$178 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 12, 2015 Check-out: Sep 14, 2015

Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

3 stars
View map of 2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815-2938

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
143 out of 143
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Ontario, Canada
Mar 1, 2011

Holiday Inn Beachcomber

Very crowded, noisy drunken teens, balcony overlooking the clanging rooftop and vents, lousy view, will not book there again. Food was very expensive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The area for a crowded location was impressively clean, high end shopping malls, and very nice landscaping in on the surrounding hotels

Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Fairfax, VA
Feb 27, 2011

Great location for the price

We were impressed that we were able to catch the shuttle to the hotel in the middle of the night, we had a great view of Waikiki Beach, had complimentary transportation on the train in Waikiki Beach, and received excellent advise from the tour personnel in front of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Montreal, Quebec
Feb 23, 2011

could not have been better

My husband (thebluejay) wrote a review of this hotel while we were actually there since he was so amazed by the great value. Now that we are home, we can only confirm that everything about this hotel was really exceptional and we recommend it most highly. It was a wonderful experience and we felt like we were being treated like royalty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Bangor, ME
Feb 22, 2011

Great value and location

All of the staff at the Beachcomber were very nice and attentive to our needs. We got a great price for a hotel in Waikiki area, and only had to walk a short distance to get to the beach and transportation. The rooms were clean and updated. My only negative was that we got a room with two beds and we would have prefered one king, but it was so busy that week there were no single bed rooms available with an ocean view. We had a great stay even with the two double beds though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Healy Ks
Feb 19, 2011

Nice hotel with great location

We have stayed at this hotel twice and love the location. The hotel is nice for the price and the staff is pleasant and attentive. The only down side is valet parking with can be very expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
thebluejay
Couples
Montreal QC
Feb 12, 2011

Simply amazing!

I am actually at this hotel as I write this and I couldn't wait to get back home to do this review! When I booked the Waikiki Beachcomber, my daughter (who is a platinum card member at Westin) said I was making a mistake since there was no way that Holiday Inn could ever compete with Westin. Well, THIS hotel meets the challenge and comes out a winner. We have visited Waikiki a number of times and were usually disappointed by the average 3 star hotels. This time, however, we were delighted to find that this 3½ star hotel ranked right up there with the 4½ star hotels as far as we were concerned. The room is very large by Waikiki standards, about 360 square feet. It has a very comfortable king size bed with lots of room on all sides to move around without bumping into things. The bathroom area is separated into two: 1)sink (sunk into a granite counter top) and 2)toilet and stall shower. Very convenient. Everything was sparkling clean in the entire hotel including the bathroom. No mold, bugs, peeling paint or bad smells anywhere. The room also boasted a decent sized lanai and great amenities including hair dryer, safe, ironing board, iron, coffee maker with free tea and coffee every day and a good size LCD TV. And listen to this: as an added plus there is not only free local telephone calling but also free calls to Canada and the US mainland! The hotel also provides unlimited free rides on the Waikiki Trolley which covers most of the best of Waikiki. Outstanding! We should also mention noise, because this is a serious issue in Waikiki which is a VERY busy place. Machines, cars, buses, garbage trucks, giant air conditioners, emergency vehicles, people partying, music blaring--all standard fare everywhere in Waikiki. But we are on the 11th floor of the hotel and when we close the lanai door, there is soothing quiet because of the good soundproofing in the room. Unexpectedly good considering the environment in which the hotel finds itself. We also found the air conditioning to be quiet and effective. No groans, shrieks, bangs or clunks from the unit. Then there was the staff. Wow! best describes them. Friendly, courteous, efficient they really go out of their way to make you feel like they want you there. When we had a problem with a squeaking sliding bathroom door and asked that it be lubricated, maintenance quickly went one better and replaced the rollers on the door. The only thing that the hotel did not provide was good weather, but thankfully the good Lord has been taking care of that for us. It's been simply gorgeous every day so far. Does it sound like we love this place? We do!!! I give this hotel an unqualified five-star rating and could not recommend it more highly. Simply the best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Waikiki Lau Yee Chai Chinese restaurant is a sweet find. It serves lunch only but is definitely worth a visit. There is a special at only $7.50 per person for a full lunch including soup, salad, main course with two items and bowl of rice and desert. Food, service and ambiance are fantastic. A real treasure.

Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
los altos,ca
Jan 20, 2011

good for short term stay .

very busy and noisy street in the heart of Waikiki.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DblA
Couples
Milwaukee, WI
Jan 16, 2011

Good hotel and location

We just returned from a very nice stay at the Beachcomber. It is located in central Waikiki, within easy walking distance from dozens of restaurants and shops. The beach is also very close - you just cross the street and then walk about 100 yards. We had a standard room which was nothing fancy but had everything we needed. We were initially given a room with two double beds but the staff were helpful in switching us to a king bed room after the first night. The first room was a little noisy due to the elevators and some outdoor air conditioning units. The second room was very quiet even though it faced Kalakaua Ave. Overall, it was an enjoyable stay and I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a good value close to everything in Waikiki. Pros: clean rooms, central location in Waikiki, close to beach, good value Cons: parking is valet only and expensive ($30/day), only one internet connection per room (it is wired)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Chicago, Ill
Dec 25, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

We went there to celebrate our 30th Wedding Anniversary. The location is perfect. The hotel is with very reasonable price. We were on the 24th floor and the scenery was awesome.We were so used to bell boys that asssit you with your luggages but in there;I think you can only have them upon request.We also did not know that there was no self parking; it was only valet parking which is very costly; 30 dollars per day.We were also looking for a microwave but there was none.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Los Angeles CA
Dec 23, 2010

Hotel review for Honolulu/Oahu 12/18/10

We had to book another room for an additional cost [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

inter island hopping

Back to menu Return to top