Beachcomber
Jimmy Buffett's at the Beachcomber features a full menu best described as "American" with hints of Hawaii. Jimmy Buffett's Restaurant and Bar is a mecca for "Parrotheads" and everyone else out to enjoy a great meal in a nautical setting. Nightly entertain
Honolulu Surfing Museum
For a hip and uniquely Hawaiian place to relax, head to our bar. Order a long, cool drink and peruse a world-class, unique collection of surfing artifacts, videos and memorabilia from around the world. Don't forget, there's also poolside service, too!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (162)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Overall score

4.1 / 5
162 out of 162
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

5
canderson
Spokane, WA
Jun 17, 2012

excellent location

this was a wonderful "home" for our one week vacation - nice location in Waikiki - close to the beach, shopping, etc, and easy to get the highway to travel around the island as well. Wish there was a discount on the parking rate for hotel guests though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
NJ
May 23, 2011

may2011

Great maid and maintenance staff. Computer was slow and faulted often, had to get my credit back twice after it went away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Along the beach at night - great entertainment everywhere

Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

3
Karl W
Indianapolis In
May 11, 2011

Bang for the Buck!!!

For the price this hotel was a great deal. Very clean and well kept. Location was perfect right in the heart of Waikiki... Our rooms were on the 6th floor with a partial view of the strip. 5 min walk to beach was cool. Parking $30 per night was a little steep but the valet guys were awesome. Jimmy Buffets in lobby was really convienent. I would def stay there again, unless money was no object....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

When i say this place is in the HEART of Waikiki.... I mean the CENTER of everything the strip has to offer....

Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

4
firstHawiaiiTrip
Ashland, WI
Apr 28, 2011

Hawaii trip

1-Hotel room key gets you a free pass on the Pink line shopping trolley. Saved me and my wife about $24 the two time we did ride. 2-If room had a microwave it would have been nice. It does have a fridge though. 3-3 minute walk to the beach and right at the International shopping center. Really good food court right out back were you can eat for cheap and good deals on Hawaiian stuff at the shops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Out door shopping market. Right behind the Holiday Inn Beachcomber. Good prices and a lot of cool stuff.

Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Ontario, Canada
Mar 1, 2011

Holiday Inn Beachcomber

Very crowded, noisy drunken teens, balcony overlooking the clanging rooftop and vents, lousy view, will not book there again. Food was very expensive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The area for a crowded location was impressively clean, high end shopping malls, and very nice landscaping in on the surrounding hotels

Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Fairfax, VA
Feb 27, 2011

Great location for the price

We were impressed that we were able to catch the shuttle to the hotel in the middle of the night, we had a great view of Waikiki Beach, had complimentary transportation on the train in Waikiki Beach, and received excellent advise from the tour personnel in front of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Montreal, Quebec
Feb 23, 2011

could not have been better

My husband (thebluejay) wrote a review of this hotel while we were actually there since he was so amazed by the great value. Now that we are home, we can only confirm that everything about this hotel was really exceptional and we recommend it most highly. It was a wonderful experience and we felt like we were being treated like royalty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Bangor, ME
Feb 22, 2011

Great value and location

All of the staff at the Beachcomber were very nice and attentive to our needs. We got a great price for a hotel in Waikiki area, and only had to walk a short distance to get to the beach and transportation. The rooms were clean and updated. My only negative was that we got a room with two beds and we would have prefered one king, but it was so busy that week there were no single bed rooms available with an ocean view. We had a great stay even with the two double beds though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Healy Ks
Feb 19, 2011

Nice hotel with great location

We have stayed at this hotel twice and love the location. The hotel is nice for the price and the staff is pleasant and attentive. The only down side is valet parking with can be very expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

5
thebluejay
Montreal QC
Feb 12, 2011

Simply amazing!

I am actually at this hotel as I write this and I couldn't wait to get back home to do this review! When I booked the Waikiki Beachcomber, my daughter (who is a platinum card member at Westin) said I was making a mistake since there was no way that Holiday Inn could ever compete with Westin. Well, THIS hotel meets the challenge and comes out a winner. We have visited Waikiki a number of times and were usually disappointed by the average 3 star hotels. This time, however, we were delighted to find that this 3½ star hotel ranked right up there with the 4½ star hotels as far as we were concerned. The room is very large by Waikiki standards, about 360 square feet. It has a very comfortable king size bed with lots of room on all sides to move around without bumping into things. The bathroom area is separated into two: 1)sink (sunk into a granite counter top) and 2)toilet and stall shower. Very convenient. Everything was sparkling clean in the entire hotel including the bathroom. No mold, bugs, peeling paint or bad smells anywhere. The room also boasted a decent sized lanai and great amenities including hair dryer, safe, ironing board, iron, coffee maker with free tea and coffee every day and a good size LCD TV. And listen to this: as an added plus there is not only free local telephone calling but also free calls to Canada and the US mainland! The hotel also provides unlimited free rides on the Waikiki Trolley which covers most of the best of Waikiki. Outstanding! We should also mention noise, because this is a serious issue in Waikiki which is a VERY busy place. Machines, cars, buses, garbage trucks, giant air conditioners, emergency vehicles, people partying, music blaring--all standard fare everywhere in Waikiki. But we are on the 11th floor of the hotel and when we close the lanai door, there is soothing quiet because of the good soundproofing in the room. Unexpectedly good considering the environment in which the hotel finds itself. We also found the air conditioning to be quiet and effective. No groans, shrieks, bangs or clunks from the unit. Then there was the staff. Wow! best describes them. Friendly, courteous, efficient they really go out of their way to make you feel like they want you there. When we had a problem with a squeaking sliding bathroom door and asked that it be lubricated, maintenance quickly went one better and replaced the rollers on the door. The only thing that the hotel did not provide was good weather, but thankfully the good Lord has been taking care of that for us. It's been simply gorgeous every day so far. Does it sound like we love this place? We do!!! I give this hotel an unqualified five-star rating and could not recommend it more highly. Simply the best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Waikiki Lau Yee Chai Chinese restaurant is a sweet find. It serves lunch only but is definitely worth a visit. There is a special at only $7.50 per person for a full lunch including soup, salad, main course with two items and bowl of rice and desert. Food, service and ambiance are fantastic. A real treasure.

Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
los altos,ca
Jan 20, 2011

good for short term stay .

very busy and noisy street in the heart of Waikiki.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top