$186 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 15, 2015 Check-out: Jan 18, 2015

Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

3 stars
2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, HI 96815-2938
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
164 reviews
Location.... Location......

Sam at check was the best! We asked for an upgrade and she said she would try and boy did she!!!... See full review

  • Jermar72
  • Oct 12, 2014
Downtown Waikiki

Stayed at this hotel before - great central location and best value when you can book on line... See full review

  • Iain G
  • Oct 13, 2014
Mid-priced favorite in the heart of Waikiki across from the beach

The Waikiki Beachcomber offers entertainment, spacious comfort and affordability on Waikiki's most exciting avenue. Take advantage of large-hotel conveniences like airport transfers, business services with small-hotel friendliness at this locally-owned hotel.

Highlights
  • Illusionist production, Magic of Polynesia, nightly at the hotel showroom
  • Free Honolulu Surfing Museum & Bar features surf history and vintage boards
  • Free in-room high-speed Internet access and long-distance calls (time limit)
Location

Waikiki Beachcomber is located midpoint on Waikiki's most exciting shopping and dining strip, Kalakaua Avenue. Walk a block to reach upscale shopping at Royal Hawaiian Center, souvenir shops at International Market Place and the festive mid-section of Waikiki Beach.

Rooms

Enjoy spacious, newly-renovated guest rooms decorated in soft tropical colors with private balcony. Some rooms have generous ocean views. All rooms include 32-inch flat screen TV, shower/tub with hand-held showerhead, refrigerator, safe, air-conditioning and phone with voice messaging.


Dining

Jimmy Buffett's at the Beachcomber, the hotel's star dining attraction, combines a festive collection of pan-island bites, drinks and décor. Go for the volcano nachos and stay for free live entertainment by local musicians. Find many other dining options on nearby Kalakaua Avenue.

Recreation
  • Magic of Polynesia, a full-stage illusionist extravaganza
  • Join Hawaii's favorite radio show, Perry and Price, for a live Saturday morning broadcast
  • Fitness center
  • Massage service upon request
Attractions
  • Royal Hawaiian Center (.1 mi/.2 km)
  • Waikiki Beach (.4 mi/.6 km)
  • U.S. Army Museum (.4 mi/.7 km)
  • Honolulu Zoo (.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Waikiki Aquarium (.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Hawaii Convention Center (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Diamond Head Crater (1.2 mi/3.1 km)
  • Ala Moana Center (1.4 mi/2.3 km)

 

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Live entertainment
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.6 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • International Market Place: 0.1 mi
  • Damien Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 0.7 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 0.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 1.5 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 2.2 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 2.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 2.6 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 2.7 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 2.8 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 2.8 mi
  • Washington Place: 2.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 3.1 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 3.1 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 3.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 3.2 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 3.2 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 3.4 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 3.5 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 3.6 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 3.6 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 4.1 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 4.1 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 4.7 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 7.1 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 8.5 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 8.9 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 9.2 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 9.4 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.4 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 9.4 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 9.6 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 9.7 mi
  • Sandy Beach: 9.9 mi
  • USS Missouri: 10 mi
  • Wawamalu Beach: 10.2 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 10.3 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.5 mi

Dining

Jimmy Buffett's at the Beachcomber
Jimmy Buffett's at the Beachcomber features a full menu best described as "American" with hints of Hawaii. Jimmy Buffett's Restaurant and Bar is a mecca for "Parrotheads" and everyone else out to enjoy a great meal in a nautical setting. Nightly entertain

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (164)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
164 out of 164
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greater Boston, MA
Feb 2, 2010

OHANA Waikiki Beachcomber, WOW!!!

Great reception. The bellman met me at my vehicle and took care of my bags. Excellent service at checkout, also. Staff arranged shuttle to airport. Check in & out was a breeze. My room was GREAT! I ate at Jimmy Buffet's for dinner & breakfast. Food was wonderful, staff was terrific, decor was wonderful and the MUSIC was mellow for breakfast and lively in the evening. Also, try the restaurants across the street. I especially liked Duke's & The Cheesecake Factory. You can rent lounge chairs on Waikiki Beach. I highly recommend this great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Duke's & The Cheesecake Factory are just across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, Tx
Jan 25, 2010

Fantastic family getaway

We enjoyed our stay at the Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber very much. Great location, great amenities, nice clean room and the staff was great. Had lots of fun in the Jimmy Buffet bar and restaurant. The only thing I would change would be to add a microwave and get rid of the bedspreads and do what some of the other hotels are doing by using a double sheet with blanket inside rather than a bedspread. We had a wonderful time and would recommend this hotel highly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

International Market place is just a few steps away along with every Macy's just next door and every other shopping experience you could imagine within a short walk. And, Starbucks all over the place thank goodness!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CALS MOM
Business
BAY AREA
Jan 16, 2010

the perfect vacation

This hotel was perfect! the location was just steps away from the beach and the jimmy buffets restaurant downstairs was delicious! The breakfast in particular was outstanding! also the nachos were great! i have promised myself to make this a anual trip and i would gladly stay here again and recomend it to anyone who is looking to goto oahu and stay close to the beach. i do wish the room had a microwave, i have a 1 year old so it was really hard to warm the bottle up, we had to request a microwave and they charged up 10 dollars a night. we also went the week of hurricane felisha so the alarm went off a couple times at night and it was pretty scary, but the staff calmed us all down and assured us we were safe. When leaving this trip i actually cried, i cant wait to go back and enjoy another stay at the ohana waikiki beachcomber! =) -Alisson Aguilar Bay Area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

STAY HERE

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jan 10, 2010

Super Deal!

The Beachcomber is centrally located along the strip of Waikiki hotels and stores and has very easy, short access to the beach. Jimmy Buffet's restaurant, which is part of the hotel, overlooks all of the action of the strip and offers great food and tropical ambience. Even though we would have preferred 2 queen beds vs. 2 doubles, our accommodations were spotless and quiet -- perfect after a long flight from the mainland. We highly recommend the Beachcomber! It was a great value for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 7, 2010

Nice location and service.

Nice breakfast buffet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Jan 6, 2010

"Great location for respectible pricing"

By far the best trip destination I've ever experienced. Ohana Beachcomber is centrally located in Waikiki or you could say, "Tropical Las Vegas". Right out your front door you have one of two options: 1) Waikiki Beach (amazing) within a 2 minute walk 2)or the action of the Las Vegas strip with all the shopping and restaurants/bars all within walking distance I really don't have a bad thing to say and would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Only a two minute walk away into paradise is Waikiki beach where the water is crystal blue/green and the sands are white and soft as can be.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Dec 28, 2009

Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel

A very nice hotel to stay at. Jimmy Buffet's restaurant & bar has good food and nightly entertainment that plays the 60's and 70's music.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jasper, AL
Dec 16, 2009

OHANA Waikiki Beachcomber

We did not stay in the hotel very much. The staff was extremely nice. The pool was beautiful. It was a great place to start excursions into Oahu. Not a family friendly hotel if you have small children. There is not alot for them to do at this hotel. However, who wants to just stay in a hotel with all the beautiful scenery of Hawaii!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Hanuama Bay for snorkeling. You can rent the snorkel gear across the street at the Outrigger Waikiki for a small fee with a big pay-off.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Benicia, California
Dec 16, 2009

Noisy!!!

The room I was given was extremely noisy...the 5th floor right about the international market place...the noisiest room I have ever had anywhere...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nizzle
Business
Seattle, Washington
Dec 13, 2009

Most enjoyable

The Beachcomber was an unwittingly perfect choice for my vacation. In the thick of the Waikiki scene and a very short walk to the beautiful beach. Friendly staff and a clean hotel. My room didn't really have a view, but then I just slept in it so who cares? You don't go to Waikiki to spend time in your hotel room. You're in beautiful Hawaii! Another plus... all major transport runs by the front door. Tours, taxis, city buses, free trolleys and bike & moped rental just a couple blocks away. My only negative comment: Poor water pressure in the shower. I could live with it but I would have used less water to wash out the salty sea water from my many trips to the ocean. One suggestion for them: Install a rinse off area outside the hotel for beach goers to spray sand off their feet. I will definitely return to the Beachcomber ( unless I can afford the swanky beachfront hotels ) Mahalo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Make use of the trolley transport that take you around Waikiki and to the big mall where you can hook up with regional bus service. The trolley is free with your Hotel key card. Don't be in a rush. The trolley and buses make many stops. I also recommend renting a bike. The coast front parts of Honolulu are very flat and biking around is easy and relatively inexpensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top