$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 3, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

4 stars
View map of 2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, HI 96815

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
932 out of 932
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Andy D.
Business
Nashville, TN
Nov 6, 2009

Nice resort, with a few issues.

My wife and I went to Hawaii for a week for a conference. We made an open reservation a few months ahead, as we knew we only wanted one main thing, a king bed and oceanview. We arrived at about 10pm following an all day flight. However, it turns out there were no kings available at all, in a huge resort, but we were "upgraded" to the Ali'i tower, with an oceanview (facing towards Diamondhead) but two double beds, on the thirteenth floor. We didn't worry about it too much and when we entered the room, it seemed perfectly fine, plus the double beds seemed more like queens which are plenty big anyway. The room ended up being very nice with everything we would need, cofeemaker, slippers and robes, marble bathroom, the type of thing you would expect from a top resort in Hawaii at several hundred dollars a night. Only thing, no internet included and a high daily price. The view was beautiful and the room was seemingly perfect. At least until a few days into our stay. The AC broke, or semi broke on Monday, we had arrived on Saturday. We came back from the beach and the room was about 83 degrees. So we called the front desk and they sent a maintenance man within 10 minutes. We though it was fixed as the temperature dipped into the mid 70s and he said it should be OK. In the morning, we woke up to a sweltering room. So we called again and left for the conference. Only to return that afternoon and find it 80 degrees and the curtains were closed to keep the sun out. The call/repair circle continued until Friday afternoon at which point we had not seen a below 80 room, day or night in 4 days. The front desk manager offered to move us to a different room but we were checking out on Saturday. So they only accomodation was to allow us to check out by 6 pm on Saturday instead of 11 am since we had a 8pm flight. The other major surprise was the quality of the room. Our "new" room was great, but we had a multitude of friends at the same conference and we saw what a normal room we had actually booked looked like. It was very poor, and it was worse than a regular chain room on the mainland. No coffee maker, robes, tiny bathroom, drab industrial colors, and very expensive for what you get. I am glad we got upgraded, althought the 13th floor curse may have come back to us through the AC. Overall very nice resort, great staff and amenities, but be careful when booking rooms to see what you will get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris Business
Business
Denver, CO
Nov 1, 2009

Hilton Hawaiian Village

The service was very good. There is plenty of entertainment and things to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GA honeymooners
Business
Augusta, GA
Oct 31, 2009

Honeymoon Hawaii style

Shopping, dining, water sports, & relaxing are all things we took advantage of while staying. With so much going on around you, they still offer a quite pool area to enjoy the breeze and read a great book. Ocean, swimming, snorkeling, & surfing are all accessible right from the hotel. With so much to do right there you don't have to venture out for a few days. We arrived on a Friday evening as the weekly luau was starting and we ate dinner while watching the dancers and then great fireworks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The American Express desk can help answer questions about execurtions and they will book them for you, however, I found when I called I was able to get some of them cheaper than the hotel. I saved $20 per person when I booked parasailing myself. Booking attractions/execurtions will also helped to book prior to your trip, lots of places will discounts tickets.

Review of Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MN Honeymooners
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Oct 29, 2009

Beautiful resort for Honeymooners

We took our honeymoon at the Hilton Hawaiian Village. We were checked into a room that someone was already in (imagine our surprise!) and had to go back to check in to be moved to a different room. It was an unfortunate glitch in an otherwise fantastic stay. The Hilton Luau was very fun with excellent entertainment and MaiTai's. There is an ABC and Whalers general store right in the resort so we didn't have to go far for liquor and snacks. Our favorite restaurant was Benihana (try the ChiChi or Mojito) which had great lunch specials but Sergio's Italian restaurant was very romantic. We stayed in the Kalia tower which was perfect for honeymooners. There is a seperate pool on the 4th floor that was never packed and kids were normally at the super pool so it was quiet and relaxing. I loved the Penguins on site, but my husbands favorite were the Koi Fish ponds. It's a beautiful hotel with everything you'd expect of a Hawaiian resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Eat big lunches or watch for early dinner specials to save money!

Review of Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chattanooga, TN
Oct 27, 2009

Best view ever from a hotel room!

My husband and I went for our summer vacation. Room on the 30th floor with panoramic oceanfront view of Diamond Head, Waikiki, and the Pacific. Snorkelling right in front of the hotel. Beautiful beach with gentle waves and crystal-clear water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Be sure to rent a car and see the rest of the island! So many sights!

Review of Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BnC09
Business
Los Angeles
Oct 26, 2009

Aloha and Mahalo !!!

The Hawaiian islands are for people who wish to find them. ??? What do you think da kine of experience Hawaii should be? You rent a car and travel, reaching out and feel da love of its people, culture, and da land that is distinct Hawaiian and yet all American. We've been to Europe, So America, Carribean, Mexico but Hawaii was our 1st time. All the hot water you want, coffee the way you like it, friendly people and service, distinct culture landscape and a proud state of the Union. But I'll never remember the street names. lol

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get a car with a gps or the best map and directions possible. Don't ask for directions or you will end up in a kapuu area or lost. Taxi is best for short distances or locations (its air condition well) Da best Luau food is at the Hilton and entertainment as well. (Prime Rib da best)

Review of Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bakersfield, Ca
Oct 25, 2009

Awesome

Have stayed there many times. Like that it has a lot of open space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chart House

Review of Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Oct 20, 2009

Fun in the sun.

Excellent hotel with employees who seemed to really enjoy their jobs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rainbow
Business
Milwaukee
Oct 18, 2009

Excellent experience!

Loved everything about it except the pricey restaurants. Really liked the fact that they offered us another room to shower in after we checked out so that we could enjoy the beach while we waited for our transportation to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 18, 2009

Hilton Hawaiin Village

Hotel staff was incredible from check in to check out. At check-in, we were able (for a few extra $$) to upgrade to a corner, ocean view room (270 degree view) in the Rainbow tower. All we can say is WOW! The view of Diamond Head was spectacular. The beach was great! The pool was nice too! Food at on-site restaurants was fine. Above standard in my opinion for "hotel food". We WILL be going back and recommend this property highly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top