Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

3 stars
2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815-2938
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
164 reviews
Location.... Location......

Sam at check was the best! We asked for an upgrade and she said she would try and boy did she!!!... See full review

  • Jermar72
  • Oct 12, 2014
Downtown Waikiki

Stayed at this hotel before - great central location and best value when you can book on line... See full review

  • Iain G
  • Oct 13, 2014
Mid-priced favorite in the heart of Waikiki across from the beach

The Waikiki Beachcomber offers entertainment, spacious comfort and affordability on Waikiki's most exciting avenue. Take advantage of large-hotel conveniences like airport transfers, business services with small-hotel friendliness at this locally-owned hotel.

Highlights
  • Illusionist production, Magic of Polynesia, nightly at the hotel showroom
  • Free Honolulu Surfing Museum & Bar features surf history and vintage boards
  • Free in-room high-speed Internet access and long-distance calls (time limit)
Location

Waikiki Beachcomber is located midpoint on Waikiki's most exciting shopping and dining strip, Kalakaua Avenue. Walk a block to reach upscale shopping at Royal Hawaiian Center, souvenir shops at International Market Place and the festive mid-section of Waikiki Beach.

Rooms

Enjoy spacious, newly-renovated guest rooms decorated in soft tropical colors with private balcony. Some rooms have generous ocean views. All rooms include 32-inch flat screen TV, shower/tub with hand-held showerhead, refrigerator, safe, air-conditioning and phone with voice messaging.


Dining

Jimmy Buffett's at the Beachcomber, the hotel's star dining attraction, combines a festive collection of pan-island bites, drinks and d├ęcor. Go for the volcano nachos and stay for free live entertainment by local musicians. Find many other dining options on nearby Kalakaua Avenue.

Recreation
  • Magic of Polynesia, a full-stage illusionist extravaganza
  • Join Hawaii's favorite radio show, Perry and Price, for a live Saturday morning broadcast
  • Fitness center
  • Massage service upon request
Attractions
  • Royal Hawaiian Center (.1 mi/.2 km)
  • Waikiki Beach (.4 mi/.6 km)
  • U.S. Army Museum (.4 mi/.7 km)
  • Honolulu Zoo (.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Waikiki Aquarium (.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Hawaii Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Diamond Head Crater (1.2 mi/3.1 km)
  • Ala Moana Center (1.4 mi/2.3 km)

 

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Live entertainment
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board

Hotel Map

21.2778 -157.8275
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport, (HNL), 12.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Resort, resort

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.6 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.6 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.8 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.8 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.1 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.1 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.2 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.4 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.5 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.6 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.1 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.5 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.9 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.4 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.3 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi

Dining

Jimmy Buffett's at the Beachcomber
Jimmy Buffett's at the Beachcomber features a full menu best described as "American" with hints of Hawaii. Jimmy Buffett's Restaurant and Bar is a mecca for "Parrotheads" and everyone else out to enjoy a great meal in a nautical setting. Nightly entertain

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (164)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
164 out of 164
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stroudsburg, PA
Jun 4, 2011

Nice Vacations

Service was not excellent. Maids never retire the dirty towels, they just keep bringing clean ones. No much activities in the hotel and the only one was expensive. Good to stay only for sleeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sunwave
Business
KS
May 27, 2011

nice but very simple

This hotel is nice but very simple. There are no extras for guests...at all. In addition, the staff is very friendly but not very knowledge-able about ongoing events or surrounding activities. We felt uninformed about what the hotel had to offer. We found out that there was a gym and massage room on the 2nd floor.....the last night we were there and happened to see it while getting ice. In addtion, the hotel sits across the street from the beach but it is a very busy area with little beach. In order to find some real beach and space to lay out on the sand ... you must walk a little ways south. FYI - there are no microwaves in the rooms or anywhere for that matter. Looks like you have to eat those yummy leftovers from Cheesecake Factory "cold" :( . No free internet ... must pay a minimum of $5.00 to utilize the lobby internet and printing is an additional cost. Lastly, the pool closes at 8pm...what a bummer. Would have liked to have been able to come back to our hotel at night and enjoy the hot tub while listening to music and enjoying the hawaiian night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Hanauma Bay and experience an exciting day of snorkeling and sun bathing on a beautiful beach. I suggest taking the city bus or driving yourself....although the city bus can take some time. Doing this will allow you to make your own time schedule and spend as much or as little time at the Bay as you would like, instead of having to watch the time in order to catch your shuttle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
May 23, 2011

may2011

Great maid and maintenance staff. Computer was slow and faulted often, had to get my credit back twice after it went away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Along the beach at night - great entertainment everywhere

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Karl W
Business
Indianapolis In
May 11, 2011

Bang for the Buck!!!

For the price this hotel was a great deal. Very clean and well kept. Location was perfect right in the heart of Waikiki... Our rooms were on the 6th floor with a partial view of the strip. 5 min walk to beach was cool. Parking $30 per night was a little steep but the valet guys were awesome. Jimmy Buffets in lobby was really convienent. I would def stay there again, unless money was no object....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

When i say this place is in the HEART of Waikiki.... I mean the CENTER of everything the strip has to offer....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
firstHawiaiiTrip
Business
Ashland, WI
Apr 28, 2011

Hawaii trip

1-Hotel room key gets you a free pass on the Pink line shopping trolley. Saved me and my wife about $24 the two time we did ride. 2-If room had a microwave it would have been nice. It does have a fridge though. 3-3 minute walk to the beach and right at the International shopping center. Really good food court right out back were you can eat for cheap and good deals on Hawaiian stuff at the shops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Out door shopping market. Right behind the Holiday Inn Beachcomber. Good prices and a lot of cool stuff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ontario, Canada
Mar 1, 2011

Holiday Inn Beachcomber

Very crowded, noisy drunken teens, balcony overlooking the clanging rooftop and vents, lousy view, will not book there again. Food was very expensive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The area for a crowded location was impressively clean, high end shopping malls, and very nice landscaping in on the surrounding hotels

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fairfax, VA
Feb 27, 2011

Great location for the price

We were impressed that we were able to catch the shuttle to the hotel in the middle of the night, we had a great view of Waikiki Beach, had complimentary transportation on the train in Waikiki Beach, and received excellent advise from the tour personnel in front of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montreal, Quebec
Feb 23, 2011

could not have been better

My husband (thebluejay) wrote a review of this hotel while we were actually there since he was so amazed by the great value. Now that we are home, we can only confirm that everything about this hotel was really exceptional and we recommend it most highly. It was a wonderful experience and we felt like we were being treated like royalty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bangor, ME
Feb 22, 2011

Great value and location

All of the staff at the Beachcomber were very nice and attentive to our needs. We got a great price for a hotel in Waikiki area, and only had to walk a short distance to get to the beach and transportation. The rooms were clean and updated. My only negative was that we got a room with two beds and we would have prefered one king, but it was so busy that week there were no single bed rooms available with an ocean view. We had a great stay even with the two double beds though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Healy Ks
Feb 19, 2011

Nice hotel with great location

We have stayed at this hotel twice and love the location. The hotel is nice for the price and the staff is pleasant and attentive. The only down side is valet parking with can be very expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top