$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 11, 2014 Check-out: Oct 14, 2014

Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

4 stars
100 Holomoana St, Island Of Oahu, Honolulu, HI 96815
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
208 reviews
one year anniversary

We loved our stay at this hotel! Breakfast buffet was amazing a little expensive but worth it if... See full review

  • Sarahbee2009
  • Aug 18, 2014
first class

Japanese owned hotel is perfect in every way, Priced high for the excellent staff and restaurants.... See full review

  • World traveler YUP
  • Aug 14, 2014
Adorned with Asian artwork, the Hawaii Prince in Waikiki is a large high-rise hotel that looks out over the tranquil ocean. Guests are welcomed, island-style, inside the spacious lobby, and accommodations in the Diamond Head tower offer the best scenic outlook across Waikiki. Watch the sunset over the Promenade Deck, or play a round on the 27-hole Hawaii Prince Golf Club, set against a backdrop of the Waianae Mountains and 10 sparkling lakes. Sip cocktails in the modern lounge or dine at Hakone, for delectable sushi bites like assorted tempura.
Key facts
  • 28 floors
  • Swimming pool and whirlpool
  • Day spa
  • Fitness center
  • Business center
  • Conference and event space: 7,300-square-feet of banquet-style seating for 560
  • Golf course
  • Restaurants and lounges: Prince Court, Hakone, Reef Lounge, Marina Front Cafe, Bird of Paradise
  • Parking (charges apply)
  • Complimentary shuttle to surrounding beaches and world-class shopping
Neighborhood
At the northwest corner of Waikiki, you'll find the Hawaii Prince Hotel in an area that joins the Ala Wai Canal and Ala Wai Yacht Harbor. Accommodations are perfect for business guests, thanks to a close proximity with convention facilities. Meanwhile, the closest beach is a 10-minute walk for leisure guests who simply want to chill on soft sands. For off-site dining, try the Chart House restaurant right next to the hotel, where specialty seafood dishes such as oysters with Hollandaise sauce and Kahuku prawns come fresh from the ocean.
Hints and tips
Golfers can climb aboard the free shuttle and enjoy discounted rates at the Arnold Palmer/Ed Seay golf course.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.2861 -157.84
Area served
Honolulu International Airport HNL 8 mi, Ala Moana Beach Park 0 mi, Ala Moana Shopping Center 0 mi, Hawaii Convention Center 0 mi, Waikiki Beach 0 mi.
Nearby airports
HNL - Honolulu International Airport
Area description
Located at the gateway to Waikiki, the hotel is the ideal location for easy access to the Hawaii Convention Center, Waikiki, Ala Moana Shopping Center, or the business center of downtown Honolulu. Situated between the Ala Moana Beach Park, a local favorite to its right and world famous Waikiki Beach to its left, the hotel is just a short walk to the two best beaches in the Waikiki area. In front of the hotel is the Ala Wai yacht harbor where guests can watch the million dollar yacht races every Friday afternoon. For business travelers, the Hawaii Prince offers the easiest access to downtown Honolulu avoiding the heavy tourist traffic in the center of Waikiki.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki Rooms

Standard Room
Location of this room will vary depending on hotel occupancy, it is run of the house best available room at the time of your arrival. This room offers Floor-to-ceiling glass windows in each guest room offering breathtaking views of the Ko'olau Mountains, Ala Wai Yacht Harbor, Waikiki and the Pacific Ocean. Rooms feature mini-refrigerator with complimentary bottled water upon arrival day, coffee maker with Kona blend coffee replenished daily, two bath robes, complimentary shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, hair dryer and make-up mirror, television, VCP on request and Lodgenet entertainment system, AM/FM radio with alarm clock, High-speed internet access, complimentary locking safe for valuables, iron and board, nightly turndown service available upon request.
Oceanfront Marina
Located on Floors 5-9 This room offers Floor-to-ceiling glass windows in each guest room offering breathtaking views of the Ko'olau Mountains, Ala Wai Yacht Harbor, Waikiki and the Pacific Ocean. Rooms feature mini-refrigerator with complimentary bottled water on arrival day, coffee maker with Kona blend coffee replenished daily, two bath robes, complimentary shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, hair dryer and make-up mirror, television, VCP upon request and Lodgenet entertainment system, AM/FM radio with alarm clock, High-speed internet access available with fee, complimentary locking safe for valuables, iron and board, nightly turndown service available upon request.
OceanFront Prime
Located on Floors 20-28.This room offers Floor-to-ceiling glass windows in each guest room offering breathtaking views of the Ko'olau Mountains, Ala Wai Yacht Harbor, Waikiki and the Pacific Ocean. Rooms feature mini-refrigerator with complimentary bottled water on arrival day, coffee maker with Kona blend coffee replenished daily, two bath robes, complimentary shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, hair dryer and make-up mirror, television, VCP upon request and Lodgenet entertainment system, AM/FM radio with alarm clock, High-speed internet access available with fee, complimentary locking safe for valuables, iron and board, nightly turndown service available upon request.
Oceanfront Vista
Located on Floors 10-19.This room offers Floor-to-ceiling glass windows in each guest room offering breathtaking views of the Ko'olau Mountains, Ala Wai Yacht Harbor, Waikiki and the Pacific Ocean. Rooms feature mini-refrigerator with complimentary bottled water on arrival day, coffee maker with Kona blend coffee replenished daily, two bath robes, complimentary shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, hair dryer and make-up mirror, television, VCP upon request and Lodgenet entertainment system, AM/FM radio with alarm clock, High-speed internet access available with fee, complimentary locking safe for valuables, iron and board, nightly turndown service available upon request.
OceanFront Top
Located on Floors 30-33.This room offers Floor-to-ceiling glass windows in each guest room offering breathtaking views of the Ko'olau Mountains, Ala Wai Yacht Harbor, Waikiki and the Pacific Ocean. Rooms feature mini-refrigerator with complimentary bottled water on arrival day, coffee maker with Kona blend coffee replenished daily, two bath robes, complimentary shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, hair dryer and make-up mirror, television, VCP upon request and Lodgenet entertainment system, AM/FM radio with alarm clock, High-speed internet access available with fee, complimentary locking safe for valuables, iron and board, nightly turndown service available upon request.
Ala Moana Ste
Located on floors 6 - 29. Floor to ceiling glass windows in the living room and bedroom area 838 sq feet total. Mini refrigerator with complimentary bottled water on day of arrival, coffee maker with Kona blend coffee replenished daily, two bathrobes, complimentary shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, hair dryer and make-up mirror, television, High speed internet with fee, complimentary locking safe for valuables, iron and board and nightly turndown service available upon request. Also equipped with two bathrooms. Suite has views of the Ocean and Ko'olau Mountains, Ala Wai Yacht Harbor, and Downtown Honolulu.
Prince Suite
2 Bedroom suite located on floors 5 - 29 with two full bathrooms, Floor to ceiling glass windows in the living room and both bedroom areas, 1866 sq ft total. Mii refrigerator with complimentary bottled water on day of arrival, coffee maker with Kona Blend coffee replenished daily, two bathrobes in each closet, complimentary shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, hair dryer and make-up mirror in both bathrooms. Television total of three one in each bedroom and one in the living room area, High speed internet with fee, complimentary locking safe for valuables, iron and board and nightly turndown service available upon request. Panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean, Ala Wai Yacht Harbor, Downtown Honolulu and the Ko'olau Mountains. Lots of space and great for families or friends travelling together.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • International Market Place: 1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.3 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 1.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 1.9 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 1.9 mi
  • Waikiki Baptist Church: 0.5 mi
  • Ala Moana Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Fort Derussy Beach: 0.6 mi
  • Ala Wai Park: 0.7 mi
  • International Market Place: 1 mi
  • Honolulu Academy of Arts: 1.3 mi
  • Damien Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Stan Sheriff Center: 1.5 mi
  • Kakaako Waterfront Park: 1.7 mi
  • Kawaiahao Church: 1.7 mi
  • Honolulu Zoo: 1.7 mi
  • The Contemporary Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Kamehameha Statue: 1.9 mi
  • Waikiki Shell: 1.9 mi
  • Iolani Palace: 1.9 mi
  • Washington Place: 1.9 mi
  • Kapiolani Park: 1.9 mi
  • Irvin Park: 2.1 mi
  • Star Of Honolulu: 2.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower Cruise Ship Terminal: 2.2 mi
  • Aloha Tower: 2.2 mi
  • Honolulu Botanical Gardens: 2.3 mi
  • Hawaii Maritime Center: 2.5 mi
  • Honolulu Chinatown: 2.6 mi
  • Mauna Ala: 2.7 mi
  • Pali Lookout: 3.4 mi
  • Queen Emma Summer Palace: 3.4 mi
  • Shangri La Islamic Art Museum: 3.5 mi
  • Bishop Museum: 3.8 mi
  • Waialae Country Club: 4.4 mi
  • Koolau Golf Club: 6.9 mi
  • Aloha Stadium: 8.2 mi
  • USS Arizona Memorial: 8.4 mi
  • USS Bowfin Submarine Museum: 8.6 mi
  • USS Missouri: 9 mi
  • Hanauma Bay: 9.3 mi
  • Pacific Aviation Museum: 9.4 mi
  • Pearl Harbor: 9.5 mi
  • Koko Head Park: 9.7 mi
  • Bellows Beach: 9.8 mi
  • Koko Crater Botanical Gardens: 10.2 mi
  • Byodo In Temple: 10.3 mi
  • Valley of the Temples: 10.3 mi
  • Halona Blow Hole: 10.5 mi
  • Kailua Beach: 10.6 mi

Dining

Prince Court
Famed for Contemporary Island Cuisine, the Prince Court is a subtle blend of the classic culinary techniques of East and West, prepared with fresh Island produce from land and sea. Spectacular views of Ala Wai Yacht Harbor and the island's beautiful sunset are a focal point from the restaurant's glass walls.
Bird of Paradise
Located at the Hawaii Prince Golf Club, The Bird of Paradise Restaurant offers casual resort dining daily with lunch and pupu (appetizer) service. Golfers, as well as the general public, will be pleased with the menu variety and generous portions.
Marina Front Cafe
Throughout the day, guests are treated to croissants, muffins, bagels, sandwiches, coffee and salads. Made-in-Hawaii gift baskets, gourmet chocolates or specialty cakes are available for guests looking for that special omiyage or gift.
Hakone
Enjoy authentic Japanese cuisine at Hakone Restaurant featuring traditional complete dinner selections and a wide variety of sushi specialties.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Located at the gateway to Waikiki overlooking the picturesque Ala Wai Yacht Harbor, the Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki is dedicated to providing exceptional service and its own special brand of hospitality for every meetings group. Overview: Eight function areas including outdoor Promenade Terrace Mauna Kea Ballroom offers 7,300 sq. ft. of space, banquet-style seating for 560 Outdoor function space accommodates up to 500 Latest audio and visual equipment available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (208)

Ratings and reviews for Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
208 out of 208
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Recently Retired Registered Nurse
Seattle, WA
Feb 13, 2010

Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki-Thank you

For a hotel with 350 rooms and high volume of checkin and checkouts the check in and check out line was short with only 1 or 2 couples ahead of us. Efficient staff checked guests in and out rapidly. The shuttle service was rapid in transporting guests to 3 popular stops in the afternoon. Sadly for our use there was no shuttle service at 4:30 pm--shuttle service times were 2:30, 3:30, 5:30 and on into the night. Shuttle service was in only one direction from the hotel. No morning shuttle service and no morning shuttle service to Chinatown for visiting numerous galleries. A suprise since so many Asian folks were hotel guests. I enjoy swimming when it is not in the heat of the day and in the evening when the stars are out. Without a 4:30pm shuttle service it was difficult to leave the hotel for dinner and get back to swim before the pool closed at 8:00 pm. Children use the pool with lots of splashing in the before dinner time period. I think an evening Adult swim time would be a great benefit to guests. The hotel pool is lovely with a view of the ocean. It seemed to have limited use by adults. The hotel has great access to The Bus and the Waikiki Trolley which we used often because hotel shuttle times were not convenient for our daytime touring. We enjoyed the Aquarium, Art Gallery, The Aloha Tower (a place to view and feed reef fish), The Our Lady of Peace Cathedral, the Blue line trolley along the coast and the Red line trolley to the gallery. We found Wailana Coffee House-a 24 hour family restaurant--with meal specials under $10. a favorite place to eat. We walked several blocks to the coffee shop and to the ABC grocery for beverages. The Waikiki Yacht Club welcomed us because we are members of a club on the mainland with a receprical agreement. We enjoyed shopping at the WYC gift shop which has limited hours but welcomes the public to shop there. A WYC logo shirt always brings comments on the mainland. We found the post office in Ala Moana Shopping Center and walked there to mail our purchases home using a Priority shipping box. We purchased shipping tape at Longs Drug store in the shopping center. The shipping cost was less than paying $50.00 roundtrip to check an extra bag on Delta Airline. Compared to other trips, this hotel was more pricy than others we've stayed in but at the price of the air-hotel package it was in our estimation lovely. A really nice addition would a shuttle for Sunday worship services or maybe local churches would offer a one time pickup for church service. We took a cab to church but the driver knew little English and had no idea of the Catholic Cathedral (the oldest active church in the USA).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Read details dining, shopping, transportation, and post office in "Experience at Hotel".

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Jose, CA
Feb 7, 2010

A very pleasant stay

Great location and besutiful views. Close to the Ala Moana Shopping Center where we did most of our shopping. The only thing bothered us was that we smelled smoke in the room while sleeping. I had to open the window and turned off the air-conditioner. Actually the outsdie air was fresh and comfortable. We ended up not turning on the air-conditioner. I suspected that the smoke was from the air-conditioner when someone next door is smoking. Other than this nuisance, our stay was very pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Goodwrench
Colorado mountain country
Jan 28, 2010

Great Bang for the Buck

Great value for the money. All rooms are oceanfront, but there is no beach fronting the hotel. You face the small boat harbor. If you are satisfied with the hotel pool, as I was, or taking the free shuttle or a short walk to the beach, this is the hotel for you. Great buffet and sit down breakfast. Across the street from fast food in the Discovery Bay Center if you wish to save. The ubiquitous ABC stores are nearby. A larger ABC superette version is also right across the street. Parking is expensive as it is in all of Waikiki if you have a car. The staff is superb. Valet staff recognized us after 2 days and would retrieve the car when they saw us heading to the door. Hotel and amenities were first class. Convenient shuttles available to those who forgo a rental car. It is a short walk or shuttle to Ala Moana Center and a free shuttle to central Waikiki. Fitness room is small, but uncrowded. There is little entertainment at this hotel, but it made a fine base of operations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Save money on quick meals by visiting mall directly across Ala Moana Blvd. They have everything from McDonalds to Subway plus a larger ABC superette.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Jan 15, 2010

A stunning deal

My wife and I were intrigued by a travel/hotel plan that included 7 nights at Hawaii Prince. I won't quote a price, because packages change a lot, but I will say that we've paid similar fares in Waikiki for real dumps; this isn't one. Earlier reviews were nearly all positive, and deservedly so; the one negative one seemed to blame the hotel for the reviewer's own negligence, so we discounted it. The Prince is at the upper end of Waikiki, near Ala Moana Park; our room had a view of the Marina but not the beaches or surf, which may be a minus for some, but not for us. The hotel provides valet parking as well as guest parking; we chose valet with no regrets. All the hotel staff were friendly, polite, and attentive. The valets get to know their guests and are conversational without being intrusive. We chose not to eat at the hotel, so can't offer any comments on the dining. However, the snack bar--which opens at 5:30 a.m.--was a very pleasant surprise. If you like hard-boiled eggs, go for them: they're fresh and perfectly cooked. My wife would have liked a broader tea selection, but we were quite satisfied with what we got. All in all, a complete winner. We come to Honolulu 3 times a year; this is where we'll stay from now on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sunshine Suzanne
Tacoma, Washington
Jan 4, 2010

One of the Top Hotels on Waikiki!!

This was our second stay at the Prince Waikiki, and it is superb in every way. The employees are very helpful and charming. The roomservice workers went out of their way to setup an extra table and chair for us. The floor to ceiling windows offer a stunning view of the marina and the fireworks' shows. The food is always delicious and the service is top-notch. I plan to stay at the Prince every time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

THe Prince has an excellent location with the shopping center very close. For those of us who like to walk, there is Magic Island practically next door with its many paths.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
uncledim
Greenbank Wa
Jan 1, 2010

pamper yourself

very restful with a great view from every room, we will stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cynasia
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 29, 2009

Great deal

Bit off the main street thus pretty hard to walk around, but if to rent a car, totally no problem. Our main purpose was to play golf, thus felt no inconvenience. Just one thing to mention about is the poor amenity. But overall, the best deal to get the ocean front view hotel with clean room and decent service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Japanese restaurant "Hakone". Costs a bit, but was pretty good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ed & Doris
Paintsville, KY
Nov 18, 2009

Loved it better than a hog loves slop

Our stay at the Prince was just perfect. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the room was very clean, and the location was just beautiful being located next to the harbor. My compliments to the the staff and management of the Hawaii Prince for their part in a memorable vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring an extra bag to carry back home your purchases.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
doctorone
mia, fl
Nov 1, 2009

great stay

excellent service, lovely room, great staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GC traveler
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 29, 2009

Completely statified

The room was spacious and clean with a great view of the water. The pool and fitness center were disappointing, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top